San Jose, CA 
Hellyer Park (Coyote Creek DGC) Share
Uploaded By: Jahilbert Hole #6 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Hellyer? More Like Hell Yeah!

1    6/17/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hellyer Park (or Hell Yeah Park as I refer to it) is a great course on its own but even better when combined with the nearby Parque De La Raza DGC. Hellyer has more open space and elevation and a little more freedom for different throws and lines where PDLR is a bit more tight and restricting but not in a bad way.

I love that the designer(s) of this course kept it a limited amount of holes instead of putting in 18 here and making a bunch of short, boring, annoying holes. Too often designers go for 18 holes when they do not have the land and/or resources to do so but they have avoided that here thankfully. The multiple basket locations and dual tee pads help to add even more variety to a very fun and challenging course and keeping things fresh with frequent players.

Cons: We parked on the road near hole five on the top of the hill near the practice basket. I'm not exactly sure why hole one starts in the middle of the course because it seems like everyone parks near hole five which explains the reasoning for a practice basket in that area.

Navigation didn't seem like a huge problem but I was playing with people who have played the course multiple times before. It looks like it would be beneficial to paint the numbers on the baskets in some brightly colored manner because sometime there are multiple baskets in view with confusion as to which one is the correct basket. Also there are some blind basket locations which need to be scouted first before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked Hellyer a lot and consider it one of my favorite 9 hole courses ever played and trust me I have played a lot of 9 hole courses. The combo of Parque De La Raza and Hellyer is a perfect one as the two courses are different but right next each other and almost feel like the front and back nine of an 18 hole course. I highly recommend playing both as they are right off of the freeway whether you are a course bagger or a local looking for a good time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New Englander Reviewing Hellyer

1    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: wpifarmer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Very close to Si Valley
- No gate means early morning rounds
- Concrete Tee Pads
- Multiple Pin Locations
Cons:
- Poison Oak
- Hole 1 is far from street (start on 5 or 8 instead)
- Only 9 holes
- Traffic to get to/from here at rush hour is just stupid
Other Thoughts: This course was the closest one to where I was staying in Santa Clara. It's a pretty cool course on the southern side of San Jose. I was planning on playing Parque De La Raza on the other side of the highway, but Raza is gated and doesn't open until 8am (I was there at 6:15). The course is only 9 holes, but they are a pretty cool 9 holes. At first glance it looks like a fairly wide open course, and it is. But they do have several pin placement options that I think are changed either weekly or monthly. Overall they make very good use of the terrain and vegetation to make it a more difficult than it looks at first glance. Most pins are well guarded, but there really aren't any tunnel shots here. It's weird that Hole 1 is so far away from the street. Hole 5 and Hole 8 are next to the street parking area so I just started there. The ground is very hard pack dirt. Watch out for huge unintended skips on approaches. There are lots of ground squirrel holes too so watch your footing. The bushes are pretty thick so a disc can get lost pretty deep in them, but I did not see much "jail" rough which is good in my opinion. All teepads were textured concrete.
If you ever happen to be visiting the San Jose / Silicon Valley area, definitly pack a few discs and go play!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of my home courses

5+    8/9/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Hyzer Ale
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple pin locations that change often
- Elevation changes
- Plenty of trees and shrubbery. Especially on 1, 3, 5, 7 and 8.
- The long positions here provide a nice challenge while the other pin positions can be fun ace runs.
- Long and short tee pads. As a local I tired of the short tees quite quickly.

Cons: - Gets hot in the summer (was 105 when we started a league round about a month ago)
- No running water or restrooms
-Too close to the freeway
- Poison Oak, my arch nemesis
- Too many large groups that back the course up on weekends
Other Thoughts: I decided to review since I aced 4b today which, while only 280ft., is uphill and into a steady headwind. This is a fun course and where I really learned how to play. The wind picks up daily and this course will teach you how to play in the wind or eat you up (when it is calm it is easy to shoot a low score). Lots of elevation change and a few holes really force you to hit your line. I honestly believe that they did everything possible with this land. I am very impressed with the quality of course that is sandwiched between a freeway and an off ramp. Not a destination course but worth playing if you are in town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Cavilleri
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - lots of variation in elevation
- typically not very crowded (which is good because parking is limited)
- most holes are pretty short and wide open - good for beginners
- most people start at 8 because it's by the cars - not sure why they don't just switch the holes to have 1 at the top
- tees easy to find
- love the bag hangers
Cons: - no water/bathrooms
- pretty exposed/ can get hot
- freeway noise
- couple brushy areas that could be disc snatchers
- since most holes are pretty open, not a lot of places to practice precision shots between trees (this could be a pro but I like shooting between trees)
Other Thoughts: I'm a newbie with golf discs, i always used ultimate discs before, so it's still challenging for me. That being said, I still get par and even birdied one at this course, so it might not be challenging enough for solid players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dusty bowl but fun course...

5+    2/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: geoblime
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Multiple pin placements
-Easy to get to. Right off the freeway
-Quality baskets
-Some challenging holes
-Great for beginners to intermediates. Easy for advanced and pros...but still fun
-Plays pretty quick
Cons: -Can be very dusty with the wind
-Nestled against hwy 101 so constant freeway noise.
-Changed the numbering of the holes a long while back so where you park is hole 8. You have to walk half way across the course to start at hole 1...lame.
-Can get busy with longer wait times
Other Thoughts: -All in all a fun course.
-It's always good to get out and throw some discs no matter where you are.
-This course is amusing but with the quality of courses in Norcal this one ranks pretty low.
-Any experienced player should shoot well under on this course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/10/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: disc cogg
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - i like how this course has a lot of elevation holes.
- easy access right off 101
- its got a nice combination of short and long holes
- nice and grippy concrete pads
- i love that there is bag racks at each hole
Cons: - parking can fill up quick on a nice day
- no bathrooms or water
- a lot of noobs and big groups
Other Thoughts: this is a great 9 hole course and combined with parque dela raza it makes for a good day of golf

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/13/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 10/10/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Right off the freeway for a quick round while in the neighborhood.
-Some fun throws.
-Like the dual tees, but I seem to always throw the long ones.
-Also like the bag racks at most holes.
Cons: It's right off the freeway so you don't feel removed as much as I like to. Also the day I was there someone from our group got their car broken in to, one guy i met there said he had it happen one time before. These are cars parked literally less than 100 ft. from a freeway entrance so...
Other Thoughts: Combined with De La Raza makes for a great Disc Golf excursion to San Jose.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Close to 101

1    3/19/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 162  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It had a decent amount of challenge to it, especially for "9". However, with multiple pads and pin placement, 18 is easy to achieve here. Shot selections were mostly longer drives in the 300+ range. One of the best aspects of this place is the location (it is right off of the 101) and the use of the space itself. Navigation was ok; fairly open shots and beginner friendly.
Cons: It was a busier on a Monday afternoon than I had expected. No water or restrooms-I couldn't imagine this place on a hot day. A possible dust bowl on dry, windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: This was a good course. If it was nearby, I'd certainly play here again. If you're looking for more golf, there is another course on the other side of the freeway, De la Raza, and the two combined will provide a great golf experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth stopping for

5+    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location: Immediately off the 101 freeway in San Jose. Impossible to get lost - you get off the freeway heading east and park your car. You're there.

Design: As other reviewers have mentioned, the people who designed (and maintain) this course have taken quite a bit of pride and show a true commitment to presenting an excellent DG experience in a parcel of land that would otherwise go to waste. For a 9-hole course, you'll need a good variety of shots to do well here and you'll also need to know how to play the wind and elevation changes as well.

That said, most of the holes seem to be designed for the 325-350 - foot thrower, which means that for noodle arms like me, par is a definite challenge. On the other hand, big arms can use the challenges posed by the terrain and trees to work on their short game while n00bs can simply use the short tees and have fun their first time out.

Amenities: Benches and bag holders at each tee, exceedingly well-designed signage (see the pix), actual stairs with railings that help going up and down the hills, especially when it's wet. Long and short tees, multiple pin placements, and a practice basket woo hoo!
Cons: No drinking water on site. Keep this in mind if you're playing in the summertime when the temps get up near 100.

Constant traffic hum from the freeway. You get used to it, but it's definitely a "con" if you're after a back-to-nature experience.

Some poison oak, easy to avoid if you use basic precautions.
Other Thoughts: The terrain here is typical for California coastal hills. Brown in the summer, green when it rains. Lots of slopes offering dangerous roll-aways if your disc lands wrong. Some trees are forgiving, others will grab your disc and hold on for dear life.

All in all, Hellyer is a deceptively good course that delivers much more than it promises. Baz says, "Check it out!"

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth It

2-4    9/16/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: BADman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Easy access to course from Highway 101 *
* Multiple concrete teebox positions, a long and a short on most holes. good for practicing midrange drives, or bringing a newbie *
* Each hole has a couple different pin positions, and makes for interesting variation when they are shuffled up *
* Good use of elevation changes *
**** Awesome bag hangers on most of the teepads, never seen these before, very cool ****
Cons: * No bathrooms or water spickets *
* Very little shade *
* Hole 8 is closest to parking, most people play holes 8 through 7 *
* Not very difficult *
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water, its hot out there at any time of the day/year.

The short teepads are great practice for midrange driving, and a great place to bring people who are learning, or a good place to play a different 9 holes than La Raza.

This course is worth the play if your in the area, however, make sure to also play Parque De La Raza, just 5 min down the street, for a more challenging and interesting 9 holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.