San Jose, CA 
Hellyer Park (Coyote Creek DGC) Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #9
3 / 424ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Long Tee: This hole is 400' down the path.



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
New Englander Reviewing Hellyer

1    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: wpifarmer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Very close to Si Valley
- No gate means early morning rounds
- Concrete Tee Pads
- Multiple Pin Locations
Cons:
- Poison Oak
- Hole 1 is far from street (start on 5 or 8 instead)
- Only 9 holes
- Traffic to get to/from here at rush hour is just stupid
Other Thoughts: This course was the closest one to where I was staying in Santa Clara. It's a pretty cool course on the southern side of San Jose. I was planning on playing Parque De La Raza on the other side of the highway, but Raza is gated and doesn't open until 8am (I was there at 6:15). The course is only 9 holes, but they are a pretty cool 9 holes. At first glance it looks like a fairly wide open course, and it is. But they do have several pin placement options that I think are changed either weekly or monthly. Overall they make very good use of the terrain and vegetation to make it a more difficult than it looks at first glance. Most pins are well guarded, but there really aren't any tunnel shots here. It's weird that Hole 1 is so far away from the street. Hole 5 and Hole 8 are next to the street parking area so I just started there. The ground is very hard pack dirt. Watch out for huge unintended skips on approaches. There are lots of ground squirrel holes too so watch your footing. The bushes are pretty thick so a disc can get lost pretty deep in them, but I did not see much "jail" rough which is good in my opinion. All teepads were textured concrete.
If you ever happen to be visiting the San Jose / Silicon Valley area, definitly pack a few discs and go play!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Cavilleri
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - lots of variation in elevation
- typically not very crowded (which is good because parking is limited)
- most holes are pretty short and wide open - good for beginners
- most people start at 8 because it's by the cars - not sure why they don't just switch the holes to have 1 at the top
- tees easy to find
- love the bag hangers
Cons: - no water/bathrooms
- pretty exposed/ can get hot
- freeway noise
- couple brushy areas that could be disc snatchers
- since most holes are pretty open, not a lot of places to practice precision shots between trees (this could be a pro but I like shooting between trees)
Other Thoughts: I'm a newbie with golf discs, i always used ultimate discs before, so it's still challenging for me. That being said, I still get par and even birdied one at this course, so it might not be challenging enough for solid players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dusty bowl but fun course...

5+    2/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: geoblime
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Multiple pin placements
-Easy to get to. Right off the freeway
-Quality baskets
-Some challenging holes
-Great for beginners to intermediates. Easy for advanced and pros...but still fun
-Plays pretty quick
Cons: -Can be very dusty with the wind
-Nestled against hwy 101 so constant freeway noise.
-Changed the numbering of the holes a long while back so where you park is hole 8. You have to walk half way across the course to start at hole 1...lame.
-Can get busy with longer wait times
Other Thoughts: -All in all a fun course.
-It's always good to get out and throw some discs no matter where you are.
-This course is amusing but with the quality of courses in Norcal this one ranks pretty low.
-Any experienced player should shoot well under on this course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/13/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 10/10/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Right off the freeway for a quick round while in the neighborhood.
-Some fun throws.
-Like the dual tees, but I seem to always throw the long ones.
-Also like the bag racks at most holes.
Cons: It's right off the freeway so you don't feel removed as much as I like to. Also the day I was there someone from our group got their car broken in to, one guy i met there said he had it happen one time before. These are cars parked literally less than 100 ft. from a freeway entrance so...
Other Thoughts: Combined with De La Raza makes for a great Disc Golf excursion to San Jose.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Close to 101

1    3/19/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 162  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It had a decent amount of challenge to it, especially for "9". However, with multiple pads and pin placement, 18 is easy to achieve here. Shot selections were mostly longer drives in the 300+ range. One of the best aspects of this place is the location (it is right off of the 101) and the use of the space itself. Navigation was ok; fairly open shots and beginner friendly.
Cons: It was a busier on a Monday afternoon than I had expected. No water or restrooms-I couldn't imagine this place on a hot day. A possible dust bowl on dry, windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: This was a good course. If it was nearby, I'd certainly play here again. If you're looking for more golf, there is another course on the other side of the freeway, De la Raza, and the two combined will provide a great golf experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth It

2-4    9/16/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: BADman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Easy access to course from Highway 101 *
* Multiple concrete teebox positions, a long and a short on most holes. good for practicing midrange drives, or bringing a newbie *
* Each hole has a couple different pin positions, and makes for interesting variation when they are shuffled up *
* Good use of elevation changes *
**** Awesome bag hangers on most of the teepads, never seen these before, very cool ****
Cons: * No bathrooms or water spickets *
* Very little shade *
* Hole 8 is closest to parking, most people play holes 8 through 7 *
* Not very difficult *
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water, its hot out there at any time of the day/year.

The short teepads are great practice for midrange driving, and a great place to bring people who are learning, or a good place to play a different 9 holes than La Raza.

This course is worth the play if your in the area, however, make sure to also play Parque De La Raza, just 5 min down the street, for a more challenging and interesting 9 holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Nine Holer!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a well designed, definitely challenging nine hole course wedged in a piece between the freeway and another road. As previous reviewser have stated, it's not the most pleasing looking piece of land, especially in late August when I played. It's really a pretty sorry looking bit of bare dirt, scrub brush, mixed tree and what not with some mixed elevation thrown in for variety. But the designers have done a wonderful job of creating a most challenging disc golf experience here. The winds help with the challenge. The teepads are varying sizes (depending on the run-up needed). There are multiple basket placements for variety. There are uphill and downhill throws. # 7 is a big hyser shot around a large tree.
Cons: Hot, ugly desert scrubby enviroment in late August. Freeway noise. No water, bring your own. I don't know where you would park if crowded. The signs were kinda confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of that ugly girl in college, that you kind of ended up with late one night. You know the one that you didn't want your friends to find out about but then she turned out to be really "gifted" or something like that and you had a most memorable time. Give this course a chance. She doesn't look real fine at first glance but if you give her a chance, you'll have a good time! And then, you'll be bragging to your friends about her!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    5/2/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: chipper408
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very easy to find. long and short shots. great course for sidearm. open course for the most part. nice mountainside steps installed by boyscouts... thanks guys! most baskets can be seen from tee pad. has long and short Tee pads. (18 total) pretty good course for beginners
Cons: starting on #1 instead of #8. very limited parking on sat/sun. no restrooms (on that side) open layout= very hot. highway 101 is kinda distracting. lots of tall brush throughout the year. the signs are horrible and deceiving. they must be clocked 90 degrees to be accurate. long/short tees may be confusing for all the newbies that go there. safari holes are not well-known either.
Other Thoughts: overall a decent course, you should start at #8 and go down, and around, and back up to #7. do not look at the signs. ask a local whats what. you can also play nextdoor at laraza, and if walking, take the trail going under 101, cross creek (only in summer...lol) and walk up small trail to road, and then walk south on road for a few minutes and you'll be there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Clever

1    1/2/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Very easy to find and navigate
Warm-up basket
Nice variety of holes/throws
Pretty good concrete tee pads
Multiple tees
Clear signage
Disc golf exclusive
Cons:
Pretty heavy hole/disc cross traffic
Road/freeway/cars/nasty areas outside the course are in play on a couple holes
I did see a little poison oak
Other Thoughts:
Tips
As mentioned elsewhere, I guess the right place to park is on the opposite side of the freeway. This also is apparently where the restrooms and additional holes are located. Unfortunately I missed that tip so I'll have to check it out next time.
Don't park behind 7's and maybe 4's basket. Discs can go long there and give your car a shiner.
Play Parque De La Raza while you're here. It seems like you should be able to walk there through the tree line from here, but maybe there's a fence/barrier? Anyone tried?

Random Thoughts:
This course is just an ingenious use of space. I must admit, when I first saw the course from the road, I was concerned I had driven a long ways for nothing, but halfway through the round I had the biggest smile on my face. I just couldn't get over how cleverly designed the course was considering it's in a seemingly small pocket of land. And it's not like every hole is short here. They're surprisingly lengthy, with even a few bombers in the mix. And the additional tee pads aren't throw-ins. They actually are slightly different shots.

Bottom Line: While it's only 9 holes (you could argue 18 with the additional pads) and an errant throw could land over a fence or on the freeway, you owe it to yourself to check out this course. It is quite clever and quite fun. Bravo to the course designers!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    3/4/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: Bokonon
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Big elevation changes
-Good distance on most holes
-Easy freeway access
-Nice tees and pins (multiple locations)
Cons: -Often gets very windy in the afternoons
-Poison oak off some fairways (and in the isolated pockets on the course)
-Freeway does not help course aesthetics
Other Thoughts: This was the only course I played when I got into disc golf. I would later be punished for learning to drive on such a wide-open course. There are a couple holes where you can really bomb it though, which is still fun. I don't think playing the short tees to make 18 adds much to the course. The club does a good job with upkeep and changing pin locations, and have made other improvements over time, like the cement tee box on #3. If only they would eradicate the poison oak...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.