San Jose, CA 
Hellyer Park (Coyote Creek DGC) Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #8
3 / 286ft.   3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee: Down hill and behind the barren tree. This tree is dense and blocks the view in the summer months.



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    1/10/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: disc cogg
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - i like how this course has a lot of elevation holes.
- easy access right off 101
- its got a nice combination of short and long holes
- nice and grippy concrete pads
- i love that there is bag racks at each hole
Cons: - parking can fill up quick on a nice day
- no bathrooms or water
- a lot of noobs and big groups
Other Thoughts: this is a great 9 hole course and combined with parque dela raza it makes for a good day of golf

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 LQQKING 4 A QUICK FIX

5+    2/22/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy and quick access from Hwy 101. There is a new red practice basket next to parking. Concrete tee pads on all holes with the sizes of tee pads being proportionate to the distance and direction of the baskets. Signage is clear at all holes giving distance, direction of next tee pad, pin locations and pin dial.Pro and amateur tee pads with multiple pin locations. Benches, trash cans, logs or stumps and bag holders ergonomically placed with shade trees throughout. The course challenges all types of throwing styles on a large scale for the pro and amateur DG'er, Especially with the elevation and distance shots. The locals are friendly and pets welcomed. This is a 98% disc golf exclusive course that is rarely crowded!
Cons: No restroom facilities available and noise from traffic on Hwy 101 may annoy some. No water available, So bring water. Two areas are prone to flooding or have standing water (holes #8,#5,#6).Tall grass on fairways at times
Other Thoughts: This is my most played course thus far including my first Ace Race tournament. I've played this course in all seasons and have seen the hillsides very green in the winter and spring and brown during the fall summer months. The local disc golf club (Silicon Valley) has made many improvements to the walkways and attempt to keep up with the growing grass. The convenient way to play the course is start at hole #8 (tee pad closest to Hwy) and continue on to hole #9 and hole #1... Be careful of wind on hole #8. This is a great 9 hole course giving you an experience that makes you come back for more!

UPDATE: The local disc golf club has made great improvements to the course by planting additional trees and completed the staircases. This is one of my first reviews and after playing it recently I realize that the score should be higher, so my rating has also been changed.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 An A- for 9-Holers

2-4    9/18/2003   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: IMO, this course is a perfect example of how 9-holers should be designed. The long tees give a very different look and feel from the shorts, so playing 2 rounds is basically equivalent to playing a full 18. Great creative design on this course! I have only 5 of 95 9-holers ranked higher.....and 3 of those no longer exist.)

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(Nothing too punishing (water, "early trouble", tunnel shots, etc) can be found on this course, but you can get yourself in some predicaments if you are way off line.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(Other than a couple of the long tees and a few gimme short holes, this course is a rewarding experience to score well on.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(Great use of terrain and obstacles to force creative shot making. Well above average for the typical 9-holer.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B-
(Definitely not lush and green and the location being right off the 101(due to terrain and trees you don't really see it, but you do hear it) detracts from the otherwise nice inland CA beauty.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 good for a disc golf "quickie"

5+    7/26/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: benpalm
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: signage is pretty clear - it is easy to tell from the sign what position the pin is in. there are many challenging but birdieable holes.
Cons: only nine holes, and in the afternoons it can get very crowded.
Other Thoughts: the wind makes it a challenging course. the ground foliage changes dramatically from dry and pretty clear in the summer to grassy and dense in the winter.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Random info

2/14/2008   2/14/2008
Review By: delaveagabeast
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very open, with most of the trees growing within 100 feet of the pen, which allows for some very nice birdie setups on nearly every hole.

-Three more holes under the bridge to the right of hole #1 that are played along the water. VERY awesome and similar to Berkeley, without the long wait for people on that damn hiking trail.

-Lots of pro/semi-pro players play there and they're very receptive to newbies. When I was starting playing a bunch of people on the board allowed me to play doubles with them and eventually it just clicked.
Cons: -I can't think of many, but for one thing, the place most people park when they come to the park is on the side of the road next to the freeway, they then have to tee down #8 and #9 to play to get to #1. Their reasoning is that there is a park entrance on the other side(one that less than 10% of the players use).
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a very quick and fun course. If you're coming through California to play some disc golf courses I would check out De La Veaga, Monterey has 3 alright ones, and Hellyer/Delaraza in San Jose, as they're all within driving distance of one another.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.