San Jose, CA 
Hellyer Park (Coyote Creek DGC) Share
Uploaded By: Jahilbert Hole #1 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 418ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Just off HW101

1    9/19/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Dual concrete tees here are generally varied enough so that it doesn't feel like you're just playing a shorter version of the same nine holes. DGA multi-chain baskets are in good condition with a practice basket that is bright shiney orange. Three or four pin positions per hole with small dials on the tee sign posts to indicate current pin position. Nice elevation in play here with five of the nine hole making significant use of the hillside. The "Front" tees were playable with mostly midrange discs, while the "Back" tees necessitated a driver to reach the basket. The golf here is good and fun. The challenge is somewhere in the middle range. Several baskets were bordered by short 8-12" tall posts in the ground that prevent low shots from sliding up to the basket, and help stop roll away putts from hurting too bad. Fantastic work by the SVDGC here keeping this course clean and maintained. There are lots of stairs installed in the hillside which help a lot as well as hand rails concreted into the ground. Heavy duty bag holders will keep your bag off the dusty ground. Good map online here.
Cons:
No restrooms. Several of the pin position indicators were incorrect, a common and frustrating problem with multi-position courses. Street parking is very limited. Some of the different pin positions seem silly varying only ~25' apart and not really changing the way the hole plays. Several baskets are significantly obscured by brush and/or trees which can make an otherwise fantastic drive landing 20' from a pin unputtable. Navigating #6 to #7 requires backtracking. No water at the course (to play over, or to drink).
Other Thoughts:
The free street parking is adjacent to tees for #5 and #8 so it seems likely that players rarely start on #1. There's some shade on the course but not everywhere; we played on one of the hottest days of the year so this became obvious. (In September) the course was very dry and rocky, not the most aesthetically pleasing course. But the course makes great use of the land that would probably otherwise sit unused by people.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Tory
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy access off Hwy 101. Empty pretty much all day. Concrete t Pads with 4 positions on every hole.
Cons: Freeway noise. Often windy if you don't dig that....
Other Thoughts: Great 9 hole course with lots of elevation changes and plenty of tree's and other obstacles in play. I probably wouldn't travel to play this course but when played with its sister 9 hole course Parque de La Raza, it makes for a very entertaining 18 holes of disc golf.

Both front and back t's are concrete so you can alternate to make 18.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SuperCombo 9's

1    11/24/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hellyer Park, like its nearby brother De La Raza, is a nearly equally well-designed and thought out 9 hole course. A designer could have easily tried to fit the magic number (eighteen) of holes here making for some boring golf, but instead, they've stuck with fewer, but better holes. Hellyer serves as a really nice complement to the De La Raza course in that it allows players to choose lines with more freedom. Usually several options are available off of the tee and players can select according to the conditions or their current strengths as a golfer. Because of the more open nature of the course, it can be quite windy, especially when teeing from the top of the hill. When the nearby Raza was hopping with people, this course was nearly empty! I'm not sure why this was the case, other than it just doesn't look quite as nice, but this is a definite 'positive' for Hellyer.

Challenge: I'd say this course is more geared towards slightly less experienced players when compared with Raza. The more open shots and a few short birdie holes make this a pretty welcoming place to learn disc flights without danger of nasty rough. Experienced players will find a bit more distance here and plenty more elevation - both up and down.
Cons: Skill level: This course might not offer quite enough challenge for high gold and elite level players with the exception of a few bigger distance shots from the long tees.

Navigation: Course navigation was a bit harder out here mostly because it looks like there may have been a redesign a while ago (not sure?). Some of the numbers weren't matching up quite right though so we started in the middle of the course and then worked our way back around.
Other Thoughts: As a combo, Hellyer and Raza make for a couple of the best 9 hole courses I've ever played. If I had to choose one dream home course out of all the courses I've played to both keep my game fresh, allow me to experiment with plenty of shots off the tee, and for pure enjoyment, I think the Hellyer Park/Parque de la Raza combo would be high on my list.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

2-4    12/27/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very beginner, kid, and female friendly as there are short teepad options for each hole. Nice and long teepads for a full run-up. Great use of an area that would probably otherwise be unused. Nice elevation changes both up & down, and variety of teeshots both left & right. Overall bowl shape of course makes it forgiving and finding discs is pretty easy. Teepad distances are just right for the appropriate skill levels.
Cons: Seemed pretty crowded for a weekday. There were also a few groups of non-golfers hanging out around the course. Layout can be kind of confusing for a first timer. The map of the course near the #8 teepad is also quite confusing and even somewhat intimidating.
Other Thoughts: Since there are 2 options to park, many people don't play the course #1 to #9. If parking for free off the 101/Hellyer exit, it makes more sense to play the course #8 to #7. Otherwise, if you pay $5 bucks to park in the official Hellyer park parking lot, start at #1. There is supposedly a pathway across the creek to get to La Raza without driving.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (great use of otherwise unused land area; bowl-shaped)
Difficulty: B+ (elevation changes; not too long; trees)
Fun factor: B+ (variety of shots from tees & fairways; birdied #1 from 168ft out w/ Leopard)
Aesthetics: B (could be cleaner; feels tight)
--------------------
Overall: B+

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the Hell Yard!

5+    10/30/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: RocRing
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Great view
*Large downhill shots
*2 Tee pads per hole/Multiple pin placements per hole
*Variety of shots
*Concrete tee's
*Open shots off the tee
*Not too crowded
*Bag holders :D
*Tee pads are very large. Longer shots = Bigger Tee's
Cons: *Spiny Mother - F*@&#$*#'ing EVERYTHING
*The name HELL YARD pretty much sums up the environment 100%
*Hole 8's swamp
*Crosswinds/Drafts off highway
*Dirty / Trash
*Kinda muddy when slightly humid
*Arthritis? GTFO!
*Creepers
*Not good for 1st timers but alright for beginners
*Kinda easy to lose discs
Other Thoughts: Google map of Hellyard including "perfect" flight paths & distances.

http://maps.google.com/maps/m...079358cbbfc3d

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Nine Holer!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a well designed, definitely challenging nine hole course wedged in a piece between the freeway and another road. As previous reviewser have stated, it's not the most pleasing looking piece of land, especially in late August when I played. It's really a pretty sorry looking bit of bare dirt, scrub brush, mixed tree and what not with some mixed elevation thrown in for variety. But the designers have done a wonderful job of creating a most challenging disc golf experience here. The winds help with the challenge. The teepads are varying sizes (depending on the run-up needed). There are multiple basket placements for variety. There are uphill and downhill throws. # 7 is a big hyser shot around a large tree.
Cons: Hot, ugly desert scrubby enviroment in late August. Freeway noise. No water, bring your own. I don't know where you would park if crowded. The signs were kinda confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of that ugly girl in college, that you kind of ended up with late one night. You know the one that you didn't want your friends to find out about but then she turned out to be really "gifted" or something like that and you had a most memorable time. Give this course a chance. She doesn't look real fine at first glance but if you give her a chance, you'll have a good time! And then, you'll be bragging to your friends about her!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of better 9-hole course

5+    7/15/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Twinskulls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *This is one of above average 9-hole courses around US.
*Two tees to each hole. 1B and 1F, B means back (farther from hole). F means front (closer to hole).
*Well designed with elevation changes and plenty of accurate game.
*Course is well maintained by locals.
*Cool tees with post for your disc bag to hang on.
*There's course directory (map) at 8th tee (where we park our cars).
*Locals keep moving the pins around (each hole has 2 or 3 different places). It always a little bit different every time I play there.
Cons: *No water - bring water.
*No restroom
*It can be hot during summer, not much shade to hide from sun.
*In other reviews, they mentioned that highway 101 can be noisy and distraction. It is not for me... cuz I'm deaf. LOL
Other Thoughts: Same as other mentioned, start 8th hole instead of 1st because that's where the cars park. 8th, 9th, 1st, 2nd.... til 7th.

If you from out of area, be sure you try Parque De La Raza, few miles away. That course is best 9-hole course I ever played (I played over 200 different courses).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC

1    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 106  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -a good use of space
-easy access
-plenty of elevation, obsticals
-and some nice extras like bag holders.
Cons: -horrible tee signs, not sure how/why they were designed but need to be replace. did not notate which basket location was in play, some were trash by local scum (yes we all have them).
-some of the cement tee pads need to be leveled/resurface; time and weather has caused cracks and buckling making them a tripping hazard.
Other Thoughts: The second tee pads makes for a nice change of pace.
Parque de la Raza is just a few minutes away allowing travellers, like me, to get some differenet courses in while away from my
home courses.
This course could be a +4 with a little love, but is still fun to play.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    5/2/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: chipper408
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very easy to find. long and short shots. great course for sidearm. open course for the most part. nice mountainside steps installed by boyscouts... thanks guys! most baskets can be seen from tee pad. has long and short Tee pads. (18 total) pretty good course for beginners
Cons: starting on #1 instead of #8. very limited parking on sat/sun. no restrooms (on that side) open layout= very hot. highway 101 is kinda distracting. lots of tall brush throughout the year. the signs are horrible and deceiving. they must be clocked 90 degrees to be accurate. long/short tees may be confusing for all the newbies that go there. safari holes are not well-known either.
Other Thoughts: overall a decent course, you should start at #8 and go down, and around, and back up to #7. do not look at the signs. ask a local whats what. you can also play nextdoor at laraza, and if walking, take the trail going under 101, cross creek (only in summer...lol) and walk up small trail to road, and then walk south on road for a few minutes and you'll be there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 LQQKING 4 A QUICK FIX

5+    2/22/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy and quick access from Hwy 101. There is a new red practice basket next to parking. Concrete tee pads on all holes with the sizes of tee pads being proportionate to the distance and direction of the baskets. Signage is clear at all holes giving distance, direction of next tee pad, pin locations and pin dial.Pro and amateur tee pads with multiple pin locations. Benches, trash cans, logs or stumps and bag holders ergonomically placed with shade trees throughout. The course challenges all types of throwing styles on a large scale for the pro and amateur DG'er, Especially with the elevation and distance shots. The locals are friendly and pets welcomed. This is a 98% disc golf exclusive course that is rarely crowded!
Cons: No restroom facilities available and noise from traffic on Hwy 101 may annoy some. No water available, So bring water. Two areas are prone to flooding or have standing water (holes #8,#5,#6).Tall grass on fairways at times
Other Thoughts: This is my most played course thus far including my first Ace Race tournament. I've played this course in all seasons and have seen the hillsides very green in the winter and spring and brown during the fall summer months. The local disc golf club (Silicon Valley) has made many improvements to the walkways and attempt to keep up with the growing grass. The convenient way to play the course is start at hole #8 (tee pad closest to Hwy) and continue on to hole #9 and hole #1... Be careful of wind on hole #8. This is a great 9 hole course giving you an experience that makes you come back for more!

UPDATE: The local disc golf club has made great improvements to the course by planting additional trees and completed the staircases. This is one of my first reviews and after playing it recently I realize that the score should be higher, so my rating has also been changed.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.