San Jose, CA 
Hellyer Park (Coyote Creek DGC) Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #6
3 / 290ft.   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Clever

1    1/2/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
• Very easy to find and navigate
• Warm-up basket
• Nice variety of holes/throws
• Pretty good concrete tee pads
• Multiple tees
• Clear signage
• Disc golf exclusive
Cons:
• Pretty heavy hole/disc cross traffic
• Road/freeway/cars/nasty areas outside the course are in play on a couple holes
• I did see a little poison oak
Other Thoughts:
Tips
• As mentioned elsewhere, I guess the right place to park is on the opposite side of the freeway. This also is apparently where the restrooms and additional holes are located. Unfortunately I missed that tip so I'll have to check it out next time.
• Don't park behind 7's and maybe 4's basket. Discs can go long there and give your car a shiner.
• Play Parque De La Raza while you're here. It seems like you should be able to walk there through the tree line from here, but maybe there's a fence/barrier? Anyone tried?

Random Thoughts:
This course is just an ingenious use of space. I must admit, when I first saw the course from the road, I was concerned I had driven a long ways for nothing, but halfway through the round I had the biggest smile on my face. I just couldn't get over how cleverly designed the course was considering it's in a seemingly small pocket of land. And it's not like every hole is short here. They're surprisingly lengthy, with even a few bombers in the mix. And the additional tee pads aren't throw-ins. They actually are slightly different shots.

Bottom Line: While it's only 9 holes (you could argue 18 with the additional pads) and an errant throw could land over a fence or on the freeway, you owe it to yourself to check out this course. It is quite clever and quite fun. Bravo to the course designers!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 San Jose's Original DGC

5+    12/6/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many types of shots; down hill, uphill, over trees, under trees, around trees, thru trees. Great Use of land available, as this land really can't be used for much else besides disc golf. Concrete Tees pads (all have short and long tees), benches, bag hooks, trash cans and tee signs with distance and pin location. multiple pin locations. Elevation used well, and many challenging shots, but nothing a decent player can't handle. Course flows well and usually isn't crowded. 98% disc golf exclusive. Friendly locals. #5=Bowl Hole
Cons: Only 9 holes, but dual tees pads make 18.
Not the most beautiful course, aesthetically speaking, but after it rains it will get very green. Hole #8 should be #1 because that is where you park. Every once in a while some oblivious people wander onto the course. Course tends to be windy which will mess with your shots. Possible to lose a disc in the rough with a bad throw on 1, 8, and 9
Other Thoughts: My home course and the first place I ever played, so of course I am biased. However, this course is definitely under-rated. The site of this well established course was once a landfill that was converted into a park. Silicon Valley DG club takes great care of the course, and improvements are always being made, like how #8 now has stairs to go with the the railing when walking down the hill. Also I love the tree stumps decorated with beer bottle caps by #5's long tee.
If you are in the area, warm up with this course, then hit up La Raza which is much more challenging.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hell no!

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: unitypunk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Bag holders, and benches at every pin.(or almost)
very creative course.
decent people.
open, yet complicated.
pin placement is marked on signs, with a bolt, or stick in the hole, thats very nice.
Cons: not enough parking.
playing front and back tee boxes do not make this a fullsize course.( it left me wanting more.)
101 is loud and annoying. teebox 1 is all the way on the other side of the park, so you gotta play 8 and 9 to get there (Stupid IMHO)
Other Thoughts: i was in SJ for thanksgiving, thought i'd get some golf in, played La Raza first, then came here. ended up going back to La Raza to finish my day.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Something From Nothing

2-4    7/17/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Two concrete teepads at each hole. Signs at each teepad, showing the 3-4 possible positions for the basket, and also indicating the current position. Benches and bag hooks at each of the longer teepads. Excellent map/scorecard showing all the teepad and basket positions, the relative location of the brush and trees, and comprehensive distance information for every combination of pad/basket for each hole. Practice basket. A perfect complement to longer-but-flatter Parque de la Raza just a few minutes away.
Cons:
Only 9 holes, so could get crowded quickly. Constant buzz of nearby 101. Every hole will likely play as drive-then-approach/putt.
Other Thoughts:
The is a fine example of how to turn "unusable" land - in this case, a roughly 600' by 1100' sunken bit of dry, mixed tree/brush/bare ground land wedged between a major highway and another road - into a good disc golf course by taking advantage of the terrain and plant-life to create holes requiring a good variety of shots. While obviously the tee you use and the basket position that day will affect what awaits you, you'll typically find the tee-shot to be a:
- #1 left-turning, with a slight drop, to tree-guarded basket
- #2 right-turning to a basket in an elevated crater.
- #3 left-turning, longer with more drop than #1, to a basket amidst a cluster of trees
- #4 right-turning, across/slightly-up a slope, trees behind
- #5 left-turning, major downhill, basket near trees
- #6 right-turning, halfway up the slope you just came down, tree just in front
- #7 left-turning, up to the top of the slope.
- #8 similar to #5, not as long, bigger tree grouping to go around
- #9 slightly left-turning, must clear high brush at start, flat

The two teepads on each hole are often quite a good distance from each other, making the same hole play quite differently, depending upon which tee you use, so can seem like 18 if you switch tees for a second round. If you park on Hellyer, from which you can see the entire course, you should start with either hole #5 or #8. The practice basket, between the two, is in red - when you play #4 and #7, remember this factoid, otherwise you might find yourself throwing towards this basket when you tee-off. Play this and Parque de la Raza back-to-back, and you'll enjoy a great variety of disc golf that day.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Home sweet Hellyeerr!

5+    6/30/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: MissionCityMondo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Off the 101, more like on the 101.
Different shots on every hole.
People where cool.
Not too packed.
No problem breaking.
alot of trash cans....and the Sheriff's just cruz by...
Cons: a bit windy at times...a lotta the time.
no bathrooms, but plenty of bushes.
poison ivy...just be careful.
Other Thoughts: This is a kickass 9 hole course. The Hellyer course was placed in the best little area one would squeeze in nine with enough room.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    3/4/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: Bokonon
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Big elevation changes
-Good distance on most holes
-Easy freeway access
-Nice tees and pins (multiple locations)
Cons: -Often gets very windy in the afternoons
-Poison oak off some fairways (and in the isolated pockets on the course)
-Freeway does not help course aesthetics
Other Thoughts: This was the only course I played when I got into disc golf. I would later be punished for learning to drive on such a wide-open course. There are a couple holes where you can really bomb it though, which is still fun. I don't think playing the short tees to make 18 adds much to the course. The club does a good job with upkeep and changing pin locations, and have made other improvements over time, like the cement tee box on #3. If only they would eradicate the poison oak...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fast Freeway Fun

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Close to freeway
multiple tees
multiple pin placement
well maintained
friendly folks
trash cans availalable at almost every tee
bag holding stand at every hole
uphill/downill/flat and tree shots
Cons: parking is limited
No bathrooms
Other Thoughts: I am not a pro but I am not a total amateur either. I enjoyed this course and would play it often if I lived close by. I shot a 38 (+11) for 9 holes. While I was there someone showed up with a weedeater and other implements to maintain the course. (Cool) My brothers have been there pretty often and say the holes are moved often. I played both this and LaRaza and enjoyed this course more. See my LaRaza review

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An A- for 9-Holers

2-4    9/18/2003   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: IMO, this course is a perfect example of how 9-holers should be designed. The long tees give a very different look and feel from the shorts, so playing 2 rounds is basically equivalent to playing a full 18. Great creative design on this course! I have only 5 of 95 9-holers ranked higher.....and 3 of those no longer exist.)

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(Nothing too punishing (water, "early trouble", tunnel shots, etc) can be found on this course, but you can get yourself in some predicaments if you are way off line.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(Other than a couple of the long tees and a few gimme short holes, this course is a rewarding experience to score well on.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(Great use of terrain and obstacles to force creative shot making. Well above average for the typical 9-holer.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B-
(Definitely not lush and green and the location being right off the 101(due to terrain and trees you don't really see it, but you do hear it) detracts from the otherwise nice inland CA beauty.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
i loved the variety of shots and density of obstacles. on most holes you have to heave it pretty good to get there, and miss an obstacle or two. i threw about 50/50 backhand and forehand drives. great mix of elevation shots up, down, and flat. somewhat challenging, but not difficult.
Cons:
none. i was expecting to dislike course location being so close to hwy 101, but it never messed with my high. i had a great time there today.

okay one... as others have mentioned, its waaay easier to start on 8 and end on 7 because thats where you park...
Other Thoughts:
we went to play de la raza, but they close the gates and pull the baskets jan 1- mar 31. It was a beautiful holiday today and hellyer still wasn't too crowded. play it you're going by, i mean its 15 seconds off the freeway...

good layout for the lack of acreage. the holes are satisfyingly long for this size course. i would have rated it a 2.5 because it is a multi-use park, but the elevation changes and nice variety of driving situations bring it up to a 3.0

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hellyer

5+    12/28/2006   12/29/2008
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2009
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Easily accessible. Plenty of parking along road. Course utilizes elevation changes and patches of trees. Decent tee boxes. Great for getting in a quick round.
Cons: Has the feeling of a course that was slammed into an available area. 9 holes with two sets of tee boxes. Some of the holes run close to each other, some chance of stray discs flying your way. Catches wind more often than not. Terrible pollen during allergy season. Many easy par 3s.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course if you live nearby. I would just as soon get in the car in be teeing off at Dela in 30 minutes. Some good ace runs and many birdie opportunities makes Hellyer worth playing. If you have hayfever don't bother.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.