San Jose, CA
Hellyer Park (Coyote Creek DGC) Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 9/2011)
Course info board located by tee box of #8; close to street parking



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    8/25/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Tory
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy access off Hwy 101. Empty pretty much all day. Concrete t Pads with 4 positions on every hole.
Cons: Freeway noise. Often windy if you don't dig that....
Other Thoughts: Great 9 hole course with lots of elevation changes and plenty of tree's and other obstacles in play. I probably wouldn't travel to play this course but when played with its sister 9 hole course Parque de La Raza, it makes for a very entertaining 18 holes of disc golf.

Both front and back t's are concrete so you can alternate to make 18.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 SuperCombo 9's

1    11/24/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 627  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hellyer Park, like its nearby brother De La Raza, is a nearly equally well-designed and thought out 9 hole course. A designer could have easily tried to fit the magic number (eighteen) of holes here making for some boring golf, but instead, they've stuck with fewer, but better holes. Hellyer serves as a really nice complement to the De La Raza course in that it allows players to choose lines with more freedom. Usually several options are available off of the tee and players can select according to the conditions or their current strengths as a golfer. Because of the more open nature of the course, it can be quite windy, especially when teeing from the top of the hill. When the nearby Raza was hopping with people, this course was nearly empty! I'm not sure why this was the case, other than it just doesn't look quite as nice, but this is a definite 'positive' for Hellyer.

Challenge: I'd say this course is more geared towards slightly less experienced players when compared with Raza. The more open shots and a few short birdie holes make this a pretty welcoming place to learn disc flights without danger of nasty rough. Experienced players will find a bit more distance here and plenty more elevation - both up and down.
Cons: Skill level: This course might not offer quite enough challenge for high gold and elite level players with the exception of a few bigger distance shots from the long tees.

Navigation: Course navigation was a bit harder out here mostly because it looks like there may have been a redesign a while ago (not sure?). Some of the numbers weren't matching up quite right though so we started in the middle of the course and then worked our way back around.
Other Thoughts: As a combo, Hellyer and Raza make for a couple of the best 9 hole courses I've ever played. If I had to choose one dream home course out of all the courses I've played to both keep my game fresh, allow me to experiment with plenty of shots off the tee, and for pure enjoyment, I think the Hellyer Park/Parque de la Raza combo would be high on my list.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

2-4    12/27/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very beginner, kid, and female friendly as there are short teepad options for each hole. Nice and long teepads for a full run-up. Great use of an area that would probably otherwise be unused. Nice elevation changes both up & down, and variety of teeshots both left & right. Overall bowl shape of course makes it forgiving and finding discs is pretty easy. Teepad distances are just right for the appropriate skill levels.
Cons: Seemed pretty crowded for a weekday. There were also a few groups of non-golfers hanging out around the course. Layout can be kind of confusing for a first timer. The map of the course near the #8 teepad is also quite confusing and even somewhat intimidating.
Other Thoughts: Since there are 2 options to park, many people don't play the course #1 to #9. If parking for free off the 101/Hellyer exit, it makes more sense to play the course #8 to #7. Otherwise, if you pay $5 bucks to park in the official Hellyer park parking lot, start at #1. There is supposedly a pathway across the creek to get to La Raza without driving.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (great use of otherwise unused land area; bowl-shaped)
Difficulty: B+ (elevation changes; not too long; trees)
Fun factor: B+ (variety of shots from tees & fairways; birdied #1 from 168ft out w/ Leopard)
Aesthetics: B (could be cleaner; feels tight)
--------------------
Overall: B+

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the Hell Yard!

5+    10/30/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: RocRing
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Great view
*Large downhill shots
*2 Tee pads per hole/Multiple pin placements per hole
*Variety of shots
*Concrete tee's
*Open shots off the tee
*Not too crowded
*Bag holders :D
*Tee pads are very large. Longer shots = Bigger Tee's
Cons: *Spiny Mother - F*@&#$*#'ing EVERYTHING
*The name HELL YARD pretty much sums up the environment 100%
*Hole 8's swamp
*Crosswinds/Drafts off highway
*Dirty / Trash
*Kinda muddy when slightly humid
*Arthritis? GTFO!
*Creepers
*Not good for 1st timers but alright for beginners
*Kinda easy to lose discs
Other Thoughts: Google map of Hellyard including "perfect" flight paths & distances.

http://maps.google.com/maps/m...079358cbbfc3d

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Nine Holer!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a well designed, definitely challenging nine hole course wedged in a piece between the freeway and another road. As previous reviewser have stated, it's not the most pleasing looking piece of land, especially in late August when I played. It's really a pretty sorry looking bit of bare dirt, scrub brush, mixed tree and what not with some mixed elevation thrown in for variety. But the designers have done a wonderful job of creating a most challenging disc golf experience here. The winds help with the challenge. The teepads are varying sizes (depending on the run-up needed). There are multiple basket placements for variety. There are uphill and downhill throws. # 7 is a big hyser shot around a large tree.
Cons: Hot, ugly desert scrubby enviroment in late August. Freeway noise. No water, bring your own. I don't know where you would park if crowded. The signs were kinda confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of that ugly girl in college, that you kind of ended up with late one night. You know the one that you didn't want your friends to find out about but then she turned out to be really "gifted" or something like that and you had a most memorable time. Give this course a chance. She doesn't look real fine at first glance but if you give her a chance, you'll have a good time! And then, you'll be bragging to your friends about her!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of better 9-hole course

5+    7/15/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Twinskulls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *This is one of above average 9-hole courses around US.
*Two tees to each hole. 1B and 1F, B means back (farther from hole). F means front (closer to hole).
*Well designed with elevation changes and plenty of accurate game.
*Course is well maintained by locals.
*Cool tees with post for your disc bag to hang on.
*There's course directory (map) at 8th tee (where we park our cars).
*Locals keep moving the pins around (each hole has 2 or 3 different places). It always a little bit different every time I play there.
Cons: *No water - bring water.
*No restroom
*It can be hot during summer, not much shade to hide from sun.
*In other reviews, they mentioned that highway 101 can be noisy and distraction. It is not for me... cuz I'm deaf. LOL
Other Thoughts: Same as other mentioned, start 8th hole instead of 1st because that's where the cars park. 8th, 9th, 1st, 2nd.... til 7th.

If you from out of area, be sure you try Parque De La Raza, few miles away. That course is best 9-hole course I ever played (I played over 200 different courses).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC

1    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 103  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -a good use of space
-easy access
-plenty of elevation, obsticals
-and some nice extras like bag holders.
Cons: -horrible tee signs, not sure how/why they were designed but need to be replace. did not notate which basket location was in play, some were trash by local scum (yes we all have them).
-some of the cement tee pads need to be leveled/resurface; time and weather has caused cracks and buckling making them a tripping hazard.
Other Thoughts: The second tee pads makes for a nice change of pace.
Parque de la Raza is just a few minutes away allowing travellers, like me, to get some differenet courses in while away from my
home courses.
This course could be a +4 with a little love, but is still fun to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    5/2/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: chipper408
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very easy to find. long and short shots. great course for sidearm. open course for the most part. nice mountainside steps installed by boyscouts... thanks guys! most baskets can be seen from tee pad. has long and short Tee pads. (18 total) pretty good course for beginners
Cons: starting on #1 instead of #8. very limited parking on sat/sun. no restrooms (on that side) open layout= very hot. highway 101 is kinda distracting. lots of tall brush throughout the year. the signs are horrible and deceiving. they must be clocked 90 degrees to be accurate. long/short tees may be confusing for all the newbies that go there. safari holes are not well-known either.
Other Thoughts: overall a decent course, you should start at #8 and go down, and around, and back up to #7. do not look at the signs. ask a local whats what. you can also play nextdoor at laraza, and if walking, take the trail going under 101, cross creek (only in summer...lol) and walk up small trail to road, and then walk south on road for a few minutes and you'll be there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 LQQKING 4 A QUICK FIX

5+    2/22/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy and quick access from Hwy 101. There is a new red practice basket next to parking. Concrete tee pads on all holes with the sizes of tee pads being proportionate to the distance and direction of the baskets. Signage is clear at all holes giving distance, direction of next tee pad, pin locations and pin dial.Pro and amateur tee pads with multiple pin locations. Benches, trash cans, logs or stumps and bag holders ergonomically placed with shade trees throughout. The course challenges all types of throwing styles on a large scale for the pro and amateur DG'er, Especially with the elevation and distance shots. The locals are friendly and pets welcomed. This is a 98% disc golf exclusive course that is rarely crowded!
Cons: No restroom facilities available and noise from traffic on Hwy 101 may annoy some. No water available, So bring water. Two areas are prone to flooding or have standing water (holes #8,#5,#6).Tall grass on fairways at times
Other Thoughts: This is my most played course thus far including my first Ace Race tournament. I've played this course in all seasons and have seen the hillsides very green in the winter and spring and brown during the fall summer months. The local disc golf club (Silicon Valley) has made many improvements to the walkways and attempt to keep up with the growing grass. The convenient way to play the course is start at hole #8 (tee pad closest to Hwy) and continue on to hole #9 and hole #1... Be careful of wind on hole #8. This is a great 9 hole course giving you an experience that makes you come back for more!

UPDATE: The local disc golf club has made great improvements to the course by planting additional trees and completed the staircases. This is one of my first reviews and after playing it recently I realize that the score should be higher, so my rating has also been changed.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Very Clever

1    1/2/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 4.7 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Very easy to find and navigate
Warm-up basket
Nice variety of holes/throws
Pretty good concrete tee pads
Multiple tees
Clear signage
Disc golf exclusive
Cons:
Pretty heavy hole/disc cross traffic
Road/freeway/cars/nasty areas outside the course are in play on a couple holes
I did see a little poison oak
Other Thoughts:
Tips
As mentioned elsewhere, I guess the right place to park is on the opposite side of the freeway. This also is apparently where the restrooms and additional holes are located. Unfortunately I missed that tip so I'll have to check it out next time.
Don't park behind 7's and maybe 4's basket. Discs can go long there and give your car a shiner.
Play Parque De La Raza while you're here. It seems like you should be able to walk there through the tree line from here, but maybe there's a fence/barrier? Anyone tried?

Random Thoughts:
This course is just an ingenious use of space. I must admit, when I first saw the course from the road, I was concerned I had driven a long ways for nothing, but halfway through the round I had the biggest smile on my face. I just couldn't get over how cleverly designed the course was considering it's in a seemingly small pocket of land. And it's not like every hole is short here. They're surprisingly lengthy, with even a few bombers in the mix. And the additional tee pads aren't throw-ins. They actually are slightly different shots.

Bottom Line: While it's only 9 holes (you could argue 18 with the additional pads) and an errant throw could land over a fence or on the freeway, you owe it to yourself to check out this course. It is quite clever and quite fun. Bravo to the course designers!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.