Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #8 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / 300ft.   4 / 324ft.   4 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Roswell Rocks Right Now

2-4    5/5/2015   5/31/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 251  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: East Roswell Park has several great holes and features heavily wooded fairways on the majority of the 18 holes, and drastic elevation changes are common. No water in play that I saw. I like these kinds of courses the best, because of holes like 2, 6 or 9. 2 is downhill all the way, a putter throw for me, with gaps between tall trees giving lanes to th bucket. 6 drops way down a hill and climbs up another, with a more tall trees making drive placement critical. Challenging course that has worked me both times I have played it. Most recent round I got a 64, with birdies on hole 2 and 14. There are concrete tees and signs on all holes. Good baskets on each hole, except 11, which is apparently gone (temporarily?) due to construction.
Cons: Looking for the missing tee threw me off. Otherwise a very solid course. Not exactly beginner friendly. Playground and walking paths are near several holes.
Other Thoughts: East Roswell Park is very good, despite hole 11 being out of commission. A number a of other remarkable holes that I excluded descriptions from this review. One of the best around ATL, IMO. Sort of like Richmond Hill in Asheville.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paul Bunyan Course

5+    5/25/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.5 Years
Pros: Forested course
Multiple tees
Requires mix of power and accuracy
Minimal potential for conflict with other park users
Excellent administration and collaboration from park.
Well supported by locals
Cons: Black tees require some very strong, accurate pulls. The whole course has always been a bit on the long side for me. It is not for the weak or inexperienced player, even from the short tees, unless you are looking for a major challenge. All depends on your perspective. I find the number of long, uphill drives (or uphill tees) too much for me.
Other Thoughts: The course continues to improve and is a great representation of Atlanta disc golf. However, it takes more strength and accuracy, I think, than most courses in Atlanta. With a bit of redesign, some of the distance could be replaced with more technicality, turning 18 holes into 27...

Excellent Course!

2-4    5/2/2015   5/5/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/25/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is very wooded/technical.
- Layout is very reasonable for the land it's on. Good design.
- Signage is for the most part very good.
- With the exception of one hole (No. 8) there is space to throw discs in the fairways. It's tight and demands accuracy, but it's not unfair nor do the lanes have trees in the fairway that make straight approaches impossible (like at Little Mulberry in Gwinnett Co., Ga).
- The course is very "fair". Yes, you'll be punished by an errant throw, but a good throw will give a good "look" and opportunity for the next throw. This is really all one can ask for on a technical course.
- Holes are challenging but not so tough that a family with kids can't go out and have a fun day. This course will not beat you up like some (Little Mulberry in Gwinnett Co., Ga, comes to mind).
- It is VERY nice that Holes #9 and #18 end right near the playground and parking lot where #1 and #10 start.
- Course is good for beginners and experienced players alike. One can also bring discs for specific shots, but could play the course with only one or two discs (putter and midrange/fwy.driver).
Cons: - Hole No. 11 is dead because of road construction. They'll have to find a way to get a new Hole 11 in.
- With Hole 11 out, getting from Hole 10 basket to Hole 12 tee is not easy, not intuitive, and not marked at all.
- Hole 8 requires a layup, but even after a good shot the remaining "fairway" on the dogleg-right is chock-full of trees. I'd like to see some of the trees cleared out to make the approach shots more fair.
- While signage is generally good, it could be improved. If you haven't played this course, bring a printed-out map with you; it will help where the signage isn't there to navigate.
- Restrooms are not very close to the course.
- Some of the par designations are not realistic. A 397 foot hole is a par 3 if it's open space or partially so, but on this tight a course that's a stretch. And a tightly wooded hole that is well over 500 feet being just par 4? I don't think even expert players would agree with that one.
Other Thoughts: - I really like this course. I hope they can get #11 worked out, and just a few more signs here and there and this is a truly premiere course. It's challenging but fair, a bit physically demanding but not overly exhausting.
- I recommend good hiking boots/shoes after the rains; wet and messy means unsecure footing on some uphill and downhill holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

T = Technical

1    1/11/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Signs (old but valid), concrete black pads, very technical
Cons: Lots of trees which can make it a long round. Bathrooms only by Tee #1.
Other Thoughts: Pro tees are concrete but the other red and blue tees are crush and run type gravel. It looks like the course is going to be redesigned due to the city adding a road.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites in ATL

5+    6/27/2014   2/3/2015
Review By: TennDG
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Challenging - requires both distance and accuracy

* lots of elevation changes

Cons: * hard to find your way to and around if you aren't familiar with it.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in the Atlanta area - the fairways are wide enough to allow nice distance shots, but they also require accuracy. Missing your lines will set you back without a doubt. Some of the hilltop-to-hilltop shots are fun and make this course unique. It's obvious that this course gets lots of love from the local Disc Golf crew. My only beef was trying to find my way around - took a while to find where to start from the multiple parking lots at this park. If you go to Atlanta though, this course is a must.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wooded Magic

2-4    7/26/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great variety of long and short holes.
- Will exploit weaknesses in your game, you'll learn something new every time you play.
- Great signage.
- Well groomed.
- Great range of difficulty with different tee pads.
Cons: - Only the black tee pads have concrete, the others definitely need updating.
- Tough to find your way. Definitely bring someone experienced with you.
Other Thoughts: Play this classic Atlanta course! Great disc golf, in a well kept up park. Plenty of risks, and plenty of fun to be had.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unique

2-4    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One concrete tee pad per hole, with two shorter natural tees; excellent descriptive and accurate signs; bathroom available nearby with water fountains (at the playground). Benches available. Navigation wasn't a problem. Two 9 hole loops that start and end at the parking lot (near bathroom and water fountain).

The course is situated in a small and totally wooded corner of East Roswell Park, all the way at the end of the driveway by the tennis courts. Hole one is behind the small playground.  

This course has a ton of elevation change, which is nice, though more uphill than downhill. Hole 9 stands out to me here, as a long RHFH "S" curve downhill. It's not an easy line to hit, but if you do the long downhill glide is thrilling.

Getting off the fairway is punishing, as the intended line through the fairway is hard enough already. However, the mature pine forest is mostly clear of the usual Georgia underbrush, and it is usually possible to play from the rough and not just pitch out.
Cons: Not the greatest variety.. I got a bit tired of throwing similar shots off the tee. There is a great deal of "straight with no fade" or "straight with a slight right turn". Holes 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 16, 17 and 18 all fall into this category, and with the exception of 16 are very similar lengths. That's over half the course using the same shot.. And you drive uphill from the tee around 9 times, and downhill 3.

Lots of holes here are tweeners.. too long or obtuse to be birdied by pretty much anyone but a touring pro, but too short to be a par 4. This could be a little bit more balanced; a couple of tweeners could be 4's instead of long 3's.. for example hole 17 at 397' with an uphill tree filled fairway could certainly be a 4. Possibly 9 could be stretched just a touch and made a 4 as well. Certainly as it is any tree kick off the fairway on 9 is an instant bogey. That said, sometimes you just have to suck it up and play the course as it's scored. Par is always relative, and finishing even here feels like you just threw a -4 most other places.

Course is pretty much always crowded on the weekends. Parking lot too, considering you share it with a tennis court and a playground. The problem with this course being crowded is that there always seem to be a couple of large groups of beginners or families, and this course really is not friendly to that type of disc golf. Traffic can get bogged down really quickly.

Hole 4 in it's previous state was at least controversial and interesting, and there was like a 50/50 chance that you'd lose a disc. Now it's just super boring.

No real standout, signature, awe-inspiring holes; some holes feel like fillers.

18 holes is a lot to cram into a small corner of the park, and there are lots of very close fairways in the back 9. This doesn't bother me much, but I think the possibility of catching an errant disc is higher here than usual so be aware especially around 10, 13, 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Hole one and two are a great introduction to the course, as they set the pattern the course follows right away. Hole one is a long gradual uphill, with a fairway that is plenty wide but turns slightly right before continuing straight back (farther than you think at first) to the pin. The hole is very typical of East Roswell, in that it's totally possible to birdie for intermediate/advanced players if you perfectly execute two touchy shots. Rhbh throwers will need a drive that turns over, but not too much, and an accurate approach through sparse trees. No big deal! ...Until you stand on the tee pad and try it.

Hole two is a short beauty, throwing from a small hilltop, over a creek in a ravine of sorts and onto another hillside. Two clear routes, both with their advantages and obstacles. I think I always wish I had thrown the other route on this hole, no matter which one I throw.

Holes 3,4,and 5 are more open, but not really long enough to air it out. These holes have a high danger of losing a disc no matter how clearly you mark it, due to rampant kudzu growth on the edges of the fairway. The fairway is clear, but watch out if you err left or right.

Holes 4 and 6 are recently changed due to a construction project, which is too bad because 6 was a standout... sort of a longer hole 2. It's been replaced by a somewhat similar hole, but the old one was better. Players who were not a fan of the discarded trailers that littered hole 4 and made for many lost discs will be glad to see them gone, but may be underwhelmed by the very blah new hole 4.

All but holes 4, 5, and 12 are tight and technical, and though they are more open, there are still some trees to contend with. Playing from the pro tees (I haven't ever played the shorter tees.. All info on this review is based on the long tee), the course is very challenging. Of the high quality courses I play when I visit Atlanta (Perkerson, JP Mosely, N Ga Canopy Tours) East Roswell is the only one I haven't scored below par on. Last time I played it I felt I was playing about as well as I'm capable of and finished even. That said, there are two good birdie holes in the front nine (4 and 5) and three solid birdie opportunities in the back nine, beginning with hole 12. All other birdies are hard won. Contrary to other reviews, I feel that scoring well here isn't based on luck. Fairways are always fair (almost.. ), and a clear route is visible. Being able to hit your intended line is a result of lots of throwing and fieldwork, and if you can't *usually* put a disc where you want it you probably won't enjoy this course.

There are many complaints about this course being too tight, or just lucky, but this isn't true. There is a route on every hole (with the possible exception of the right turn approach on hole 8 which probably gets the most complaints, though it is one of only two par 4's for that reason.. people really complain about this hole, but I enjoy it. It forces me to throw a forehand which I usually try and avoid.. also I birdied it last round, which made me like it more haha.) and the fairways are not lucky. I can't think of any other course in the Atlanta area that is so consistently wooded, which makes me think players just aren't used to this type of course. Many courses I play are very similarly technical throughout.. They are very common in the Northeast, though the red clay and mature pine trees that make up this course give it a distinctly Southern flair. That said, I wouldn't recommend it to beginners (and I don't see the point of the shorter tees for this reason.. this is simply not a recreational course) because no matter how short a hole is, until you've gotten some control over the disc this course will be an unending frustration from any tee.

Even with the cons mentioned, for whatever reason I find this course to be a blast. It's hard and punishing and annoying at times but it's also very unique in the group of difficult courses around Atlanta. The bare ground and pine needles make skip shots (watch for the roots!) possible, so it's like a combo of west coast and east coast golf. It's a great touchstone for my progress, and a must play every time I visit.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    9/28/2013   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging treed course. Lots of elevation variations. Decent mix of long, short, blind holes. Bathrooms, water fountain, and pavilion very close to start.
Cons: Parking can sometimes be full due to proximity to tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: The course doesn't seem like a priority to the park... have seen it in pretty poor shape. There are few, if any, benches, trash cans, signs, etc.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

5+    6/7/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: gardenthug
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the front 9. There is a solid mix of woods/fairway as well as a good mix of left to right vs right to left drives. You can play most every shot in your bag.
Cons: The back 9 requires the distance of a driver, while also needing the aim(and luck) of a putter or mid range. I love wooded holes, but they lose some luster when there 500 yds long. Due to the length of some of the wooded holes, far too much luck is required just to make par.
Other Thoughts: The woods become particularly tough when the foliage leafs out during the spring and summer months. I regularly finish under par at other courses around Atlanta, but not this one.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bummer of a Day

1    3/12/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: moore1927
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Me and my group did not like this course, nearly at all, however that may be reflected by more than just the course.

It was a challenging course, and forces accuracy through very tight tunnels.
Cons: We considered this course full of cons. It's very left-handed or Right Hand forearm loaded. Almost every hole curves to the right from the tee. We had a guy who (due to a shoulder injury) is not able to throw forearm, and had to throw short to the curve at every hole, and then change directions. So many of our holes were filled with trudging through the trees to find our discs, and then get clear out to the main fairway or to the basket. We hit so many trees....

When we were there, there was a lot of construction going on, both near and on the course. So it wasn't a pleasant location to be at. Not only the noise and unsightliness of the trucks and dirt and fences etc, but also a few of the holes went through areas where construction was interfering.
Other Thoughts: We played 4 courses while visiting Atlanta, and this was our least favorite. Truthfully, we all hated it, that's why I give this course such a low rating. Perhaps at a different time it would get a better review from me.

Additionally, we are fairly new, and found this course more difficult then we would have liked, due to the need for accuracy through the tight tunnels of densely packed trees. So I'm sure others like it a lot, but we hated it.

4 of 26 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.