Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #18
3 / 317ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / 384ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challenging Course

5+    6/7/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: gardenthug
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the front 9. There is a solid mix of woods/fairway as well as a good mix of left to right vs right to left drives. You can play most every shot in your bag.
Cons: The back 9 requires the distance of a driver, while also needing the aim(and luck) of a putter or mid range. I love wooded holes, but they lose some luster when there 500 yds long. Due to the length of some of the wooded holes, far too much luck is required just to make par.
Other Thoughts: The woods become particularly tough when the foliage leafs out during the spring and summer months. I regularly finish under par at other courses around Atlanta, but not this one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Trees

1    11/25/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: carpedisc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tests your non-power shots. Multiple tee's to chose from. Good elevation changes. In the middle of a suburb. Good description of the holes by the tee boxes.
Cons: Trees.. I understand having a difficult course but putting a tree right in front of a tee box? Sometimes fairwarys are only in your mind. They could have better signage towards the next hole.
Other Thoughts: A course to help you try your tight shots but seems almost like a novelty course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hard Woods

5+    11/20/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In a secluded wooded area of the park that twists and turns with lots of elevation changes along the way. You really feel like you are in a different world when you are playing this course. Three tee pads on every hole: the longs are concrete while the shorts and mediums are gravel/dirt. Some of the best tee signs I have seen: each sign includes a description of the hole, an accurate diagram, and distances for all three tee pads. This course has a completely different feel during autumn/winter when the leaves are gone when compared to the spring/summer.
Cons: While most of the fairways are well defined and have ample width, some are just nutty with how many trees you have to get past (think pinball machine). A few holes seem to be of the "throw & pray" variety. There are lots of nooks and crannies where stray discs like to hide. There are a handful of blind holes that require you to walk the fairway to locate the basket if you are not already familiar with its placement.
Other Thoughts: The combination of long holes and lots of trees means this is definitely not a course for beginners if you are looking to score. Although I have registered more birdies here than anywhere else, I also often find myself playing my second shot within 10-15 steps of the tee pad--argh! You must be accurate off the tee pad at this course or your score will skyrocket. With that said, this course provides a really cool playing experience as you wind your way through the woods and up and down all of the elevation changes (some quite steep). The "trailer hole" is definitely the signature hole--you will either hate it or love it. So far, this course has gotten the better of me every time, but the playing experience keeps me coming back regularly. If you are up for a challenge, East Roswell Park is the place for you.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/28/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are good DISCatcher baskets, tee signs, and 3 sets of tees on every hole. The concrete tees helped in the wet/rainy weather, but they did seem to be unfinished. The park seemed to be in a nice area and was easy to access.

The course is tight wooded and scoring under par appears to be a good score for all skill levels, depending on which set of tees you play. The different tees make this course enjoyable for a wider range of skill levels. I only played the long tees, but they were mostly on the longer side, with a few short putter shots mixed in. There is decent use of the elevation change and the many trees will certainly force an accurate shot if you expect to score well on this course.
Cons: They seemed to be working on this course, but several things are unfinished, so these cons may improve before I have a chance to visit this course again. I did not see any benches. The shorter pads on each hole were made of crushed stone and as mentioned by the previous reviewer, the back tees appeared to be unfinished and potentially hazardous for those with a big run up.

Also, I agree with the course being a bit repetitive, with a definite lefty advantage. There were several instances where a wayward drive could cross into another fairway and become very dangerous for unsuspecting players. There were also several instances where there was a nice fairway and then a few select trees right in the middle of the fairway, bringing in a little bit of luck and making some of the shots a bit unreasonable.
Other Thoughts: I played this course the day before and during the Atlanta Open, all during the wet/rainy weather. You can tell a lot of work has been put into this course gearing up for the Atlanta Open, but it would be nice to see the finished results and to play this course in better weather conditions. I did not get a chance to really enjoy playing this course as much as I would like to have, due to the tournament and the weather conditions. I look forward to playing this course again in the future if I am in the area.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Woody woody

2-4    3/28/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pins makes for an increasing level of difficulty as you get to the longer sets of tees. As such, this provides a decent attraction for multiple skill levels. The short tees would not discourage the beginner - but the long tees probably would.
Mostly tight and wooded - this course puts a premium on accuracy off the tee.
There is also a fair amount of well used elevation changes - not huge scale big hills - but moderate ups and downs in the woods - this was perhaps the best quality of this course.
Cons: Very repetitive - lots of holes force you to throw the same kind of shot - hyzer flip, finishing right.
Teepads are unfinished, and too short. I went to play the NT event having heard there were new concrete tees. Unfortunately all the good work in getting concrete pads in place was unfinished, leaving raised teepads perhaps only 10' long with a step up on the back, and a drop off on the front - making the effort of trying to throw hard a bit dangerous. When/if the areas around these tees are filled to bring them to grade - the tees will be much more playable. The two short sets of tees are stone dust.
Other Thoughts: New tee signs are beautiful, and very well done.
Memorial plaque for Drew Eberhard inset in the concrete on the first tee was also very well done - and a moving tribute to one of our fallen disc golf brothers.
The course is a decent track, but in places, it seems as if they tried to do too much with the extended tees, as holes are packed tightly together in the woods, making for the occasional dangerous situation where you are throwing directly towards another teepad or pin placement (holes 11&17 come to mind). This also makes for a lot of visual distractions during tournament play.
Definitely a nice place to play - would be a beautiful shady place in the hot Ga summer.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Tree!!!!

1    1/23/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a challenge. The course is well thought out and is marked very well. It's kept up well from what I was able to see.
Cons: Trees.... and more trees. I'm still a novice, but at times it was ridiculous. It totally favors sidearm players, but I was able to manage.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course, just your typical day of golf in the woods. I plan to go back, but I think I'll learn to throw sidearm first. Also, not a course to bring new discs on.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 OK

5+    12/15/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Galahad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging layout for sure with tons of trees, great place to beat up overstable plastic.
Cons: Too many holes with trees right in front of the tee pads. Goofy "O.B." on one of the holes, made by rope.
Other Thoughts: Great course in terms of the location, good design with the small chunk of land it's on. Tee pads need a lot of work, very uneven.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Park

1    12/13/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well groomed heavily wooded course. Great signs and maps on every tee. Multiple tees give good challenge no matter what tee you play from really, all pretty challenging. Great variety in elevation throughout the course. Use just about all types of shots on this course and probably use the majority of your discs as well so that always fun. Trash cans and benches all over the course so it keeps maintained very well. Never too far away from your car, at least not for too long since its not in the best neighborhood either.
Cons: Very tight fairways on just about everyone hole. Except the hole that has the trailers in the fairway. Could cut some more trees down to make the fairways a little more reasonable, even with a good drive more than likely you are going to have a clean approach shot with all the trees in the way. The back nine some holes come within feet of other holes so watch out for other people and their discs. Didn't really enjoy the tee pads either, crushed stone was probably nice when new but with the nature of the game they are now warped and deformed, but nothin major or unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Over all pretty good course a lot of fun and a lot of pinball holes. Just pray that your on your game and who ever hits the least amount of trees in a round usually wins. A must visit though!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 agree with last reviewer

1    11/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, old growth forest- tight yet minimal rough (thorns, ivy, etc). Scenic landscape. Large hills make for tough shots, putts, walking. 3 sets of tees/hole. Well marked- a colorful sign+ a paragraph describing how to play the hole successfully. Good practice for other courses like it- easy to play, fun even though not well designed. A challenge of wills.
Cons: Overall, the design of many holes is just bad. It doesn't allow a reasonable shot by a good thrower to get through or even find a clean landing spot to throw an approach from. Good shots can careen deep into the woods. Tees are gravel, while not horrible, not great either.
Other Thoughts: Though not great design, it is good for working on trick shots and tight throws without high risk of lost discs or getting torn to shreds. Manages to be an enjoyable course and makes you work and think.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Difficult Course

12/23/2007   12/26/2007
Review By: pitpit
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is where I like them, the woods. The trees provide a great challenge and keep holes interesting.
Cons: I played this course on a day that was rainy in the morning so the slush was not too favorable. The tee pads were also very rough at the time, but the rain likely played a part in that.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check it out.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.