Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #1 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 298ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Paul Bunyan Course

5+    5/25/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.4 Years
Pros: Forested course
Multiple tees
Requires mix of power and accuracy
Minimal potential for conflict with other park users
Excellent administration and collaboration from park.
Well supported by locals
Cons: Black tees require some very strong, accurate pulls. The whole course has always been a bit on the long side for me. It is not for the weak or inexperienced player, even from the short tees, unless you are looking for a major challenge. All depends on your perspective. I find the number of long, uphill drives (or uphill tees) too much for me.
Other Thoughts: The course continues to improve and is a great representation of Atlanta disc golf. However, it takes more strength and accuracy, I think, than most courses in Atlanta. With a bit of redesign, some of the distance could be replaced with more technicality, turning 18 holes into 27...

T = Technical

1    1/11/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Signs (old but valid), concrete black pads, very technical
Cons: Lots of trees which can make it a long round. Bathrooms only by Tee #1.
Other Thoughts: Pro tees are concrete but the other red and blue tees are crush and run type gravel. It looks like the course is going to be redesigned due to the city adding a road.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unique

2-4    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One concrete tee pad per hole, with two shorter natural tees; excellent descriptive and accurate signs; bathroom available nearby with water fountains (at the playground). Benches available. Navigation wasn't a problem. Two 9 hole loops that start and end at the parking lot (near bathroom and water fountain).

The course is situated in a small and totally wooded corner of East Roswell Park, all the way at the end of the driveway by the tennis courts. Hole one is behind the small playground.  

This course has a ton of elevation change, which is nice, though more uphill than downhill. Hole 9 stands out to me here, as a long RHFH "S" curve downhill. It's not an easy line to hit, but if you do the long downhill glide is thrilling.

Getting off the fairway is punishing, as the intended line through the fairway is hard enough already. However, the mature pine forest is mostly clear of the usual Georgia underbrush, and it is usually possible to play from the rough and not just pitch out.
Cons: Not the greatest variety.. I got a bit tired of throwing similar shots off the tee. There is a great deal of "straight with no fade" or "straight with a slight right turn". Holes 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 16, 17 and 18 all fall into this category, and with the exception of 16 are very similar lengths. That's over half the course using the same shot.. And you drive uphill from the tee around 9 times, and downhill 3.

Lots of holes here are tweeners.. too long or obtuse to be birdied by pretty much anyone but a touring pro, but too short to be a par 4. This could be a little bit more balanced; a couple of tweeners could be 4's instead of long 3's.. for example hole 17 at 397' with an uphill tree filled fairway could certainly be a 4. Possibly 9 could be stretched just a touch and made a 4 as well. Certainly as it is any tree kick off the fairway on 9 is an instant bogey. That said, sometimes you just have to suck it up and play the course as it's scored. Par is always relative, and finishing even here feels like you just threw a -4 most other places.

Course is pretty much always crowded on the weekends. Parking lot too, considering you share it with a tennis court and a playground. The problem with this course being crowded is that there always seem to be a couple of large groups of beginners or families, and this course really is not friendly to that type of disc golf. Traffic can get bogged down really quickly.

Hole 4 in it's previous state was at least controversial and interesting, and there was like a 50/50 chance that you'd lose a disc. Now it's just super boring.

No real standout, signature, awe-inspiring holes; some holes feel like fillers.

18 holes is a lot to cram into a small corner of the park, and there are lots of very close fairways in the back 9. This doesn't bother me much, but I think the possibility of catching an errant disc is higher here than usual so be aware especially around 10, 13, 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Hole one and two are a great introduction to the course, as they set the pattern the course follows right away. Hole one is a long gradual uphill, with a fairway that is plenty wide but turns slightly right before continuing straight back (farther than you think at first) to the pin. The hole is very typical of East Roswell, in that it's totally possible to birdie for intermediate/advanced players if you perfectly execute two touchy shots. Rhbh throwers will need a drive that turns over, but not too much, and an accurate approach through sparse trees. No big deal! …Until you stand on the tee pad and try it.

Hole two is a short beauty, throwing from a small hilltop, over a creek in a ravine of sorts and onto another hillside. Two clear routes, both with their advantages and obstacles. I think I always wish I had thrown the other route on this hole, no matter which one I throw.

Holes 3,4,and 5 are more open, but not really long enough to air it out. These holes have a high danger of losing a disc no matter how clearly you mark it, due to rampant kudzu growth on the edges of the fairway. The fairway is clear, but watch out if you err left or right.

Holes 4 and 6 are recently changed due to a construction project, which is too bad because 6 was a standout… sort of a longer hole 2. It's been replaced by a somewhat similar hole, but the old one was better. Players who were not a fan of the discarded trailers that littered hole 4 and made for many lost discs will be glad to see them gone, but may be underwhelmed by the very blah new hole 4.

All but holes 4, 5, and 12 are tight and technical, and though they are more open, there are still some trees to contend with. Playing from the pro tees (I haven't ever played the shorter tees.. All info on this review is based on the long tee), the course is very challenging. Of the high quality courses I play when I visit Atlanta (Perkerson, JP Mosely, N Ga Canopy Tours) East Roswell is the only one I haven't scored below par on. Last time I played it I felt I was playing about as well as I'm capable of and finished even. That said, there are two good birdie holes in the front nine (4 and 5) and three solid birdie opportunities in the back nine, beginning with hole 12. All other birdies are hard won. Contrary to other reviews, I feel that scoring well here isn't based on luck. Fairways are always fair (almost.. ), and a clear route is visible. Being able to hit your intended line is a result of lots of throwing and fieldwork, and if you can't *usually* put a disc where you want it you probably won't enjoy this course.

There are many complaints about this course being too tight, or just lucky, but this isn't true. There is a route on every hole (with the possible exception of the right turn approach on hole 8 which probably gets the most complaints, though it is one of only two par 4's for that reason.. people really complain about this hole, but I enjoy it. It forces me to throw a forehand which I usually try and avoid.. also I birdied it last round, which made me like it more haha.) and the fairways are not lucky. I can't think of any other course in the Atlanta area that is so consistently wooded, which makes me think players just aren't used to this type of course. Many courses I play are very similarly technical throughout.. They are very common in the Northeast, though the red clay and mature pine trees that make up this course give it a distinctly Southern flair. That said, I wouldn't recommend it to beginners (and I don't see the point of the shorter tees for this reason.. this is simply not a recreational course) because no matter how short a hole is, until you've gotten some control over the disc this course will be an unending frustration from any tee.

Even with the cons mentioned, for whatever reason I find this course to be a blast. It's hard and punishing and annoying at times but it's also very unique in the group of difficult courses around Atlanta. The bare ground and pine needles make skip shots (watch for the roots!) possible, so it's like a combo of west coast and east coast golf. It's a great touchstone for my progress, and a must play every time I visit.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It's all good

1    5/15/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course tucked in the back of a large park. Concrete pads for the Black tees and natural pads for Red and Blue. Decent options for everybody. Course is entirely built in an old growth pine forest with some decent elevation. Fairways are clear, and undergrowth is almost non-existant. Well done signs at the Black pads with a decent depiction of the hole layout, and lengths for each tee position.

Good variety in hole length. 211' all the way to 524'. But everything is technical and mostly tight with one or two exceptions. Lots of tight fairways and line shaping shots here. If you enjoy threading putters and mids through tight spots or around some curves you'll like this course. There are a few open spots, but they aren't big bombs.

Nice greens on hillsides, and tucked into openings in the large pines. Just a very nice looking course with a solid layout and design.

Good use of elevation. No top of the world shots, but some nice ups and downs.
Cons: Nothing stands out as a big negative to me unless you want to throw a driver 600' in an open field. This course is about 100% technical, and will not be the place for people that like lots of room and space for their speed 13 drivers.

Might be a little bit RHFH friendly. Not a lot of RHBH hyzers or curves.

I am not a big fan on the trucks full of graffiti on #4. Kind of an eye sore on an otherwise great looking course. Seems like there should be a way to get that garbage hauled out of there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this place. For those that have been there, it reminds me of a smaller, simpler version of Castle Hayne in Wilmington, NC. It is set in a nice stand of pines with tight lines, and a good variety of shots needed. You have a little bit of every shape here. There is nothing awe inspiring, but it is all pretty good. Definitely a fun course, and worth a stop if you are in the area.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow Challenge

1    2/5/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: durango
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -challenging requiring accurate shots
-tee signs with distance helps as many of the baskets are not visible from tee.
Cons: -The don't leave valuables in the car sign at entrance is a bit intimidating
Other Thoughts: This course requires you to stay on the fairway, if you get off, shots can become difficult quickly. There is some variety of left,right and straight holes and a little elevation change. Many of the holes require a long straight throw. It is located in a nice well groomed city park.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Frustratingly Good

5+    10/27/2012   10/27/2012
Review By: haier2
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For such a wooded course there is a good amount of diversity from hole to hole here. The tee signs are quality, and feature little paragraphs about the story, routes, and quirks of each hole as well as the score you should hope for.

There are good amenities here as well and the park is in great shape. Benches on the course always seem to appear right when you want to sit down. The teepads for the black tees are quality and have a good natural shape for throwing. The course itself is clean with minimal litter, and there were trashcans throughout.

The walkways between holes have been well worn in, so even though you're in the woods you aren't having to trudge through thorns.

The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: The start of the course should be more well marked as there is nothing indicating hole one from the parking lot and it is pretty hidden.

Navigation has gotten better as people play the course and stomp out paths between holes, but it still would not hurt to have some signs pointing you to the next tee. A basic map at the beginning of the course would help with some of these issues.

Some of the thorns and underbrush, especially on blind holes, are really punishing. There are several shots with blind drop offs surrounding that lead to thorns, kudzu and untended underbrush.

The trailers on hole four are tacky. This hole is already a signature shot but would be so much better without them. They are sketchy and it's not good to have people crawling around or climbing over them to get discs.

Though there is a good bit of variety with length and elevation, the majority of holes tend to be straight or right turning. I'd say that there were only three or four left turning shots. This is a bit nit-picky, but it gets somewhat old because shots off the fairway on this course can be really punishing.
Other Thoughts: I hadn't played this course in a few years and I think it has really improved. The shorter pads showed signs of aging though I never played on them.

This course is incredibly challenging from the black pads as it is so unforgiving. These black tees are truly "pro" level and will likely frustrate anyone that is not a seasoned disc golfer.

It's easy to imagine that a lot of discs are left on this course as a result of errant drives that land in thick underbrush on the sides of fairways. Make sure to bring out extra discs if you don't carry a ton of plastic.

Don't come out to this course thinking you will air out drives, there are a few long holes but they are biased towards control instead of distance.

With a bit of TLC and some extra signs this course could be a 4 ranked course. I'm not sure that it could be much higher ranked as its variety is limited due to being in the middle of the woods.

You'll feel great when you have a good shot and the course will reward you, but if you're off the fairway you are in for a long day. The pros outweigh the cons, though often the cons are more obvious than the pros. This course is done really well for being squeezed into such a wooded area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flying Blind

1    9/24/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 119  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of technical play
Variable distances
Three tee options throughout the course
Heavy brush but clear enough to find errant discs
Hilly but no overly so
Well shaded
Nice/maintained maps at each tee
Cons: A significant number of baskets are completely blind from most or all tee locations, this is especially difficult when playing the course for the first time.
Brush can disguise even the brightest colored discs
Concrete tee pads are only at the longest/pro level tees, makes for an inconsistent game if playing through several times at different tee locations.
No warm-up/practice basket - a must for a course of this caliber.
Unclear signs designating the starting location of the course.
No overall course map.
Other Thoughts: Even though the list of cons is much longer than the pros, this is a really great course. Just be prepared to spend some time looking for discs the first time playing this course unless you can keep things on the fairways. I highly recommend sticking to the fairways where possible. My biggest complaints are the sheer number of blind baskets, making even a remote ace possibility even slimmer, and the lack of a practice/warm-up basket, especially key when the course is busy. Otherwise I highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Park

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Disc Golf Dan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My first impression was very good. It's a nice park with lots of facilities and plenty of parking. Hole #2 is probably my favorite, you toss over a small valley with multiple trees in the way. I hit the pin but it bounced out! There are only a limited amount of holes that are out of the woods, 3-5 are a few of these. Locals call these 3 holes Kudzu Corner. The longest whole is #16, at 517 feet this par 4 has a blind tee shot and it's an upward battle for sure. I liked the course and plan on going back. It's not far from Will's Park either!
Cons: Lots of trees and tight throws are a challenge but fun. A few holes get close to the road but it's not that bad. Beware of the Kudzu, it's throughout holes 3 - 5. Some holes are hard to find but I was able to manage. Lots of other activities going on at the park, I recommend going early in the day.
Other Thoughts: Used my tomahawk shot multiple times. This course is loaded with trees. You will need to adjust your throw throughout this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a Homer

5+    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: ow.douglas
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained and well marked
multi tee boxes that really change the look
It's challenging because of the trees
Lots of shade on hot days
Well marked with concrete tees on the blacks only. Some benches and tash cans.
This is a good place for the family too, there is a playground and covered picnic pavilion right next to the first tee.
Cons: Kind of short
Can get very crowded
people will jump in on 4, 10 and 11 and back things up.
After a rain this place gets muddy, bring boots and a towel.
Other Thoughts: I admit it, I am a Homer. I play here most of the time. I am not a distance thrower and really am not that good but, I have played here with people who are and it's an equalizer. Your big arm isn't going to kill me here. It gets really crowded and there are a few parking lots and you end up with people jumping on several holes. Leave the long discs in the trunk and get there early.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ERP

5+    7/19/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: disccaddie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great technical course that does not let you get away with "ripping" one without control. The big arms are disabled on this course as there are few holes to use it as an advantage. Skill and "touch" are required to score well here. Well marked and identified with great tee signs.
Cons: This course can get busy at times and because it's technical it can slow down easily. Playing earlier in the day is your best bet especially when the weather is nice.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.