Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 174ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign: Actual distances are 14 feet shorter than shown on sign due to path construction.



Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
It's all good

1    5/15/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course tucked in the back of a large park. Concrete pads for the Black tees and natural pads for Red and Blue. Decent options for everybody. Course is entirely built in an old growth pine forest with some decent elevation. Fairways are clear, and undergrowth is almost non-existant. Well done signs at the Black pads with a decent depiction of the hole layout, and lengths for each tee position.

Good variety in hole length. 211' all the way to 524'. But everything is technical and mostly tight with one or two exceptions. Lots of tight fairways and line shaping shots here. If you enjoy threading putters and mids through tight spots or around some curves you'll like this course. There are a few open spots, but they aren't big bombs.

Nice greens on hillsides, and tucked into openings in the large pines. Just a very nice looking course with a solid layout and design.

Good use of elevation. No top of the world shots, but some nice ups and downs.
Cons: Nothing stands out as a big negative to me unless you want to throw a driver 600' in an open field. This course is about 100% technical, and will not be the place for people that like lots of room and space for their speed 13 drivers.

Might be a little bit RHFH friendly. Not a lot of RHBH hyzers or curves.

I am not a big fan on the trucks full of graffiti on #4. Kind of an eye sore on an otherwise great looking course. Seems like there should be a way to get that garbage hauled out of there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this place. For those that have been there, it reminds me of a smaller, simpler version of Castle Hayne in Wilmington, NC. It is set in a nice stand of pines with tight lines, and a good variety of shots needed. You have a little bit of every shape here. There is nothing awe inspiring, but it is all pretty good. Definitely a fun course, and worth a stop if you are in the area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Narrow Challenge

1    2/5/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: durango
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -challenging requiring accurate shots
-tee signs with distance helps as many of the baskets are not visible from tee.
Cons: -The don't leave valuables in the car sign at entrance is a bit intimidating
Other Thoughts: This course requires you to stay on the fairway, if you get off, shots can become difficult quickly. There is some variety of left,right and straight holes and a little elevation change. Many of the holes require a long straight throw. It is located in a nice well groomed city park.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Frustratingly Good

5+    10/27/2012   10/27/2012
Review By: haier2
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For such a wooded course there is a good amount of diversity from hole to hole here. The tee signs are quality, and feature little paragraphs about the story, routes, and quirks of each hole as well as the score you should hope for.

There are good amenities here as well and the park is in great shape. Benches on the course always seem to appear right when you want to sit down. The teepads for the black tees are quality and have a good natural shape for throwing. The course itself is clean with minimal litter, and there were trashcans throughout.

The walkways between holes have been well worn in, so even though you're in the woods you aren't having to trudge through thorns.

The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: The start of the course should be more well marked as there is nothing indicating hole one from the parking lot and it is pretty hidden.

Navigation has gotten better as people play the course and stomp out paths between holes, but it still would not hurt to have some signs pointing you to the next tee. A basic map at the beginning of the course would help with some of these issues.

Some of the thorns and underbrush, especially on blind holes, are really punishing. There are several shots with blind drop offs surrounding that lead to thorns, kudzu and untended underbrush.

The trailers on hole four are tacky. This hole is already a signature shot but would be so much better without them. They are sketchy and it's not good to have people crawling around or climbing over them to get discs.

Though there is a good bit of variety with length and elevation, the majority of holes tend to be straight or right turning. I'd say that there were only three or four left turning shots. This is a bit nit-picky, but it gets somewhat old because shots off the fairway on this course can be really punishing.
Other Thoughts: I hadn't played this course in a few years and I think it has really improved. The shorter pads showed signs of aging though I never played on them.

This course is incredibly challenging from the black pads as it is so unforgiving. These black tees are truly "pro" level and will likely frustrate anyone that is not a seasoned disc golfer.

It's easy to imagine that a lot of discs are left on this course as a result of errant drives that land in thick underbrush on the sides of fairways. Make sure to bring out extra discs if you don't carry a ton of plastic.

Don't come out to this course thinking you will air out drives, there are a few long holes but they are biased towards control instead of distance.

With a bit of TLC and some extra signs this course could be a 4 ranked course. I'm not sure that it could be much higher ranked as its variety is limited due to being in the middle of the woods.

You'll feel great when you have a good shot and the course will reward you, but if you're off the fairway you are in for a long day. The pros outweigh the cons, though often the cons are more obvious than the pros. This course is done really well for being squeezed into such a wooded area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Flying Blind

1    9/24/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 93  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of technical play
Variable distances
Three tee options throughout the course
Heavy brush but clear enough to find errant discs
Hilly but no overly so
Well shaded
Nice/maintained maps at each tee
Cons: A significant number of baskets are completely blind from most or all tee locations, this is especially difficult when playing the course for the first time.
Brush can disguise even the brightest colored discs
Concrete tee pads are only at the longest/pro level tees, makes for an inconsistent game if playing through several times at different tee locations.
No warm-up/practice basket - a must for a course of this caliber.
Unclear signs designating the starting location of the course.
No overall course map.
Other Thoughts: Even though the list of cons is much longer than the pros, this is a really great course. Just be prepared to spend some time looking for discs the first time playing this course unless you can keep things on the fairways. I highly recommend sticking to the fairways where possible. My biggest complaints are the sheer number of blind baskets, making even a remote ace possibility even slimmer, and the lack of a practice/warm-up basket, especially key when the course is busy. Otherwise I highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Park

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Disc Golf Dan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My first impression was very good. It's a nice park with lots of facilities and plenty of parking. Hole #2 is probably my favorite, you toss over a small valley with multiple trees in the way. I hit the pin but it bounced out! There are only a limited amount of holes that are out of the woods, 3-5 are a few of these. Locals call these 3 holes Kudzu Corner. The longest whole is #16, at 517 feet this par 4 has a blind tee shot and it's an upward battle for sure. I liked the course and plan on going back. It's not far from Will's Park either!
Cons: Lots of trees and tight throws are a challenge but fun. A few holes get close to the road but it's not that bad. Beware of the Kudzu, it's throughout holes 3 - 5. Some holes are hard to find but I was able to manage. Lots of other activities going on at the park, I recommend going early in the day.
Other Thoughts: Used my tomahawk shot multiple times. This course is loaded with trees. You will need to adjust your throw throughout this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a Homer

5+    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: ow.douglas
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained and well marked
multi tee boxes that really change the look
It's challenging because of the trees
Lots of shade on hot days
Well marked with concrete tees on the blacks only. Some benches and tash cans.
This is a good place for the family too, there is a playground and covered picnic pavilion right next to the first tee.
Cons: Kind of short
Can get very crowded
people will jump in on 4, 10 and 11 and back things up.
After a rain this place gets muddy, bring boots and a towel.
Other Thoughts: I admit it, I am a Homer. I play here most of the time. I am not a distance thrower and really am not that good but, I have played here with people who are and it's an equalizer. Your big arm isn't going to kill me here. It gets really crowded and there are a few parking lots and you end up with people jumping on several holes. Leave the long discs in the trunk and get there early.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ERP

5+    7/19/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: disccaddie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great technical course that does not let you get away with "ripping" one without control. The big arms are disabled on this course as there are few holes to use it as an advantage. Skill and "touch" are required to score well here. Well marked and identified with great tee signs.
Cons: This course can get busy at times and because it's technical it can slow down easily. Playing earlier in the day is your best bet especially when the weather is nice.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lumberjack City

5+    6/23/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: punahou80
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well separated from other park users, challenging terrain around some baskets and several drives require a high degree of precision and distance. Good location in a heavily populated metro suburb. Nice concrete pads on black tees (Blues are a little beat up but that is to be expected given the amount of use). Excellent application of elevation changes throughout the course.
Cons: Ridiculously wooded. Your discs will hate you for playing there (Ouch! - that tree hurts!). The course is so heavily treed that about half the holes don't allow much creativity or variety of shots.
Can be very frustrating on a bad day - hit trees, look for discs
Other Thoughts: ERP takes time to get used to and is not beginner friendly. This would be a good course to include in a multi-day tour of courses as the heavily wooded course.

For people who have been frustrated at ERP, try playing in the Fall & winter when the leaves are down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Out of the Woods Yet!!

2-4    4/9/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course. The signs and maps of each hole are very helpful. You can even print out a nice little "caddie book" to carry with you. Multiple tee boxes were very nice for my wife and I to play together. The back tees weren't rediculously long either. Several birdie opportunities out there. The lay out is nice and not at all confusing with arrows and maps to show you where you're headed. Good variation of holes. Left and right, long and short, with a few par 4's.
Cons: That's a lot of trees. I'm a decent player but I'm no pro, so take that into consideration. I felt like there were just too many trees in the middle of the fairway on this course. The first par 4 literally had no second fairway to access the basket. I'm my opinion it was just blind luck. We threw so many great shots that maneuvered around 3 or 4 trees but still caught another down the road. They could easily remove a tree or two and not hurt anything. If you're new to disc golf and play this first, you might not play again. I'm sure the pros can handle this but I think this course brings luck into play a little too much.
Other Thoughts: We played 36 holes out there so we did like the course a lot, but all in all just too many trees. It is possible that in a year I might appreciate it more, but for the non-pro or non-high level players, I'd advise on playing somewhere else. Definately a great course to play but it is frustrating as well. The other facets of the course are so good that it is still a 3.5 for me though

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course!

2-4    10/16/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good challenge of holes! I enjoyed the brisk walk and for the most part it was easy to get from hole to hole. There were plenty of birdie chances and some ace chances other than a tree or five hundred in your way :)
Cons: None as far as I can see. If I had one it would be trees galore! Guess that's what you have to deal with. No #18 basket. Someone needs to get on that repair.
Other Thoughts: Loved the three teepads at each hole. I played the reds though. I needed to see the basket for my first couple times playing. I would go to the blues next time probably. Overall I say this is for sure a course to play if you are in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.