Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #17 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 269ft.   3 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Roswell Rocks Right Now

2-4    5/5/2015   5/31/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 251  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: East Roswell Park has several great holes and features heavily wooded fairways on the majority of the 18 holes, and drastic elevation changes are common. No water in play that I saw. I like these kinds of courses the best, because of holes like 2, 6 or 9. 2 is downhill all the way, a putter throw for me, with gaps between tall trees giving lanes to th bucket. 6 drops way down a hill and climbs up another, with a more tall trees making drive placement critical. Challenging course that has worked me both times I have played it. Most recent round I got a 64, with birdies on hole 2 and 14. There are concrete tees and signs on all holes. Good baskets on each hole, except 11, which is apparently gone (temporarily?) due to construction.
Cons: Looking for the missing tee threw me off. Otherwise a very solid course. Not exactly beginner friendly. Playground and walking paths are near several holes.
Other Thoughts: East Roswell Park is very good, despite hole 11 being out of commission. A number a of other remarkable holes that I excluded descriptions from this review. One of the best around ATL, IMO. Sort of like Richmond Hill in Asheville.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course!

2-4    5/2/2015   5/5/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/25/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is very wooded/technical.
- Layout is very reasonable for the land it's on. Good design.
- Signage is for the most part very good.
- With the exception of one hole (No. 8) there is space to throw discs in the fairways. It's tight and demands accuracy, but it's not unfair nor do the lanes have trees in the fairway that make straight approaches impossible (like at Little Mulberry in Gwinnett Co., Ga).
- The course is very "fair". Yes, you'll be punished by an errant throw, but a good throw will give a good "look" and opportunity for the next throw. This is really all one can ask for on a technical course.
- Holes are challenging but not so tough that a family with kids can't go out and have a fun day. This course will not beat you up like some (Little Mulberry in Gwinnett Co., Ga, comes to mind).
- It is VERY nice that Holes #9 and #18 end right near the playground and parking lot where #1 and #10 start.
- Course is good for beginners and experienced players alike. One can also bring discs for specific shots, but could play the course with only one or two discs (putter and midrange/fwy.driver).
Cons: - Hole No. 11 is dead because of road construction. They'll have to find a way to get a new Hole 11 in.
- With Hole 11 out, getting from Hole 10 basket to Hole 12 tee is not easy, not intuitive, and not marked at all.
- Hole 8 requires a layup, but even after a good shot the remaining "fairway" on the dogleg-right is chock-full of trees. I'd like to see some of the trees cleared out to make the approach shots more fair.
- While signage is generally good, it could be improved. If you haven't played this course, bring a printed-out map with you; it will help where the signage isn't there to navigate.
- Restrooms are not very close to the course.
- Some of the par designations are not realistic. A 397 foot hole is a par 3 if it's open space or partially so, but on this tight a course that's a stretch. And a tightly wooded hole that is well over 500 feet being just par 4? I don't think even expert players would agree with that one.
Other Thoughts: - I really like this course. I hope they can get #11 worked out, and just a few more signs here and there and this is a truly premiere course. It's challenging but fair, a bit physically demanding but not overly exhausting.
- I recommend good hiking boots/shoes after the rains; wet and messy means unsecure footing on some uphill and downhill holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites in ATL

5+    6/27/2014   2/3/2015
Review By: TennDG
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Challenging - requires both distance and accuracy

* lots of elevation changes

Cons: * hard to find your way to and around if you aren't familiar with it.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in the Atlanta area - the fairways are wide enough to allow nice distance shots, but they also require accuracy. Missing your lines will set you back without a doubt. Some of the hilltop-to-hilltop shots are fun and make this course unique. It's obvious that this course gets lots of love from the local Disc Golf crew. My only beef was trying to find my way around - took a while to find where to start from the multiple parking lots at this park. If you go to Atlanta though, this course is a must.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wooded Magic

2-4    7/26/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great variety of long and short holes.
- Will exploit weaknesses in your game, you'll learn something new every time you play.
- Great signage.
- Well groomed.
- Great range of difficulty with different tee pads.
Cons: - Only the black tee pads have concrete, the others definitely need updating.
- Tough to find your way. Definitely bring someone experienced with you.
Other Thoughts: Play this classic Atlanta course! Great disc golf, in a well kept up park. Plenty of risks, and plenty of fun to be had.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    9/28/2013   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging treed course. Lots of elevation variations. Decent mix of long, short, blind holes. Bathrooms, water fountain, and pavilion very close to start.
Cons: Parking can sometimes be full due to proximity to tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: The course doesn't seem like a priority to the park... have seen it in pretty poor shape. There are few, if any, benches, trash cans, signs, etc.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get out of my dreams, and into the woods.

2-4    10/20/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A large variety of difficulty based on the tees of your choice.

Good, level, consistent teepads.

A huge variety of shots required to score even decently.

All discatchers in good shape.

Two separate loops for both 9's both starting and ending next to the parking lot.

Located inside of a very nice and friendly family park, with lots of other activities such as a large playground for your little rag-muffins to run around. :|

A hugeeeee amount of elevation, especially for an atlanta area course.

A good amount of benches spread throughout the course, you'll definitely want to use them.

Cons: Not a huge con, but, you will not be getting the chance to air out any shots here really. This course is all about precision, so not so much a con, but just something to think about.

If you're playing from the longs, off the top of my head I can recall a couple of tee-shots that are nearly impossible to get within two range off the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome. It challenges every single aspect of your game, seriously. You may get frustrated out here, the key here is to play real golf. Throwing big D drivers off the tee may grant you a chance at a 2, or you may kick early and be praying for a four. Play smart and it's very possible to hover around even for a solid intermediate level player.

If you're in this area of ATL, this is the course to choose. This, Perkerson & Moseley are the gems of the area, it's too bad they are all so far apart.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great shaded course for that HOT Georgia sun

1    4/14/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was in a great park with baseball fields, nicely taken care of soccer/lacrosse fields and tennis courts. Awesome playground area for kids. Picnic areas and pavilions and great parking. In a nice area of town as well. This was the first time I have been here and I loved every minute of it. The first hole was a little hard to find for people like me who have never been there but you ask anyone and they will point you in the right direction. I love wooded courses so this was a paradise for me. I can only think of one hole where it was moderately open. The hole with the 18 wheel trailers, which was a nice touch but a crazy hard hole to get even a 3 on. I would recommend this course to anyone if your in the area and the locals were very nice and told me alot of great tips on the course and alot of info about other courses around. It was shaded the whole time and had a great breeze. Great challenge for beginners and pros. Nice tee boxes and informative signs that tell you which was next hole is. Not crowded at all when I went and I went on a Saturday which is a good sign that you can come here anytime and play at your own pace.
Cons: I can't really think of any cons except maybe better signs after the hole to point you to where next hole is. It tells you on original tee box sign but I often forget to pay attention at the tee. So not really a con but it would be nice to have a sign to help the non-locals out. Overall there was no major cons to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Heard it was a great course and used for many tournaments so that's why I chose this course to play on my limited time in Atlanta. I want to try the other local courses (Will's, Perkerson, Oregon) but I will definitely come back to this course for a round when I have more time. Highly recommended to pro's and beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun and challenging course

1    3/28/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 84  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A great wooded course with excellent use of the elevation changes. Awesome design on most holes.

- tight lines and tight fairways but always a "fair way" to the basket. No poke 'n pray.

- signage was good and multiple teepad options makes it suitable for all skill levels.

- Hole 1 & 10 start by playground and holes 9 & 18 end near playground for an excellent loop back design.

- great variation in shots required on each hole.

- awesome & unique hole 4 with a set of freight trailers to clear in the fairway before a downhill green. Fun hole!
Cons: - worn-in natural tee pads that might cause some overly cautious run-ups during drives for those that are more used to playing on concrete pads. I could also see these getting a little messy & potentially slippery after some rain.

- navigation to the next hole can be tricky for first timers if you don't pay attention to the tee signs. Next hole location only seemed to be indicated on the tee signs and not with arrows after the basket. If you didn't notice where the next hole is on the tee sign and you don't see the obvious route then you may have to go back to the tee pad to check the sign. Once you've played the course once, this should no longer be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is more difficult than it looks. The park is nice and full of amnenities and the course gets plenty of play. I really enjoyed my round here despite not playing well. It's worth a stop if passing through town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course

5+    6/14/2011   3/12/2012
Review By: atlskw
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course which will require you to make all kinds of throws. You will need all your discs and strategy. If you can throw straight then you will hit the fairways otherwise you are in the woods. Lots of uphill throws which make it seem really far. 3 Tee boxes for each hole are color coded and are for all skill levels. So as you get better you can go longer with the Black tees. Baskets are pretty knew and have Yellow tops which make it easier to see in the summer with all the Green. Just a fun course.
Cons: Some tee boxes are washing away but not to bad. Some signs were missing but they do update frequently.
Other Thoughts: Alot of the holes are really good distance so bring your arm. On hole 4 if you land your disc on top of the big rig obstacles just beware a policeman told me he could arrest me for climbing up there to get the disc.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

5+    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: kauf67
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Have played this course hundreds of times and haven't played too many others. Course requires variety of shot types and has great variation on hole distances.
Cons: Extremely wooded, oftentimes alley-ways are very small

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.