Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #1
3 / 298ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wish that was my home course

2-4    5/16/2009   3/26/2011
Review By: TheHoaginator1020
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Who ever did the lay out for this course, definitely put a lot of thought into it, and saw it to be a main attraction for the area for the creativity and variation that this course holds, makes it top of my favorites.
1. GREAT SIGNS (not too complex but they give a great discription) GREAT teepads also!
2. length wise is right in the middle
3. Difficulty is set to challenging, yet doable.
4. Strange use of obstacles
5. Several different shots, with different options for each hole. (makes you get creative)
6. beautiful walk through the woods of GA.
7. Spectacular use of landscape.
8. garbage cans and seating areas
9 hardly found any trash, and i was afraid to flick my cigarette butts on the ground it was so nice, so +5 for maintanace!
10. It's an easy one to follow around, all the signs are pretty obvious
11.
Cons: 1.uhhhhhhh.... sometimes theres a lot of people there because its so awesome, but its always nice to meet new people
2. i tripped over a root. those things are er-very-were!
Other Thoughts: Regret will never even cross your mind if you give this course a try, you will be too busy thanking whoever influenced you to go, and wishing that you could be there every day to play it and figure out how to ace it all. It's definitely built for a more advanced player, but first timers can get a chance to compete on the shorter holes, and it will definitely give them an idea of what a real course is all about. So if your in Atlanta, don't forget to bring your discs with you and huck a few at this course, its a relaxing and exhilerating expereince.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Review

5+    2/8/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: Crupie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout and a beautiful course during the spring and summer times. Black tees are concrete and every hole has 3 different tee boxes for every level of player. Holds the Atlanta Open every year and is a great course for high level players looking to work on a variety of throws. Wood chips all along the fairways makes it easy to walk without getting muddy.Signs in perfect condition at every teebox and easy layout so you do not get lost
Cons: Very hard course for beginners. The Ivy can get to be a nuisance during the summer and many holes are potential disc eaters
Other Thoughts: East Roswell is a top-notch course that is probably the best kept in all of georgia. If you are travelling the country to play disc golf, East roswell should definately be on your destination list

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  East Roswell!

5+    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: bwgort
Played: 71  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All the people that complain about too many trees are right, there are lots of trees, However, that is obviously not a con or a reason to give this course one star. This is a heavily wooded course with small fairways and tight gaps. You need to be very accurate with your drives or your disc can end up in places you do not want to be throwing from. Once again this is a test of accuracy and skill, not a reason this course is not suitable for major tournaments. To the guy who said it is completely forehand dominant, there are plenty of righty backhand shots to throw AND you need to learn to throw flippy discs, as thats a part of playing in the woods. Have you ever played other tough woods courses?!?! Maybe you should just be throwing in the field instead of playing actual courses.

There are plenty of trash cans and benchs throughout the course and it is maintained reasonably well. This course will test every shot in your bag. In addition to the pro black teepads there are blue and red teepads for those of you who cannot handle the blacks. Lastly, hole 4, "the trailer hole" is one of the most unique holes you will play.
Cons: The course does have a couple fairways that are close to other holes as a result of limited space, but the roswell disc golf club did what they could with little space. In addition, the park is usually heavily crowded on weekends because there are not many suitable courses in the area (not really a con but can be if thats the only time you can play).
Other Thoughts: This is easily one of the best courses in atlanta and should be played if you are coming through town. It is unique and you will not find another wooded course like this in all of atlanta. This course allows you to learn shot selection and when to go for holes. Obviously if you go for every hole on this course you will find yourself in places you do not necessarily want to be, however, learn shot selection and scores in the 50s are easily attainable.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The course that made me cry!

1    6/15/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: splash_4
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: East Roswell is the course that made me cry! I have played a number of courses in the area and have found that my game for the most part was up to the challenge. East Roswell on the other hand kicked my backside. You have to be on top of your game and have more than a single shot in your bag to score well here.

While each hole has multiple pad positions, the black tees are the only concrete pads at the moment. These are of a fair length and width and are in great shape. The other pads are natural but did not cause any issues when playing on them when dry. I can assume due to the wear that they might be slippery when wet.

The signature hole (if you want to call it that) is hole #4. This is the infamous trailer hole. While others might complain about this, this hole was actually quite enjoyable and added a significant risk/reward shot. You have a choice of to lay up short of the trailers or making the risk shot of shooting over them. It did make for quite a brain teaser when I stepped on the pad.

There are a number of holes that require a choice from the player to decide to lay-up or take the risk shot. To score well here, you must take some risks.
Cons: - Defined bathroom facilities do not exist on the course. Fortunately, there are plenty of woods to do your business. [edit - I should of stated that bathrooms are available at the pavillion where the course starts. The day I was there it was locked]
-Garbage cans do not exist on the course, but it appears that the locals take good care of the course and I saw no garbage on the coruse. [edit - a private message has informed me that cans do exist on holes 2, 4, 7, 9, 14, 15, and 18]
-The course was a little difficult for me to navigate and it took some time to find the next pad. Fortunately the locals are more than willing to point you to the next pad
- Losing a disc is quite easy if you do not have a spotter on some holes. The shule is thick and deep in places.
Other Thoughts: Prior to playing this course for the first time I thought I was an average player. This course proved to be that I am still a weenie arm that has little control. I really enjoyed this course and the folks I met on the course were more than willing to help a newbie find his way around. I can certainly understand why the Atlanta Open national qualifier was held on this course. Lastly, if you want to prove to yourself that you are a truly good disc golfer, play this course from the black tees. If you can shoot below par, you are the man!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

2-4    9/18/2007   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course

5+    2/1/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: andrewn1919
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good Layout and well planned course
-Lots of trees so accuracy is needed
-This course will make you a better player due to difficult shots
-Lots of fun obstacles such as the dreaded trailers on hole #4 and stacks of woodchips
-3 tees/hole for difficulties
Cons: -Gravel tees which are uneven and leaves puddles the day after it rained.
-Easy to lose discs
-Lots of leaves
-New discs are not welcome
-Favors Lefties or sidearm throwers
Other Thoughts: Overall great park and great environment. People are friendly and gives you chances to meet new people who share the same interest with you. Course is well thought out. I'll call this course my second home.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great hidden gym.....

2-4    11/17/2009   12/18/2008
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: When I first played this course I had only been playing the sport for 3 weeks. I have not played it 4 times and have been playing a year overall. Now that I am better and can play more shot types, it's a great course. It is heavily wooded but it is fair. Great new signs and concrete pads from the blacks. I played today from the black tees for the first time and I.......ACED NUMBER 14!!!!!! First ace ever, ERP will forever be remembered. 173 G Elite-X BUZZ on an annhyzer flex!! BEAUTIFUL!! HAD A WITNESS TOO, EVEN BETTER!!!
Cons: All holes are wooded and provide a high risk/reward factor based on your shot selection. I would reccomend an anny on 14 with a BUZZ myself, just saying!
Other Thoughts: Not as un-safe as some would say, but since there are signs sayig lock and hide items in your ar, DO IT IDIOTS!! This course is fun to me. If you are looking for a tough round, this course can bite you hard. If you do not like wooded holes, don't even bother unless you just want to say you have played it. I actually liked it a lot!!!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The best in Atlanta

3/27/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: Crossed Reality
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of tight versus open shots. The course is separated from the rest of the park so there's very little cross traffic other than the occasional dog walker. The course is very long for an 18 hole course in this area, even from the closest of the three tee sets, so it will reward you for being skilled. The black tees will make fun of you until you cry.
Cons: This is a rare course in that it's actually more fun to play in winter than summer. Kudzu Corner is a frightening prospect in the full bloom of green, and there's almost always at least one group covering the same area looking desperately for an errant disc.

Other than that the main problem with the course is the entirely random set of abandoned trailers on hole #4. If your shot goes short or wide, I hope you're up on your tetanus shots.
Other Thoughts: They've removed at least one of the trailers recently so there is hope. The course is under continual improvement.

My experience with disc golf outside of Atlanta is limited, but this is definitely the best course in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course!

7/1/2007   8/1/2007
Review By: shaggydabomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great wooded course! Excellent mix of long and shot, some elevation changes, need all the shots to beat this one! Well maintained..
Cons: Obey the park rules or else! Its a shame that it comes to this, big brother maybe watching..Promote your sport keep your act together! Respect the park!
Other Thoughts: An other must play in atlanta!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.