Roswell, GA
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #14
3 / 212ft.   3 / 233ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Bummer of a Day

1    3/12/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: moore1927
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Me and my group did not like this course, nearly at all, however that may be reflected by more than just the course.

It was a challenging course, and forces accuracy through very tight tunnels.
Cons: We considered this course full of cons. It's very left-handed or Right Hand forearm loaded. Almost every hole curves to the right from the tee. We had a guy who (due to a shoulder injury) is not able to throw forearm, and had to throw short to the curve at every hole, and then change directions. So many of our holes were filled with trudging through the trees to find our discs, and then get clear out to the main fairway or to the basket. We hit so many trees....

When we were there, there was a lot of construction going on, both near and on the course. So it wasn't a pleasant location to be at. Not only the noise and unsightliness of the trucks and dirt and fences etc, but also a few of the holes went through areas where construction was interfering.
Other Thoughts: We played 4 courses while visiting Atlanta, and this was our least favorite. Truthfully, we all hated it, that's why I give this course such a low rating. Perhaps at a different time it would get a better review from me.

Additionally, we are fairly new, and found this course more difficult then we would have liked, due to the need for accuracy through the tight tunnels of densely packed trees. So I'm sure others like it a lot, but we hated it.

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

It's all good

1    5/15/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course tucked in the back of a large park. Concrete pads for the Black tees and natural pads for Red and Blue. Decent options for everybody. Course is entirely built in an old growth pine forest with some decent elevation. Fairways are clear, and undergrowth is almost non-existant. Well done signs at the Black pads with a decent depiction of the hole layout, and lengths for each tee position.

Good variety in hole length. 211' all the way to 524'. But everything is technical and mostly tight with one or two exceptions. Lots of tight fairways and line shaping shots here. If you enjoy threading putters and mids through tight spots or around some curves you'll like this course. There are a few open spots, but they aren't big bombs.

Nice greens on hillsides, and tucked into openings in the large pines. Just a very nice looking course with a solid layout and design.

Good use of elevation. No top of the world shots, but some nice ups and downs.
Cons: Nothing stands out as a big negative to me unless you want to throw a driver 600' in an open field. This course is about 100% technical, and will not be the place for people that like lots of room and space for their speed 13 drivers.

Might be a little bit RHFH friendly. Not a lot of RHBH hyzers or curves.

I am not a big fan on the trucks full of graffiti on #4. Kind of an eye sore on an otherwise great looking course. Seems like there should be a way to get that garbage hauled out of there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this place. For those that have been there, it reminds me of a smaller, simpler version of Castle Hayne in Wilmington, NC. It is set in a nice stand of pines with tight lines, and a good variety of shots needed. You have a little bit of every shape here. There is nothing awe inspiring, but it is all pretty good. Definitely a fun course, and worth a stop if you are in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Narrow Challenge

1    2/5/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: durango
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -challenging requiring accurate shots
-tee signs with distance helps as many of the baskets are not visible from tee.
Cons: -The don't leave valuables in the car sign at entrance is a bit intimidating
Other Thoughts: This course requires you to stay on the fairway, if you get off, shots can become difficult quickly. There is some variety of left,right and straight holes and a little elevation change. Many of the holes require a long straight throw. It is located in a nice well groomed city park.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Get out of my dreams, and into the woods.

2-4    10/20/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 3.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A large variety of difficulty based on the tees of your choice.

Good, level, consistent teepads.

A huge variety of shots required to score even decently.

All discatchers in good shape.

Two separate loops for both 9's both starting and ending next to the parking lot.

Located inside of a very nice and friendly family park, with lots of other activities such as a large playground for your little rag-muffins to run around. :|

A hugeeeee amount of elevation, especially for an atlanta area course.

A good amount of benches spread throughout the course, you'll definitely want to use them.

Cons: Not a huge con, but, you will not be getting the chance to air out any shots here really. This course is all about precision, so not so much a con, but just something to think about.

If you're playing from the longs, off the top of my head I can recall a couple of tee-shots that are nearly impossible to get within two range off the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome. It challenges every single aspect of your game, seriously. You may get frustrated out here, the key here is to play real golf. Throwing big D drivers off the tee may grant you a chance at a 2, or you may kick early and be praying for a four. Play smart and it's very possible to hover around even for a solid intermediate level player.

If you're in this area of ATL, this is the course to choose. This, Perkerson & Moseley are the gems of the area, it's too bad they are all so far apart.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Frustratingly Good

5+    10/27/2012   10/27/2012
Review By: haier2
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For such a wooded course there is a good amount of diversity from hole to hole here. The tee signs are quality, and feature little paragraphs about the story, routes, and quirks of each hole as well as the score you should hope for.

There are good amenities here as well and the park is in great shape. Benches on the course always seem to appear right when you want to sit down. The teepads for the black tees are quality and have a good natural shape for throwing. The course itself is clean with minimal litter, and there were trashcans throughout.

The walkways between holes have been well worn in, so even though you're in the woods you aren't having to trudge through thorns.

The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: The start of the course should be more well marked as there is nothing indicating hole one from the parking lot and it is pretty hidden.

Navigation has gotten better as people play the course and stomp out paths between holes, but it still would not hurt to have some signs pointing you to the next tee. A basic map at the beginning of the course would help with some of these issues.

Some of the thorns and underbrush, especially on blind holes, are really punishing. There are several shots with blind drop offs surrounding that lead to thorns, kudzu and untended underbrush.

The trailers on hole four are tacky. This hole is already a signature shot but would be so much better without them. They are sketchy and it's not good to have people crawling around or climbing over them to get discs.

Though there is a good bit of variety with length and elevation, the majority of holes tend to be straight or right turning. I'd say that there were only three or four left turning shots. This is a bit nit-picky, but it gets somewhat old because shots off the fairway on this course can be really punishing.
Other Thoughts: I hadn't played this course in a few years and I think it has really improved. The shorter pads showed signs of aging though I never played on them.

This course is incredibly challenging from the black pads as it is so unforgiving. These black tees are truly "pro" level and will likely frustrate anyone that is not a seasoned disc golfer.

It's easy to imagine that a lot of discs are left on this course as a result of errant drives that land in thick underbrush on the sides of fairways. Make sure to bring out extra discs if you don't carry a ton of plastic.

Don't come out to this course thinking you will air out drives, there are a few long holes but they are biased towards control instead of distance.

With a bit of TLC and some extra signs this course could be a 4 ranked course. I'm not sure that it could be much higher ranked as its variety is limited due to being in the middle of the woods.

You'll feel great when you have a good shot and the course will reward you, but if you're off the fairway you are in for a long day. The pros outweigh the cons, though often the cons are more obvious than the pros. This course is done really well for being squeezed into such a wooded area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Flying Blind

1    9/24/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of technical play
Variable distances
Three tee options throughout the course
Heavy brush but clear enough to find errant discs
Hilly but no overly so
Well shaded
Nice/maintained maps at each tee
Cons: A significant number of baskets are completely blind from most or all tee locations, this is especially difficult when playing the course for the first time.
Brush can disguise even the brightest colored discs
Concrete tee pads are only at the longest/pro level tees, makes for an inconsistent game if playing through several times at different tee locations.
No warm-up/practice basket - a must for a course of this caliber.
Unclear signs designating the starting location of the course.
No overall course map.
Other Thoughts: Even though the list of cons is much longer than the pros, this is a really great course. Just be prepared to spend some time looking for discs the first time playing this course unless you can keep things on the fairways. I highly recommend sticking to the fairways where possible. My biggest complaints are the sheer number of blind baskets, making even a remote ace possibility even slimmer, and the lack of a practice/warm-up basket, especially key when the course is busy. Otherwise I highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great shaded course for that HOT Georgia sun

1    4/14/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was in a great park with baseball fields, nicely taken care of soccer/lacrosse fields and tennis courts. Awesome playground area for kids. Picnic areas and pavilions and great parking. In a nice area of town as well. This was the first time I have been here and I loved every minute of it. The first hole was a little hard to find for people like me who have never been there but you ask anyone and they will point you in the right direction. I love wooded courses so this was a paradise for me. I can only think of one hole where it was moderately open. The hole with the 18 wheel trailers, which was a nice touch but a crazy hard hole to get even a 3 on. I would recommend this course to anyone if your in the area and the locals were very nice and told me alot of great tips on the course and alot of info about other courses around. It was shaded the whole time and had a great breeze. Great challenge for beginners and pros. Nice tee boxes and informative signs that tell you which was next hole is. Not crowded at all when I went and I went on a Saturday which is a good sign that you can come here anytime and play at your own pace.
Cons: I can't really think of any cons except maybe better signs after the hole to point you to where next hole is. It tells you on original tee box sign but I often forget to pay attention at the tee. So not really a con but it would be nice to have a sign to help the non-locals out. Overall there was no major cons to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Heard it was a great course and used for many tournaments so that's why I chose this course to play on my limited time in Atlanta. I want to try the other local courses (Will's, Perkerson, Oregon) but I will definitely come back to this course for a round when I have more time. Highly recommended to pro's and beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun and challenging course

1    3/28/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 58  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A great wooded course with excellent use of the elevation changes. Awesome design on most holes.

- tight lines and tight fairways but always a "fair way" to the basket. No poke 'n pray.

- signage was good and multiple teepad options makes it suitable for all skill levels.

- Hole 1 & 10 start by playground and holes 9 & 18 end near playground for an excellent loop back design.

- great variation in shots required on each hole.

- awesome & unique hole 4 with a set of freight trailers to clear in the fairway before a downhill green. Fun hole!
Cons: - worn-in natural tee pads that might cause some overly cautious run-ups during drives for those that are more used to playing on concrete pads. I could also see these getting a little messy & potentially slippery after some rain.

- navigation to the next hole can be tricky for first timers if you don't pay attention to the tee signs. Next hole location only seemed to be indicated on the tee signs and not with arrows after the basket. If you didn't notice where the next hole is on the tee sign and you don't see the obvious route then you may have to go back to the tee pad to check the sign. Once you've played the course once, this should no longer be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is more difficult than it looks. The park is nice and full of amnenities and the course gets plenty of play. I really enjoyed my round here despite not playing well. It's worth a stop if passing through town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging course

5+    6/14/2011   3/12/2012
Review By: atlskw
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course which will require you to make all kinds of throws. You will need all your discs and strategy. If you can throw straight then you will hit the fairways otherwise you are in the woods. Lots of uphill throws which make it seem really far. 3 Tee boxes for each hole are color coded and are for all skill levels. So as you get better you can go longer with the Black tees. Baskets are pretty knew and have Yellow tops which make it easier to see in the summer with all the Green. Just a fun course.
Cons: Some tee boxes are washing away but not to bad. Some signs were missing but they do update frequently.
Other Thoughts: Alot of the holes are really good distance so bring your arm. On hole 4 if you land your disc on top of the big rig obstacles just beware a policeman told me he could arrest me for climbing up there to get the disc.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

5+    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: kauf67
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Have played this course hundreds of times and haven't played too many others. Course requires variety of shot types and has great variation on hole distances.
Cons: Extremely wooded, oftentimes alley-ways are very small

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.