Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: punkfan55 Hole #10
3 / 242ft.   3 / 279ft.   3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Unique

2-4    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One concrete tee pad per hole, with two shorter natural tees; excellent descriptive and accurate signs; bathroom available nearby with water fountains (at the playground). Benches available. Navigation wasn't a problem. Two 9 hole loops that start and end at the parking lot (near bathroom and water fountain).

The course is situated in a small and totally wooded corner of East Roswell Park, all the way at the end of the driveway by the tennis courts. Hole one is behind the small playground.  

This course has a ton of elevation change, which is nice, though more uphill than downhill. Hole 9 stands out to me here, as a long RHFH "S" curve downhill. It's not an easy line to hit, but if you do the long downhill glide is thrilling.

Getting off the fairway is punishing, as the intended line through the fairway is hard enough already. However, the mature pine forest is mostly clear of the usual Georgia underbrush, and it is usually possible to play from the rough and not just pitch out.
Cons: Not the greatest variety.. I got a bit tired of throwing similar shots off the tee. There is a great deal of "straight with no fade" or "straight with a slight right turn". Holes 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 16, 17 and 18 all fall into this category, and with the exception of 16 are very similar lengths. That's over half the course using the same shot.. And you drive uphill from the tee around 9 times, and downhill 3.

Lots of holes here are tweeners.. too long or obtuse to be birdied by pretty much anyone but a touring pro, but too short to be a par 4. This could be a little bit more balanced; a couple of tweeners could be 4's instead of long 3's.. for example hole 17 at 397' with an uphill tree filled fairway could certainly be a 4. Possibly 9 could be stretched just a touch and made a 4 as well. Certainly as it is any tree kick off the fairway on 9 is an instant bogey. That said, sometimes you just have to suck it up and play the course as it's scored. Par is always relative, and finishing even here feels like you just threw a -4 most other places.

Course is pretty much always crowded on the weekends. Parking lot too, considering you share it with a tennis court and a playground. The problem with this course being crowded is that there always seem to be a couple of large groups of beginners or families, and this course really is not friendly to that type of disc golf. Traffic can get bogged down really quickly.

Hole 4 in it's previous state was at least controversial and interesting, and there was like a 50/50 chance that you'd lose a disc. Now it's just super boring.

No real standout, signature, awe-inspiring holes; some holes feel like fillers.

18 holes is a lot to cram into a small corner of the park, and there are lots of very close fairways in the back 9. This doesn't bother me much, but I think the possibility of catching an errant disc is higher here than usual so be aware especially around 10, 13, 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Hole one and two are a great introduction to the course, as they set the pattern the course follows right away. Hole one is a long gradual uphill, with a fairway that is plenty wide but turns slightly right before continuing straight back (farther than you think at first) to the pin. The hole is very typical of East Roswell, in that it's totally possible to birdie for intermediate/advanced players if you perfectly execute two touchy shots. Rhbh throwers will need a drive that turns over, but not too much, and an accurate approach through sparse trees. No big deal! …Until you stand on the tee pad and try it.

Hole two is a short beauty, throwing from a small hilltop, over a creek in a ravine of sorts and onto another hillside. Two clear routes, both with their advantages and obstacles. I think I always wish I had thrown the other route on this hole, no matter which one I throw.

Holes 3,4,and 5 are more open, but not really long enough to air it out. These holes have a high danger of losing a disc no matter how clearly you mark it, due to rampant kudzu growth on the edges of the fairway. The fairway is clear, but watch out if you err left or right.

Holes 4 and 6 are recently changed due to a construction project, which is too bad because 6 was a standout… sort of a longer hole 2. It's been replaced by a somewhat similar hole, but the old one was better. Players who were not a fan of the discarded trailers that littered hole 4 and made for many lost discs will be glad to see them gone, but may be underwhelmed by the very blah new hole 4.

All but holes 4, 5, and 12 are tight and technical, and though they are more open, there are still some trees to contend with. Playing from the pro tees (I haven't ever played the shorter tees.. All info on this review is based on the long tee), the course is very challenging. Of the high quality courses I play when I visit Atlanta (Perkerson, JP Mosely, N Ga Canopy Tours) East Roswell is the only one I haven't scored below par on. Last time I played it I felt I was playing about as well as I'm capable of and finished even. That said, there are two good birdie holes in the front nine (4 and 5) and three solid birdie opportunities in the back nine, beginning with hole 12. All other birdies are hard won. Contrary to other reviews, I feel that scoring well here isn't based on luck. Fairways are always fair (almost.. ), and a clear route is visible. Being able to hit your intended line is a result of lots of throwing and fieldwork, and if you can't *usually* put a disc where you want it you probably won't enjoy this course.

There are many complaints about this course being too tight, or just lucky, but this isn't true. There is a route on every hole (with the possible exception of the right turn approach on hole 8 which probably gets the most complaints, though it is one of only two par 4's for that reason.. people really complain about this hole, but I enjoy it. It forces me to throw a forehand which I usually try and avoid.. also I birdied it last round, which made me like it more haha.) and the fairways are not lucky. I can't think of any other course in the Atlanta area that is so consistently wooded, which makes me think players just aren't used to this type of course. Many courses I play are very similarly technical throughout.. They are very common in the Northeast, though the red clay and mature pine trees that make up this course give it a distinctly Southern flair. That said, I wouldn't recommend it to beginners (and I don't see the point of the shorter tees for this reason.. this is simply not a recreational course) because no matter how short a hole is, until you've gotten some control over the disc this course will be an unending frustration from any tee.

Even with the cons mentioned, for whatever reason I find this course to be a blast. It's hard and punishing and annoying at times but it's also very unique in the group of difficult courses around Atlanta. The bare ground and pine needles make skip shots (watch for the roots!) possible, so it's like a combo of west coast and east coast golf. It's a great touchstone for my progress, and a must play every time I visit.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    9/28/2013   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging treed course. Lots of elevation variations. Decent mix of long, short, blind holes. Bathrooms, water fountain, and pavilion very close to start.
Cons: Parking can sometimes be full due to proximity to tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: The course doesn't seem like a priority to the park... have seen it in pretty poor shape. There are few, if any, benches, trash cans, signs, etc.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

5+    6/7/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: gardenthug
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the front 9. There is a solid mix of woods/fairway as well as a good mix of left to right vs right to left drives. You can play most every shot in your bag.
Cons: The back 9 requires the distance of a driver, while also needing the aim(and luck) of a putter or mid range. I love wooded holes, but they lose some luster when there 500 yds long. Due to the length of some of the wooded holes, far too much luck is required just to make par.
Other Thoughts: The woods become particularly tough when the foliage leafs out during the spring and summer months. I regularly finish under par at other courses around Atlanta, but not this one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bummer of a Day

1    3/12/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: moore1927
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Me and my group did not like this course, nearly at all, however that may be reflected by more than just the course.

It was a challenging course, and forces accuracy through very tight tunnels.
Cons: We considered this course full of cons. It's very left-handed or Right Hand forearm loaded. Almost every hole curves to the right from the tee. We had a guy who (due to a shoulder injury) is not able to throw forearm, and had to throw short to the curve at every hole, and then change directions. So many of our holes were filled with trudging through the trees to find our discs, and then get clear out to the main fairway or to the basket. We hit so many trees....

When we were there, there was a lot of construction going on, both near and on the course. So it wasn't a pleasant location to be at. Not only the noise and unsightliness of the trucks and dirt and fences etc, but also a few of the holes went through areas where construction was interfering.
Other Thoughts: We played 4 courses while visiting Atlanta, and this was our least favorite. Truthfully, we all hated it, that's why I give this course such a low rating. Perhaps at a different time it would get a better review from me.

Additionally, we are fairly new, and found this course more difficult then we would have liked, due to the need for accuracy through the tight tunnels of densely packed trees. So I'm sure others like it a lot, but we hated it.

2 of 21 people found this review helpful.

It's all good

1    5/15/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course tucked in the back of a large park. Concrete pads for the Black tees and natural pads for Red and Blue. Decent options for everybody. Course is entirely built in an old growth pine forest with some decent elevation. Fairways are clear, and undergrowth is almost non-existant. Well done signs at the Black pads with a decent depiction of the hole layout, and lengths for each tee position.

Good variety in hole length. 211' all the way to 524'. But everything is technical and mostly tight with one or two exceptions. Lots of tight fairways and line shaping shots here. If you enjoy threading putters and mids through tight spots or around some curves you'll like this course. There are a few open spots, but they aren't big bombs.

Nice greens on hillsides, and tucked into openings in the large pines. Just a very nice looking course with a solid layout and design.

Good use of elevation. No top of the world shots, but some nice ups and downs.
Cons: Nothing stands out as a big negative to me unless you want to throw a driver 600' in an open field. This course is about 100% technical, and will not be the place for people that like lots of room and space for their speed 13 drivers.

Might be a little bit RHFH friendly. Not a lot of RHBH hyzers or curves.

I am not a big fan on the trucks full of graffiti on #4. Kind of an eye sore on an otherwise great looking course. Seems like there should be a way to get that garbage hauled out of there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this place. For those that have been there, it reminds me of a smaller, simpler version of Castle Hayne in Wilmington, NC. It is set in a nice stand of pines with tight lines, and a good variety of shots needed. You have a little bit of every shape here. There is nothing awe inspiring, but it is all pretty good. Definitely a fun course, and worth a stop if you are in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Narrow Challenge

1    2/5/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: durango
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -challenging requiring accurate shots
-tee signs with distance helps as many of the baskets are not visible from tee.
Cons: -The don't leave valuables in the car sign at entrance is a bit intimidating
Other Thoughts: This course requires you to stay on the fairway, if you get off, shots can become difficult quickly. There is some variety of left,right and straight holes and a little elevation change. Many of the holes require a long straight throw. It is located in a nice well groomed city park.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Get out of my dreams, and into the woods.

2-4    10/20/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A large variety of difficulty based on the tees of your choice.

Good, level, consistent teepads.

A huge variety of shots required to score even decently.

All discatchers in good shape.

Two separate loops for both 9's both starting and ending next to the parking lot.

Located inside of a very nice and friendly family park, with lots of other activities such as a large playground for your little rag-muffins to run around. :|

A hugeeeee amount of elevation, especially for an atlanta area course.

A good amount of benches spread throughout the course, you'll definitely want to use them.

Cons: Not a huge con, but, you will not be getting the chance to air out any shots here really. This course is all about precision, so not so much a con, but just something to think about.

If you're playing from the longs, off the top of my head I can recall a couple of tee-shots that are nearly impossible to get within two range off the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome. It challenges every single aspect of your game, seriously. You may get frustrated out here, the key here is to play real golf. Throwing big D drivers off the tee may grant you a chance at a 2, or you may kick early and be praying for a four. Play smart and it's very possible to hover around even for a solid intermediate level player.

If you're in this area of ATL, this is the course to choose. This, Perkerson & Moseley are the gems of the area, it's too bad they are all so far apart.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Frustratingly Good

5+    10/27/2012   10/27/2012
Review By: haier2
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For such a wooded course there is a good amount of diversity from hole to hole here. The tee signs are quality, and feature little paragraphs about the story, routes, and quirks of each hole as well as the score you should hope for.

There are good amenities here as well and the park is in great shape. Benches on the course always seem to appear right when you want to sit down. The teepads for the black tees are quality and have a good natural shape for throwing. The course itself is clean with minimal litter, and there were trashcans throughout.

The walkways between holes have been well worn in, so even though you're in the woods you aren't having to trudge through thorns.

The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: The start of the course should be more well marked as there is nothing indicating hole one from the parking lot and it is pretty hidden.

Navigation has gotten better as people play the course and stomp out paths between holes, but it still would not hurt to have some signs pointing you to the next tee. A basic map at the beginning of the course would help with some of these issues.

Some of the thorns and underbrush, especially on blind holes, are really punishing. There are several shots with blind drop offs surrounding that lead to thorns, kudzu and untended underbrush.

The trailers on hole four are tacky. This hole is already a signature shot but would be so much better without them. They are sketchy and it's not good to have people crawling around or climbing over them to get discs.

Though there is a good bit of variety with length and elevation, the majority of holes tend to be straight or right turning. I'd say that there were only three or four left turning shots. This is a bit nit-picky, but it gets somewhat old because shots off the fairway on this course can be really punishing.
Other Thoughts: I hadn't played this course in a few years and I think it has really improved. The shorter pads showed signs of aging though I never played on them.

This course is incredibly challenging from the black pads as it is so unforgiving. These black tees are truly "pro" level and will likely frustrate anyone that is not a seasoned disc golfer.

It's easy to imagine that a lot of discs are left on this course as a result of errant drives that land in thick underbrush on the sides of fairways. Make sure to bring out extra discs if you don't carry a ton of plastic.

Don't come out to this course thinking you will air out drives, there are a few long holes but they are biased towards control instead of distance.

With a bit of TLC and some extra signs this course could be a 4 ranked course. I'm not sure that it could be much higher ranked as its variety is limited due to being in the middle of the woods.

You'll feel great when you have a good shot and the course will reward you, but if you're off the fairway you are in for a long day. The pros outweigh the cons, though often the cons are more obvious than the pros. This course is done really well for being squeezed into such a wooded area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Flying Blind

1    9/24/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 93  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of technical play
Variable distances
Three tee options throughout the course
Heavy brush but clear enough to find errant discs
Hilly but no overly so
Well shaded
Nice/maintained maps at each tee
Cons: A significant number of baskets are completely blind from most or all tee locations, this is especially difficult when playing the course for the first time.
Brush can disguise even the brightest colored discs
Concrete tee pads are only at the longest/pro level tees, makes for an inconsistent game if playing through several times at different tee locations.
No warm-up/practice basket - a must for a course of this caliber.
Unclear signs designating the starting location of the course.
No overall course map.
Other Thoughts: Even though the list of cons is much longer than the pros, this is a really great course. Just be prepared to spend some time looking for discs the first time playing this course unless you can keep things on the fairways. I highly recommend sticking to the fairways where possible. My biggest complaints are the sheer number of blind baskets, making even a remote ace possibility even slimmer, and the lack of a practice/warm-up basket, especially key when the course is busy. Otherwise I highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great shaded course for that HOT Georgia sun

1    4/14/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was in a great park with baseball fields, nicely taken care of soccer/lacrosse fields and tennis courts. Awesome playground area for kids. Picnic areas and pavilions and great parking. In a nice area of town as well. This was the first time I have been here and I loved every minute of it. The first hole was a little hard to find for people like me who have never been there but you ask anyone and they will point you in the right direction. I love wooded courses so this was a paradise for me. I can only think of one hole where it was moderately open. The hole with the 18 wheel trailers, which was a nice touch but a crazy hard hole to get even a 3 on. I would recommend this course to anyone if your in the area and the locals were very nice and told me alot of great tips on the course and alot of info about other courses around. It was shaded the whole time and had a great breeze. Great challenge for beginners and pros. Nice tee boxes and informative signs that tell you which was next hole is. Not crowded at all when I went and I went on a Saturday which is a good sign that you can come here anytime and play at your own pace.
Cons: I can't really think of any cons except maybe better signs after the hole to point you to where next hole is. It tells you on original tee box sign but I often forget to pay attention at the tee. So not really a con but it would be nice to have a sign to help the non-locals out. Overall there was no major cons to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Heard it was a great course and used for many tournaments so that's why I chose this course to play on my limited time in Atlanta. I want to try the other local courses (Will's, Perkerson, Oregon) but I will definitely come back to this course for a round when I have more time. Highly recommended to pro's and beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.