Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #5
3 / 199ft.   3 / 257ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Trees R Us

2-4    5/1/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like trees this is the place for you. Multiple tee boxs allow everyone from newbis to grizzled pros get the challenge they are looking for. You will use every shot in your bag and probably have to make a few up on the spot due to some of the positions you will find yourself in. The new signs are great I wish all courses had signs like these. You get information on the hole you are about to play and what direction to look for the next tee box. Very helpfull. Innova baskets with the bright yellow stip at the top help with visability. The new tee pads for the black tees are great and boy are they a challenge. There is elevation change throughout the course, plenty of variation no risk of getting bored here. The course is very well maintained and clean. Plenty of benchs and trash cans available. the course itself is pretty well isolated from the rest of the park. All the people I have encountered here were very friendly. Put this course into your must play in Atlanta list you will not be dissapointed.
Cons: There is a sign warning you not to leave valuables in your car. I have not had any issues at all.
Other Thoughts: This course is the place that the local landscapers and tree cutters dump their wood chips. This is a great boon to the folks maintaining the course. I ran into one of the trucks on their way out. You never know what you will see disc golfing!
This course is very fun, and also very challengeing. Don't expect to score well first time out. Course knowledge really helps here.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 OK

5+    12/15/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Galahad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging layout for sure with tons of trees, great place to beat up overstable plastic.
Cons: Too many holes with trees right in front of the tee pads. Goofy "O.B." on one of the holes, made by rope.
Other Thoughts: Great course in terms of the location, good design with the small chunk of land it's on. Tee pads need a lot of work, very uneven.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great hidden gym.....

2-4    11/17/2009   12/18/2008
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: When I first played this course I had only been playing the sport for 3 weeks. I have not played it 4 times and have been playing a year overall. Now that I am better and can play more shot types, it's a great course. It is heavily wooded but it is fair. Great new signs and concrete pads from the blacks. I played today from the black tees for the first time and I.......ACED NUMBER 14!!!!!! First ace ever, ERP will forever be remembered. 173 G Elite-X BUZZ on an annhyzer flex!! BEAUTIFUL!! HAD A WITNESS TOO, EVEN BETTER!!!
Cons: All holes are wooded and provide a high risk/reward factor based on your shot selection. I would reccomend an anny on 14 with a BUZZ myself, just saying!
Other Thoughts: Not as un-safe as some would say, but since there are signs sayig lock and hide items in your ar, DO IT IDIOTS!! This course is fun to me. If you are looking for a tough round, this course can bite you hard. If you do not like wooded holes, don't even bother unless you just want to say you have played it. I actually liked it a lot!!!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Park

1    12/13/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well groomed heavily wooded course. Great signs and maps on every tee. Multiple tees give good challenge no matter what tee you play from really, all pretty challenging. Great variety in elevation throughout the course. Use just about all types of shots on this course and probably use the majority of your discs as well so that always fun. Trash cans and benches all over the course so it keeps maintained very well. Never too far away from your car, at least not for too long since its not in the best neighborhood either.
Cons: Very tight fairways on just about everyone hole. Except the hole that has the trailers in the fairway. Could cut some more trees down to make the fairways a little more reasonable, even with a good drive more than likely you are going to have a clean approach shot with all the trees in the way. The back nine some holes come within feet of other holes so watch out for other people and their discs. Didn't really enjoy the tee pads either, crushed stone was probably nice when new but with the nature of the game they are now warped and deformed, but nothin major or unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Over all pretty good course a lot of fun and a lot of pinball holes. Just pray that your on your game and who ever hits the least amount of trees in a round usually wins. A must visit though!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell=Trees

1    12/14/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will bring out the best and worst in every level of player. Of course it will challenge beginners a little more. There are mostly heavily wooded holes running through out the entire course and there are only a few holes that have empty fairways. There is usually an obstacle in your face so experiences pros should like the difficulty. Most of the holes are relatively short drives so lower power players aren't at too much of a disadvantage. This course also contains a lot of elevation changes. A great mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots so you should probably bring your "A game".
Cons: If you like airing it out onto open fairways then you might not like this course very much. If you don't like pinball holes then you definitely wont like this course. There are some holes that don't really have fairways in the traditional sense of the word. I don't particularly mind this aspect of the course, but some people might. Most of the tees are crushed stone though and I don't always feel like I have great footing on that surface.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth stopping for if you're anywhere near Alpharetta . It's a great contrast to some of the more open courses in Georgia. I didn't find the scenery particularly inspiring though. I think that the designers of this course did a great job with the land though. There are a great mix of uphill, downhill, hyzer, and anhyzer shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Atlanta Course

1    11/30/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: meurek514
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -it is a good and challenging course.
-lots of trees to maneuver around on each hole which make it tons of fun and requires your full attention.
-beautiful tee views on a couple holes and it is just overall fun.
Cons: -its a hard course. black tees are nearly -impossible for a beginner or even an intermediate golfer.
-some tees are hard to find so it would be nice to have a map.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

5+    11/28/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice predominantly wooded course. It's an easy flowing compact course with lots to offer. You'll even get the feeling of hiking in the woods on a few holes.

The course itself has lots to offer. To begin with, there are three tee pads at each hole. This gives you plenty of choices in terms of length and difficulty. Reds and blues are great for both beginners and the seasoned disc golfer in my opinion. Reds are the shortest and blues are slightly longer with slightly a slightly different look at the baskets. Both give the experienced players a good choice to mix things up depending on their mood that day and both will teach the beginner a lesson or two. Some argue that the reds can be just as challenging as the blues. These tees pad are crush run gravel pads that are in satisfactory condition. The black/pro tees are a great option too. The nice thing about the black tees is that they have great concrete pads. These can be intimidating if you are a new player but especially enjoyable if you're an advanced player.

No matter what you decide you'll find a good mix in terms of lengths, slight to moderate dog legs, elevation changes, and obstacles that will challenge you and keep you on your toes. If you are used to playing shorter tees the new concrete will tempt you to stretch you skills. All in all anyone can find a great challenge here.

There are a few trash cans and benches scattered around. This course has really nice signs posted at the black pads too. Make sure to notice the distances as you pass them if you're playing the shorter pads. Unfortunately, there has been some mild vandalism on a couple of the signs but no big deal as far as play is concerned. The flow seemed to make perfect sense based on the land. And you should have no trouble navigating the course. (Pay attention to the map at the 4 to 5 transition) The Innova baskets are in good shape. This course/park is feels clean and very safe.

I like the fact that number One, nine, and eighteen all start/end at the same place. It is at the entrance of the course and is right by the parking lot. Therefore a quick run to the car and for whatever reason is quite convenient. Also you'll appreciate the nearby bathrooms and water fountain beside the pavilion. The Pavilion is also a welcomed convenience during tournaments.

The Roswell Disc golf Club ( www.roswelldiscgolf.org ) is very involved with the course and it shows. If you run into any of them on the course they will be happy to guild you around or answer any questions. Look for them when you're out playing.
Cons: Well the semi-trailers on hole number four are definitely unusual and I can see why people don't like them. To be honest though, I don't mind them at all. They seem to add a little something different to the course. The fact of the matter is that ideally they should not be there. I think they just used the land that was available. After you play it a couple of times you just simply play through and don't think too much about it. It is however a little distracting the first time. You can make it fun if you try.

I've heard complaints about the crush and run gravel pads on red and blue are not the greatest. Again I don't mind them but I know pads are a big point of contention with some/most disc golfers. Some are in better shape than others. I saw signs of erosion and little revines where people repeatedly took the same path down the pad. I have seen worse. Other than that, this is pretty solid course.
Other Thoughts: This is overall one of my favorite Georgia courses. It is in a nice part of town, the park is clean, and is easy to get to. It is only a couple of miles off Hwy 400. If you are from out of town and looking to play a few courses, you should try heading north on 400 for several more miles to Central Park when you finish East Roswell. It is also right off the highway and it is a good course. You could also head west to Wills Park and Sequoyah Park.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Lovin it!

5+    11/14/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: 3monsterboys
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: i personally love the challenge of a wooded course, and trust me this is a challenge.
Cons: hole 4 has those crazy trailers!? keep an eye on those disc's.
Other Thoughts: i used to live in MA and played great courses up north. maple hill., pyramids, buffumville... and i'm so glad that i found this course! yeah play this one you'll be happy (if you like the challenge).

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in Atlanta Area

5+    11/11/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set apart from the rest of the park. Very wooded, provides shade from sun or rain. Variety of lengths with lots of terrain changes. Three sets of tees. Red is still plenty challenging for an intermediate. We've just moved back to the blues, forget black tees unless you are really good / pro level. Course "loops" so 9 and 18 are both by 1 and 10 (near the parking lot). Real bathrooms (not port-a-potty), so you can wash up afterward. You need all the shots here to score. I've played here more than 50 times, and I'm still discovering new lines on certain holes. Nice wood chip fairways, and fairly well marked. Best part is it's self contained, quiet, and away from rest of park. This course is so narrrow, it makes most other courses seem easy, or even boring if they are open courses. I learned to play here, so everything else seems easier.
Cons: Some holes seem to have "random" trees in the fairway. Can be very narrow, with luck coming into play. People complain about the crushed stone tee pads, but they seem OK to me. Some holes are a little funky or just plain hard, like number 4, the "trailer hole". Could use some "next tee" directional signs. I find myself often directing new players to a particular hole.
Other Thoughts: I've played about 40 courses all around the country, and I'm proud to call this my home course. Its always challenging, sometimes frustrating. I'll go way under par at a different, more open course, and then come back to my home course for some "humble pie". Note, Fulton county just passed a library expansion bill which has a proposed library taking up at least some of this course. Site would take out the dreaded "trailer hole", possibly 2 or three others. Don't know the exact plans for the course, assuming the library goes ahead. You can see the proposed library sign at the corner of Fouts Rd. and Holcomb Bridge. Roswell Park Police are often patrolling, and are serious about contraband. No alcohol allowed in Georgia public parks. Same powers as regular police. Be good or be careful.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 agree with last reviewer

1    11/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, old growth forest- tight yet minimal rough (thorns, ivy, etc). Scenic landscape. Large hills make for tough shots, putts, walking. 3 sets of tees/hole. Well marked- a colorful sign+ a paragraph describing how to play the hole successfully. Good practice for other courses like it- easy to play, fun even though not well designed. A challenge of wills.
Cons: Overall, the design of many holes is just bad. It doesn't allow a reasonable shot by a good thrower to get through or even find a clean landing spot to throw an approach from. Good shots can careen deep into the woods. Tees are gravel, while not horrible, not great either.
Other Thoughts: Though not great design, it is good for working on trick shots and tight throws without high risk of lost discs or getting torn to shreds. Manages to be an enjoyable course and makes you work and think.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.