Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #4 (Taken 4/2010)
-- / --   3 / 225ft.   3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red Tee



Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 East Roswell Park

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Disc Golf Dan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My first impression was very good. It's a nice park with lots of facilities and plenty of parking. Hole #2 is probably my favorite, you toss over a small valley with multiple trees in the way. I hit the pin but it bounced out! There are only a limited amount of holes that are out of the woods, 3-5 are a few of these. Locals call these 3 holes Kudzu Corner. The longest whole is #16, at 517 feet this par 4 has a blind tee shot and it's an upward battle for sure. I liked the course and plan on going back. It's not far from Will's Park either!
Cons: Lots of trees and tight throws are a challenge but fun. A few holes get close to the road but it's not that bad. Beware of the Kudzu, it's throughout holes 3 - 5. Some holes are hard to find but I was able to manage. Lots of other activities going on at the park, I recommend going early in the day.
Other Thoughts: Used my tomahawk shot multiple times. This course is loaded with trees. You will need to adjust your throw throughout this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, Fun Course

1    6/28/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Tee boxes on every hole

Wooded course that still allows for Long drive opportunities. Best of Both worlds!

The signage at each hole was great! It shows the hole layout, with distance and goal placement. I admit that I still walked a little to make sure the goal was where I thought on some holes, but the signs were very accurate.

Rolling hills throughout, so you get a great workout during the game.

Big trees everywhere that keep you cool even in the hot georgia summer.

A course with numberous trash cans! Nice!!

Laid out with a front nine and a back nine, so you come back toward the playground/bathroom area before you start the back 9 holes.
Cons: One tee box for each hole was concrete, but the other two options were gravel and some had some erosion issues. (not much, but not flat either). I liked the course from the long, concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: really fun course that will absolutely punish an errant throw from the teebox. I'm going to play this again soon!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell

5+    4/12/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Chain Bangin' Joshua
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging holes force players to use a wide variety of throwing styles. Clean, clear pathways with good signage and indicators for the next tee. Course design allows for easy parking and halfway break. Hole #2 can be aced with the proper hammer throw. Hole #4 is incredibly unique as it works you around existing man-made structures no longer in use.
Cons: Poor launch tees of gravel and rock make drives unsteady. major elevation changes along the path make the front half of the course an exhausting walk.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun wooded course

1    4/23/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays almost entirely through tight deciduous forest with thick undergrowth. The rough is plenty thick enough to provide punishment on errant shots, between the brush and the dense trees you'll often need to get creative or even just pitch out if you miss the fairway. There are some small elevation changes, but they come into play on nearly every hole adding challenge and variety. The course is pretty short overall, but offers a ton of variety in hole shape. The design is very balanced between left, right and straight shots, and you'll need some tight line shaping skills to score well.

There are three clearly marked sets of tees on every hole, which adds to the variety and replayability quite a bit. The blacks are longer, and add quite a bit of difficulty. They often have an extra bend or pinch point to navigate, and a few add significant length. The blues and reds are both shorter, and often offer very different looks at the hole. There are tee signs at the black tees that are nice engraved metal, and offer the hole distance and line from each set of tees.
Cons: The blue and red tees are natural, and many are a little eroded and rutted out. Not a huge deal, especially with mostly shorter holes that don't require much of a runup, but still a bit frustrating at times. I'd like to see a little bit of basic signage at the shorter tees, even just the hole length, it's not ideal to always have to go to the back tees to check the sign. There are several fairways that show signs of significant erosion issues, it's a popular course with wooded hills, so that's going to be a pretty constant issue.
Other Thoughts: Any one of the sets of tees would make a pretty good course, and having all three with creative designs makes for a ton of fun and variety. Beginners will find most of the reds and blues pretty approachable in length, though the rough is pretty punishing for less accurate players. More experienced players will find a ton of birdies from the shorter tees, but only if you hit your lines. The long tees offer some nice challenges even for skilled throwers.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 What a Homer

5+    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: ow.douglas
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained and well marked
multi tee boxes that really change the look
It's challenging because of the trees
Lots of shade on hot days
Well marked with concrete tees on the blacks only. Some benches and tash cans.
This is a good place for the family too, there is a playground and covered picnic pavilion right next to the first tee.
Cons: Kind of short
Can get very crowded
people will jump in on 4, 10 and 11 and back things up.
After a rain this place gets muddy, bring boots and a towel.
Other Thoughts: I admit it, I am a Homer. I play here most of the time. I am not a distance thrower and really am not that good but, I have played here with people who are and it's an equalizer. Your big arm isn't going to kill me here. It gets really crowded and there are a few parking lots and you end up with people jumping on several holes. Leave the long discs in the trunk and get there early.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wish that was my home course

2-4    5/16/2009   3/26/2011
Review By: TheHoaginator1020
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Who ever did the lay out for this course, definitely put a lot of thought into it, and saw it to be a main attraction for the area for the creativity and variation that this course holds, makes it top of my favorites.
1. GREAT SIGNS (not too complex but they give a great discription) GREAT teepads also!
2. length wise is right in the middle
3. Difficulty is set to challenging, yet doable.
4. Strange use of obstacles
5. Several different shots, with different options for each hole. (makes you get creative)
6. beautiful walk through the woods of GA.
7. Spectacular use of landscape.
8. garbage cans and seating areas
9 hardly found any trash, and i was afraid to flick my cigarette butts on the ground it was so nice, so +5 for maintanace!
10. It's an easy one to follow around, all the signs are pretty obvious
11.
Cons: 1.uhhhhhhh.... sometimes theres a lot of people there because its so awesome, but its always nice to meet new people
2. i tripped over a root. those things are er-very-were!
Other Thoughts: Regret will never even cross your mind if you give this course a try, you will be too busy thanking whoever influenced you to go, and wishing that you could be there every day to play it and figure out how to ace it all. It's definitely built for a more advanced player, but first timers can get a chance to compete on the shorter holes, and it will definitely give them an idea of what a real course is all about. So if your in Atlanta, don't forget to bring your discs with you and huck a few at this course, its a relaxing and exhilerating expereince.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Contained in the woods

5+    3/24/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: patriotbob
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of short and long holes. All holes have some woods, most holes have a lot of woods. Great opportunity to work on your short game and master the ability to get out of trouble.
Cons: A few holes have too many woods. Out of bound areas are tough to define at times.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in Metro Atlanta. It is a great course to work out the kinks in your game, except your long game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Review

5+    2/8/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: Crupie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout and a beautiful course during the spring and summer times. Black tees are concrete and every hole has 3 different tee boxes for every level of player. Holds the Atlanta Open every year and is a great course for high level players looking to work on a variety of throws. Wood chips all along the fairways makes it easy to walk without getting muddy.Signs in perfect condition at every teebox and easy layout so you do not get lost
Cons: Very hard course for beginners. The Ivy can get to be a nuisance during the summer and many holes are potential disc eaters
Other Thoughts: East Roswell is a top-notch course that is probably the best kept in all of georgia. If you are travelling the country to play disc golf, East roswell should definately be on your destination list

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Trees

1    11/25/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: carpedisc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tests your non-power shots. Multiple tee's to chose from. Good elevation changes. In the middle of a suburb. Good description of the holes by the tee boxes.
Cons: Trees.. I understand having a difficult course but putting a tree right in front of a tee box? Sometimes fairwarys are only in your mind. They could have better signage towards the next hole.
Other Thoughts: A course to help you try your tight shots but seems almost like a novelty course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My fav so Far

2-4    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is going test you to see how well you can shape lines.

Three tee pads per hole, which is great. Make it a great place for families to come and play together.

Favorite holes -
2 - Throwing over small stream/valley to basket.
4 - Signature hole, with old trailers. Just an obstacle that you don't see often. With the basket down behind trailers.
5 - Only open shot at ERP. But gives you a good shot at an ace run.
8 - Hole with sharp dog leg to the right, but it has a tunnel if you dare to try and get through. (I always try, but end up getting in trouble)
12 - Pinestraw pond OB. Short but again another Ace Run.
13 - Tunnel Shot - Basket is just staring at you!
15 - Blind Basket, behind hill. (My first birdie here!)

The other holes here are great but those listed here are my faves. Also a great course to play when busy with other Disc Golfers, seems to have the best flow of any other course in the area. Each hole is easy to navigate.
Cons: Kudzu!! -- this is really for the summers, and spring. Disc's can be a little harder to find. But not a reason to not come play this course. Fairways are clear and most trees should stop your disc before going to far!
Other Thoughts: This a a great course. Mulitple tee positions, and most pins are easy to see or find for each hole. I also like how this course has tees that are to the left, right and straight away. My favorite course so far!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.