Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #9 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / 343ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >
 The best in Atlanta

3/27/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: Crossed Reality
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of tight versus open shots. The course is separated from the rest of the park so there's very little cross traffic other than the occasional dog walker. The course is very long for an 18 hole course in this area, even from the closest of the three tee sets, so it will reward you for being skilled. The black tees will make fun of you until you cry.
Cons: This is a rare course in that it's actually more fun to play in winter than summer. Kudzu Corner is a frightening prospect in the full bloom of green, and there's almost always at least one group covering the same area looking desperately for an errant disc.

Other than that the main problem with the course is the entirely random set of abandoned trailers on hole #4. If your shot goes short or wide, I hope you're up on your tetanus shots.
Other Thoughts: They've removed at least one of the trailers recently so there is hope. The course is under continual improvement.

My experience with disc golf outside of Atlanta is limited, but this is definitely the best course in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Difficult Course

12/23/2007   12/26/2007
Review By: pitpit
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is where I like them, the woods. The trees provide a great challenge and keep holes interesting.
Cons: I played this course on a day that was rainy in the morning so the slush was not too favorable. The tee pads were also very rough at the time, but the rain likely played a part in that.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check it out.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

1    9/15/2007   9/16/2007
Review By: 12StonesScott
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Requires a real mix of shots to keep your score down -- will turn on you quickly if you let up. Control and shot selection count for more than distance, at least from the reds and blues (pro tees are black). Pin placement on several holes is brutal for anything that carries past the hole -- steep declines can result in a miss that takes two shots to recover from.

One positive that gets overlooked is that there's really no place on the course where you have to contend with walkers/runners/playgrounds, etc. The course is in woods that aren't used for any other park facilities, so you never have to worry about a bicyclist darting into a fairway and taking a drive to the forehead.
Cons: Kudzu makes for intimidating rough, but it also makes finding discs a real challenge at times -- watch where every shot goes carefully, or expect to lose a disc or two. I've lost four in the last couple of months of playing twice a week or so, including a couple that I watched all the way down but couldn't find in the kudzu.

Crushed stone tee pads get pretty worn and uneven -- RRPD does its best but without concrete pads it's a losing battle.

The trailers along the left side of the 4th fairway make for an interesting obstacle, but I'm always concerned about who or what may take up residence in them, or in the nearby shed.

No pro shop or any other place to buy discs nearby; water fountains at pavilion near 1st/10th tees usually broken, so bring your own water (nothing stronger, however -- park police can be pretty aggressive about enforcing laws on possession/consumption of alcohol).
Other Thoughts: Almost literally my home course -- pro tees for the 4th hole are less than 1000 feet from my front door. Roswell Recreation and Parks Dept. do a great job with maintenance and are very supportive. Several holes recently got new benches near the tee areas courtesy of a local teen who installed them as his Eagle Scout project.

Added 5/6/09: Since posting this review, I've taken on the role of secretary of the Roswell Disc Golf Club, which works with the Roswell Recreation and Parks Department to maintain and develop this and (we hope) other courses in Roswell. So I can't be considered an impartial judge at this point. However, this review was written nearly a year before the RRPD officially came into existence, so I wasn't biased by that when I wrote it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course!

7/1/2007   8/1/2007
Review By: shaggydabomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great wooded course! Excellent mix of long and shot, some elevation changes, need all the shots to beat this one! Well maintained..
Cons: Obey the park rules or else! Its a shame that it comes to this, big brother maybe watching..Promote your sport keep your act together! Respect the park!
Other Thoughts: An other must play in atlanta!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.