Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #4
-- / --   3 / 225ft.   3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Contained in the woods

5+    3/24/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: patriotbob
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of short and long holes. All holes have some woods, most holes have a lot of woods. Great opportunity to work on your short game and master the ability to get out of trouble.
Cons: A few holes have too many woods. Out of bound areas are tough to define at times.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in Metro Atlanta. It is a great course to work out the kinks in your game, except your long game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Review

5+    2/8/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: Crupie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout and a beautiful course during the spring and summer times. Black tees are concrete and every hole has 3 different tee boxes for every level of player. Holds the Atlanta Open every year and is a great course for high level players looking to work on a variety of throws. Wood chips all along the fairways makes it easy to walk without getting muddy.Signs in perfect condition at every teebox and easy layout so you do not get lost
Cons: Very hard course for beginners. The Ivy can get to be a nuisance during the summer and many holes are potential disc eaters
Other Thoughts: East Roswell is a top-notch course that is probably the best kept in all of georgia. If you are travelling the country to play disc golf, East roswell should definately be on your destination list

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Trees

1    11/25/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: carpedisc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tests your non-power shots. Multiple tee's to chose from. Good elevation changes. In the middle of a suburb. Good description of the holes by the tee boxes.
Cons: Trees.. I understand having a difficult course but putting a tree right in front of a tee box? Sometimes fairwarys are only in your mind. They could have better signage towards the next hole.
Other Thoughts: A course to help you try your tight shots but seems almost like a novelty course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My fav so Far

2-4    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is going test you to see how well you can shape lines.

Three tee pads per hole, which is great. Make it a great place for families to come and play together.

Favorite holes -
2 - Throwing over small stream/valley to basket.
4 - Signature hole, with old trailers. Just an obstacle that you don't see often. With the basket down behind trailers.
5 - Only open shot at ERP. But gives you a good shot at an ace run.
8 - Hole with sharp dog leg to the right, but it has a tunnel if you dare to try and get through. (I always try, but end up getting in trouble)
12 - Pinestraw pond OB. Short but again another Ace Run.
13 - Tunnel Shot - Basket is just staring at you!
15 - Blind Basket, behind hill. (My first birdie here!)

The other holes here are great but those listed here are my faves. Also a great course to play when busy with other Disc Golfers, seems to have the best flow of any other course in the area. Each hole is easy to navigate.
Cons: Kudzu!! -- this is really for the summers, and spring. Disc's can be a little harder to find. But not a reason to not come play this course. Fairways are clear and most trees should stop your disc before going to far!
Other Thoughts: This a a great course. Mulitple tee positions, and most pins are easy to see or find for each hole. I also like how this course has tees that are to the left, right and straight away. My favorite course so far!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  East Roswell!

5+    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: bwgort
Played: 71  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All the people that complain about too many trees are right, there are lots of trees, However, that is obviously not a con or a reason to give this course one star. This is a heavily wooded course with small fairways and tight gaps. You need to be very accurate with your drives or your disc can end up in places you do not want to be throwing from. Once again this is a test of accuracy and skill, not a reason this course is not suitable for major tournaments. To the guy who said it is completely forehand dominant, there are plenty of righty backhand shots to throw AND you need to learn to throw flippy discs, as thats a part of playing in the woods. Have you ever played other tough woods courses?!?! Maybe you should just be throwing in the field instead of playing actual courses.

There are plenty of trash cans and benchs throughout the course and it is maintained reasonably well. This course will test every shot in your bag. In addition to the pro black teepads there are blue and red teepads for those of you who cannot handle the blacks. Lastly, hole 4, "the trailer hole" is one of the most unique holes you will play.
Cons: The course does have a couple fairways that are close to other holes as a result of limited space, but the roswell disc golf club did what they could with little space. In addition, the park is usually heavily crowded on weekends because there are not many suitable courses in the area (not really a con but can be if thats the only time you can play).
Other Thoughts: This is easily one of the best courses in atlanta and should be played if you are coming through town. It is unique and you will not find another wooded course like this in all of atlanta. This course allows you to learn shot selection and when to go for holes. Obviously if you go for every hole on this course you will find yourself in places you do not necessarily want to be, however, learn shot selection and scores in the 50s are easily attainable.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 ERP

5+    7/19/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: disccaddie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great technical course that does not let you get away with "ripping" one without control. The big arms are disabled on this course as there are few holes to use it as an advantage. Skill and "touch" are required to score well here. Well marked and identified with great tee signs.
Cons: This course can get busy at times and because it's technical it can slow down easily. Playing earlier in the day is your best bet especially when the weather is nice.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  lefty heaven

1    7/4/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: IDGC_SUPER
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: the 3 hole corner of holes 2, 3, and 4, nice cement teepads although a little short
Cons: almost every hole is very lefty/sidearm(RH) dominant. Very heavily wooded with no fairways on some holes. I cant believe this was used for an NT.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Lumberjack City

5+    6/23/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: punahou80
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well separated from other park users, challenging terrain around some baskets and several drives require a high degree of precision and distance. Good location in a heavily populated metro suburb. Nice concrete pads on black tees (Blues are a little beat up but that is to be expected given the amount of use). Excellent application of elevation changes throughout the course.
Cons: Ridiculously wooded. Your discs will hate you for playing there (Ouch! - that tree hurts!). The course is so heavily treed that about half the holes don't allow much creativity or variety of shots.
Can be very frustrating on a bad day - hit trees, look for discs
Other Thoughts: ERP takes time to get used to and is not beginner friendly. This would be a good course to include in a multi-day tour of courses as the heavily wooded course.

For people who have been frustrated at ERP, try playing in the Fall & winter when the leaves are down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but Great Course

2-4    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: bling
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of different tee and approach shots necessary, quiet wooded area, several really fun holes.
Cons: Lots of trees.
Other Thoughts: While there are a ton of trees and some really tight fairways, I feel the course is fair in terms of difficulty.
Once you play the course a couple times you figure out the holes where its worth laying up over the alternative of trying to bomb one off the tee and take the risk of ending up in the woods. There are still several holes where you can easily allow yourself a birdie opportunity.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not Out of the Woods Yet!!

2-4    4/9/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course. The signs and maps of each hole are very helpful. You can even print out a nice little "caddie book" to carry with you. Multiple tee boxes were very nice for my wife and I to play together. The back tees weren't rediculously long either. Several birdie opportunities out there. The lay out is nice and not at all confusing with arrows and maps to show you where you're headed. Good variation of holes. Left and right, long and short, with a few par 4's.
Cons: That's a lot of trees. I'm a decent player but I'm no pro, so take that into consideration. I felt like there were just too many trees in the middle of the fairway on this course. The first par 4 literally had no second fairway to access the basket. I'm my opinion it was just blind luck. We threw so many great shots that maneuvered around 3 or 4 trees but still caught another down the road. They could easily remove a tree or two and not hurt anything. If you're new to disc golf and play this first, you might not play again. I'm sure the pros can handle this but I think this course brings luck into play a little too much.
Other Thoughts: We played 36 holes out there so we did like the course a lot, but all in all just too many trees. It is possible that in a year I might appreciate it more, but for the non-pro or non-high level players, I'd advise on playing somewhere else. Definately a great course to play but it is frustrating as well. The other facets of the course are so good that it is still a 3.5 for me though

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.