Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #17 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 269ft.   3 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 East Rosewell

5+    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: East Roswell is a very well put together course. Tournament caliber with 3 tees Red-Blue-Black (Black being the pro). A variety of throws will be used to score well here. Pins change every hole with distance variations and right to left. Excellent course.
Cons: Can be frustrating on an off day. Rough can be pretty thick on some holes. Don't let the semi truck trailers on hole 5 scare you!
Other Thoughts: One of the best parks in Metro Atl.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Technical & Tight

5+    3/15/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: mrpbody33
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: East Roswell is a tight, technical and fair woods course. The fairways are clear and defined. Some holes (like 2, 5, 12 & 13) have multiple lines to take. Three sets of tee pads per holes allows for any level of play (Pro/Black pads are cement). The course has elevation changes on several of the holes and all the baskets are in well thought out positions.
Cons: The other tee pads (Red & Blue) are gravel/natural and do get washed out after rain storms every once in a while. I wouldn't recommend playing the course right after a rain storm. A few of the Discatcher baskets are slightly damaged but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Two signature holes are 4 & 16. Hole 4 you get to throw over a few trailers in the middle of the fairway. Not something you see too often. Hole 16 is the equalizer of the course. Sometimes you can be having a good round and end up getting a 5 or 6 on this hole very easily if you don't play it safe and keep it on a fairway.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

1    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tee pads per hole (Red, Blue, Black) with increasing levels of technicality and distance. The Red and Blue tees often have multiple options, especially the Blue Tees (which were my favorite). The course is very easy to follow once you find the first tee, which is at the edge of the woods by the kiddie playground to the right of the parking lot. There are bathrooms by the parking lot, and a nearby Kroger for ice and supplies.

The course winds through the woods with nice elevations changes and mostly well defined fairways. There is a nice mix of short finesse holes and some long crushes, but the trees place a premium on control.
Cons: Hole 4 is a blind tee shot with a high probability for losing a disc. The long (cement) tee pads are a bit repetitive, and place a premium on throwing the same righty long straight/slight flip turnover fade to the right blind tee shot. (But now that I think about it, that is a great shot to learn, so I just raised my rating of this course to a four). The basket of 17 is too close to the fairway of 11.
Other Thoughts: The Red and Blue tees provide a completely different look at most of the holes, and the Blue Tees are especially challenging, with some highly technical controlled turnover shots for right handed players. I would play this course on a regular basis if I lived in Atlanta.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A challenging wooded monster.

5+    4/26/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2009
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a complete rewrite based on a new review process I have come up with.
3 different tee pads that actually provide different experiences.
Although it is primarily a woods course there is a good variety of different obstacles. Terrain is used to its advantage and unique holes like the "trailer hole" provide a one of a kind experience.
A good variety of distances although it is a mid-length course in general.
Red tees are playable but still difficult for beginners. Each tee level provides new challenges.
Course is easily navigated once you find hole 1.
Baskets and tees are clearly marked.
Signs provide distances for each level of tee but the signs are only at the black tee.
Restrooms and parking are convienent.
A decent amount of benches and trash cans...though some people could use a lesson in using them!
A very safe feeling park with nice neighborhoods surrounding it.
Cons: Very tight fairways...need an accurate shot from any tee or you will be punished.
Lots of overgrowth off the fairways which makes disc loss very possible.
Muddy and slippery when wet, not something I docked points for but it should not be your first choice after a good rain.
Many holes have a single approach line.
Other Thoughts: A nice, tight course tucked away in the woods. Lots of elevation changes make it interesting. Since the AO came through the course has been improved a lot. There could still be some nex-T signs on the back 9 though.
This is a fun course that rewards accuracy...unfortunately I do not have any!! That won't stop me from coming back though. Mid-range discs and putters are crucial here.

About my "system":

An average course is 50 points. Points are awarded above and beyond that for having better than average features. Courses are docked points for lacking those features.
East Roswell park scored 70.5 out of 100 which puts it square at 3.5 discs.
It's biggest plusses were the multiple tee pads and terrain variety.

It's biggest negatives is the course maintenance (really outlying maintenance, course is gorgeous) and some trash lying around.

Overall very much an above average course.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

2-4    9/18/2007   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/28/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are good DISCatcher baskets, tee signs, and 3 sets of tees on every hole. The concrete tees helped in the wet/rainy weather, but they did seem to be unfinished. The park seemed to be in a nice area and was easy to access.

The course is tight wooded and scoring under par appears to be a good score for all skill levels, depending on which set of tees you play. The different tees make this course enjoyable for a wider range of skill levels. I only played the long tees, but they were mostly on the longer side, with a few short putter shots mixed in. There is decent use of the elevation change and the many trees will certainly force an accurate shot if you expect to score well on this course.
Cons: They seemed to be working on this course, but several things are unfinished, so these cons may improve before I have a chance to visit this course again. I did not see any benches. The shorter pads on each hole were made of crushed stone and as mentioned by the previous reviewer, the back tees appeared to be unfinished and potentially hazardous for those with a big run up.

Also, I agree with the course being a bit repetitive, with a definite lefty advantage. There were several instances where a wayward drive could cross into another fairway and become very dangerous for unsuspecting players. There were also several instances where there was a nice fairway and then a few select trees right in the middle of the fairway, bringing in a little bit of luck and making some of the shots a bit unreasonable.
Other Thoughts: I played this course the day before and during the Atlanta Open, all during the wet/rainy weather. You can tell a lot of work has been put into this course gearing up for the Atlanta Open, but it would be nice to see the finished results and to play this course in better weather conditions. I did not get a chance to really enjoy playing this course as much as I would like to have, due to the tournament and the weather conditions. I look forward to playing this course again in the future if I am in the area.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Woody woody

2-4    3/28/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pins makes for an increasing level of difficulty as you get to the longer sets of tees. As such, this provides a decent attraction for multiple skill levels. The short tees would not discourage the beginner - but the long tees probably would.
Mostly tight and wooded - this course puts a premium on accuracy off the tee.
There is also a fair amount of well used elevation changes - not huge scale big hills - but moderate ups and downs in the woods - this was perhaps the best quality of this course.
Cons: Very repetitive - lots of holes force you to throw the same kind of shot - hyzer flip, finishing right.
Teepads are unfinished, and too short. I went to play the NT event having heard there were new concrete tees. Unfortunately all the good work in getting concrete pads in place was unfinished, leaving raised teepads perhaps only 10' long with a step up on the back, and a drop off on the front - making the effort of trying to throw hard a bit dangerous. When/if the areas around these tees are filled to bring them to grade - the tees will be much more playable. The two short sets of tees are stone dust.
Other Thoughts: New tee signs are beautiful, and very well done.
Memorial plaque for Drew Eberhard inset in the concrete on the first tee was also very well done - and a moving tribute to one of our fallen disc golf brothers.
The course is a decent track, but in places, it seems as if they tried to do too much with the extended tees, as holes are packed tightly together in the woods, making for the occasional dangerous situation where you are throwing directly towards another teepad or pin placement (holes 11&17 come to mind). This also makes for a lot of visual distractions during tournament play.
Definitely a nice place to play - would be a beautiful shady place in the hot Ga summer.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 A great course for Atlanta

5+    11/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Challanging layout
-Divese in the type of shots that are needed
-Well thought out
-Nice part of town
-Easy to access
Cons: Hole 4 and the trailers. Otherwise known as the pink elephant in the room. people either love them or hate them, but I believe they are only a hospital trip away.

The crushed gravel teepads can become uneven and cumbersom to tee off from.

Other Thoughts: There are three sets of tees from each hole. The shorter ones don't necessarily mean the easist and vice versa from the long. The course is not officially 'on-the-books' as a permenat addition to the City of Roswells parks. Future developments in the city are threats to the current course design

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course

5+    2/1/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: andrewn1919
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good Layout and well planned course
-Lots of trees so accuracy is needed
-This course will make you a better player due to difficult shots
-Lots of fun obstacles such as the dreaded trailers on hole #4 and stacks of woodchips
-3 tees/hole for difficulties
Cons: -Gravel tees which are uneven and leaves puddles the day after it rained.
-Easy to lose discs
-Lots of leaves
-New discs are not welcome
-Favors Lefties or sidearm throwers
Other Thoughts: Overall great park and great environment. People are friendly and gives you chances to meet new people who share the same interest with you. Course is well thought out. I'll call this course my second home.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tree!!!!

1    1/23/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a challenge. The course is well thought out and is marked very well. It's kept up well from what I was able to see.
Cons: Trees.... and more trees. I'm still a novice, but at times it was ridiculous. It totally favors sidearm players, but I was able to manage.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course, just your typical day of golf in the woods. I plan to go back, but I think I'll learn to throw sidearm first. Also, not a course to bring new discs on.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.