Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #14 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 212ft.   3 / 233ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Blue Tee



Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Woody woody

2-4    3/28/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.7 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pins makes for an increasing level of difficulty as you get to the longer sets of tees. As such, this provides a decent attraction for multiple skill levels. The short tees would not discourage the beginner - but the long tees probably would.
Mostly tight and wooded - this course puts a premium on accuracy off the tee.
There is also a fair amount of well used elevation changes - not huge scale big hills - but moderate ups and downs in the woods - this was perhaps the best quality of this course.
Cons: Very repetitive - lots of holes force you to throw the same kind of shot - hyzer flip, finishing right.
Teepads are unfinished, and too short. I went to play the NT event having heard there were new concrete tees. Unfortunately all the good work in getting concrete pads in place was unfinished, leaving raised teepads perhaps only 10' long with a step up on the back, and a drop off on the front - making the effort of trying to throw hard a bit dangerous. When/if the areas around these tees are filled to bring them to grade - the tees will be much more playable. The two short sets of tees are stone dust.
Other Thoughts: New tee signs are beautiful, and very well done.
Memorial plaque for Drew Eberhard inset in the concrete on the first tee was also very well done - and a moving tribute to one of our fallen disc golf brothers.
The course is a decent track, but in places, it seems as if they tried to do too much with the extended tees, as holes are packed tightly together in the woods, making for the occasional dangerous situation where you are throwing directly towards another teepad or pin placement (holes 11&17 come to mind). This also makes for a lot of visual distractions during tournament play.
Definitely a nice place to play - would be a beautiful shady place in the hot Ga summer.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 A great course for Atlanta

5+    11/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 20 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Challanging layout
-Divese in the type of shots that are needed
-Well thought out
-Nice part of town
-Easy to access
Cons: Hole 4 and the trailers. Otherwise known as the pink elephant in the room. people either love them or hate them, but I believe they are only a hospital trip away.

The crushed gravel teepads can become uneven and cumbersom to tee off from.

Other Thoughts: There are three sets of tees from each hole. The shorter ones don't necessarily mean the easist and vice versa from the long. The course is not officially 'on-the-books' as a permenat addition to the City of Roswells parks. Future developments in the city are threats to the current course design

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course

5+    2/1/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: andrewn1919
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good Layout and well planned course
-Lots of trees so accuracy is needed
-This course will make you a better player due to difficult shots
-Lots of fun obstacles such as the dreaded trailers on hole #4 and stacks of woodchips
-3 tees/hole for difficulties
Cons: -Gravel tees which are uneven and leaves puddles the day after it rained.
-Easy to lose discs
-Lots of leaves
-New discs are not welcome
-Favors Lefties or sidearm throwers
Other Thoughts: Overall great park and great environment. People are friendly and gives you chances to meet new people who share the same interest with you. Course is well thought out. I'll call this course my second home.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tree!!!!

1    1/23/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a challenge. The course is well thought out and is marked very well. It's kept up well from what I was able to see.
Cons: Trees.... and more trees. I'm still a novice, but at times it was ridiculous. It totally favors sidearm players, but I was able to manage.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course, just your typical day of golf in the woods. I plan to go back, but I think I'll learn to throw sidearm first. Also, not a course to bring new discs on.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Trees R Us

2-4    5/1/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 102  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like trees this is the place for you. Multiple tee boxs allow everyone from newbis to grizzled pros get the challenge they are looking for. You will use every shot in your bag and probably have to make a few up on the spot due to some of the positions you will find yourself in. The new signs are great I wish all courses had signs like these. You get information on the hole you are about to play and what direction to look for the next tee box. Very helpfull. Innova baskets with the bright yellow stip at the top help with visability. The new tee pads for the black tees are great and boy are they a challenge. There is elevation change throughout the course, plenty of variation no risk of getting bored here. The course is very well maintained and clean. Plenty of benchs and trash cans available. the course itself is pretty well isolated from the rest of the park. All the people I have encountered here were very friendly. Put this course into your must play in Atlanta list you will not be dissapointed.
Cons: There is a sign warning you not to leave valuables in your car. I have not had any issues at all.
Other Thoughts: This course is the place that the local landscapers and tree cutters dump their wood chips. This is a great boon to the folks maintaining the course. I ran into one of the trucks on their way out. You never know what you will see disc golfing!
This course is very fun, and also very challengeing. Don't expect to score well first time out. Course knowledge really helps here.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 OK

5+    12/15/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Galahad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging layout for sure with tons of trees, great place to beat up overstable plastic.
Cons: Too many holes with trees right in front of the tee pads. Goofy "O.B." on one of the holes, made by rope.
Other Thoughts: Great course in terms of the location, good design with the small chunk of land it's on. Tee pads need a lot of work, very uneven.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great hidden gym.....

2-4    11/17/2009   12/18/2008
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: When I first played this course I had only been playing the sport for 3 weeks. I have not played it 4 times and have been playing a year overall. Now that I am better and can play more shot types, it's a great course. It is heavily wooded but it is fair. Great new signs and concrete pads from the blacks. I played today from the black tees for the first time and I.......ACED NUMBER 14!!!!!! First ace ever, ERP will forever be remembered. 173 G Elite-X BUZZ on an annhyzer flex!! BEAUTIFUL!! HAD A WITNESS TOO, EVEN BETTER!!!
Cons: All holes are wooded and provide a high risk/reward factor based on your shot selection. I would reccomend an anny on 14 with a BUZZ myself, just saying!
Other Thoughts: Not as un-safe as some would say, but since there are signs sayig lock and hide items in your ar, DO IT IDIOTS!! This course is fun to me. If you are looking for a tough round, this course can bite you hard. If you do not like wooded holes, don't even bother unless you just want to say you have played it. I actually liked it a lot!!!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Park

1    12/13/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well groomed heavily wooded course. Great signs and maps on every tee. Multiple tees give good challenge no matter what tee you play from really, all pretty challenging. Great variety in elevation throughout the course. Use just about all types of shots on this course and probably use the majority of your discs as well so that always fun. Trash cans and benches all over the course so it keeps maintained very well. Never too far away from your car, at least not for too long since its not in the best neighborhood either.
Cons: Very tight fairways on just about everyone hole. Except the hole that has the trailers in the fairway. Could cut some more trees down to make the fairways a little more reasonable, even with a good drive more than likely you are going to have a clean approach shot with all the trees in the way. The back nine some holes come within feet of other holes so watch out for other people and their discs. Didn't really enjoy the tee pads either, crushed stone was probably nice when new but with the nature of the game they are now warped and deformed, but nothin major or unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Over all pretty good course a lot of fun and a lot of pinball holes. Just pray that your on your game and who ever hits the least amount of trees in a round usually wins. A must visit though!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell=Trees

1    12/14/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will bring out the best and worst in every level of player. Of course it will challenge beginners a little more. There are mostly heavily wooded holes running through out the entire course and there are only a few holes that have empty fairways. There is usually an obstacle in your face so experiences pros should like the difficulty. Most of the holes are relatively short drives so lower power players aren't at too much of a disadvantage. This course also contains a lot of elevation changes. A great mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots so you should probably bring your "A game".
Cons: If you like airing it out onto open fairways then you might not like this course very much. If you don't like pinball holes then you definitely wont like this course. There are some holes that don't really have fairways in the traditional sense of the word. I don't particularly mind this aspect of the course, but some people might. Most of the tees are crushed stone though and I don't always feel like I have great footing on that surface.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth stopping for if you're anywhere near Alpharetta . It's a great contrast to some of the more open courses in Georgia. I didn't find the scenery particularly inspiring though. I think that the designers of this course did a great job with the land though. There are a great mix of uphill, downhill, hyzer, and anhyzer shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Atlanta Course

1    11/30/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: meurek514
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -it is a good and challenging course.
-lots of trees to maneuver around on each hole which make it tons of fun and requires your full attention.
-beautiful tee views on a couple holes and it is just overall fun.
Cons: -its a hard course. black tees are nearly -impossible for a beginner or even an intermediate golfer.
-some tees are hard to find so it would be nice to have a map.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center