Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #12 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 212ft.   3 / 218ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    10/4/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 3/3/2009
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course forces you to learn new shots and get out of weird situations. I personally developed my side arm both rollers and air shots almost exclusively there. It also boosts the accuracy and approach game and helps with the mental game by teaching one how to handle frustration. The concrete tee pads on the blacks are a nice addition making the course much more playable.
Cons: Many holes are very poorly designed. Hole nine is perhaps the worst hole I have ever seen being in the running with hole eight and hole six and several holes at the IDGC. This course often times does not reward good shot making due to too many trees in middle of the fairways with no clear line or shot. This is the type of course that you can score well at with your "C" game but tank it with your "A" game and that is just not fair. The tee pads are horrible and many are placed at bizarre angles. The difference between the black and blue tees is negligible with the blue tees being actually harder on several holes. The red tees are too short for anyone except the most clueless novice yet offer short shots too advanced for this level player.
Other Thoughts: The course overall is poorly designed and is located on land that really cannot hold a disc golf course. It could be legitimate if several dozen trees were removed, several holes redesigned, several tee pads repositioned and all the tee pads rebuilt without undulating gravel substrate. UPDATE: Following the addition of the concrete tee pads for the black tees I have up'ed my rating an entire point from 1.0 to 2.0.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

A change of pace.

2-4    10/16/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: Bornabuckeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Offers 3 distict levels of ability

In the woods make a great walk in the summer.

A great technical course that demands your absolute attention.

Offers a change of pace that is unlike anything else in the area. If you want a new expirience get out to ERP

Holes 2 and 6 were absolutely breath taking and beautiful. You need to go on a nice sunny day as the pics above, just dont do those holes justice.

Course is marked well and easy to get around, but locating baskets can be a challenge.
Cons: Huge mulch piles are ugly and provide an unwanted habitat for snakes.

Some of the kudzu is scary. Can lose a disc a just a shade off the fairway.

Back 9 seems lack luster with the exception of 2-3 holes. Kinda feels like some holes were squeezed in and some others just feel repetitive.

Like the other reviews state, some holes Par might want to be reviewed as some seem almost unfair. Almost like a novelty, difficult just to be difficult.

I don't think ERP will crown the best golfer in tournament play, just best golfer that round. I think luck kinda has a little more leverage at ERP than surrounding courses. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: ERP is an extreme challenge from the black tees that IMO should only be challenged by advanced if not pro players. The shots the black tees call for, most Am's and lower 950 rated players just don't have. I made this mistake the first time here, thinking that since I play black and gold at JP that I'd do fine here. I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a different kind of distance, I'm talking hallway like fairways that may dog leg twice or make one huge dogleg with some sporadic trees in the line.

That being said the blue tees were perfect and provided an experience that no other course in the area can provide. When I was told that the course was technical I immediately thought about Redan, wow how wrong could someone be.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, trees, and more trees!

1    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: Lewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ERP's three sets of teepads offer three distinctly different levels of difficulty. I like to play the blue tees, but I may never play the frighteningly difficult black tees. Other course designers should take a cue from this feature.

There are helpful signs and arrows guiding you around the course, so it's easy to find your way around. The builders added a special touch by writing a paragraph about the holes' major features on the signs, as well as handicap rankings, along with par and distance. Some of the signs could use a little repair, but they're a real treat to have.

The course seems to be in better shape every time I visit, so the locals must be working hard on improving it. The oft-maligned gravel tee pads were in pretty good shape when I played this evening, and the kudzu has been cut way back in all the places where it has needed it. I'm pleased to see how nicely the course is maturing.

There is a great variety of distance, elevation, and doglegs on the course, so you won't find yourself making the same shot over and over. The narrow fairways and close-packed trees will make you think before you throw.
Cons: Some people call the old derelict truck trailers on #4 a "trademark" of this course. I call them an eye sore. They force a careful tee shot, but I could do without them. People have been injured retrieving discs from on or in them, so watch out!

As much as the trees make things interesting on every last hole, there are a couple of holes that borderline on unfair. For example, I absolutely hate #16, and #9 isn't much better. Perhaps the pros enjoy close-packed trees and underbrush on all sides of a long dogleg, including down the middle, but I don't.

There are also a couple of places where an errant drive could strike players who are teeing off on an adjacent hole. Watch for this on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that made me learn to throw overhand (what ultimate players call the "hammer"). I will always be grateful to it for adding this element to my game. The ground here is all wood chips, dirt, and leaves, so wear your hiking boots. There is a walking trail through the woods that comes into play on a few holes, so keep an eye out, especially on the back 9, for pedestrians.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good wooded course

5+    9/7/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: JasonSteel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great course - has multiple tees for all levels - however we play from the reds still and it is good for begininers - about to move to blue soon - black are for pros only - like playing a whole different course
Cons: not many - use to lose a disc or two on a couple of holes but they have moves some earth around to make it easier to find errant shots
Other Thoughts: love playing here - bring mosiquotes spray but wooded enough that sunscreen really not needed. park all the way at the back near the tennis courts

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 East Roswell Park

5+    8/13/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: jacobjw2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Range of difficulties with three available tees
-Great scenery
-Shaded and can be cool even in the Georgia summer
-Easy to follow course route
-Elevation changes keep the play interesting
-Though a variety of shots helps low scores, it is not required to get around most of the course.
-Wooded enclosure makes it feel private
Cons: -Kudzu and woods result in many lost discs
-At first blush very few right doglegging holes, so little need to change from general right handed back hand throw
-On some holes it helps to have a spotter ahead to look for discs or you can spend a long time looking for them.
Other Thoughts: A well laid out course. Front nine and back nine start and end in the same general area, making it easy to start from either side for your play. If you are waiting on someone it is easy to play 10 uphill and then 18 downhill next to it.

Friendly people playing also makes it nice. Lost discs are generally turned into the information center, located close to the course, and I have seen plenty of people call numbers on the backs of discs to let an owner know his/her lost disc was found.

I tend to hit plenty of trees, but still enjoy the course.

A wonderful course. Great to learn to play on or keep playing on. I haven't tired of it yet.

Very easy to get to. Exit east off of 400 to Holcombe bridge road, park will be down road on right with a sign pointing it out. Course starts at very back, entrance off of play ground.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play in Atlanta

8/1/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One word, wow.
- Course is a true front nine, back nine. Tees 1 and 10 are just in from the playground. Play the first 9, take a break, get some water, then play the back nine. Too many courses are a giant circle and facilities are too far away.
- Variety. Uphill, downhill, dog legs right, dog legs left. Open ground, confined play.
- Three complete sets of tees. My daughter could play the reds, and on a couple of legs, she was nipping at my heels, praying I would choke.
- The little tips on the tee signs are helpful and amusing to boot.
- The fresh wood chips are great.
-It was a very hot Georgia day, but due to the shade of the course, it was pleasurable to play.
Cons: - Missing some "next tee" markers
- Over all course map at the main sign would be nice.
- A few of the tee markers are in need of revision as it appears a few tees have been relocated since the signs were painted.
Other Thoughts: The locals are very nice. We had one guy a hole ahead and one a hole behind. Lots of "clears" were hollar'd by all, and some good conversations took place while we were waiting for a basket to clear.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great woods course

5+    6/8/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Along with Redan, this is the best course in the Atlanta area and quickly improving
*New cement teepads for long tees rock!
*Completely wooded -- offers a respite from the summer heat
*Multiple teepads (black, blue, red), each offering a different look at the hole
*Challenging & pretty fair (a few fairway trees, but by & large fair)
*Good use of terrain; wide variety of shots needed
*Located in nice Roswell (upscale northern suburb of ATL) city park with facilities & food nearby...not far from I-400
*Maintenance - the city lets wood chippers dump mulch on the course, so it's constantly improving
Cons: *Gravel teepads for middle & short tees
*Kudzu on holes 3-6...it eats discs so be warned...
*FAIRWAY TREES
*ATL's most crowded course (this isn't such a bad thing...just don't bet on getting a callback on your lost disc)

Other Thoughts: This is a 3.75 for me, and would be a 4 with a few trees out, and maybe more than that with a few more trees out & continued aesthetic improvements. Course has improved significantly in last few months. The great volunteers got new CEMENT teepads for the long tees & have really cleaned up the course for the ATL Open in March 2009.

If you're visiting ATL, play this course, especially if you enjoy wooded holes. Having played most of the courses in GA, this is the only one I can think of that's completely wooded. The course is in a city park in a wooded area that is totally dedicated to disc golf.

The course was put in using heavy machinery and was initially very rough with logs piled on the sides of the fairways. It's beating in quickly and the course looks better each time I visit -- it's already very nice & getting nicer by the day.

Similar to central park, the parks people are vocal about not wanting alcohol/etc on the course. Don't bring it, and definitely don't leave any trash that shouldn't be there.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The best in Atlanta

3/27/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: Crossed Reality
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of tight versus open shots. The course is separated from the rest of the park so there's very little cross traffic other than the occasional dog walker. The course is very long for an 18 hole course in this area, even from the closest of the three tee sets, so it will reward you for being skilled. The black tees will make fun of you until you cry.
Cons: This is a rare course in that it's actually more fun to play in winter than summer. Kudzu Corner is a frightening prospect in the full bloom of green, and there's almost always at least one group covering the same area looking desperately for an errant disc.

Other than that the main problem with the course is the entirely random set of abandoned trailers on hole #4. If your shot goes short or wide, I hope you're up on your tetanus shots.
Other Thoughts: They've removed at least one of the trailers recently so there is hope. The course is under continual improvement.

My experience with disc golf outside of Atlanta is limited, but this is definitely the best course in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Difficult Course

12/23/2007   12/26/2007
Review By: pitpit
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is where I like them, the woods. The trees provide a great challenge and keep holes interesting.
Cons: I played this course on a day that was rainy in the morning so the slush was not too favorable. The tee pads were also very rough at the time, but the rain likely played a part in that.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check it out.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

1    9/15/2007   9/16/2007
Review By: 12StonesScott
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Requires a real mix of shots to keep your score down -- will turn on you quickly if you let up. Control and shot selection count for more than distance, at least from the reds and blues (pro tees are black). Pin placement on several holes is brutal for anything that carries past the hole -- steep declines can result in a miss that takes two shots to recover from.

One positive that gets overlooked is that there's really no place on the course where you have to contend with walkers/runners/playgrounds, etc. The course is in woods that aren't used for any other park facilities, so you never have to worry about a bicyclist darting into a fairway and taking a drive to the forehead.
Cons: Kudzu makes for intimidating rough, but it also makes finding discs a real challenge at times -- watch where every shot goes carefully, or expect to lose a disc or two. I've lost four in the last couple of months of playing twice a week or so, including a couple that I watched all the way down but couldn't find in the kudzu.

Crushed stone tee pads get pretty worn and uneven -- RRPD does its best but without concrete pads it's a losing battle.

The trailers along the left side of the 4th fairway make for an interesting obstacle, but I'm always concerned about who or what may take up residence in them, or in the nearby shed.

No pro shop or any other place to buy discs nearby; water fountains at pavilion near 1st/10th tees usually broken, so bring your own water (nothing stronger, however -- park police can be pretty aggressive about enforcing laws on possession/consumption of alcohol).
Other Thoughts: Almost literally my home course -- pro tees for the 4th hole are less than 1000 feet from my front door. Roswell Recreation and Parks Dept. do a great job with maintenance and are very supportive. Several holes recently got new benches near the tee areas courtesy of a local teen who installed them as his Eagle Scout project.

Added 5/6/09: Since posting this review, I've taken on the role of secretary of the Roswell Disc Golf Club, which works with the Roswell Recreation and Parks Department to maintain and develop this and (we hope) other courses in Roswell. So I can't be considered an impartial judge at this point. However, this review was written nearly a year before the RRPD officially came into existence, so I wasn't biased by that when I wrote it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.