Disc Golf Store
Alexandria, KY 
A. J. Jolly Park Share
Uploaded By: nickharrington Hole #12 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 324ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Played on a rainy day

2-4    10/16/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: Rjmephillips115
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A.J. Jolly is a nice park in the Northern Kentucky area to take the entire family. This is a 18 hole course that has a wide variety of holes. There are holes that are wide open, up/down hill, dog leg left and right, wooded, and holes that are lined with water. There are a variety of distances as well per hole. The course is well maintained. The signs, tee boxes and baskets are well taken care of. The course only took a couple of hours to play.
Cons: The times that I have played the course, even when it wasn't raining, the course is rather damp. The holes around the lake can be especially damp. I found it somewhat difficult at times to find the next hole the first time I played.
Other Thoughts: The park takes a little while to get to when coming from the interstate. It is worth the trip if you are looking for a nice course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Don't under estimate this course

2-4    5/10/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: nickharrington
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the course description says, this is a beautiful course with rolling hills and a beautiful lake.

This is a great course to let your discs fly, but don't under estimate the winds. There are several rolling hills and a large lake that produces unpredictable winds. At times they can knock your disc down and some can carry your disc twice as far, and into the lake ;) You may not see this as a pro, but I see it as a tool to develop my skills at understanding my discs and the wind.

My wife who has a weaker throw enjoys this course because most of it is open and she doesn't have to search the weeds all day.
Cons: After several storms, the lake will rise causing several holes to get pretty soggy. Others don't drain well and stay soggy for long periods.

The parks department holds boating races which blocks a couple holes, but it's only happened to me once, so I wouldn't worry too much about it.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course in the long list of courses in the Greater Cincinnati OH area. If you are in Northern Kentucky to play Idlewild and/or Lincoln Ridge, I definitely recommend a stop here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    7/2/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It is a very well taken care of course
-The sign at the tee is very nice showing the par, the distance, where the next tee is, and where the pin is located
-It is very beautiful out there as it is along the lake
-You can usually see the pin from the tee (which makes it nice so you know what to aim for)
-There is a practice pin so you can practice and get warmed up before you start
-Usually there are not too many people there so you dont have to stop and wait for people
-It is located in a very nice park
-The concrete launch pad is nice
Cons: -For holes 2, 3, and 4 the pin is located by the water so you need to be extra careful not to go in
-Almost every hole here is a par 3 with the occasional par 4
-Almost every hole is in an open field so you really dont get to go into the woods too much and test your accuracy
Other Thoughts: The one thing that i dont recommend is coming here on a windy day. I came here on a windy day and 3 discs ended up in the water. Luckily 2 of the 3 could float so i was easily able to get them. But for the other disc as soon as it went into the water it just sunk to the bottom. So if any of you are planning on coming here please do not go on a windy day or you'll be sorry.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A.J. Jolly

5+    11/27/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, a few up hill shots that are pretty challenging. Decent use of lake as water hazards on a handful of front 9 holes. These holes force you to play it safe and force your accuracy. Concrete tee pads nice tee signs that are very helpful as far as lay out of the hole. The baskets are fairly new and I have never seen them vandalized. A few long holes and a few short with a good variety in between that. Mostly open with a few holes with tight fairways either from thick trees and brush or from lines of giant oak trees or pines. There is never a problem with brush or over growth, and grass is never too long. There is a practice basket right by the parking lot and the first tee. Course is never very busy or over crowded. I don't think I have ever had to wait on a hole or if I have it wasn't very long. This is probably because it is in the middle of no where.
Cons: Biggest con is the low laying areas. Since a lot of the course plays through the lakes flood plans. There are a few spots on the course that just always seem to be wet and nasty no matter how long ago it rained.
Other Thoughts: There are sometimes people fishing along the lake by holes which can be a pain.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course, Room for Improvement

1    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: TheTennesseeFireman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Natural Beauty- This course plays around one of the prettiest lakes in the Greater Cincinnati area.

Playability- On the day I went out, next to no one was in the park. Though there was still a bit of mud on the course, the rains were torrential the day before and I can't fault the maintenance.

Facilities- A lot of work was put into making this course worthwile. The tee pads were all concrete, and the signs are clean and very helpful. Refreshments were sold at the gate. The permanent bathrooms were for the most part clean.
Cons: Course Design- Something tells me that they put the course in the wrong part of the park. Despite the beautiful rolling hills you see all around you, much of the layout centers around the baseball fields. In addition, many of the holes are monochrome, with only one strong element per hole. For example, while #16 has an excellent elevated tee exposed to the wind, the rest of the nearly 500 yard hole is wide open, treeless, and flat.

Course Flow- The best holes unfortunately hit too hard, too fast, and too early in the round. Hole #2 is easily a standout, with both tee and green on points jutting out into the water. While the hole itself is excellent, it often gobbles up discs more than generates excitement. Nearly every hole with significant risk/reward is done by hole 9, and the vast majority of the back nine mostly plays over open fields and contrived tree chutes.
Other Thoughts: The potential for an amazing course is here, but unfortunately wasn't fully realized. If this course were to be completely redesigned (and placed, say, on that gorgeous land on the other side of the lake), we would have a rival for Lincoln Ridge and Idlewild.

Also, coming from Cincinnati, beware that it's a much longer drive than you might expect to get out here. You'll feel like you've passed out of civilization before you catch the turn in.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Most Scenic Disc Golf in Cincinnati Area

5+    3/21/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: tbird888
Played: 102  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A simple eighteen hole course that can range in difficulty between casual day of fun to an absolute monster when the wind comes into play. One day you're throwing understable discs, the next overstable. It's definitely more of an intermediate level course and harder when winds get into the 40+mph range. As far as the technical aspects, you'll encounter a variety of :
distances - up to around 600ft or so
low ceilings
left & right doglegs
elevation changes
water in play on ~6 holes
Cons: Really is a pretty boring course in terms of difficulty. The difficulty level increases only because of the wind.
Most holes are ace runs but do also have low ceilings and water hazards to help keep things from getting too stale.
It is far away from the Cincinnati Big 3 (Idlewild/Banklick/ Mt. Airy).
Other Thoughts: I really like playing this course more for the scenery than the challenge. Don't miss it if you play in Cincinnati in the fall and love the changing of the leaves. It's like a treat to get to make the drive out there. The redesign has improved flow and only made the course better. I can get in three or four rounds in a day there and make it worth the drive. It's really not very difficult, but it's a fun time. I have sacrificed a lot of cherished discs there to the drink, so if you play, be careful and bring your overstable plastic if there's wind. Also, watch out for snakes on the banks.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Open and pretty course

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very nicely kept, and has lots of great views of the lake. The entire course plays on very nice grass that was mowed fairly recently when we played. The tee signs are very nice (they seemed new), and had accurate depictions of the holes along with distance. The tee pads were all concrete, and were in fine shape.

The water is a fun hazard, and was used well on a few holes. Many holes play along or toward the lake shore, making for tough decisions on the tee. One hole plays across a small inlet of the lake, and seemed well designed to allow risk reward decisions between going for the birdie or laying up safely around the water.

The course is on gentle rolling hills for the most part, and the design takes advantage of the small elevation changes as much as possible. The trees that were on the course were also used well. It was fun at the end of the course to have a few holes to really open up on, with a few 450'+ holes in a row.
Cons: This course for the most part is wide open. Only one hole could be considered a 'woods' hole, and only a few had more than a couple scattered trees on the fairway. This meant that the holes got repetitive, as the majority were straight shots between 300' and 340'.

On holes 2 and 3, there were a number of people sitting (and parking their cars) on the fairways. They seemed not to realize that the space was also used for disc golf, though none had a major issue with us playing through.
Other Thoughts: We enjoyed playing this course, though I wouldn't recommend driving way out of your way just to play here. The park was very pretty, and this would be a great place to bring a family to play, or new players who aren't ready for the more challenging and technical courses in the area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad...Not Great

1    6/11/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A.J. Jolly's best attribute is its proximity to other top-notch courses like Banklick and Idlewild. Of course, if you're in the area, you should play either of those before this one. The course is moderately challenging. I especially like #2 which dares you to throw directly over the lake. The distance isn't unreachable, but if you shank it, you could lose your disc.

Another "pro" is the course location next to a large lake.
Cons: Not technical enough and windy

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque

5/23/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park with some nice lake views. Nice tee signs and the park was well maintained.
Cons: Not much terrain variety. Most holes play relatively flat. The course was also a little tough to navigate even with the map.
Other Thoughts: A. J. Jolly wasn't terribly difficult or particularly memorable but it was a decent course overall and I enjoyed my round here.

Most holes play relatively free of obstacles so there is a decent amount of drive then putt going on. There are a few longer holes where that isn't the case and also a few holes featuring water hazards and trees to change things up.

This course is off the beaten path a bit and with so many other great courses closer to the city I'd be hard pressed to recommend making the drive out here solely to play a round here.

On the other hand, if you're already near-by or you've had your fill of Idlewild/Banklick/Mt. Airy then it's most definitely worth a stop.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 fine

3/1/2008   3/15/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a few creative and difficult holes, a couple of them including very real water hazards. There are also a couple of holes that use tree "corridors" well to provide a challenging shot.
Cons: Although this may be a small issue for most people, it drove me crazy: there's goose poo every where. The smell permeates the air. There are also some drainage issues on the front 5. In the back, holes 11 and 12 are out of place on what is an otherwise open course. They're short, heavily wooded holes that are more about muscling it through brush than throwing with any finesse.
Other Thoughts: Not a course that I'd drive to play again. If in the area, I suggest Banklick over this one.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center