Alexandria, KY 
A. J. Jolly Park Share
Uploaded By: nickharrington Hole #6 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Oh Jolly!!!!!

2-4    6/10/2012   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has been a while since i have played this course however i remember this course very well. I actually like this course very much. It is an open course that you have to open your arm on. Great course to practice those long drives BUT you cant overthrow some holes. First hole is just a nice power drive about 475 feet and it goes uphill. Second hole is just a beauty that scares me. Nice over the lake shot. I have lost 2 discs in that lake on this hole. Now the next 2 holes if you overdrive the hole you will be wet and wont find your disc. Then the course goes back up the hill and you have 4 or 5 holes that are 250-300 feet. After those open holes u have 2 holes that go to the woods. The first is more open but then the basket ducks in the woods. I recomend a good forhand shot for rhbh throwers with a big turn around disc. Then you go back into the fields and have shots that range from 200 feet to another 480 footer at 18. The tee pads are awsome here and are very big.
Cons: Not many cons for this course. A very well designed course to test your placement. Dont need a ton of accuracy as in trying to it certain holes or certail lines. I would say this course is a very good course to start testing your distance and see how far you can go. On windy days this course is very difficult. Be carefull playing in the summer this course is very dry and also the wind is normally blowing pretty good but that will make you think that you are cooler than you are. big course drink lots of water.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a nicely designed course. My buddy and i played this several times and have played it at night which is fun and difficult. hole 2 is awsome at night with just a little glow stick to shoot for. i did lost 2 discs here for that hole. Course should be played by beginners looking to become serious. Looking to get that power drive and test their shots. ALSO NOTE PARKING CAN BE DONE OUTSIDE THE PARK WITHOUT GOING THROUGH THE GATES. IT IS RIGHT BY THE PRACTICE GATE. Other than that have fun and enjoy about 2 hours of disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque Setting

5+    7/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Bonks
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - You can really let it out on quite a few holes since it's wide open.
- Memorable peninsula green on hole 2. Only 200ft but the risk/reward is certainly there.
- While you can let it out you also need to have accuracy as quite a few holes play right along the lakes shores.
- You will need to throw drivers and putters/mid ranges off the tees, so it's not just all driver drives.
- Tee pads are all concrete and in fantastic shape.
- Grass is always well taken care of.
- Baskets are in good shape and catch well.
- Great place to get out and do field practice off a tee since it doesn't get a ton of play.
Cons: - With being along a lake with ducks there can be duck crap on some of the tee pads and hole signs.
- Potential to lose discs in the lake with little chance of getting them back unless you're willing to go in after it.
- People fishing along hole 2's tee pad and next to the basket and are sometimes unwilling to move so you can throw.
- During summer months hole 10 can sometimes be unplayable due to cars and vans/suv's parked right in the fairway.
- Hole 12 can be unplayable for several weeks after very heavy rains.
- Some of the fairways hold water for awhile after rains so water proof shoes are always a plus for this course.
- Not a ton of variety to the holes or shot requirements.
- You will literally feel like you're in a fire pit during hot summer days as there is very little shade anywhere on the course.
- The wind can be very strong at times here and will be blowing somewhat almost always due to being so wide open
Other Thoughts: - There is a parking area right next to the practice basket that doesn't require you to buy a pass.
- Many things for the whole family to do from disc golf, playgrounds, picnics, fishing, sports fields and camping.
Overall a fun beautiful lake course to play

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course to check out

5+    6/10/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays around (and over) a really beautiful lake. Lots of variation in lengths and a little in elevation. Some very interesting shots, especially the ones close to the lake (which there are many) I play this course a couple times a week and have never seen it get overgrown. Very well taken care of.
Nice concrete tees, very nice baskets.
The signs are accurate and the course is fairly easy to navigate.
There's hardly ever anyone here, and this course really is beautiful.
Cons: There is always people fishing around the holes, and sometimes people even sit in the baskets. You'll see a baseball field where baseball moms park their vans, we make that part of the challenge, don't hit cars or trees.
Can get mushy in some places
Other Thoughts: There's a little shop that has a few discs for sale, mostly DX ones. You can also buy cold drinks or camp around the lake.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lake…Big Lake

5+    5/9/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 180  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My first visit to AJ Jolly Park was on a 60 degree sunny day last fall, as the leaves were changing. I think I saw only one jogger, and a car parked down by the boat dock, suggesting someone was out fishing. I couldn't believe this beautiful lakeside disc golf course wasn't crawling with players, and others partaking of the fields and basketball courts. But it is located well southeast of Cincinnati, and I guess it's a considerable drive out there.
The course has large cement teepads, good baskets, and a reasonable layout. It has been well maintained every time I've been here. Except for the water (which is a huge exception) and three wooded holes, it's unlikely you'll lose any discs in the rough, because there really isn't any.
The signature holes are obviously the 200 foot over-water shot at the lakeside on #2, which can be a real gut-check when it's windy (and it often is here by the lake), the lakeside baskets on 3, 4 & 9, and the hilltop tee & wide open field on the lengthy #16.
There are many opportunities to gun your tee shots here, but only three holes where the natural woods are a factor at all. Two more involve planted but fully mature tree tunnels. The technical challenge here is definitely throwing with precision on waterside shots when the wind kicks up.
Cons: Some of the fairways (in particular 1, 8, 16 & 18) get marshy (they seem to retain water).
#10 is a short hole that shoots back across the drive and under some low branches. It changes from a definite birdie hole to a challenging hole when the baseball moms' minivans are parked there at the bend (in the fairway) instead of in the lot.
I don't recall seeing benches at all, but the trash buckets don't usually overflow.
If you don't like playing in the wind, be sure to check a detailed hourly weather forecast before you go all the way out here.
Other Thoughts: The area tournament schedule gets out here a couple of times a year. We played an 'Ice Bowl' here this year with 20 mph winds, and light flurries, where you didn't need to be a newbie to put one in the drink. Personally, I was happy to have a blizzard driver under 140 grams. Twice.

Dec., 2013 update, to be taken as a possible note for the future. Sometimes these plans take longer than expected, or even fall through, but Fred Salaz posted this on the Cincy club forum yesterday: "AJ Jolly is removing the disc golf course from its current location in the next few years. The Master plan calls for a marina, a stage and rv parking to go where #1, 18, 2,3 4 are. They have asked me to redesign the course in another part of the park. They will be building cabins and offices by the ball golf course, which is one area I will be looking at for the new course. They also would like a championship caliber design so that disc golfers will come to play the course then spend the night in one of their cabins. They didn't give me a time table but look for it to be all completed in about 5 years. More info later." That's all for now, but it could mean changes, even if not immediate.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful day, topped with a little Disc Golf...

1    7/3/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I only played one round, one day, on this course so the extent or the review might be subpar. I'll do the best i can to paint the picture.
A.J. Jolly is a very relaxing and layed back course. The environment around the park is fun and cheerful. I have a course near my home town i would compair this course to as far as the challenge of skills. I like using that course to hone my shots and practice my game. A.J. is a great course for just this reason. It is not overly difficult, nor is it a push over. The course will test you at points. Now, having said that, i urge more experianced players to try different shots and discs around the course. Some holes will set you up for some pretty tough shots here and there. I would use this course as a great practice field. Here are a few holes i felt the need to mention.
#2... What a great design for a hole. It is kinda short, but if your not confident of the tee, your disc will be better served as a frog boat. (see photos)
#14... Very fun hole. On a wide open field with two rows of HUGE trees giving you a nice tunnel shot. It also makes for some great shade on a hot day!
#16...Summed up in one notorious phrase..."GRIP IT AND RIP IT!" Huge distance on the hole. Right off the slightly elevated tee box, your bombing into an open field.
Cons: Since i played here once, my Cons might be a little...for lack of a better term... lame. The Cons i can remember are few. One, It was a long drive to get to the course, and i was really expecting a more challenging course. Two, be sure to pick up a map at the front kiosk. There are no "Next Tee" signs. It could get confusing navigating the park at times. The only really BIG Con i think should be said is just difficulty level. Its a beautiful park, with a average grade course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to bring friends to who are beginners. The distance is subdued by open fairways, and short holes are stretegically made. You will have a blast just having FUN out here. Don't get pumped, or psyched for a tough course. You will leave dissappointed. Play here to have a great afternoon, and leave feeling even better!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Potential

5+    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: UC_Bearcat
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I live in eastern Cincinnati by the Woodland Mound course and this course is worth the drive time to me. This is a good place to learn and test out new throwing styles such as rollers and sidearms because their really isn't any penalty or people to worry about except by the lake. I also take new disc here to break them in and learn there habits. The holes by the lake on this course are beautiful!!! There are also one or two tees on the top of relatively tall rolling hill and these holes are a blast to play as well. Hole #2 is the best one on the course and one of the most memorable in the Cincinnati area (if only because of the lake)!!!
Cons: Many of the middle holes are too wide open or uniquely memorable. Not enough holes have strategically placed risk/reward obstacles (e.g. trees) to create a "pros" challenge but the holes by the lake are great. You can always count on the wind being here since its next to a lake.
Other Thoughts: I think the wind is the best part of this course after multiple visits, because it can really affect your hole strategy. It also occasionally gives you the best long distance drives that will just seemingly flutter up and down forever. Try throwing hole #2 over the lake with a high arcing rhbh and a stable disc for a great adrenaline rush, while you pray that your frisbee stays true in the air and doesn't roll on the landing. Also, bring a fishing pole and a pale of beer and you'll have yourself a great vacation day!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 #3 in Northern Kentucky

5+    5/13/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course that really lets you air out your discs on some big throws. #2 is a great hole that throws over water and so is always a scary throw, but the normal fade of a RHBH will bring your disc towards the land and there is plenty of safe landing area if you don't want to risk losing a disc at the penalty of not having much chance of a 2. The new #12 (which is a combination of the old 12 and 13) is probably my favorite hole on the course: a long, tough, tightly wooded hole. Overall the hole layouts are well planned make use of the terrain and force a decent shot variety. The water and hills make it a very picturesque course to play, especially at sunset. The new #6 is a fun downhill shot that takes the place of the unofficial "dumpster hole."

Along with the new hole and 12/13 merge, the tee signs have been replaced and provide length, par, and hole diagram information. The course is well maintained and kept clean.

I'm listing several negatives below, but despite the cons this is my favorite course in NKY behind Lincoln Ridge (Banklick) and Idlewild.
Cons: If your game is a bit off the water that is along many of the holes on the first half of the course can be frustrating. In fact, most of the challenge offered by the course unfortunately comes from fear of losing a disc in the water not from clever risk/reward design.

Several holes are just long throws into a field (16 and 18 being the worst) that are tough to get a par unless you've got a big arm.

I did mention there is plenty of shot variety, but the problem it is only of slight degrees. Most holes are fairly straight with almost no holes with significant doglegs, making this mostly a course to practice your drives on.
Other Thoughts: Several of the holes seem to be in permanent swamp mode, even when there hasn't been a rain for some time. There are often fisherman on the lake on 2 and 3 (there's a small beach on the shore) that seem oblivious to the fact that they are standing on (and have sometimes parked their car on) the course.

AJ Jolly is a fairly large park with a golf course, sports fields, fishing, picnic shelters, and other fun things to do.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  TOUGH COURSE

5+    5/2/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: steve6218
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In the fall you won't find a more beautiful setting anywhere. I play here 2 or 3 times a month and it can be a tough course, especially when the wind is blowing. I have a much tougher time scoring here than at Banklick, which is considered a much tougher course. Holes 2, 3, and 4 always seem to be windy. I have lost more discs in the water on #4 than all other courses I have played combined. The water near 2,3,4,7, and 9 can jump up and grab you. Holes 14 and 17 are both under 300 feet, but require a shot down a narrow, tree lined fairway. Holes 1,16, and 18 are all well over 450 feet so a 3 is no gimme, even though they are all wide open. The new #6 is 250 feet straight downhill, but it plays different each time, again because of the wind. Just aim low and let it rip.
Cons: Lots of people consider Jolly dull and boring. I think the problem is that many of the holes are over 350 feet so a deuce is tough, but the openess makes a 5 unlikely as well. There is not much risk vs reward decisions here. Sometimes the fisherman can be a problem.
Other Thoughts: The setting here, especially in the fall is just beautiful.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.