Alexandria, KY 
A. J. Jolly Park Share
Uploaded By: nickharrington Hole #5 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 325ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Meeeh

1    11/29/2006   11/29/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2008
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course plays along the edge of a lake, and is picturesque. AJ Jolly offers the opportunity to really crush a drive on several holes, but most of the tee shots play around 300 feet.

There are a few holes where the water comes into play, and even though it is manageable, it makes for an interesting shot.

There are a few really neat holes at this course, which make it stand out from others in the area.
Cons: The layout is somewhat confusing to someone playing it for the first time.

A few of the holes went near park roads, or pavillions where people have picnic lunches.
Other Thoughts: This course is physically very beautiful and well maintained. This course may not be as challenging or versatile as the others in the area, but it is worth playing if you are spending time in the area.

Banklick and Idlewild are just up the road.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 First Impresion

1    10/15/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: fairmike9
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 30.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course seems to have good flow. Looks well maintained.
Cons: little far for me to get to. to wide open needs to be tighter some more trees could be needed
Other Thoughts: not bad all in all. me and my family will go play again especially liked the shot over water all be it a short one.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad...Not Great

1    6/11/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A.J. Jolly's best attribute is its proximity to other top-notch courses like Banklick and Idlewild. Of course, if you're in the area, you should play either of those before this one. The course is moderately challenging. I especially like #2 which dares you to throw directly over the lake. The distance isn't unreachable, but if you shank it, you could lose your disc.

Another "pro" is the course location next to a large lake.
Cons: Not technical enough and windy

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Boring yet nice course

6/26/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Tees
-Signs
-Well mowed
-Scenic
-Proximity to great courses
Cons: -Boring
-Very open, non-technical, basic
-Ivy on the few woods holes is wide-spread
-No challenge
Other Thoughts: Not really worth playing if in the area to play, hit up Idlewild, Banklick, etc instead.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque

5/23/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 240  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park with some nice lake views. Nice tee signs and the park was well maintained.
Cons: Not much terrain variety. Most holes play relatively flat. The course was also a little tough to navigate even with the map.
Other Thoughts: A. J. Jolly wasn't terribly difficult or particularly memorable but it was a decent course overall and I enjoyed my round here.

Most holes play relatively free of obstacles so there is a decent amount of drive then putt going on. There are a few longer holes where that isn't the case and also a few holes featuring water hazards and trees to change things up.

This course is off the beaten path a bit and with so many other great courses closer to the city I'd be hard pressed to recommend making the drive out here solely to play a round here.

On the other hand, if you're already near-by or you've had your fill of Idlewild/Banklick/Mt. Airy then it's most definitely worth a stop.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 wide open

5/11/2008   5/11/2008
Review By: davidmparslow
Played: 82  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: wide open. some elevation. nice scenery. not hard to par. fun to throw some big shots.
Cons: not at all technical
Other Thoughts: dont even attempt on a windy day

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fine

3/1/2008   3/15/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a few creative and difficult holes, a couple of them including very real water hazards. There are also a couple of holes that use tree "corridors" well to provide a challenging shot.
Cons: Although this may be a small issue for most people, it drove me crazy: there's goose poo every where. The smell permeates the air. There are also some drainage issues on the front 5. In the back, holes 11 and 12 are out of place on what is an otherwise open course. They're short, heavily wooded holes that are more about muscling it through brush than throwing with any finesse.
Other Thoughts: Not a course that I'd drive to play again. If in the area, I suggest Banklick over this one.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park...enjoyable course

6/4/2005   3/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some beautiful lake views. A well groomed series of meadows. Baskets are in good positions. It is not overly easy and not overly difficult. Requires uphill, and down hill negotiation skills.
Cons: It can be windy. It is difficult to follow for guests. Park is off the beaten path for sure.
Other Thoughts: While it is not on par with a handful of other Cincy area courses, (Idlewild, Mt. Airy, and Banklick) I would consider this course the best of the second tier. I didn't shoot particularly as well as I would have hoped but hey, we all have those days.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.