Alexandria, KY 
A. J. Jolly Park Share
Uploaded By: nickharrington Hole #12 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 324ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful Course

1    7/2/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It is a very well taken care of course
-The sign at the tee is very nice showing the par, the distance, where the next tee is, and where the pin is located
-It is very beautiful out there as it is along the lake
-You can usually see the pin from the tee (which makes it nice so you know what to aim for)
-There is a practice pin so you can practice and get warmed up before you start
-Usually there are not too many people there so you dont have to stop and wait for people
-It is located in a very nice park
-The concrete launch pad is nice
Cons: -For holes 2, 3, and 4 the pin is located by the water so you need to be extra careful not to go in
-Almost every hole here is a par 3 with the occasional par 4
-Almost every hole is in an open field so you really dont get to go into the woods too much and test your accuracy
Other Thoughts: The one thing that i dont recommend is coming here on a windy day. I came here on a windy day and 3 discs ended up in the water. Luckily 2 of the 3 could float so i was easily able to get them. But for the other disc as soon as it went into the water it just sunk to the bottom. So if any of you are planning on coming here please do not go on a windy day or you'll be sorry.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful day, topped with a little Disc Golf...

1    7/3/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I only played one round, one day, on this course so the extent or the review might be subpar. I'll do the best i can to paint the picture.
A.J. Jolly is a very relaxing and layed back course. The environment around the park is fun and cheerful. I have a course near my home town i would compair this course to as far as the challenge of skills. I like using that course to hone my shots and practice my game. A.J. is a great course for just this reason. It is not overly difficult, nor is it a push over. The course will test you at points. Now, having said that, i urge more experianced players to try different shots and discs around the course. Some holes will set you up for some pretty tough shots here and there. I would use this course as a great practice field. Here are a few holes i felt the need to mention.
#2... What a great design for a hole. It is kinda short, but if your not confident of the tee, your disc will be better served as a frog boat. (see photos)
#14... Very fun hole. On a wide open field with two rows of HUGE trees giving you a nice tunnel shot. It also makes for some great shade on a hot day!
#16...Summed up in one notorious phrase..."GRIP IT AND RIP IT!" Huge distance on the hole. Right off the slightly elevated tee box, your bombing into an open field.
Cons: Since i played here once, my Cons might be a little...for lack of a better term... lame. The Cons i can remember are few. One, It was a long drive to get to the course, and i was really expecting a more challenging course. Two, be sure to pick up a map at the front kiosk. There are no "Next Tee" signs. It could get confusing navigating the park at times. The only really BIG Con i think should be said is just difficulty level. Its a beautiful park, with a average grade course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to bring friends to who are beginners. The distance is subdued by open fairways, and short holes are stretegically made. You will have a blast just having FUN out here. Don't get pumped, or psyched for a tough course. You will leave dissappointed. Play here to have a great afternoon, and leave feeling even better!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Potential

5+    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: UC_Bearcat
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I live in eastern Cincinnati by the Woodland Mound course and this course is worth the drive time to me. This is a good place to learn and test out new throwing styles such as rollers and sidearms because their really isn't any penalty or people to worry about except by the lake. I also take new disc here to break them in and learn there habits. The holes by the lake on this course are beautiful!!! There are also one or two tees on the top of relatively tall rolling hill and these holes are a blast to play as well. Hole #2 is the best one on the course and one of the most memorable in the Cincinnati area (if only because of the lake)!!!
Cons: Many of the middle holes are too wide open or uniquely memorable. Not enough holes have strategically placed risk/reward obstacles (e.g. trees) to create a "pros" challenge but the holes by the lake are great. You can always count on the wind being here since its next to a lake.
Other Thoughts: I think the wind is the best part of this course after multiple visits, because it can really affect your hole strategy. It also occasionally gives you the best long distance drives that will just seemingly flutter up and down forever. Try throwing hole #2 over the lake with a high arcing rhbh and a stable disc for a great adrenaline rush, while you pray that your frisbee stays true in the air and doesn't roll on the landing. Also, bring a fishing pole and a pale of beer and you'll have yourself a great vacation day!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A.J. Jolly

5+    11/27/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, a few up hill shots that are pretty challenging. Decent use of lake as water hazards on a handful of front 9 holes. These holes force you to play it safe and force your accuracy. Concrete tee pads nice tee signs that are very helpful as far as lay out of the hole. The baskets are fairly new and I have never seen them vandalized. A few long holes and a few short with a good variety in between that. Mostly open with a few holes with tight fairways either from thick trees and brush or from lines of giant oak trees or pines. There is never a problem with brush or over growth, and grass is never too long. There is a practice basket right by the parking lot and the first tee. Course is never very busy or over crowded. I don't think I have ever had to wait on a hole or if I have it wasn't very long. This is probably because it is in the middle of no where.
Cons: Biggest con is the low laying areas. Since a lot of the course plays through the lakes flood plans. There are a few spots on the course that just always seem to be wet and nasty no matter how long ago it rained.
Other Thoughts: There are sometimes people fishing along the lake by holes which can be a pain.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course, Room for Improvement

1    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: TheTennesseeFireman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Natural Beauty- This course plays around one of the prettiest lakes in the Greater Cincinnati area.

Playability- On the day I went out, next to no one was in the park. Though there was still a bit of mud on the course, the rains were torrential the day before and I can't fault the maintenance.

Facilities- A lot of work was put into making this course worthwile. The tee pads were all concrete, and the signs are clean and very helpful. Refreshments were sold at the gate. The permanent bathrooms were for the most part clean.
Cons: Course Design- Something tells me that they put the course in the wrong part of the park. Despite the beautiful rolling hills you see all around you, much of the layout centers around the baseball fields. In addition, many of the holes are monochrome, with only one strong element per hole. For example, while #16 has an excellent elevated tee exposed to the wind, the rest of the nearly 500 yard hole is wide open, treeless, and flat.

Course Flow- The best holes unfortunately hit too hard, too fast, and too early in the round. Hole #2 is easily a standout, with both tee and green on points jutting out into the water. While the hole itself is excellent, it often gobbles up discs more than generates excitement. Nearly every hole with significant risk/reward is done by hole 9, and the vast majority of the back nine mostly plays over open fields and contrived tree chutes.
Other Thoughts: The potential for an amazing course is here, but unfortunately wasn't fully realized. If this course were to be completely redesigned (and placed, say, on that gorgeous land on the other side of the lake), we would have a rival for Lincoln Ridge and Idlewild.

Also, coming from Cincinnati, beware that it's a much longer drive than you might expect to get out here. You'll feel like you've passed out of civilization before you catch the turn in.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Most Scenic Disc Golf in Cincinnati Area

5+    3/21/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: tbird888
Played: 89  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A simple eighteen hole course that can range in difficulty between casual day of fun to an absolute monster when the wind comes into play. One day you're throwing understable discs, the next overstable. It's definitely more of an intermediate level course and harder when winds get into the 40+mph range. As far as the technical aspects, you'll encounter a variety of :
distances - up to around 600ft or so
low ceilings
left & right doglegs
elevation changes
water in play on ~6 holes
Cons: Really is a pretty boring course in terms of difficulty. The difficulty level increases only because of the wind.
Most holes are ace runs but do also have low ceilings and water hazards to help keep things from getting too stale.
It is far away from the Cincinnati Big 3 (Idlewild/Banklick/ Mt. Airy).
Other Thoughts: I really like playing this course more for the scenery than the challenge. Don't miss it if you play in Cincinnati in the fall and love the changing of the leaves. It's like a treat to get to make the drive out there. The redesign has improved flow and only made the course better. I can get in three or four rounds in a day there and make it worth the drive. It's really not very difficult, but it's a fun time. I have sacrificed a lot of cherished discs there to the drink, so if you play, be careful and bring your overstable plastic if there's wind. Also, watch out for snakes on the banks.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Open and pretty course

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very nicely kept, and has lots of great views of the lake. The entire course plays on very nice grass that was mowed fairly recently when we played. The tee signs are very nice (they seemed new), and had accurate depictions of the holes along with distance. The tee pads were all concrete, and were in fine shape.

The water is a fun hazard, and was used well on a few holes. Many holes play along or toward the lake shore, making for tough decisions on the tee. One hole plays across a small inlet of the lake, and seemed well designed to allow risk reward decisions between going for the birdie or laying up safely around the water.

The course is on gentle rolling hills for the most part, and the design takes advantage of the small elevation changes as much as possible. The trees that were on the course were also used well. It was fun at the end of the course to have a few holes to really open up on, with a few 450'+ holes in a row.
Cons: This course for the most part is wide open. Only one hole could be considered a 'woods' hole, and only a few had more than a couple scattered trees on the fairway. This meant that the holes got repetitive, as the majority were straight shots between 300' and 340'.

On holes 2 and 3, there were a number of people sitting (and parking their cars) on the fairways. They seemed not to realize that the space was also used for disc golf, though none had a major issue with us playing through.
Other Thoughts: We enjoyed playing this course, though I wouldn't recommend driving way out of your way just to play here. The park was very pretty, and this would be a great place to bring a family to play, or new players who aren't ready for the more challenging and technical courses in the area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 #3 in Northern Kentucky

5+    5/13/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course that really lets you air out your discs on some big throws. #2 is a great hole that throws over water and so is always a scary throw, but the normal fade of a RHBH will bring your disc towards the land and there is plenty of safe landing area if you don't want to risk losing a disc at the penalty of not having much chance of a 2. The new #12 (which is a combination of the old 12 and 13) is probably my favorite hole on the course: a long, tough, tightly wooded hole. Overall the hole layouts are well planned make use of the terrain and force a decent shot variety. The water and hills make it a very picturesque course to play, especially at sunset. The new #6 is a fun downhill shot that takes the place of the unofficial "dumpster hole."

Along with the new hole and 12/13 merge, the tee signs have been replaced and provide length, par, and hole diagram information. The course is well maintained and kept clean.

I'm listing several negatives below, but despite the cons this is my favorite course in NKY behind Lincoln Ridge (Banklick) and Idlewild.
Cons: If your game is a bit off the water that is along many of the holes on the first half of the course can be frustrating. In fact, most of the challenge offered by the course unfortunately comes from fear of losing a disc in the water not from clever risk/reward design.

Several holes are just long throws into a field (16 and 18 being the worst) that are tough to get a par unless you've got a big arm.

I did mention there is plenty of shot variety, but the problem it is only of slight degrees. Most holes are fairly straight with almost no holes with significant doglegs, making this mostly a course to practice your drives on.
Other Thoughts: Several of the holes seem to be in permanent swamp mode, even when there hasn't been a rain for some time. There are often fisherman on the lake on 2 and 3 (there's a small beach on the shore) that seem oblivious to the fact that they are standing on (and have sometimes parked their car on) the course.

AJ Jolly is a fairly large park with a golf course, sports fields, fishing, picnic shelters, and other fun things to do.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  TOUGH COURSE

5+    5/2/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: steve6218
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In the fall you won't find a more beautiful setting anywhere. I play here 2 or 3 times a month and it can be a tough course, especially when the wind is blowing. I have a much tougher time scoring here than at Banklick, which is considered a much tougher course. Holes 2, 3, and 4 always seem to be windy. I have lost more discs in the water on #4 than all other courses I have played combined. The water near 2,3,4,7, and 9 can jump up and grab you. Holes 14 and 17 are both under 300 feet, but require a shot down a narrow, tree lined fairway. Holes 1,16, and 18 are all well over 450 feet so a 3 is no gimme, even though they are all wide open. The new #6 is 250 feet straight downhill, but it plays different each time, again because of the wind. Just aim low and let it rip.
Cons: Lots of people consider Jolly dull and boring. I think the problem is that many of the holes are over 350 feet so a deuce is tough, but the openess makes a 5 unlikely as well. There is not much risk vs reward decisions here. Sometimes the fisherman can be a problem.
Other Thoughts: The setting here, especially in the fall is just beautiful.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2005   2/22/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenic course with a few holes near a lake. Mostly open and with some longer holes if you want a chance to rip some drives. Most holes are flat, but you do play up and down this one big hill. The tee signs are smaller but still give good info.

Two holes were especially nice. #2 plays over the water to a peninsula. #17 is a great hole that requires a low, straight tee shot as the fairway is lined with a row of large trees on both sides.
Cons: Natural tees. The stretch of holes that circled the park were a little tricky to navigate, and played close to other aspects of the park. Hole #11 is tight and a little ridiculous, and uncharacteristic of the rest of the park (just look at the picture!)

I vaguely remember something shady about #12 as well- either couldn't find it, or no basket, or out of the way, and there is no picture of it on this site, so someone else must have the same problem!!!
Other Thoughts: Water is nearby for #3 and #4, but shouldn't be a factor for most people.

There was an entrance gate, but we parked in the gravel lot just before the gate and walked to hole #1 avoiding having to pay (by direction of the gate worker). But according to this site you no longer have to pay.

Overall not a bad course, but not a great one either. The lake is nice, and about half of the holes are pretty good. But it might get a little boring for some people as there are a few holes that are just a tee and a basket in an open field.

So many awesome alternatives nearby, but there are also some worse courses in this area, too.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.