Alexandria, KY 
A. J. Jolly Park Share
Uploaded By: nickharrington Hole #10 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 185ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Played on a rainy day

2-4    10/16/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: Rjmephillips115
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A.J. Jolly is a nice park in the Northern Kentucky area to take the entire family. This is a 18 hole course that has a wide variety of holes. There are holes that are wide open, up/down hill, dog leg left and right, wooded, and holes that are lined with water. There are a variety of distances as well per hole. The course is well maintained. The signs, tee boxes and baskets are well taken care of. The course only took a couple of hours to play.
Cons: The times that I have played the course, even when it wasn't raining, the course is rather damp. The holes around the lake can be especially damp. I found it somewhat difficult at times to find the next hole the first time I played.
Other Thoughts: The park takes a little while to get to when coming from the interstate. It is worth the trip if you are looking for a nice course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    6/9/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
Pros: 18 holes...
nice tees, signs are okay...
play by the water, be choosy with your drives!
Plays to the natural landscape well
lots of elevation changes
good mix of holes, trees, open fields, hills
Cons: Not to many places to sit and chill
could use a water fountain too.
Other Thoughts: It makes the mark, simply because the easy to follow lay out and everyone has a chance to play it well for the first time they play here

A Beauty

5+    9/26/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful views of the rolling hills with the lakes throughout, especially now with the leafs changing.. Rarely more than 10 people on the course. Disc Golf Serenity.
Cons: any course being all par 3's is going to have a hard time scoring over a 4 for me.. Some challenging holes but all par 3's nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: Probably the 4th best disc golf course in the Cincinnati area behind...
1. Idlewild
2. Mt Airy
3. Lincoln Ridge

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Oh Jolly!!!!!

2-4    6/10/2012   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has been a while since i have played this course however i remember this course very well. I actually like this course very much. It is an open course that you have to open your arm on. Great course to practice those long drives BUT you cant overthrow some holes. First hole is just a nice power drive about 475 feet and it goes uphill. Second hole is just a beauty that scares me. Nice over the lake shot. I have lost 2 discs in that lake on this hole. Now the next 2 holes if you overdrive the hole you will be wet and wont find your disc. Then the course goes back up the hill and you have 4 or 5 holes that are 250-300 feet. After those open holes u have 2 holes that go to the woods. The first is more open but then the basket ducks in the woods. I recomend a good forhand shot for rhbh throwers with a big turn around disc. Then you go back into the fields and have shots that range from 200 feet to another 480 footer at 18. The tee pads are awsome here and are very big.
Cons: Not many cons for this course. A very well designed course to test your placement. Dont need a ton of accuracy as in trying to it certain holes or certail lines. I would say this course is a very good course to start testing your distance and see how far you can go. On windy days this course is very difficult. Be carefull playing in the summer this course is very dry and also the wind is normally blowing pretty good but that will make you think that you are cooler than you are. big course drink lots of water.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a nicely designed course. My buddy and i played this several times and have played it at night which is fun and difficult. hole 2 is awsome at night with just a little glow stick to shoot for. i did lost 2 discs here for that hole. Course should be played by beginners looking to become serious. Looking to get that power drive and test their shots. ALSO NOTE PARKING CAN BE DONE OUTSIDE THE PARK WITHOUT GOING THROUGH THE GATES. IT IS RIGHT BY THE PRACTICE GATE. Other than that have fun and enjoy about 2 hours of disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

not challenging

5+    5/5/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: jamiejogov
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is big enough that you shouldn't have problems on a busy day. It's nice to just practice here.
Cons: It's not very challenging, mostly open holes with just two in a wooded area. Very busy park everwhere, they just extended the walking trail so you have to watch for runners and bikers on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This course alright, but I woukd prefer to drive firther for a more rewarding experience.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque Setting

5+    7/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Bonks
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - You can really let it out on quite a few holes since it's wide open.
- Memorable peninsula green on hole 2. Only 200ft but the risk/reward is certainly there.
- While you can let it out you also need to have accuracy as quite a few holes play right along the lakes shores.
- You will need to throw drivers and putters/mid ranges off the tees, so it's not just all driver drives.
- Tee pads are all concrete and in fantastic shape.
- Grass is always well taken care of.
- Baskets are in good shape and catch well.
- Great place to get out and do field practice off a tee since it doesn't get a ton of play.
Cons: - With being along a lake with ducks there can be duck crap on some of the tee pads and hole signs.
- Potential to lose discs in the lake with little chance of getting them back unless you're willing to go in after it.
- People fishing along hole 2's tee pad and next to the basket and are sometimes unwilling to move so you can throw.
- During summer months hole 10 can sometimes be unplayable due to cars and vans/suv's parked right in the fairway.
- Hole 12 can be unplayable for several weeks after very heavy rains.
- Some of the fairways hold water for awhile after rains so water proof shoes are always a plus for this course.
- Not a ton of variety to the holes or shot requirements.
- You will literally feel like you're in a fire pit during hot summer days as there is very little shade anywhere on the course.
- The wind can be very strong at times here and will be blowing somewhat almost always due to being so wide open
Other Thoughts: - There is a parking area right next to the practice basket that doesn't require you to buy a pass.
- Many things for the whole family to do from disc golf, playgrounds, picnics, fishing, sports fields and camping.
Overall a fun beautiful lake course to play

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course to check out

5+    6/10/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays around (and over) a really beautiful lake. Lots of variation in lengths and a little in elevation. Some very interesting shots, especially the ones close to the lake (which there are many) I play this course a couple times a week and have never seen it get overgrown. Very well taken care of.
Nice concrete tees, very nice baskets.
The signs are accurate and the course is fairly easy to navigate.
There's hardly ever anyone here, and this course really is beautiful.
Cons: There is always people fishing around the holes, and sometimes people even sit in the baskets. You'll see a baseball field where baseball moms park their vans, we make that part of the challenge, don't hit cars or trees.
Can get mushy in some places
Other Thoughts: There's a little shop that has a few discs for sale, mostly DX ones. You can also buy cold drinks or camp around the lake.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lake…Big Lake

5+    5/9/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My first visit to AJ Jolly Park was on a 60 degree sunny day last fall, as the leaves were changing. I think I saw only one jogger, and a car parked down by the boat dock, suggesting someone was out fishing. I couldn't believe this beautiful lakeside disc golf course wasn't crawling with players, and others partaking of the fields and basketball courts. But it is located well southeast of Cincinnati, and I guess it's a considerable drive out there.
The course has large cement teepads, good baskets, and a reasonable layout. It has been well maintained every time I've been here. Except for the water (which is a huge exception) and three wooded holes, it's unlikely you'll lose any discs in the rough, because there really isn't any.
The signature holes are obviously the 200 foot over-water shot at the lakeside on #2, which can be a real gut-check when it's windy (and it often is here by the lake), the lakeside baskets on 3, 4 & 9, and the hilltop tee & wide open field on the lengthy #16.
There are many opportunities to gun your tee shots here, but only three holes where the natural woods are a factor at all. Two more involve planted but fully mature tree tunnels. The technical challenge here is definitely throwing with precision on waterside shots when the wind kicks up.
Cons: Some of the fairways (in particular 1, 8, 16 & 18) get marshy (they seem to retain water).
#10 is a short hole that shoots back across the drive and under some low branches. It changes from a definite birdie hole to a challenging hole when the baseball moms' minivans are parked there at the bend (in the fairway) instead of in the lot.
I don't recall seeing benches at all, but the trash buckets don't usually overflow.
If you don't like playing in the wind, be sure to check a detailed hourly weather forecast before you go all the way out here.
Other Thoughts: The area tournament schedule gets out here a couple of times a year. We played an 'Ice Bowl' here this year with 20 mph winds, and light flurries, where you didn't need to be a newbie to put one in the drink. Personally, I was happy to have a blizzard driver under 140 grams. Twice.

Dec., 2013 update, to be taken as a possible note for the future. Sometimes these plans take longer than expected, or even fall through, but Fred Salaz posted this on the Cincy club forum yesterday: "AJ Jolly is removing the disc golf course from its current location in the next few years. The Master plan calls for a marina, a stage and rv parking to go where #1, 18, 2,3 4 are. They have asked me to redesign the course in another part of the park. They will be building cabins and offices by the ball golf course, which is one area I will be looking at for the new course. They also would like a championship caliber design so that disc golfers will come to play the course then spend the night in one of their cabins. They didn't give me a time table but look for it to be all completed in about 5 years. More info later." That's all for now, but it could mean changes, even if not immediate.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't under estimate this course

2-4    5/10/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: nickharrington
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the course description says, this is a beautiful course with rolling hills and a beautiful lake.

This is a great course to let your discs fly, but don't under estimate the winds. There are several rolling hills and a large lake that produces unpredictable winds. At times they can knock your disc down and some can carry your disc twice as far, and into the lake ;) You may not see this as a pro, but I see it as a tool to develop my skills at understanding my discs and the wind.

My wife who has a weaker throw enjoys this course because most of it is open and she doesn't have to search the weeds all day.
Cons: After several storms, the lake will rise causing several holes to get pretty soggy. Others don't drain well and stay soggy for long periods.

The parks department holds boating races which blocks a couple holes, but it's only happened to me once, so I wouldn't worry too much about it.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course in the long list of courses in the Greater Cincinnati OH area. If you are in Northern Kentucky to play Idlewild and/or Lincoln Ridge, I definitely recommend a stop here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not bad. A good Distance course.

1    8/13/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: Redssox86
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good practice for Distance Throwing
Beautiful scenery
Cons: Long distances between last basket and next whole
Not many difficult holes that require precision or finesse
Other Thoughts: Decent course that would be better if it were closer

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.