Avon, IN 
Avon Town Hall Share
Uploaded By: JStrifler Hole #9 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 352ft.   3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good course, poor layout

1    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: smitdavi
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Location: The course was situated in a beautiful, well manicured park. One of the prettiest parks I've played in yet.

Difficulty: The course features a nice mixture of wood holes with fantastic design, and some open holes to really bomb it. I found the mixture of open and wooded to be quite nice. Not a really challenging course, shot an even par round.

Design: The best part of this course was the design of the wooded holes. The elevation changes were fantastic. They are a little short but, to me it was the most memorable part.
Cons: Tee Pads: Like previously stated, the tee pads are VERY short. Some tees it's easy to to start from behind the tees and make an easy transition to the tee pad to take a normal approach. Others are not because the tee pad is elevated. I did stumble off a couple pads twisting my ankle. Midway through the round we started throwing off to the side of the pad.

Layout: The day we were there there the course was quite busy. Because of the layout and the close proximity of the baskets to tee pads and fairways there was A LOT of waiting for players to clear certain areas. It created quite the backup. The holes seem right on top of each other.
Other Thoughts: My big complaint I didn't list in the cons because I feel like this could be avoided by not playing on a Saturday, mid day. When we got there around noon there must have been a doubles league going on which contributed to the back up. The problem was they were playing like 6 people to to a group (3 to 4 groups) and each player took 2 shots almost each throw. This slowed the pace considerably and made for a painstakingly slow round.

All that being said I would go back and play this course again. It was a fun course in a BEAUTIFUL park.

not bad, not great

2-4    10/21/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8 Years
Pros: This is a nice park that's easily accessible as it sits right off the main road.
*The wooded holes are by far the most interesting even if they are the shortest.
*Easy to navigate for the most part.
*More elevation changes than most of the Indianapolis-area courses.
*Good concrete teepads.
Cons: *Even though the course is easily accessible I fought through bad traffic to get there (probably something local people are used to and don't even consider a negative so much as a way of life.)
*Teepads are good quality but they're very short. I don't even use much of a run-up and I was frequently starting from off the back of them.
*On busy days you need your head on a swivel because there are several holes that have the teepad in a direct or near-direct line from a different hole.
*The first half of the course is somewhat open and bland with a few exceptions.
Other Thoughts: #1. 290' Throw is uphill with an old barn to the left of the basket. The barn can be an obstacle if your throw is short and left and I think it is kind of interesting sitting there. Otherwise it's a fairly wide open shot.
#2 188' Another shot that goes uphill, but this is a short one. You'll have to get between a couple of small trees near the basket and if you go long you'll be in the woods but if you don't get a deuce you'll probably be upset with yourself.
#3 431' Woods run the length of the fairway to your left but otherwise it's pretty basic. The line to the basket is flat but the fairway does slope off slightly downhill to the right.
#4 342' Some trees in the middle of the fairway but you can go over them if you have much of an arm as they aren't all that tall.
#5 276' Fairway is wide open until you get near the basket when you have to avoid some shorter trees.
#6 234' Drive goes over a patch of deeper grass with a landing area that's not all that big as there's a walking path about 30' or so behind the basket that is OB.
#7 453' Wide open hole. The only danger is a walking path lined by some shorter trees to the right but the walking path near the basket is not OB.
#8 349' Another bit of a walk from the previous hole. You tee off in a spot cut out of the woods and the fairway then opens up. There is a walkway to the left that's OB and it's lined by some small trees.
#9 352'. This was the point where I started to think that maybe there were some interesting holes. The tee shot is pretty wide open but the basket is set back in the trees. You'll have to hit the right gap or you'll have a tricky second shot.
#10 199' Even though this is the beginning of shorter holes, you'll be in the woods for a while and things get more interesting. This hole is pretty straight but you'll have to be accurate.
#11 275' Narrow fairway that fades slightly to the left.
#12 261' Down and back up. You'll need to get the disc to fade quite a bit to the left but there's not much of a line. I also had trouble finding the basket here, as I first saw the basket for #15 that was more straight ahead than the one you're playing to.
#13. 189' This one plays downhill and the fairway turns sharply to the left as the hill gets steeper. It probably plays longer than the distance given the sharp turn you'll need. If your drive goes to far too straight you can get through the woods leaving you virtually nothing.
#14 150' Short but uphill. Ace run for certain. Throw is pretty much a straight shot.
#15 176' Another uphill short hole. The basket is pretty well-hidden between two larger old trees.
#16 342'/401' There are two pin placements for this hole. Your drive will be pretty much a wide open shot either way, but if the pin is in the shorter position it's a fade to the left behind some trees just beyond the thicker, deeper grass. The longer basket is straight forward.
#17 403' Aim at the teepad directly in front of you (provided no one is standing on it--seriously, it's right in your flighline,) and get beyond the woods on the left. The hole doglegs that direction. There are smaller trees to the right of the fairway as well.
#18 240' Straight shot but you'll need your distance to be solid as the fairway slopes off to the back/left. Trees are also thicker to the left with one larger tree to the right. If you get too far long or left you could conceivably get all the way to the lake (or the OB path.)

Solid Intermediate Course

5+    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees. They are a little short. All of the holes not in the woods have gravel extensions for a good run up.

18 DGA baskets that are just as grippy as when the course opened. Practice basket makes 19 baskets.

Lots of variety. Elevation, open, wooded, tall grass, a few blind shots.

Great signs. Lists distance, par, map, and arrow to next hole. Sign posts have hooks for disc bags.

Well groomed course. Paved paths, benches, thick grass, set in a very nice park.

2 Playgrounds for kids, lake and pond for fishing. (No holes have lake hazards with exception of hole 18. Errant throw on a windy day can get you into the lake).

Very peaceful and scenic course.
Cons: Course has been resigned at some point in the past 4 years so that walks from parking lot to the course is shorter. I enjoyed the original layout much better. Course flows less than the original layout. Backtracking from hole 7 to hole 8. Inconvenient walk from hole 15 to hole 16. Shortest path cuts through fairway of hole 13.

Danger factor: Some of the tees are close to fairways for different holes; hole 2 tee near 18 fairway, hole 4 tee near 17 fairway, hole 5 tee near hole 4 fairway. When course is busy make sure to be aware of surroundings.

Course can become very hot during holes 1-9 and 16-18 since there is not much shade. Bring liquids.

Course/park needs several trash cans. Had to carry empty drink for half of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is more of an intermediate course. Beginners will struggle and advanced players will still enjoy it.

I have never been disappointed with the drive to this course. It is a change of pace. For a central Indiana course, the elevation and wooded holes make this course worth it.

This course was very busy when I played it (3 PM on a Sunday). Avon / Brownsburg would benefit from 1-2 more courses. This is the best course on the West side of Indy.

When the trees grow in and if alternate tees were added, it would boost this course to a 4.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid

2-4    11/5/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner to intermediate difficulty course
Concrete tees
Nice signage
No water in play (good for beginners!)
Good balance of open and wooded holes
Course does not interfere much at all with walking path
Clean, safe park
Baskets are in good shape
Practice basket by first tee
Several good opportunities for an ace
Some semi-tough wooded holes
A few longer open holes to really heave it on
Cons: Walks between a couple tees are a bit long and without a map, could be difficult for a first-timer to navigate without a good map

No water in play (good for beginners, bad for folks wanting a bit more challenge and intimidation!)

Several holes on the front seem too short and easy, but this is also good for beginner to intermediate players
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first disc golf courses I started playing on when picking up the sport. With time, an intermediate player (I consider myself of beginner to intermediate ability currently) should be able to shoot pro par (3's on all holes) reasonably quickly. I hope too soon!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Novice - Intermediate Course

5+    9/16/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: gregmarine
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For novice and intermediate players, this is a good course. Changes in elevation are nice and several holes are in the woods. This course has concrete tees and tee posts with hooks on them for your bag. The park it is in is well taken care of.
Cons: The tees are a bit short for players who have a long run up. Holes 3 through 5 zig-zag in a way where players will often land on another hole's fairway. That can cause delays when the course is busy. There is a playground between the fairways of holes 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is fun. For me, there are a variety of shots I can choose from.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/31/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is about one third wooded with the front nine and last few holes mostly open. There are some really nice views of the lake and some fun elevation changes in the woods. There are concrete tees and tee signs with hooks to hang your bag. There are a number of much needed bridges that are in nice shape. Navigation is a breeze.

There is a wide variety of hole length here which is always nice to see. A few of the open holes use the few available features like wood lines, a strategically placed tree or elevation changes. The wooded holes are rather technical and take full advantage of the elevation changes including a few challenging putting greens. There's a nice sized valley that a couple of the holes in the woods cross.
Cons: There's a rather poor shot selection here. Not one single hole forces a turnover shot for RHBH players

The front 9 is a bit bland with only the dense woods on the left side of the fairway of hole 3 and the sidewalk ob on the left of hole 8 providing any real flavor. Because of all these open holes, bad shots are only punished on the 6 wooded holes.

Hole 11, 12 and 13 have so many trees in the way it's difficult to say those fairways are fair. In my opinion they rely too heavily on luck.

On hole 5, wide hyzer shots go right over the tee of hole 6.

After completing hole 15, you have to walk across hole 13's fairway to get to the next hole.

The tees on hole 3 and 11 are angled in the wrong directing not facing toward the fairway/basket.

There's a long walk from hole 7 to 8.

I was a bit concerned how close the basket on hole 8 is to the playground and picnic tables on the right. Please use caution if other people are utilizing this area.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place for new players to learn the game, but it's not much of a challenge for more advanced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ehh

1    8/4/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It services a side of Indy that has no courses.
Cons: The layout of this course seems like an after thought. Holes 1-6 and 17-18 are stuck on a postage size plot of ground. The fairways cross there is back tracking to get to the tee pads and some tee pads throw directly at other tee pads. It is a very poor use of space and layout. Get into the woods and it isn't much better. Fairways that are parallel and laid out too close to each other, back tracking, and NO sight lines in the woods. At least none that are longer than 60 feet before being blocked by a group of trees.
Other Thoughts: This course although fairly new needs a lot of tweeking to make it fun, playable and challenging. There are many trees that could be cut down to make some actual lanes and still make the wooded holes chanllenging. I would not drive out of my way to play this course but if you're in the area it would be okay to stop.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Keeps getting better

5+    6/30/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking,off Rockville Rd. or the north lot,that is more for locals. Kiosk with updated info. and a mailbox with color scorecards and pencils!..sweet! DGA baskets and tee signs. The baskets are all in great shape and catch well. The tee signs are basic and include all needed info. with "next tee" included. Concrete tees are level a have good grip. Benches,stairs & foot bridges have been added or upgraded, since the last time played. Thanks to the Boy Scouts for the Benches!..and the Stairs & Footbridges? The holes run from one extreme to the other. With Front 9 & #16,#18 holes being alot more open than the somewhat overly wooded holes. All skill levels will enjoy the course. The "Course Par" on the tee signs are generous enough for true beginners. Pros can make a few very long safari holes,on the front 9. Every player will enjoy wooded holes.
Cons: A little backtracking from #7 to #8 and crossing #13 fairway from #15 to get out of the woods to get to #16. It looks like most baskets can be moved? Why no alternate placements? The open & a few wooded holes are extreme. That beautiful Pond is not played. The concrete tees are short, which is most noticeable on the open holes. They are just fine for the shorter wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: A few of the open holes will benefit from an alternate placement,that should include a nice sized mound for a elavated putt. Just a handful of trees cut out of both fairways on #12 & #I3 would give an actual flight path. I truly believe a midget with a mini is the only player that can hit the current line. I played here the first year it opened. The original design had to be done by someone that didn't know, or very little about course design. The Redesign, two years ago now, was VERY Welcome! Thanks to the very active Hendricks County DG Club! If I remember correctly John Strifler spearheaded the redesign. Working with the Parks Dept. the Clubs "Wish List" was only half made true. The redesign was to move two holes out of the woods and make one the new #1. That WAS done for a better parking situation. The old layout had #1 in the back of the park and at the time there was no parking lot. Which meant EVERY park user parked in the neighborhood. To help the homeowners John did get the redesign. I believe it included moving the other hole out of the woods and incorporate its use around the smaller pond.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    10/10/2010   4/6/2011
Review By: bluto61
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid all around course. The front 9 and the last 3 holes are all out in the open, but there is some rough, and a few wooded areas that create varying shots. There is a nice range of hole length on the aforementioned 12 holes, but the real bread & butter of this course is holes 10-15. These 6 are all completely in the woods, and each has a fairly narrow gap through which your shot can travel. Accuracy is definitely rewarded, as none of the wooded holes is terribly long, but a couple of feet in either direction will land you off the beaten path. This was one of the first courses I played, and I would routinely play 10-15 over and over again to practice accuracy, and it has definitely helped my game. I moved out of the area, but I miss this course, and whenever I'm in town visiting family, I always pray for good weather so that I can drop by for a quick round.
Cons: Course design can be a little confusing your first couple of rounds. There weren't any maps, so some of the holes can be a bit difficult to find. Also, the holes that are NOT in the woods could use a few more obstacles. There are a couple holes that provide no challenge other than their length.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on several aspects of your game. Several wide open shots to work on your drive, and those woods will whip your accuracy into shape quickly. I have to disagree with what some of the other posters have suggested regarding luck in the woods. After you've been through those holes a couple of times, you should remember the lines, and then it's just a matter of hitting them. Definitely worth stopping by if you're ever in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice park and course is well maintained
-Nice score cards provided
Cons: -Not much variety in hole length
-Holes are either completely wide open or ridiculously wooded with nothing in between
-Finding the next tee box, basket in the woods can be confusing
-Wooded holes require more luck than skill
-Tee pads are way to short and don't allow for a full run up

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.