Avon, IN 
Avon Town Hall Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #14
3 / 150ft.   3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice try, Avon...

1    7/27/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - good lines, uphill and down, short and long, 6 woods holes.
Maintenance - Immaculate grounds.
Course map and scorecard. (course map didn't help that much, see cons)
Cons: Challenge curve - There are some very easy holes, and some very challenging holes. It doesn't really cater to beginner or advanced players, but instead hits both and masters neither.
The woods - There were no lines that I could see, with seemingly no attempt to cut any trees to make some. I couldn't even find the basket for 12, and I threw at 15 for 11.
Baskets could use better visibility, especially with numbers, even flags or a yellow band or something. I threw at the basket for 16 off the tee for 4. 4 is to the right behind a little evergreen, and 16 is right in plain sight. It could be easy to confuse some parts of 2 and 4 with 17 and 18.
18 had some kind of gravel path down the middle of it. Get ready to buff out some chunks.
Other Thoughts: VERY nice/expensive park (Rich town) but not a standout course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good course, poor layout

1    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: smitdavi
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location: The course was situated in a beautiful, well manicured park. One of the prettiest parks I've played in yet.

Difficulty: The course features a nice mixture of wood holes with fantastic design, and some open holes to really bomb it. I found the mixture of open and wooded to be quite nice. Not a really challenging course, shot an even par round.

Design: The best part of this course was the design of the wooded holes. The elevation changes were fantastic. They are a little short but, to me it was the most memorable part.
Cons: Tee Pads: Like previously stated, the tee pads are VERY short. Some tees it's easy to to start from behind the tees and make an easy transition to the tee pad to take a normal approach. Others are not because the tee pad is elevated. I did stumble off a couple pads twisting my ankle. Midway through the round we started throwing off to the side of the pad.

Layout: The day we were there there the course was quite busy. Because of the layout and the close proximity of the baskets to tee pads and fairways there was A LOT of waiting for players to clear certain areas. It created quite the backup. The holes seem right on top of each other.
Other Thoughts: My big complaint I didn't list in the cons because I feel like this could be avoided by not playing on a Saturday, mid day. When we got there around noon there must have been a doubles league going on which contributed to the back up. The problem was they were playing like 6 people to to a group (3 to 4 groups) and each player took 2 shots almost each throw. This slowed the pace considerably and made for a painstakingly slow round.

All that being said I would go back and play this course again. It was a fun course in a BEAUTIFUL park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/31/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is about one third wooded with the front nine and last few holes mostly open. There are some really nice views of the lake and some fun elevation changes in the woods. There are concrete tees and tee signs with hooks to hang your bag. There are a number of much needed bridges that are in nice shape. Navigation is a breeze.

There is a wide variety of hole length here which is always nice to see. A few of the open holes use the few available features like wood lines, a strategically placed tree or elevation changes. The wooded holes are rather technical and take full advantage of the elevation changes including a few challenging putting greens. There's a nice sized valley that a couple of the holes in the woods cross.
Cons: There's a rather poor shot selection here. Not one single hole forces a turnover shot for RHBH players

The front 9 is a bit bland with only the dense woods on the left side of the fairway of hole 3 and the sidewalk ob on the left of hole 8 providing any real flavor. Because of all these open holes, bad shots are only punished on the 6 wooded holes.

Hole 11, 12 and 13 have so many trees in the way it's difficult to say those fairways are fair. In my opinion they rely too heavily on luck.

On hole 5, wide hyzer shots go right over the tee of hole 6.

After completing hole 15, you have to walk across hole 13's fairway to get to the next hole.

The tees on hole 3 and 11 are angled in the wrong directing not facing toward the fairway/basket.

There's a long walk from hole 7 to 8.

I was a bit concerned how close the basket on hole 8 is to the playground and picnic tables on the right. Please use caution if other people are utilizing this area.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place for new players to learn the game, but it's not much of a challenge for more advanced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Avon Town Hall

1    3/10/2010   3/10/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nicely maintained park that has a nice mix of wide open shots, with both sub 200 feet and 400+ feet shots. It was definitely a nice break for me in between driving from central Illinois to Cincinnati. The tees, baskets, and fairways are nicely taken care of. Avon would be a good place to play if you lived within 5 or so miles or needed a break (as I did) from a road trip, but I don't know if it's worth traveling a long distance to visit. Also, it was very empty and we were the only people there. It was also very easy to follow the flow of the course which is always a HUGE plus in my eyes.
Cons: There's a little walk between the parking lot and the actual course. It's not the most exciting course I've ever played because a lot of the shots are bland and obvious, but it wasn't that bad.
Other Thoughts: Avon seemed like a nice town and, as I said, provided a nice break from highway driving. The course was clean and while the maps were a little off, provided the information needed to play the course. I had fun. :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a nice course

9/18/2007   3/4/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a nice open course set in a park, near a large subdivision, woods are fun and challenging, offers a variety of shots. wind can be a major factor.
Cons: some of the holes are very open, not really many obstacles on these holes, there is a nice lake and I wish they would have used it more in the layout. hard to find the first tee.
Other Thoughts: could be a lot better with a little redesigning, may not be an option though since there is a heavily foot-traffic'd walkway throuhgout the course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.