Avon, IN 
Avon Town Hall Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #14
4 / 176ft.   3 / 176ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Beautiful park. Great course!

1    9/3/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 283  Reviewed: 268  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A recent redesign and tweaking of this already good course makes it safer and more challenging, and a darn good round of disc golf. Sitting to the west and north side of an amazingly beautiful lake, the course boasts large, level, concrete tees generously bordered by crushed gravel for drainage and a smooth run-up, if needed. Where needed, they've painted some tees to throw from the paved hiking/jogging path, and that works, as well. Quality DGA baskets catch great, and the signage and flow is really nicely intuitive. Excellent stairs and bridges appear to be recent additions in the woods. With the fact that the rest of the park seems newly appointed with playground, bathrooms, shelters, etc, etc, and fantastic park maintenance, there's a lot to like here.

The disc golf play is fun, and presents a variety of challenges. Holes 1 through 8 and 16 through 18 play in relatively open space with tree line edges, tall field grasses and paths to clearly define OB for tournament play. But the wooded holes, entering on 9 and coming back out after 15 are a technical player's dream come true. At least three of these are intermediate length, really tight lines across ravines, which are beautiful to play, positively rewarding when the right line is hit, but punishing when you make a mistake (without punishing you with a lost disc).

Holes range from a wooded 138 footer that's really tricky to 'ace run', all the way up to a 519' field side opportunity for bigger arms to show off. Since the redesign, lines don't seem to favor either right or left handers. too much, BUT there are at least two holes that will really frustrate the lefties (hole 12 is a really tightly wooded, downhill right to left curve, and 17 is open to the right, but must hug a nasty tree line around to the left).

Overall, players from Recreational to Advanced levels will enjoy the variety and challenge here, and can expect to find a course in excellent condition the majority of the time. If you haven't played here before, expect to have some breezes affecting the first half of your play, bring your 'A' technical game for the next stretch, and then look forward to the golf course-like beautiful views of the lake when you stand on the 16th and 17th tees. Pretty!
Cons: There has been improvement in the safety of the design (around the north playground, for instance), but here are still some areas where you'll need to be cautious and patient, especially if they fill up a tourney and every hole is being played. They play 17 with a mando to the left of the light line of trees to keep throws away from the 4th green (but that won't help mistakes). You can sometimes get into places with poor visibility of the path (long and right on 7 has a thick row of pines that obscures folks on the gravel path to the right, for instance). And in the woods, tree kicks (which you WILL have) may put you onto adjacent fairways. In fact, to return across the ravine on 15, you'll be coming up the nice stairs that are in the 14th fairway, so play carefully!

There are a couple of times in the woods where two baskets will be in view, so first timers need to be aware of which one is their target. Finally, for those of us with mediocre twilight vision, bright paint or tape on the poles for the woods baskets would be awesome.
Other Thoughts: My buddy and I came here from Cincinnati on an almost perfect weather day on Labor Day weekend, and had a blast with this course. The gut check tight woods lines are a fun challenge, and the open field shots have enough variety in distance to keep it from being one of those courses where every shot feels like, "well, I'll be settling for a three...again". Nice to have some deuce opportunities for us more meager arms. And, well, the park is really beautiful. Kudos, guys! I took the liberty of adding a schematic map of the new course flow, but it sounds like they're preparing a professional one soon.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 283 courses and written 268 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, I started playing at 50 and am now 55. I don't throw far (300 footers feel like success), but am addicted to DG, and have played with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Beginner's Perspective

2-4    8/7/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: DasPutter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tees
Field and woods
Fun variety for a beginner like me. Some long distance drives, some tricky woods, and many mid range shots. The baskets and tees are in great shape.
Cons: Always packed when I happen to go. Not sure if I am just hitting it on league nights or something. Watch out for pedestrians on the walking trails and playground.
Other Thoughts: 95% of your shots will need to go to the left, if not straight. There are no true right shots. This doesn't bother me since I am a newbie anyway. I have played here 4 times now.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    10/10/2010   4/6/2011
Review By: bluto61
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid all around course. The front 9 and the last 3 holes are all out in the open, but there is some rough, and a few wooded areas that create varying shots. There is a nice range of hole length on the aforementioned 12 holes, but the real bread & butter of this course is holes 10-15. These 6 are all completely in the woods, and each has a fairly narrow gap through which your shot can travel. Accuracy is definitely rewarded, as none of the wooded holes is terribly long, but a couple of feet in either direction will land you off the beaten path. This was one of the first courses I played, and I would routinely play 10-15 over and over again to practice accuracy, and it has definitely helped my game. I moved out of the area, but I miss this course, and whenever I'm in town visiting family, I always pray for good weather so that I can drop by for a quick round.
Cons: Course design can be a little confusing your first couple of rounds. There weren't any maps, so some of the holes can be a bit difficult to find. Also, the holes that are NOT in the woods could use a few more obstacles. There are a couple holes that provide no challenge other than their length.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on several aspects of your game. Several wide open shots to work on your drive, and those woods will whip your accuracy into shape quickly. I have to disagree with what some of the other posters have suggested regarding luck in the woods. After you've been through those holes a couple of times, you should remember the lines, and then it's just a matter of hitting them. Definitely worth stopping by if you're ever in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Avon

5+    8/14/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course! Love longer holes. has good obsticles, well used real etate. The wooded holes are TOUGH! well groomed grass.
Cons: So far away from me! other than that, it is a little hard to navigate to some of the holes in the woods. Steep hills and the creek are tough to trek, and are especially slick if its damp at all.
Other Thoughts: Scrambles every Sunday!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Avon

2-4    5/15/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Dover202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well-kept
-Friendly neighborhood
-Great variety of shots
Cons: -Very difficult course for amateurs
-The front nine is kind of boring, but the back nine more than compensates
-It would be nice if the lake came into play more.
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course twice, but it's probably one of the most challenging courses in the Indianapolis area. Holes 1-9 really test your range. Holes 10-18 really test your precision. If you're not the type who can drive 250-300 feet on a regular basis, then you're going to have a really tough time making par on the front nine. Holes 1 and 4 are probably your two best chances to birdie.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love it.

2-4    10/20/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open beautiful park. Lots of long bombs, and nice variety of shots to take in the woods. Very clean, well taken care of park. Peaceful... gotta love that fresh air.
Cons: Parking is definately misfortunate, the woods can turn a good game bad, at least for me, other than that its all good.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.