Avon, IN 
Avon Town Hall Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #12
4 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Avon

5+    8/14/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course! Love longer holes. has good obsticles, well used real etate. The wooded holes are TOUGH! well groomed grass.
Cons: So far away from me! other than that, it is a little hard to navigate to some of the holes in the woods. Steep hills and the creek are tough to trek, and are especially slick if its damp at all.
Other Thoughts: Scrambles every Sunday!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice start...

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Approaching tee #1 is a beautiful, well-manicured lake with walking paths and benches. There is a pretty decent play area if you have little kids. Located in a very nice area with a wonderful popcorn shop only about two blocks away (Very comparable to Garrett's in Chicago if you know what I mean!). All concrete tee pads.
Cons: Only one set of tee's; and these were perhaps 7 feet long and 4 feet wide. Several of the tee's had dropoff's in front of them from erosion or usage; so be careful or you're liable to strain something by going off the front since they're pretty short. The non-woodsy holes are all birdieable; although the forest holes will most likely add strokes to your round. Really wish there would have been a restroom and water fountain nearby...
Other Thoughts: If you prefer pitch and put courses that are clean, this is for you. If you prefer more technical courses, then the woodsy holes will mostly fulfill your need for that. Worth playing if you are in the neighborhood near the Indy Motor Speedway as it's just a few miles away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Avon Town Hall

1    3/10/2010   3/10/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 110  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nicely maintained park that has a nice mix of wide open shots, with both sub 200 feet and 400+ feet shots. It was definitely a nice break for me in between driving from central Illinois to Cincinnati. The tees, baskets, and fairways are nicely taken care of. Avon would be a good place to play if you lived within 5 or so miles or needed a break (as I did) from a road trip, but I don't know if it's worth traveling a long distance to visit. Also, it was very empty and we were the only people there. It was also very easy to follow the flow of the course which is always a HUGE plus in my eyes.
Cons: There's a little walk between the parking lot and the actual course. It's not the most exciting course I've ever played because a lot of the shots are bland and obvious, but it wasn't that bad.
Other Thoughts: Avon seemed like a nice town and, as I said, provided a nice break from highway driving. The course was clean and while the maps were a little off, provided the information needed to play the course. I had fun. :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Insane Woods

1    11/20/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: corneldm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained, nice area, a few challenging holes that don't require luck
Cons: Small concrete tees. The front 9 is pretty open and not too interesting once the leaves have dropped. Several holes in the back 9 involve throwing a disc into a scattering of trees in the middle of the woods and praying for safe passage - I would not have risked these holes in any other season.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't make a long trip (again) for this course, but it still offers a pretty fun time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    9/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: pretty fun course. wide open front nine, birdies oppurtunities nearly every hole. the back nine is a different story! its basically survival. its in the woods. fun though. another reveiwer called it "ridiculous"...well said. holes 16 and 17 are pretty sweet.

the park itself is super nice. id go there just to walk around with my dog.
Cons: trying to turn left out of the park - geez!
also, someone mentioned the short tees - i second that.
Other Thoughts: possible aces: 2, 6, 18

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Indy Westside Course

5+    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Belisarius
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine are wide open, and provide a good test of your long range game; if you have a reasonably long drive, birdie opportunities abound. This is also a good opportunity to experiment with different types of throws, since most of the front 9 are wide open with little punishment for mistakes, as long as they aren't catastrophic. If you are a beginner and have a shorter drive ( >250ft), some of the holes will be tough to par.
The back nine, being heavily wooded, require more precision, as well as a bit of luck, to escape under par. In the woods, you can put away your big driver, you wont be needing it here.
Throughout the course, bad putts are generally not punished very severely; this is good in that you can go for those longer putts, but also bad in that the risk-reward element is largely lacking. The tee pads and baskets are all in good shape.
The greatest asset of this course is its variety; the holes vary from long launches to tiny technicals. The one exception to this is the lack of right-bending holes, making this course favor the RHBH style heavily on most holes.
Cons: The front nine is pretty uneventful; there isn't really aren't any memorable challenges, and it is lacking in personality. As alluded to by some other reviews, if the lake on the park grounds, as well as some of the elevation changes, could be incorporated somehow into the course, the experience would be enriched.
The back nine is certainly more difficult; and a couple of the holes border on ridiculous with the amount of luck involved (the shot down one side of the creek and back up the other side). It can also be buggy back in the woods, but that is to be expected.
One of my only gripes from a maintenance perspective is the lack of trash cans. The park is kept clean, and litter is usually not a problem thanks to responsible players, but a few trash cans would be appreciated.
Other Thoughts: The course is situated in a well-maintained town park in a quiet neighborhood. There are a few blind tees, as well as pedestrian traffic, so be alert. Be sure to park at the town hall off US-36 for easy access. I live 10 minutes away, so I have played this course countless times. It matches up well against some of the other area courses, and is very beginner-friendly (it is where i learned to play disc golf). Overall, if you find yourself in the Westside Indy area, this course is worth the trip.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Course Reset on June 30

5+    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: JStrifler
Played: 283  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New layout is a bit shorter than original, incorporates more variety of long vs. short holes; Greater chance to start well and end well - one less hole in the woods!
Cons: You have a short walk from hole #7 to 8, as from 15 in the woods, to 16 in the open; the modified flow, Play it once and you've got it; Watch for walkers on hole #7 and #8; watch for other golfers on #12 and #15
Other Thoughts: Please park at Avon Town Hall, off of US 36. First tee on west side of lake, just south of barn.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Avon

2-4    5/15/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Dover202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well-kept
-Friendly neighborhood
-Great variety of shots
Cons: -Very difficult course for amateurs
-The front nine is kind of boring, but the back nine more than compensates
-It would be nice if the lake came into play more.
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course twice, but it's probably one of the most challenging courses in the Indianapolis area. Holes 1-9 really test your range. Holes 10-18 really test your precision. If you're not the type who can drive 250-300 feet on a regular basis, then you're going to have a really tough time making par on the front nine. Holes 1 and 4 are probably your two best chances to birdie.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course with some variety

1    6/30/2008   4/30/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 798  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts out wide open with very little elevation and just a few stands of trees and a little bit of water in play. This part of the course gives you the chance to warm up your arm without worrying too much about accuracy, and provides some opportunities to rip a few.

The back half of the course plays in fairly dense woods, and are mostly shorter technical holes. These holes are great for working on accuracy and hitting specific lines, and there are a couple holes with some elevation.

The course is a nice balance of different types of holes, and it was nice to be able to play both open and wooded shots in the same park. The concrete tees were in good shape, and the course signage was easy to read and follow, with next tee markers. I thought the course did a decent job making use of the space available to lay out a interesting course. This course is playable for beginners, but offers a few challenges for more experienced players.
Cons: It was a little difficult to find where the course started in the park. I parked at the Town Hall parking lot, and this ended up being quite a walk through the park to find the first hole. Some signs at either end of the park on where to begin would really help here.

Though the tee signs were nice, they were often placed so that they were in your field of view as you drive off the tee pad. I found this distracting, and wish they were behind the tee pad rather than next to the front corner.
Other Thoughts: Overall an enjoyable course with a lot to offer. This course has much more variety to the holes than any other Indianapolis area courses, and this helped make the round more interesting. There were walking paths throughout the beginning of the course, and I had no issues but could see pedestrians being a problem on days when the park was busier.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -clean, very well maintained park
-very safe, you park behind the police post
-plenty of space to air out long distance bombs, big arms a plus on some holes
-some technical woods holes
-active disc golf club
-new course design makes it flow better

Cons: -very short teepads. with some decent footwork you should be able to get a your full amount of steps, in although there are a couple of holes where that isn't possible
-this course does have a walking trail, not really a con in the realities of a city park, but sometimes walkers can get in your way, just give them a minute
-the water and some of the hills could have been used more, but see below
Other Thoughts: I just updated this whole review, based on the last five rounds I've played in Avon, its a much better course than it was at this time last year. I'm also in the Hendricks County Disc Golf club and from what I know, the Avon Parks Department will not allow the club to even raise money to have longer pads installed. I know it took me a little while to get used to the short pads, but with a little patience you should be able to cope.

The park itself is as clean and taken care of as they come, and again, the new design for the course makes it play much better. Park behind the police station off of US 36 (Rockville Road) and follow the path towards the barn. The first pad is right there (and this is a tough pad) and the basket is next to the barn 300 feet away uphill, plays a little longer than 300.

www.hcdgc.com

***Brownsburg which is directly north of Avon should have a new course installed sometime in 2010 as well, so look out for that.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.