Avon, IN 
Avon Town Hall Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #3
5 / 431ft.   3 / 431ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course

5+    10/10/2010   4/6/2011
Review By: bluto61
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid all around course. The front 9 and the last 3 holes are all out in the open, but there is some rough, and a few wooded areas that create varying shots. There is a nice range of hole length on the aforementioned 12 holes, but the real bread & butter of this course is holes 10-15. These 6 are all completely in the woods, and each has a fairly narrow gap through which your shot can travel. Accuracy is definitely rewarded, as none of the wooded holes is terribly long, but a couple of feet in either direction will land you off the beaten path. This was one of the first courses I played, and I would routinely play 10-15 over and over again to practice accuracy, and it has definitely helped my game. I moved out of the area, but I miss this course, and whenever I'm in town visiting family, I always pray for good weather so that I can drop by for a quick round.
Cons: Course design can be a little confusing your first couple of rounds. There weren't any maps, so some of the holes can be a bit difficult to find. Also, the holes that are NOT in the woods could use a few more obstacles. There are a couple holes that provide no challenge other than their length.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on several aspects of your game. Several wide open shots to work on your drive, and those woods will whip your accuracy into shape quickly. I have to disagree with what some of the other posters have suggested regarding luck in the woods. After you've been through those holes a couple of times, you should remember the lines, and then it's just a matter of hitting them. Definitely worth stopping by if you're ever in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice park and course is well maintained
-Nice score cards provided
Cons: -Not much variety in hole length
-Holes are either completely wide open or ridiculously wooded with nothing in between
-Finding the next tee box, basket in the woods can be confusing
-Wooded holes require more luck than skill
-Tee pads are way to short and don't allow for a full run up

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Avon

5+    8/14/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course! Love longer holes. has good obsticles, well used real etate. The wooded holes are TOUGH! well groomed grass.
Cons: So far away from me! other than that, it is a little hard to navigate to some of the holes in the woods. Steep hills and the creek are tough to trek, and are especially slick if its damp at all.
Other Thoughts: Scrambles every Sunday!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice start...

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Approaching tee #1 is a beautiful, well-manicured lake with walking paths and benches. There is a pretty decent play area if you have little kids. Located in a very nice area with a wonderful popcorn shop only about two blocks away (Very comparable to Garrett's in Chicago if you know what I mean!). All concrete tee pads.
Cons: Only one set of tee's; and these were perhaps 7 feet long and 4 feet wide. Several of the tee's had dropoff's in front of them from erosion or usage; so be careful or you're liable to strain something by going off the front since they're pretty short. The non-woodsy holes are all birdieable; although the forest holes will most likely add strokes to your round. Really wish there would have been a restroom and water fountain nearby...
Other Thoughts: If you prefer pitch and put courses that are clean, this is for you. If you prefer more technical courses, then the woodsy holes will mostly fulfill your need for that. Worth playing if you are in the neighborhood near the Indy Motor Speedway as it's just a few miles away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Avon Town Hall

1    3/10/2010   3/10/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nicely maintained park that has a nice mix of wide open shots, with both sub 200 feet and 400+ feet shots. It was definitely a nice break for me in between driving from central Illinois to Cincinnati. The tees, baskets, and fairways are nicely taken care of. Avon would be a good place to play if you lived within 5 or so miles or needed a break (as I did) from a road trip, but I don't know if it's worth traveling a long distance to visit. Also, it was very empty and we were the only people there. It was also very easy to follow the flow of the course which is always a HUGE plus in my eyes.
Cons: There's a little walk between the parking lot and the actual course. It's not the most exciting course I've ever played because a lot of the shots are bland and obvious, but it wasn't that bad.
Other Thoughts: Avon seemed like a nice town and, as I said, provided a nice break from highway driving. The course was clean and while the maps were a little off, provided the information needed to play the course. I had fun. :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Insane Woods

1    11/20/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: corneldm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained, nice area, a few challenging holes that don't require luck
Cons: Small concrete tees. The front 9 is pretty open and not too interesting once the leaves have dropped. Several holes in the back 9 involve throwing a disc into a scattering of trees in the middle of the woods and praying for safe passage - I would not have risked these holes in any other season.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't make a long trip (again) for this course, but it still offers a pretty fun time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    9/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: pretty fun course. wide open front nine, birdies oppurtunities nearly every hole. the back nine is a different story! its basically survival. its in the woods. fun though. another reveiwer called it "ridiculous"...well said. holes 16 and 17 are pretty sweet.

the park itself is super nice. id go there just to walk around with my dog.
Cons: trying to turn left out of the park - geez!
also, someone mentioned the short tees - i second that.
Other Thoughts: possible aces: 2, 6, 18

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Indy Westside Course

5+    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Belisarius
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine are wide open, and provide a good test of your long range game; if you have a reasonably long drive, birdie opportunities abound. This is also a good opportunity to experiment with different types of throws, since most of the front 9 are wide open with little punishment for mistakes, as long as they aren't catastrophic. If you are a beginner and have a shorter drive ( >250ft), some of the holes will be tough to par.
The back nine, being heavily wooded, require more precision, as well as a bit of luck, to escape under par. In the woods, you can put away your big driver, you wont be needing it here.
Throughout the course, bad putts are generally not punished very severely; this is good in that you can go for those longer putts, but also bad in that the risk-reward element is largely lacking. The tee pads and baskets are all in good shape.
The greatest asset of this course is its variety; the holes vary from long launches to tiny technicals. The one exception to this is the lack of right-bending holes, making this course favor the RHBH style heavily on most holes.
Cons: The front nine is pretty uneventful; there isn't really aren't any memorable challenges, and it is lacking in personality. As alluded to by some other reviews, if the lake on the park grounds, as well as some of the elevation changes, could be incorporated somehow into the course, the experience would be enriched.
The back nine is certainly more difficult; and a couple of the holes border on ridiculous with the amount of luck involved (the shot down one side of the creek and back up the other side). It can also be buggy back in the woods, but that is to be expected.
One of my only gripes from a maintenance perspective is the lack of trash cans. The park is kept clean, and litter is usually not a problem thanks to responsible players, but a few trash cans would be appreciated.
Other Thoughts: The course is situated in a well-maintained town park in a quiet neighborhood. There are a few blind tees, as well as pedestrian traffic, so be alert. Be sure to park at the town hall off US-36 for easy access. I live 10 minutes away, so I have played this course countless times. It matches up well against some of the other area courses, and is very beginner-friendly (it is where i learned to play disc golf). Overall, if you find yourself in the Westside Indy area, this course is worth the trip.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Course Reset on June 30

5+    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: JStrifler
Played: 283  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New layout is a bit shorter than original, incorporates more variety of long vs. short holes; Greater chance to start well and end well - one less hole in the woods!
Cons: You have a short walk from hole #7 to 8, as from 15 in the woods, to 16 in the open; the modified flow, Play it once and you've got it; Watch for walkers on hole #7 and #8; watch for other golfers on #12 and #15
Other Thoughts: Please park at Avon Town Hall, off of US 36. First tee on west side of lake, just south of barn.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Avon

2-4    5/15/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Dover202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well-kept
-Friendly neighborhood
-Great variety of shots
Cons: -Very difficult course for amateurs
-The front nine is kind of boring, but the back nine more than compensates
-It would be nice if the lake came into play more.
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course twice, but it's probably one of the most challenging courses in the Indianapolis area. Holes 1-9 really test your range. Holes 10-18 really test your precision. If you're not the type who can drive 250-300 feet on a regular basis, then you're going to have a really tough time making par on the front nine. Holes 1 and 4 are probably your two best chances to birdie.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.