Avon, IN 
Avon Town Hall Share
Uploaded By: JStrifler Hole #17 (Taken 5/2016)
5 / 417ft.   3 / 417ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    11/5/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 65  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner to intermediate difficulty course
Concrete tees
Nice signage
No water in play (good for beginners!)
Good balance of open and wooded holes
Course does not interfere much at all with walking path
Clean, safe park
Baskets are in good shape
Practice basket by first tee
Several good opportunities for an ace
Some semi-tough wooded holes
A few longer open holes to really heave it on
Cons: Walks between a couple tees are a bit long and without a map, could be difficult for a first-timer to navigate without a good map

No water in play (good for beginners, bad for folks wanting a bit more challenge and intimidation!)

Several holes on the front seem too short and easy, but this is also good for beginner to intermediate players
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first disc golf courses I started playing on when picking up the sport. With time, an intermediate player (I consider myself of beginner to intermediate ability currently) should be able to shoot pro par (3's on all holes) reasonably quickly. I hope too soon!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Novice - Intermediate Course

5+    9/16/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: gregmarine
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For novice and intermediate players, this is a good course. Changes in elevation are nice and several holes are in the woods. This course has concrete tees and tee posts with hooks on them for your bag. The park it is in is well taken care of.
Cons: The tees are a bit short for players who have a long run up. Holes 3 through 5 zig-zag in a way where players will often land on another hole's fairway. That can cause delays when the course is busy. There is a playground between the fairways of holes 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is fun. For me, there are a variety of shots I can choose from.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/31/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 255  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is about one third wooded with the front nine and last few holes mostly open. There are some really nice views of the lake and some fun elevation changes in the woods. There are concrete tees and tee signs with hooks to hang your bag. There are a number of much needed bridges that are in nice shape. Navigation is a breeze.

There is a wide variety of hole length here which is always nice to see. A few of the open holes use the few available features like wood lines, a strategically placed tree or elevation changes. The wooded holes are rather technical and take full advantage of the elevation changes including a few challenging putting greens. There's a nice sized valley that a couple of the holes in the woods cross.
Cons: There's a rather poor shot selection here. Not one single hole forces a turnover shot for RHBH players

The front 9 is a bit bland with only the dense woods on the left side of the fairway of hole 3 and the sidewalk ob on the left of hole 8 providing any real flavor. Because of all these open holes, bad shots are only punished on the 6 wooded holes.

Hole 11, 12 and 13 have so many trees in the way it's difficult to say those fairways are fair. In my opinion they rely too heavily on luck.

On hole 5, wide hyzer shots go right over the tee of hole 6.

After completing hole 15, you have to walk across hole 13's fairway to get to the next hole.

The tees on hole 3 and 11 are angled in the wrong directing not facing toward the fairway/basket.

There's a long walk from hole 7 to 8.

I was a bit concerned how close the basket on hole 8 is to the playground and picnic tables on the right. Please use caution if other people are utilizing this area.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place for new players to learn the game, but it's not much of a challenge for more advanced players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    8/4/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 19.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It services a side of Indy that has no courses.
Cons: The layout of this course seems like an after thought. Holes 1-6 and 17-18 are stuck on a postage size plot of ground. The fairways cross there is back tracking to get to the tee pads and some tee pads throw directly at other tee pads. It is a very poor use of space and layout. Get into the woods and it isn't much better. Fairways that are parallel and laid out too close to each other, back tracking, and NO sight lines in the woods. At least none that are longer than 60 feet before being blocked by a group of trees.
Other Thoughts: This course although fairly new needs a lot of tweeking to make it fun, playable and challenging. There are many trees that could be cut down to make some actual lanes and still make the wooded holes chanllenging. I would not drive out of my way to play this course but if you're in the area it would be okay to stop.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Keeps getting better

5+    6/30/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 203  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 22.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking,off Rockville Rd. or the north lot,that is more for locals. Kiosk with updated info. and a mailbox with color scorecards and pencils!..sweet! DGA baskets and tee signs. The baskets are all in great shape and catch well. The tee signs are basic and include all needed info. with "next tee" included. Concrete tees are level a have good grip. Benches,stairs & foot bridges have been added or upgraded, since the last time played. Thanks to the Boy Scouts for the Benches!..and the Stairs & Footbridges? The holes run from one extreme to the other. With Front 9 & #16,#18 holes being alot more open than the somewhat overly wooded holes. All skill levels will enjoy the course. The "Course Par" on the tee signs are generous enough for true beginners. Pros can make a few very long safari holes,on the front 9. Every player will enjoy wooded holes.
Cons: A little backtracking from #7 to #8 and crossing #13 fairway from #15 to get out of the woods to get to #16. It looks like most baskets can be moved? Why no alternate placements? The open & a few wooded holes are extreme. That beautiful Pond is not played. The concrete tees are short, which is most noticeable on the open holes. They are just fine for the shorter wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: A few of the open holes will benefit from an alternate placement,that should include a nice sized mound for a elavated putt. Just a handful of trees cut out of both fairways on #12 & #I3 would give an actual flight path. I truly believe a midget with a mini is the only player that can hit the current line. I played here the first year it opened. The original design had to be done by someone that didn't know, or very little about course design. The Redesign, two years ago now, was VERY Welcome! Thanks to the very active Hendricks County DG Club! If I remember correctly John Strifler spearheaded the redesign. Working with the Parks Dept. the Clubs "Wish List" was only half made true. The redesign was to move two holes out of the woods and make one the new #1. That WAS done for a better parking situation. The old layout had #1 in the back of the park and at the time there was no parking lot. Which meant EVERY park user parked in the neighborhood. To help the homeowners John did get the redesign. I believe it included moving the other hole out of the woods and incorporate its use around the smaller pond.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    10/10/2010   4/6/2011
Review By: bluto61
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid all around course. The front 9 and the last 3 holes are all out in the open, but there is some rough, and a few wooded areas that create varying shots. There is a nice range of hole length on the aforementioned 12 holes, but the real bread & butter of this course is holes 10-15. These 6 are all completely in the woods, and each has a fairly narrow gap through which your shot can travel. Accuracy is definitely rewarded, as none of the wooded holes is terribly long, but a couple of feet in either direction will land you off the beaten path. This was one of the first courses I played, and I would routinely play 10-15 over and over again to practice accuracy, and it has definitely helped my game. I moved out of the area, but I miss this course, and whenever I'm in town visiting family, I always pray for good weather so that I can drop by for a quick round.
Cons: Course design can be a little confusing your first couple of rounds. There weren't any maps, so some of the holes can be a bit difficult to find. Also, the holes that are NOT in the woods could use a few more obstacles. There are a couple holes that provide no challenge other than their length.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on several aspects of your game. Several wide open shots to work on your drive, and those woods will whip your accuracy into shape quickly. I have to disagree with what some of the other posters have suggested regarding luck in the woods. After you've been through those holes a couple of times, you should remember the lines, and then it's just a matter of hitting them. Definitely worth stopping by if you're ever in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice park and course is well maintained
-Nice score cards provided
Cons: -Not much variety in hole length
-Holes are either completely wide open or ridiculously wooded with nothing in between
-Finding the next tee box, basket in the woods can be confusing
-Wooded holes require more luck than skill
-Tee pads are way to short and don't allow for a full run up

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/14/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course! Love longer holes. has good obsticles, well used real etate. The wooded holes are TOUGH! well groomed grass.
Cons: So far away from me! other than that, it is a little hard to navigate to some of the holes in the woods. Steep hills and the creek are tough to trek, and are especially slick if its damp at all.
Other Thoughts: Scrambles every Sunday!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice start...

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Approaching tee #1 is a beautiful, well-manicured lake with walking paths and benches. There is a pretty decent play area if you have little kids. Located in a very nice area with a wonderful popcorn shop only about two blocks away (Very comparable to Garrett's in Chicago if you know what I mean!). All concrete tee pads.
Cons: Only one set of tee's; and these were perhaps 7 feet long and 4 feet wide. Several of the tee's had dropoff's in front of them from erosion or usage; so be careful or you're liable to strain something by going off the front since they're pretty short. The non-woodsy holes are all birdieable; although the forest holes will most likely add strokes to your round. Really wish there would have been a restroom and water fountain nearby...
Other Thoughts: If you prefer pitch and put courses that are clean, this is for you. If you prefer more technical courses, then the woodsy holes will mostly fulfill your need for that. Worth playing if you are in the neighborhood near the Indy Motor Speedway as it's just a few miles away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Avon Town Hall

1    3/10/2010   3/10/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 133  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nicely maintained park that has a nice mix of wide open shots, with both sub 200 feet and 400+ feet shots. It was definitely a nice break for me in between driving from central Illinois to Cincinnati. The tees, baskets, and fairways are nicely taken care of. Avon would be a good place to play if you lived within 5 or so miles or needed a break (as I did) from a road trip, but I don't know if it's worth traveling a long distance to visit. Also, it was very empty and we were the only people there. It was also very easy to follow the flow of the course which is always a HUGE plus in my eyes.
Cons: There's a little walk between the parking lot and the actual course. It's not the most exciting course I've ever played because a lot of the shots are bland and obvious, but it wasn't that bad.
Other Thoughts: Avon seemed like a nice town and, as I said, provided a nice break from highway driving. The course was clean and while the maps were a little off, provided the information needed to play the course. I had fun. :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.