Avon, IN 
Avon Town Hall Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #1
4 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Nice course with some variety

1    6/30/2008   4/30/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts out wide open with very little elevation and just a few stands of trees and a little bit of water in play. This part of the course gives you the chance to warm up your arm without worrying too much about accuracy, and provides some opportunities to rip a few.

The back half of the course plays in fairly dense woods, and are mostly shorter technical holes. These holes are great for working on accuracy and hitting specific lines, and there are a couple holes with some elevation.

The course is a nice balance of different types of holes, and it was nice to be able to play both open and wooded shots in the same park. The concrete tees were in good shape, and the course signage was easy to read and follow, with next tee markers. I thought the course did a decent job making use of the space available to lay out a interesting course. This course is playable for beginners, but offers a few challenges for more experienced players.
Cons: It was a little difficult to find where the course started in the park. I parked at the Town Hall parking lot, and this ended up being quite a walk through the park to find the first hole. Some signs at either end of the park on where to begin would really help here.

Though the tee signs were nice, they were often placed so that they were in your field of view as you drive off the tee pad. I found this distracting, and wish they were behind the tee pad rather than next to the front corner.
Other Thoughts: Overall an enjoyable course with a lot to offer. This course has much more variety to the holes than any other Indianapolis area courses, and this helped make the round more interesting. There were walking paths throughout the beginning of the course, and I had no issues but could see pedestrians being a problem on days when the park was busier.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -clean, very well maintained park
-very safe, you park behind the police post
-plenty of space to air out long distance bombs, big arms a plus on some holes
-some technical woods holes
-active disc golf club
-new course design makes it flow better

Cons: -very short teepads. with some decent footwork you should be able to get a your full amount of steps, in although there are a couple of holes where that isn't possible
-this course does have a walking trail, not really a con in the realities of a city park, but sometimes walkers can get in your way, just give them a minute
-the water and some of the hills could have been used more, but see below
Other Thoughts: I just updated this whole review, based on the last five rounds I've played in Avon, its a much better course than it was at this time last year. I'm also in the Hendricks County Disc Golf club and from what I know, the Avon Parks Department will not allow the club to even raise money to have longer pads installed. I know it took me a little while to get used to the short pads, but with a little patience you should be able to cope.

The park itself is as clean and taken care of as they come, and again, the new design for the course makes it play much better. Park behind the police station off of US 36 (Rockville Road) and follow the path towards the barn. The first pad is right there (and this is a tough pad) and the basket is next to the barn 300 feet away uphill, plays a little longer than 300.

www.hcdgc.com

***Brownsburg which is directly north of Avon should have a new course installed sometime in 2010 as well, so look out for that.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Two sets of 9

1    3/23/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 193  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout around what appears to be a great facility. The grounds appear to be well maintained and there was not much trash around. The flow of this course actually provides discers with some options to play each nine individually or as eighteen. It's always nice to have options.
Cons: The water and elevation changes should have been factored in, in my opinion. The front nine are basically long and open and could have been made more interesting with the inclusion of the natural surroundings. It's a multi-use facility so others people can come into play and some seem complete oblivious to the discs flying around them. So, just be careful when playing on a weekend or during a busy week night.
Other Thoughts: The signage is pretty good and fairly easy to follow. The inclusion of the next tee indicator on most of the signs is a big help for those unfamiliar with the couse. A sign telling those who park in the town hall parking lot where the course starts would be a large help as well but all in all, nothing was too hard to find.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9

1    11/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I only had time for 9, so only a 1/2 review, but you've got pictures now! This course is beautiful and well-maintained. The front 9 was all out in the open, but they made good use of random groups of trees with a nice dogleg on #3. Tall grasses seem to be a common feature in Indy. No big deal this time of year, but I can see how it would add difficulty to errant throws in the summer. I really wanted to get into the woods on the back 9, but ran out of time. I can't wait to go back and play the whole course. I definitely recommend playing this course if you are in the Indianapolis area.
Cons: I agree that it is too bad the lake doesn't come into play and some of the front 9 holes are kinda short - this coming from the guy that missed two 12' birdie putts. aaargh.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it.

2-4    10/20/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open beautiful park. Lots of long bombs, and nice variety of shots to take in the woods. Very clean, well taken care of park. Peaceful... gotta love that fresh air.
Cons: Parking is definately misfortunate, the woods can turn a good game bad, at least for me, other than that its all good.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could be Better

5+    8/9/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: Recon0321
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of open room for those "grip it and rip it" folks out there.
Nice well kept park, with nice pathways and well marked holes.
Mix of open field holes (front 9) and wooded holes(back 9).
Cons: No good place to park, nearest parking is good hike away from the first tee unless you park in the neighborhood to the north of the park.
Not much imagination in the design of the front nine. The back nine has a few holes that need to some work to make them truly playable.
I too wish they would have included the lake somehow in the layout. There are no shelter areas, drinking water access or facilities near the course so keep this in mind.
Other Thoughts: This could be one of the better courses in Indiana with a rework of the layout by using the elevation available as well as the lake in the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice layout

6/21/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nicely kept park, with some long wide open shots and some tight wooded shots. Good variety from front 9 to back 9.
Cons: Some holes are confusing, and one of the wood shots has almost no opening for a decent shot. Some high grass makes discs hard to find. Minimal elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Pretty fun course, a little too open on some holes, but great for driving practice. Woods shots vary and can be quite difficult. Overall, a fun course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a nice course

9/18/2007   3/4/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a nice open course set in a park, near a large subdivision, woods are fun and challenging, offers a variety of shots. wind can be a major factor.
Cons: some of the holes are very open, not really many obstacles on these holes, there is a nice lake and I wish they would have used it more in the layout. hard to find the first tee.
Other Thoughts: could be a lot better with a little redesigning, may not be an option though since there is a heavily foot-traffic'd walkway throuhgout the course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.