Long Beach, CA 
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers  



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
flat & shady

2-4    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pretty much in the shade the whole time.
-Mix of tight and distance play.
-Manicured grass, little to no dust to deal with.
-Decent facilities.
-Very little pedestrian traffic for a course built in a public park.
Cons: -Weird locals. Saw some homeless people playing with ultimate discs. Same day saw the lawn chair group sitting around watching you play while they drink and smoke.
- No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: The "pro shop" has a few dusty Innova discs. Discovering the World up by La Mirada on the other hand has every disc you could hope to find. More importantly the course is so much better. El Dorado is like a poor man's La Mirada. If you're paying a visit to LA go there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Historic El Dorado

1    12/8/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy navigation, front 9 more or less run along the road, easy to find your way to the next tee pad (maps in the pro shop as well)
-all tee boxes are concrete
-friendly locals (at least the ones I met)
-beautiful park, alot of trees and plenty of shade
-good baskets: front 9 are dga mach 2s, back nine are innova discatchers
-I was told that Philo Brathwaite plays here often
Cons: -most of the holes felt the same
-mostly flat, little to no elevation changes
-no basket numbers on the basket
-was told by the friendly locals that there are drunken idiots on the course as well
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great experience for my first time at El Dorado. Holes are a decent length with a couple of birdie opportunities. The park is beautiful and the locals that I met up with were super friendly (Thanks for showing me around Les). Navigation is easy, however what makes it hard is that the baskets dont have numbers (due to vandalism). One major con to me is that I felt I was throwing more or less the same shot on most holes. Sure there are some different tree arrangements that alter the shot slightly, but overall I felt that the holes didn't have as much variety. There are mandatories, but they're so generous they mind as well not be there. Despite this opinion, I really liked it here. If you throw big hyzer bombs...you won't be able to do that here and may find this course more challenging. Straight shots are definitely rewarded here. It seems like a great place to bring a beginner, but as an intermediate or even advanced player you can still enjoy yourself out here. You definitely have the opportunity to air out your disc, especially on hole 12 (500+ ft, but theres a 700+ ft pin position on this hole as well). Multiple pin positions, BUT they're all located pretty close to each other...seems like it may alter the hole sometimes and alot of times it wouldn't. I am just making this opinion based on the signage, but I've only played this course once so please keep that in mind. Overall I would definitely recommend checking out this course if in the area. btw I'm comparing this course to my home courses of Morley Field and Kit Carson Park, which I feel offer more variety of shots, more difficulty, and more elevation changes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Updated review of a good course

5+    12/7/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Mabuku1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs. Baskets. Good park upkeep. Pro shop has only innova discs, which is an obvious bias, but whatever. Course layout was fun. Lots of tunnel and alley holes. Some mandatories are huge arrows nailed ten feet high on the trees. Free course maps at the proshop, where the help was friendly.
Cons: There were groups of locals hanging out all over the course getting drunk on lawn chairs and just being in the way. it gave the imagery of skid row homeless community.
Other Thoughts: Locals are still a mix of nice and rude. And still have potheads and drunks and what appears to be homeless people that play disc golf sitting on lawn chairs at tee 7 getting hight and drunk.

Course is still fun to play if you can keep a level head after hitting tree after tree in the tunnel baskets. I am going to visit more often.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Passing through LA

1    7/13/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Rugball
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Variety of holes. More tightly wooded on the front 9. Some longer holes to bust a good drive on. Fairly easy to navigate, only recall one hole where you needed to walk a ways to the next tee and there were no signs. Appears that they move the holes periodically but there was bare ground around the hole locations (which turned muddy).
Cons: It was unexpectedly wet due to freak rain storm (in July?). This made the concrete tees muddy and slippery. Almost biffed it a couple of times. There are tee signs with distances, but they usually had only A-B-C distances but nothing to tell you which hole was in use. Had to guess at most of them based on drawings of the trees relative to the holes. Looked like a lot of transients hang out. Appeared to be a drug deal taking place in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: You will always have clueless people in a public park who will wander among the holes. Overall it was fine for a Fri afternoon. I could imagine the course gets busy on the weekend since there seemed to be at least one or more players at every hole on a weekday. No elevation changes to speak of as the park is pretty flat, but the mature trees make it fairly challenging throughout. Locals were cool and offered to let me play through.

 

2-4    10/5/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice map of course in the tennis shop, good mix of hole distances, some really long, easy parking well maintained
Cons: alot of people playing in large groups, really really close to the street on a few holes, some trees thank make shots a little harder then needed, layout confusing even with map,
Other Thoughts: only played once, wont go out of my way to go back but if in the area with my disc would def stop by and play some holes, most players seem to be beginers

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eldo

1    8/29/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - El Dorado's park-style course plays alongside other park amenities such as tennis courts. The course is mostly grassy with mature trees throughout providing obstacles. A few mandatories further complicate matters.
- Alternative pin positions switch up holes from short, medium, and long placements and often drastically change the feel of any given hole. El Dorado is usually set up in a mix of half short, half long, although they are sometimes set all long or all short (they were all short during my round). Some of the long positions looked positively daunting for all but the biggest of arms.
- A decent mix of slightly more technical holes (requiring accuracy) and longer open holes (requiring distance).
- Brushed concrete tees in mostly great shape.
- Good signage w/ all pin positions listed (sometimes slightly inaccurate or misrepresentative but otherwise stellar).
- Decent flow despite being crammed into a smallish multi-use park area.
- Two practice baskets near hole one.
- Benches, trashcans, bathrooms, and water fountains throughout the layout. Tennis shop sells drinks and has clean bathrooms.
- This course is almost as flat as they thought the world to be in the 14th century, but the few rises in elevation are implemented to decent effect.
Cons: - El Dorado can get crowded. Expect to be backed up on busy days.
- A few holes seem to crowd each other. Watch out for errant discs from other holes.
- Very little risk/reward (especially for the shorter pins). Not much here to force risky, high-reward shots.
Other Thoughts: - Not the flashiest or most challenging of courses (especially with all pins short) but a very solid option for locals. Don't go out of your way to play here, but if you are in the area, El Dorado can easily satisfy the urge to disc. With the large trees and grassy fairways, the vibe El Dorado gives off is that of a bustling city course that does its best to give the illusion of playing in the country. It largely succeeds.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    8/14/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice socal park with grassy fairways and scattered trees. There are a couple small elevation changes and they're used as much as possible to add some interest to the course. The trees aren't all that dense, but they're used well to make a nice variety of hole shapes, with several good ow ceiling shots that force accurate drives. There is a nice variety of lengths on the course, from ace runs to a nice 700 footer with an alternate shorter basket if you don't want to play the long one.

The tees are concrete and in good shape, with plenty of room to throw. Most of the tee signs are there and show hole length and layout. The baskets are different on the front and back 9s, and both sets are showing their age, but all catch fine. There's a nice practice area by the parking lot.
Cons: The park is very flat, with very similar terrain and foliage throughout, so it feels a bit repetitive despite the variety of hole shapes. A lot of the holes play through scattered enough trees that there are lots of possible routes, which takes a little away from the difficulty when an easy hyzer route is often present.

There are a few spots when you have to walk back down the fairway you just played to get to the next tee, which is a little bit of a hassle on a busy day. There are some holes that play pretty close to roads, sidewalks, and other park uses, which could make for some safety issues at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park course, but has a bit of a repetitive feel. It's accessible for beginners with no real rough, though there is some length. More experienced players won't find too many real challenges, but it's not just a pitch n putt and has some nice holes. If you're in the area, this one's a good stop worth your time.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    7/10/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tees on every hole
-free to play
-well maintained grounds
-good use of trees and the slight elevation that was there
-Decent signs at every tee
-Fairly easy to navigate and manage.
Great use of space
fun course
Cons: -people picknicking on the course
-hole 18 runs right along a baseball diamond, and can be a bit crowded if there's a game
-some holes run just to the right of the street which can be tough
-not much elevational changes
-distance for pins on signs isn't very accurate
-can be crowded
Other Thoughts: the course can be fun if there's not a lot of other distractions happening, which when i played, there were tons: pedestrians, picknickers, baseball players, slow large groups...

just get there early enough to play a quiet round without all the foot traffic.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well Manicured and Challenging

5+    12/13/2009   2/6/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Disc Golf Exclusive area - everyone is aware on the course
• Well manicured grass and trees
• Good variety of distance in holes - one that plays to 700'
• Excellent use of elevation change - there isn't much but it is used to the fullest extent
• Good use of obstacles, including one small building that looks like a rebel base from Return of the Jedi (Hole # 6)
• Plenty of low ceiling shots with large trees all over the park
• Great local scene, and everyone is very friendly
• Nice tee signs
• Centrally located and freeway close
Cons: • Baseball fields can interfere with the final few holes
• Pretty much flat, with limited elevation change
• Course flow isn't always intuitive - there are a few "walkbacks"
• The 700 foot hole is kind of like a monster truck… Some are OK with it but it is a bit excessive.
Other Thoughts: El Dorado (or more commonly "Eldo") is a great L.A. area course that is easy to get to, and has a thriving local scene. Many proudly consider this their home course, and rightly so - it has history and beauty behind it. There is plenty of variety in angles, with both lefties and righties feeling right at home on the course.

Eldo is also a great Roller course, as several of the holes play very long coupled with a low tree ceiling. It is challenging when you need to air it out to get distance, but can't let your disc rise more than 15 feet or it will get eaten by the trees. Plenty of times I have gone into a game on this course thinking how easy the course was, and then was surprised how far over par I ended up.

The only real serious con here is the limited elevation change - it is a rather flat park. However, there are a few holes near the end of the course (especially # 15) that make use of a few sparse hills in the back part of the park. This course really isn't my cup of tea as I like more up and down and also more secluded - it is close to a few busy streets and definitely has a city feel. However, this course has a fantastic design and makes good use of the hand it was dealt with the park terrain. Highly recommended if you are playing the L.A. area, but I don't think this course is on the same level with La Mirada which is about 20 minutes away.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A great place for a relaxing round

5+    6/20/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flat terrain, lots of trees, all in all an inviting place for a casual round or two. All the holes are fair. None are contrived, each poses its own particular problems for you to solve, and none of the problems are insoluble.

This course will also teach you the manifest benefits of keeping your disc LOW, since you have to shoot under trees pretty regularly, esp on the front 9.

The back 9 has some good distance holes but I still don't feel overwhelmed or intimidated even though I don't have huge D.

Cons: Not much. I guess the only "con" is that there's nothing really spectacular about this course at all - no big elevation changes, no amazing scenery, everything's pretty middle-of-the-road.

Oh, the pro shop could hire some people who know discs, I guess, but at least they do have discs there (it's mainly tennis) as well as a lost-and-found.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to take newbies to. It's definitely more than a pitch-n-putt course but it won't eat a new player's lunch.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.