Disc Golf Store
Long Beach, CA 
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #14
3 / 339ft.   3 / 348ft.   3 / 372ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
My home course for the last year.

1    8/13/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Questatement
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1
Pros: First off, I play at least 2 rounds a week here and have for the last year. Good combination of long and short with plenty of trees to avoid. Low canopy shots reward good elevation control unless and/or you can go over the tops of trees (some tall) and drop in. Baskets were recently painted/renovated/replaced and are getting moved more than I've seen in the last year or so. The complaints about some of the locas being bummish is true but they are all cool if you get to know them. There's also a solid group of working guys that I consider almost as local, me being one of them. If you have an arm for 375' or more, you can birdie every hole. Long, technical, or a combination of both define 2/3 of the holes. Manicured grass covers 95% of the course and shade is abundant on most tee pads, here, there, and everywhere. Can get crowded but what do you expect for a free and well kept/designed course?

My favorite aspect of this course is the wide range of scores I can come up with on a good vs. bad day. Most courses I shoot a variable of about 7 strokes (3 over to 3 under) but here, I shoot anywhere from 7 under to 5 over thanks to a great combination of trees, mandies, OB's, and basket placements.
Cons: Less than a foot too high, trying to get under a canopy, getting slapped down and only making it half way to the basket instead of all the way.
Other Thoughts: Come on by, I'm the guy with the glove on my throwing hand.

 Beautiful course

5+    6/20/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course in a great park.

Beautiful, beautiful, old trees dot the course. Well-manicured grass. Easy to jump around in order to skip past large groups, although locals are pretty cool (much better than at Huntington Beach) about letting singles and quick pairs play through.

I love how different the front 9 is from the back 9. The former has a lot of tight tree groupings, with fairly low-hanging branches, while the latter has more of the massive (ash?) trees and is more affected by the wind conditions.

My favorite hole is #4 because it has the tight tree grouping, but with a window just wide enough to squeeze through a drive, if you're accurate.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation change, but the course uses the little bit it has well (elevated tees on #13 and #16).
Other Thoughts: On hole #12, there's an optional pin that permanently sits 723 feet away, if you're inclined to really challenge yourself. When I played the other day, the pin was in the 549 ft location, which is terribly tough for a Par 3, especially considering that the path/road going right down the middle of the fairway is OB and then just to the right of that is a massive tree. To get your drive right of the OB, but under the tree's branches is pretty challenging.

Also:
- Holes 15-17 have some pretty bumpy terrian due to wind erosion and the wildlife living underground.
- Holes 7 & 8 are good for practicing rollers.
- Aside from 15-17, it's not too hard to push a stroller here, which I've done multiple times and seen many other dads do.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling

1    2/18/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy Parking
-Pro Shop
-Friendly Locals
-Well Marked, easy to follow layout
-Shot variety
-Varied hole legnths
Cons: -Random people wandering through holes
Other Thoughts: Really nothing to complain about aside from a few Long Beach bums who decided to camp right in front of one tee box...Really enjoyed the challenge of the holes on the front 9, lots of opportunities to show off my lack of skill at rolling discs. Not really close to my house but will be coming back down for sure.

Also thanks to the tree climbing local that rescued some of our plastic on #8!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse and Technical

5+    12/10/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: SteveDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Disc Golf Course is located around the tennis courts at El Dorado Park in Long Beach (ElDo). This is a well kept course where the baskets are moved regularly to keep the game fresh every time you go.

I enjoy the diversity of the ElDo. The front nine are very technical and will challenge you with heavily wooded areas. The low ceiling trees give the ground rollers a slight advantage on baskets 7 and eight. but I have seen some tomahawk throws over the trees that were very accurate; it is doable. The first basket on the front nine is a short drive, but is also heavily wooded. A low, solid drive RHBH to weave dog-leg left will get the disc in "Birdie" range.

Baskets 3, 4, 5, and 6 play along the Northwest parameter of the park (Studebaker and Spring). These play a bit challenging against some trees and rolling hills. This front nine is in great condition and the trees make for a pleasant hike.

The Back 9 are all about distance and weaving around older thick tree trunks. 10 - 14 are my favorite to play. Watch out for the MONSTER 12. If your feeling ambitious it has a 723ft basket that they keep out there, and they still count it as a par 3 (good luck). The other basket on 12 switches off between 366ft. and 549ft.

I like the "Pro-Shop" here. It does have a wide selection of Innova discs and bags. The DG shop shares space with the racket shop. The guys working the register know more about tennis though.

The bathrooms are in the pro shop and are very clean.
Cons: If your just starting out in the sport this is not the best course to play at. After about six months of practice on less technical courses, this would be a good one to stretch you.

Lots of gopher holes. If your not careful walking through the course you might twist an ankle in the plethora of gopher homes. Its like a resort for those rodents; per-verbal Swiss cheese in some areas.
Other Thoughts: If you want a challenging course to up up game Eldorado is the place to go. Good luck and have fun!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun pace

5+    10/17/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: dirtyc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: all round great place to play, anything from short to long shots. lots of trees to dodge. one thing that i really love about this place is you can use ever throw from a back hand to a tomahawk. they usually change the baskets about every weeks too witch its nice almost like you got a whole new place to play every weeks
Cons: can really think of any. some trees might eat your disc so keep them low!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Derred Scheperle
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The hole get moved every seven days so you cant ever get used to it. This course is great for all ranges of players. Its well groomed and allways fun to play..
Cons: The first tee is really close to the parking lot. and there are a lot of people that travel from the parking to the pro shop..
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses iv ever played..

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a beginner/novice

2-4    1/7/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: conorthemick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pin positions make for a great deal of choice in terms of how difficult you want your round to be.
Two practice baskets with facilities and playground nearby.
Friendly locals.
Beautiful park with nice grass and gorgeous trees. (The trees will mess with you, by the way, but it makes for a more interesting game.)
You can bang out this course in <1 hour by yourself. I was able to play two rounds in an afternoon with no worries for time.
For my level of play, the "A" pin position was great for my self-esteem.
Cons: Got kinda crowded, but no douchebaggery that I found.
Not much to complain about... but I suppose if one were a very serious pro type of player, one could see how it wouldn't be challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Played this one while out in LA visiting my friend. I chose to play this one because of reviews on this site, and I was not disappointed. Thanks everyone!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for noobs and the seasoned

5+    12/26/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very accessible course for those new to the sport as well as added challenge for top level players. It's situated in the corner of a larger nature/ball golf/sports complex and makes great use of the land provided. There are 2 practice baskets, a pro shop with lots of discs, water and snacks and bathrooms nearby.

Concrete pads are in effect and do the job well, never really have to worry about footing. The grass is always immaculate, perfect for those with accurate rollers.

There is a nice mix of short and long par 3's (and by long I mean 730ft. long par 3 - now with a permanent basket in the long position on 12) that utilize every inch of the terrain with clearly defined routes through the thin layer of trees throughout the park. Elevation that does just enough to alter your shots and enough trouble early and late off the tee to make you think about each throw.

Pin placements are changed often, weekly.

Can choose to start at either front or back 9 depending on the crowd factor and still have excellent flow to the round.

A must play when in So Cal.
Cons: The crowd factor. Because this course is so accessible it's packed. Good for the sport, tough when you're forced to play a weekend afternoon. Get out early and you'll have no issues.

Except for 2-3 holes it's a 2 or die course. Don't really have to think about any second shots or approaches.
Other Thoughts: This is my new home course and am grateful to be able to play here so often (and in the AM without the crowds.)

I call this course the "40 Footer" because it always seems like you're putting from outside of the 10m circle. You can get close on every hole but 2's are hard to come by unless you nut the drive or are a top level putter from 30ft out. Not a con because I'm just not a good enough putter.

The mix of distances is a one of my favorite aspects as you need to throw many different discs in the bag.

The storied temp course at the other side of the park is the next challenge during the annual PDGA tournament.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the park

5+    11/26/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.2 Years
23 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -great design-course has nine holes on either side of a path with a good mix of technical stuff and wide open shots

-cool locals-yes, you, the hole 7 crowd! ;) they make sure the place stays nice and clean, sell discs for cheap and have some great stories. an incredibly welcoming bunch.

-quiet and very little foot traffic-the course is wide open to disc golfers 99% of the time

-solid deep baskets

-many pin positions and the baskets are rotated weekly, like clockwork.

-many trash cans and overall a very clean course

-beautiful trees and lots of wildlife. the course is adjacent to a wildlife preserve, so you see lots of cool hawks and cranes cruising the park on any given day.

-very few high-risk shots(one or two along a busy street, one along a chain-link fence)

-good signage
Cons: -flattish terrain, though the course makes good use of its 2 small hills.

-front nine smells...i guess "spunky" would be the best word for it. we call those trees "funk trees".
Other Thoughts: I have played this course since i took up the sport and it has only gotten better. dedicated locals keep all the riff-raff in line, the baskets moving and great tourneys aplenty. i dinged it a star primarily for the two-dimensional nature of the terrain, but the course design and variation in holes is great.

if you enjoy a quiet walk, some great golf and a conversation, this is a must-play course if youre in the area!

23 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated

2-4    7/8/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Concrete tee pads. Signs with map on every hole. Large ash trees make good obstacles. Quiet and pretty setting. Shop has accurate map and sells discs. Practice basket. Course is easy to find and easy to follow. Short and long holes. Course is in an area of the park that is seldom used by non-golfers. Some antique (or almost antique) baskets show a bit of the course's relatively long history.
Cons: Lacks elevation changes (but makes good use of what it has). Some holes are repetetive.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course not to be missed. Any flaws this course has are slight and can easily be ignored. One of the best courses in Southern California.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.