Long Beach, CA 
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #1
3 / 275ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Eldo

1    8/29/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - El Dorado's park-style course plays alongside other park amenities such as tennis courts. The course is mostly grassy with mature trees throughout providing obstacles. A few mandatories further complicate matters.
- Alternative pin positions switch up holes from short, medium, and long placements and often drastically change the feel of any given hole. El Dorado is usually set up in a mix of half short, half long, although they are sometimes set all long or all short (they were all short during my round). Some of the long positions looked positively daunting for all but the biggest of arms.
- A decent mix of slightly more technical holes (requiring accuracy) and longer open holes (requiring distance).
- Brushed concrete tees in mostly great shape.
- Good signage w/ all pin positions listed (sometimes slightly inaccurate or misrepresentative but otherwise stellar).
- Decent flow despite being crammed into a smallish multi-use park area.
- Two practice baskets near hole one.
- Benches, trashcans, bathrooms, and water fountains throughout the layout. Tennis shop sells drinks and has clean bathrooms.
- This course is almost as flat as they thought the world to be in the 14th century, but the few rises in elevation are implemented to decent effect.
Cons: - El Dorado can get crowded. Expect to be backed up on busy days.
- A few holes seem to crowd each other. Watch out for errant discs from other holes.
- Very little risk/reward (especially for the shorter pins). Not much here to force risky, high-reward shots.
Other Thoughts: - Not the flashiest or most challenging of courses (especially with all pins short) but a very solid option for locals. Don't go out of your way to play here, but if you are in the area, El Dorado can easily satisfy the urge to disc. With the large trees and grassy fairways, the vibe El Dorado gives off is that of a bustling city course that does its best to give the illusion of playing in the country. It largely succeeds.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    8/14/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 755  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice socal park with grassy fairways and scattered trees. There are a couple small elevation changes and they're used as much as possible to add some interest to the course. The trees aren't all that dense, but they're used well to make a nice variety of hole shapes, with several good ow ceiling shots that force accurate drives. There is a nice variety of lengths on the course, from ace runs to a nice 700 footer with an alternate shorter basket if you don't want to play the long one.

The tees are concrete and in good shape, with plenty of room to throw. Most of the tee signs are there and show hole length and layout. The baskets are different on the front and back 9s, and both sets are showing their age, but all catch fine. There's a nice practice area by the parking lot.
Cons: The park is very flat, with very similar terrain and foliage throughout, so it feels a bit repetitive despite the variety of hole shapes. A lot of the holes play through scattered enough trees that there are lots of possible routes, which takes a little away from the difficulty when an easy hyzer route is often present.

There are a few spots when you have to walk back down the fairway you just played to get to the next tee, which is a little bit of a hassle on a busy day. There are some holes that play pretty close to roads, sidewalks, and other park uses, which could make for some safety issues at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park course, but has a bit of a repetitive feel. It's accessible for beginners with no real rough, though there is some length. More experienced players won't find too many real challenges, but it's not just a pitch n putt and has some nice holes. If you're in the area, this one's a good stop worth your time.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Derred Scheperle
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The hole get moved every seven days so you cant ever get used to it. This course is great for all ranges of players. Its well groomed and allways fun to play..
Cons: The first tee is really close to the parking lot. and there are a lot of people that travel from the parking to the pro shop..
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses iv ever played..

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    7/10/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tees on every hole
-free to play
-well maintained grounds
-good use of trees and the slight elevation that was there
-Decent signs at every tee
-Fairly easy to navigate and manage.
Great use of space
fun course
Cons: -people picknicking on the course
-hole 18 runs right along a baseball diamond, and can be a bit crowded if there's a game
-some holes run just to the right of the street which can be tough
-not much elevational changes
-distance for pins on signs isn't very accurate
-can be crowded
Other Thoughts: the course can be fun if there's not a lot of other distractions happening, which when i played, there were tons: pedestrians, picknickers, baseball players, slow large groups...

just get there early enough to play a quiet round without all the foot traffic.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Another pretty So.Cal park setting for a course. El Dorado is large park with a dedicated disc golf portion which generally limits interference from non-disc golfers. Double chain baskets in good condition despite two different styles on the first nine vs. the second nine. Only minor elevation in play but a nice mixture of lefty vs. righty holes and lots of opportunities for throwing over or under trees. Typically three pin positions available on most holes, which are occasionally rotated. Practice basket available before hole #1. Concrete tee pads in good condition. Course pretty much loops back to the starting point between the first nine and second nine.
Cons:
Bad posted distances... a lot of the holes were waaay off the posted distances when I laser measured them. The baseball field that borders hole #18 could lead to some interference if there's a big crowd watching the [baseball] game. Course flow is a little bit awkward with backtracking from basket to next tee box.
Other Thoughts:
Shout out to Dave Perry for the excellent guided tour of the course. The 723' pin position on the long hole always has a basket there in addition to the other pin position. El Dorado suffers from a similar problem that La Mirada has: it's very easy to card a lot of 3's here. A bad tee shot can be made up for with a decent upshot to still give you a nice putt for 3. I can see this course growing on me over time with the challenge being how far under 54 can you get. It reminds me a lot of a better version of Agnes Moffitt in Houston.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Eldo=Good times

5+    7/15/2009   4/15/2010
Review By: z-man
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moved to Cali and Eldo was about 10 minutes away...Was very happy this course was so close

-Fun and challenging pin positions...
-Great use of trees when placing baskets...pin positions add a great challenge
-Lots of trees provide plenty of shade on a hot afternoon...
-Course flowed very well...was able to follow without any help from the locals
-GRASS to walk on!!!!!!
Cons: -Pretty flat course...Not much elevation to speak of
-Park can get pretty busy at times as there are lots of things non-disc golfers can do in the park
-Some of the fairways play parallel to each other...must be alert of others playing nearby
Other Thoughts: Well thought out course for the land they had to use...

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I Got A Globe In One!

1    4/1/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I guess this is one of the icon courses in SoCal. This is just a very comfortable place to throw. Unlike many of the LA area courses, there doesn't seem to be a problem with large groups of picnickers taking over a fairway. The course flows very well. I was able to follow groups ahead of me. There is a very limited amount of elevation which is used to the max. The course is long enough for big arms to enjoy but yet incorporates just about throw you might have, especially rollers. It's a lovely grassy park. The pads are fine and it's well signed. The course loops around the tennis courts and back. The front nine plays entirely to the left of the path, that made navigation easy to understand. There seems to be quite the local scene here. The ones I met were friendly.
Cons: Not much really. The course is set up to really utilize the limited elevation, the trees, the street, the courts, and the light poles..See Other Thoughts! I could see a large crowd at the ballfield affecting tee-offs on # 18.
Other Thoughts: Teeing off on # 17 next to the tennis courts, I yanked my drive high and straight (this throw shows what a mediocre player I am) directly heading toward the 20-25'' high light standard which has an old fashioned looking globe at the top. I guess this pole is 100 ' from the pad. This globe is probably two feet high. To my dismay, my favorite driver slammed directly into the globe. Then to my complete and utter amazement, it didn't come down. Holy shit I say! I think I'm the first player in the long and storied history of this course to stick my errant drive into this globe. As I walk up and examine the globe, I see a white disc and another one stuck in there. The globe has a crack across the front and I see it's possible to lodge one in there.

So now whenever you tee off on El Dorado # 17, my favorite yellow Roadrunner will be watching down on you. I like to think it's up there in El Dorado Disc Golf Heaven!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/20/2011   2/9/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Highly efficient course layout squeezes every available elevation change out of a fairly flat area. Moderately wooded course with some fun midrange and longer drives, as well as a couple of crush opportunities. Cement tee pads on all holes, with signs posted on nearly every hole. Rotated pin placements. Generally easy to navigate, a big plus. The few existing mandys don't seriously detract from the fun factor. Pro shop with a small selection of discs and refreshments. Liquor store at 'Hole 3.5' provides a convenient place to 'resupply', though the park doesn't allow beer. Hole 7 is the signature hole, with a long, straight fairway, no mandys and just enough tree obstacles to make it a challenging low-trajectory shot. (for a minute, you think you are at a more remote course). Hole 13 is another, with the highest elevated tee on the course. Two practice baskets to cure 'non-putting'. Locals with great skills who aren't 'dicks'.
Cons: Shares some urban course limitations with LaMirada, such as nearby busy streets, baseball fields and limited resources. No real stunning holes on par with Coyote Point, or even LaMirada's back 18. Some baskets are old and eject usually good enough putts. Wet grass and mud after rains.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course, but definitely one to consider if you are in the area. Also check out the nice tennis courts, which stay open until 9:30 and rent out rackets. Staff at the Pro Shop was courteous and happy to answer questions.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Well Manicured and Challenging

5+    12/13/2009   2/6/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Disc Golf Exclusive area - everyone is aware on the course
• Well manicured grass and trees
• Good variety of distance in holes - one that plays to 700'
• Excellent use of elevation change - there isn't much but it is used to the fullest extent
• Good use of obstacles, including one small building that looks like a rebel base from Return of the Jedi (Hole # 6)
• Plenty of low ceiling shots with large trees all over the park
• Great local scene, and everyone is very friendly
• Nice tee signs
• Centrally located and freeway close
Cons: • Baseball fields can interfere with the final few holes
• Pretty much flat, with limited elevation change
• Course flow isn't always intuitive - there are a few "walkbacks"
• The 700 foot hole is kind of like a monster truck… Some are OK with it but it is a bit excessive.
Other Thoughts: El Dorado (or more commonly "Eldo") is a great L.A. area course that is easy to get to, and has a thriving local scene. Many proudly consider this their home course, and rightly so - it has history and beauty behind it. There is plenty of variety in angles, with both lefties and righties feeling right at home on the course.

Eldo is also a great Roller course, as several of the holes play very long coupled with a low tree ceiling. It is challenging when you need to air it out to get distance, but can't let your disc rise more than 15 feet or it will get eaten by the trees. Plenty of times I have gone into a game on this course thinking how easy the course was, and then was surprised how far over par I ended up.

The only real serious con here is the limited elevation change - it is a rather flat park. However, there are a few holes near the end of the course (especially # 15) that make use of a few sparse hills in the back part of the park. This course really isn't my cup of tea as I like more up and down and also more secluded - it is close to a few busy streets and definitely has a city feel. However, this course has a fantastic design and makes good use of the hand it was dealt with the park terrain. Highly recommended if you are playing the L.A. area, but I don't think this course is on the same level with La Mirada which is about 20 minutes away.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a beginner/novice

2-4    1/7/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: conorthemick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pin positions make for a great deal of choice in terms of how difficult you want your round to be.
Two practice baskets with facilities and playground nearby.
Friendly locals.
Beautiful park with nice grass and gorgeous trees. (The trees will mess with you, by the way, but it makes for a more interesting game.)
You can bang out this course in <1 hour by yourself. I was able to play two rounds in an afternoon with no worries for time.
For my level of play, the "A" pin position was great for my self-esteem.
Cons: Got kinda crowded, but no douchebaggery that I found.
Not much to complain about... but I suppose if one were a very serious pro type of player, one could see how it wouldn't be challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Played this one while out in LA visiting my friend. I chose to play this one because of reviews on this site, and I was not disappointed. Thanks everyone!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.