Long Beach, CA
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #10
3 / 264ft.   3 / 291ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Expect to hit a lot of trees

2-4    12/12/2010   12/13/2013
Review By: CK_32
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Beautiful Park
- Tons Of Shade
- Never Crowded
- Technical Course
Cons: - Tons of trees
- Ok area
- Not my Style of play
- Again too many trees
Other Thoughts: Every time I play this course I get pretty frustrated, expect to bang up your discs at least 1 time per hole. It's not one of my favorite courses but it's a good course just not open like I like to play. If your a technical player or enjoy woods and tight spaces or want a challenge this is the course for you. When you play you'll understand what I'm talking about.

Even tho it's not my preferred spot you have to play it at least 3 or 4 times. Once you master a hole it's actually kinda fun but till then expect frustration.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

flat & shady

2-4    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pretty much in the shade the whole time.
-Mix of tight and distance play.
-Manicured grass, little to no dust to deal with.
-Decent facilities.
-Very little pedestrian traffic for a course built in a public park.
Cons: -Weird locals. Saw some homeless people playing with ultimate discs. Same day saw the lawn chair group sitting around watching you play while they drink and smoke.
- No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: The "pro shop" has a few dusty Innova discs. Discovering the World up by La Mirada on the other hand has every disc you could hope to find. More importantly the course is so much better. El Dorado is like a poor man's La Mirada. If you're paying a visit to LA go there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fun

1    7/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: templink
Played: 52  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
Pros: Beautiful park. Loved the grass and trees.
Fun! This course presents so many birdie opportunities without being a too short or too easy. It provides a challenges but its not too hard for less experienced players either.
Big concrete teepads were appreciated.
Great course layout.
Relatively easy to navigate without a map.
Cons: Many of the front 9 and some of the back 9 felt repetitive from hole to hole.
No real "signature" hole on this course.
Most holes played short at 200-300.
Other Thoughts: Rollers come in handy on this course, as trees block a lot of shots.
This is a mostly short, technical course, that was very fun to play. I would definitely play again next time in SoCal.


5+    12/29/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Awesome variety of shots
-Cool locals, check out the tree next to hole 7
-Low treeline promoters roller shots
-Pro shop sells drinks / discs
-Great putt practice area with 2 baskets!
-In an area that is used mostly for disc golf , save for tennis course / a library
-Located right off a major freeway in Long beach near the Lakewood border
Cons: -Tee's can get slippery
-Mud builds up around the tee for hole 17
-While most of the locals are nice , there is a few rougher ones that will beat your a** if you're rude (it is Long beach afterall , granted a nice part of it)
Other Thoughts: A staple in socal disc golf culture , definitely worth a trip if you're in the area .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Historic El Dorado

1    12/8/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 33  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy navigation, front 9 more or less run along the road, easy to find your way to the next tee pad (maps in the pro shop as well)
-all tee boxes are concrete
-friendly locals (at least the ones I met)
-beautiful park, alot of trees and plenty of shade
-good baskets: front 9 are dga mach 2s, back nine are innova discatchers
-I was told that Philo Brathwaite plays here often
Cons: -most of the holes felt the same
-mostly flat, little to no elevation changes
-no basket numbers on the basket
-was told by the friendly locals that there are drunken idiots on the course as well
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great experience for my first time at El Dorado. Holes are a decent length with a couple of birdie opportunities. The park is beautiful and the locals that I met up with were super friendly (Thanks for showing me around Les). Navigation is easy, however what makes it hard is that the baskets dont have numbers (due to vandalism). One major con to me is that I felt I was throwing more or less the same shot on most holes. Sure there are some different tree arrangements that alter the shot slightly, but overall I felt that the holes didn't have as much variety. There are mandatories, but they're so generous they mind as well not be there. Despite this opinion, I really liked it here. If you throw big hyzer bombs...you won't be able to do that here and may find this course more challenging. Straight shots are definitely rewarded here. It seems like a great place to bring a beginner, but as an intermediate or even advanced player you can still enjoy yourself out here. You definitely have the opportunity to air out your disc, especially on hole 12 (500+ ft, but theres a 700+ ft pin position on this hole as well). Multiple pin positions, BUT they're all located pretty close to each other...seems like it may alter the hole sometimes and alot of times it wouldn't. I am just making this opinion based on the signage, but I've only played this course once so please keep that in mind. Overall I would definitely recommend checking out this course if in the area. btw I'm comparing this course to my home courses of Morley Field and Kit Carson Park, which I feel offer more variety of shots, more difficulty, and more elevation changes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Updated review of a good course

5+    12/7/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Mabuku1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs. Baskets. Good park upkeep. Pro shop has only innova discs, which is an obvious bias, but whatever. Course layout was fun. Lots of tunnel and alley holes. Some mandatories are huge arrows nailed ten feet high on the trees. Free course maps at the proshop, where the help was friendly.
Cons: There were groups of locals hanging out all over the course getting drunk on lawn chairs and just being in the way. it gave the imagery of skid row homeless community.
Other Thoughts: Locals are still a mix of nice and rude. And still have potheads and drunks and what appears to be homeless people that play disc golf sitting on lawn chairs at tee 7 getting hight and drunk.

Course is still fun to play if you can keep a level head after hitting tree after tree in the tunnel baskets. I am going to visit more often.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

el dorado

1    8/28/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: freakinwizzz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of different shots
short and long holes
cool locals
good amount of shade on hot days
FUN
very nice park
well taken care of
Cons: socal is hot
i could imagine it could get crowded
Other Thoughts: i feel like any level of player can shoot good here. i had a lot of fun and i'm an intermediate level player

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Ol' Eldo

5+    7/16/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access course i.e. close to the freeway.
Awesome use of the trees which allows tunnel shots or big hyzers for the power players.
Good use of flags on baskets which are blind.
Relatively friendly local players that are willing to show you around.
Baksets move fairly often
Cons: Fairways cross some walkpaths
Low-inventory proshop discs-wise
Slick Slick teepads due to them being surrounded by dirt, so they can get muddy sometimes.
Difficult to navigate the course, i still have trouble sometimes.
In a nice area but there can be some 'punks' around
Gopher holes means watch your step
Other Thoughts: I have a love/hate for Eldo as i hate the area but enjoy the course, i love that it is probably the most wooded course close to where i live which allows for practicing low tunnel shots. Even though its in apublic park, the park itself is so big the disc golf course usually isn't busy with non-golfers, there are a few walkways but waiting a minute for someone to jog by is not a problem in my eyes. It also moves fairly quick, ive finished rounds in less than 40 min's there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Passing through LA

1    7/13/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Rugball
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: Variety of holes. More tightly wooded on the front 9. Some longer holes to bust a good drive on. Fairly easy to navigate, only recall one hole where you needed to walk a ways to the next tee and there were no signs. Appears that they move the holes periodically but there was bare ground around the hole locations (which turned muddy).
Cons: It was unexpectedly wet due to freak rain storm (in July?). This made the concrete tees muddy and slippery. Almost biffed it a couple of times. There are tee signs with distances, but they usually had only A-B-C distances but nothing to tell you which hole was in use. Had to guess at most of them based on drawings of the trees relative to the holes. Looked like a lot of transients hang out. Appeared to be a drug deal taking place in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: You will always have clueless people in a public park who will wander among the holes. Overall it was fine for a Fri afternoon. I could imagine the course gets busy on the weekend since there seemed to be at least one or more players at every hole on a weekday. No elevation changes to speak of as the park is pretty flat, but the mature trees make it fairly challenging throughout. Locals were cool and offered to let me play through.

Beautiful course

5+    6/20/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course in a great park.

Beautiful, beautiful, old trees dot the course. Well-manicured grass. Easy to jump around in order to skip past large groups, although locals are pretty cool (much better than at Huntington Beach) about letting singles and quick pairs play through.

I love how different the front 9 is from the back 9. The former has a lot of tight tree groupings, with fairly low-hanging branches, while the latter has more of the massive (ash?) trees and is more affected by the wind conditions.

My favorite hole is #4 because it has the tight tree grouping, but with a window just wide enough to squeeze through a drive, if you're accurate.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation change, but the course uses the little bit it has well (elevated tees on #13 and #16).
Other Thoughts: On hole #12, there's an optional pin that permanently sits 723 feet away, if you're inclined to really challenge yourself. When I played the other day, the pin was in the 549 ft location, which is terribly tough for a Par 3, especially considering that the path/road going right down the middle of the fairway is OB and then just to the right of that is a massive tree. To get your drive right of the OB, but under the tree's branches is pretty challenging.

Also:
- Holes 15-17 have some pretty bumpy terrian due to wind erosion and the wildlife living underground.
- Holes 7 & 8 are good for practicing rollers.
- Aside from 15-17, it's not too hard to push a stroller here, which I've done multiple times and seen many other dads do.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.