Long Beach, CA 
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #10
3 / 264ft.   3 / 291ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great for noobs and the seasoned

5+    12/26/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very accessible course for those new to the sport as well as added challenge for top level players. It's situated in the corner of a larger nature/ball golf/sports complex and makes great use of the land provided. There are 2 practice baskets, a pro shop with lots of discs, water and snacks and bathrooms nearby.

Concrete pads are in effect and do the job well, never really have to worry about footing. The grass is always immaculate, perfect for those with accurate rollers.

There is a nice mix of short and long par 3's (and by long I mean 730ft. long par 3 - now with a permanent basket in the long position on 12) that utilize every inch of the terrain with clearly defined routes through the thin layer of trees throughout the park. Elevation that does just enough to alter your shots and enough trouble early and late off the tee to make you think about each throw.

Pin placements are changed often, weekly.

Can choose to start at either front or back 9 depending on the crowd factor and still have excellent flow to the round.

A must play when in So Cal.
Cons: The crowd factor. Because this course is so accessible it's packed. Good for the sport, tough when you're forced to play a weekend afternoon. Get out early and you'll have no issues.

Except for 2-3 holes it's a 2 or die course. Don't really have to think about any second shots or approaches.
Other Thoughts: This is my new home course and am grateful to be able to play here so often (and in the AM without the crowds.)

I call this course the "40 Footer" because it always seems like you're putting from outside of the 10m circle. You can get close on every hole but 2's are hard to come by unless you nut the drive or are a top level putter from 30ft out. Not a con because I'm just not a good enough putter.

The mix of distances is a one of my favorite aspects as you need to throw many different discs in the bag.

The storied temp course at the other side of the park is the next challenge during the annual PDGA tournament.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in Long Beach

5+    10/10/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I can think of very little that would improve this course.
-Mostly DG exclusive, minus a few paths that meander through the course. They have never presented a problem for me.
-Course takes advantage of terrain features the best it can, total elevation difference is no more than 10' throughout.
-Well thought out, uses trees and hills the very best they can be.
-Putting baskets
-Friendly locals
-Well marked, easy to follow. Flows well.
Cons: -The last hole is often jeopardized by sports teams. Many people just play a safari hole 19 back to the putting area to make it a full 18 if needed.
-Can get busy, some people here take DG far too seriously.
-Some pins are close to a busy street, and there is no fence.
-The trees smell kinda weird. I'm not going to say what we thought it smelled like, but weird nonetheless :)
-Both times I have visited, it has been busy. This leads to being in a 'rotation,' with no passing really allowed, which I don't really like because I prefer to relax and play at my own pace. The course easily has more than 18 groups playing at any given time.
Other Thoughts: I have friends who regard this as their favorite course in LA, and I can see where they are coming from. Compared to the other park courses in LA, I find it to be awesomely average. Which is definitely a good thing. This course is great for brushing up on every type of throw.
While the locals have all been really nice (younger than what I see at other courses), we have run into some pretty crazy people. This one guy chucked a driver at an oblivious lady that was trying to bring his disc back to him. I know she was in the wrong, but he was an absolute jerk to her.
There always seem to be some great old timers hanging out near the practice pins, and they are totally willing to dish out some advice if you ask for it.
When the course is busy, you really need to keep an eye out for other drives. I had about 5 discs land within 30 feet of me with no 'fore' yelled.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the park

5+    11/26/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.5 Years
23 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -great design-course has nine holes on either side of a path with a good mix of technical stuff and wide open shots

-cool locals-yes, you, the hole 7 crowd! ;) they make sure the place stays nice and clean, sell discs for cheap and have some great stories. an incredibly welcoming bunch.

-quiet and very little foot traffic-the course is wide open to disc golfers 99% of the time

-solid deep baskets

-many pin positions and the baskets are rotated weekly, like clockwork.

-many trash cans and overall a very clean course

-beautiful trees and lots of wildlife. the course is adjacent to a wildlife preserve, so you see lots of cool hawks and cranes cruising the park on any given day.

-very few high-risk shots(one or two along a busy street, one along a chain-link fence)

-good signage
Cons: -flattish terrain, though the course makes good use of its 2 small hills.

-front nine smells...i guess "spunky" would be the best word for it. we call those trees "funk trees".
Other Thoughts: I have played this course since i took up the sport and it has only gotten better. dedicated locals keep all the riff-raff in line, the baskets moving and great tourneys aplenty. i dinged it a star primarily for the two-dimensional nature of the terrain, but the course design and variation in holes is great.

if you enjoy a quiet walk, some great golf and a conversation, this is a must-play course if youre in the area!

23 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Learn a Roller

5+    9/13/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - decent pro shop with discs, drinks & snacks
- single practice basket
- good sized cement tees
- up to 3 pin positions per hole, and most have 3
- nice, descriptive signs
- usually not crowded at all
- good, easy to follow layout
- good use of OB paths
- well maintained city park
Cons: - bathrooms are available in the pro shop and you can visit here after the front nine also
- not too much in the way of terrain, but nice course design otherwise
- mix of old and new baskets, and the old ones don't always catch that well
- some holes can get pretty repetitive, and this can make the round drag occasionally, especially if you're not throwing well
Other Thoughts: Hole 12 usually has 2 baskets, a short one and a really long (700' +), so we take two drives and play it as two separate holes.

El Do is a dream if you have a good roller. There are many low canopies on the front nine where the basket is too far for a spike hyzer or an overhand, so these holes are where people who can roll will get many of their strokes.

Some holes are a little short, but don't let the course length deceive you... it's still a tough one because of all the trees reaching for your discs.

El Do is a solid course and well worth a stop by if you're anywhere down in the southern LA metro area or Orange County.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated

2-4    7/8/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Concrete tee pads. Signs with map on every hole. Large ash trees make good obstacles. Quiet and pretty setting. Shop has accurate map and sells discs. Practice basket. Course is easy to find and easy to follow. Short and long holes. Course is in an area of the park that is seldom used by non-golfers. Some antique (or almost antique) baskets show a bit of the course's relatively long history.
Cons: Lacks elevation changes (but makes good use of what it has). Some holes are repetetive.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course not to be missed. Any flaws this course has are slight and can easily be ignored. One of the best courses in Southern California.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in LB

5+    6/5/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good blend of long and short holes
-Decent tee pads and signage, for the most part the course flows in a logical manner
-Nice park setting, with very few non-disc golfers in the area.
-Pro shop
-Friendly locals
-Generally plays pretty fast
Cons: -Old style DiscCatchers, the ones with the shallow cages and heavy chains, I hate those!
- A little confusing layout around the middle of the course, but it's definitely not the worst I've seen
Other Thoughts: They built a solid course to work on your game at El Do. It's worth playing if you are in the area. I always talk about how I don't really like the course, but I continue to go back, for whatever that's worth lol.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great place for a relaxing round

5+    6/20/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flat terrain, lots of trees, all in all an inviting place for a casual round or two. All the holes are fair. None are contrived, each poses its own particular problems for you to solve, and none of the problems are insoluble.

This course will also teach you the manifest benefits of keeping your disc LOW, since you have to shoot under trees pretty regularly, esp on the front 9.

The back 9 has some good distance holes but I still don't feel overwhelmed or intimidated even though I don't have huge D.

Cons: Not much. I guess the only "con" is that there's nothing really spectacular about this course at all - no big elevation changes, no amazing scenery, everything's pretty middle-of-the-road.

Oh, the pro shop could hire some people who know discs, I guess, but at least they do have discs there (it's mainly tennis) as well as a lost-and-found.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to take newbies to. It's definitely more than a pitch-n-putt course but it won't eat a new player's lunch.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, Good People

1    1/18/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Course Layout
Variety of Distances
Mix of Shot Types
Cool Locals (Helpful & Very Friendly)
Very Well Maintained
Nice Tee Pads
Pro Shop On-Site
Ample Parking
Cons:
Older Baskets
Other Park Users Can Be An Issue (Non-Golfers)
Little to No Elevation Changes
Other Thoughts:
El Dorado Disc Golf Course is located in a large regional park just of Spring and Studebaker in Long Beach. There is parking near the first tee, right next to the public library.

The course plays through a nice grassy, flat park. Navigation is pretty straight forward with each tee close to the previous basket. There were a couple exceptions, the first being between holes 6 and 7, just head back towards the parking lot, along the path and the tee pad is just off the path on the right. The other being between holes 12 and 13. The tee pad for 15 is close by and we tried to skip a couple holes. The locals were able to point us in the right direction and it was smooth sailing from there on out.

The course has great variety, holes vary in direction and distance. There are multiple pins placements (A,B, and C) on each hole making it very easy to change this course up on a regular basis. In the shorts anyone can play with holes ranging from 201ft. to 366ft, while the longs range from 216ft. to just over 700ft making it tougher for even advanced players. Usually they are in mixed postions and have a nice balance for everyone to enjoy.

The course itself is fairly open, but there are enough large mature trees to force you to shape your shots on most holes. The first six holes play around the the corner of the park allowing the street to come into play on most of these holes adding another challenge. The course also plays around and beside other park amenities such as a ball golf course and tennis courts. Other park users seem pretty familiar with the course, rarely get in the way, and are always on the look out for flying discs which is a nice change from some of the parks in my area.

Overall this is a pretty good course, both beginners and advanced players will enjoy themselves. I would recommend this course to anyone that visits the Long Beach area and I would play it again if I get the chance, however if you only have time for one course in the greater LA area there are a couple I would choose over this one.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: variety of shots, shade, go early and its empty, each hole has 3 baskets, variety, location
Cons: wet grass in the early morning, i could imagine in the midday there could be a lot of foot traffic on the paths. could hit people or have to wait
Other Thoughts: im coming back to this place for sure. check it out. i dont have long distance on my tee shots but it took me 2 shots to get close to most of the basket. so i think its a good place for beg/int and there a couple short holes. if your really starting out you should try ford park in redlands or liberty park down the streeet from el dor. lib is really short good to warmup on or get better confidence with some pars

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Southbay/ OC, Must Play Course!!! Please re-read Review

5+    2/27/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many different shots. Long and short holes, a few wooded/ tight, but mostly open shots. A few minor elevation changes. Well maintained park. Nice teesigns, accurate. Hole placements are changed regularly, makes playing it different from week to week. Challenges me every time.

Pretty much a DG exclusive area!!

Very difficult if all holes are laid out at the long positions. All short is much easier. So, the course can be tweaked several different ways

Pro shop at Tennis Courts with restroom. The other restroom is by hole 18.

Excellent Tee pads, Grippy, Large concrete. A few trash cans spread around to keep it clean.
Cons: Has a few Discatcher, I wish they could make it consistent with all Machs. But, that isn't my real issue with the course layout. A hole is a hole...

Pretty flat. No big though, that area of the county is just flat

Need to keep the hole placements consistent with signage. Sometimes Hole 11 is used for tee 10, and there is an extra placement for #8.... Just keep it on the signage for simplicity and the new guy. It is all a challenge to me, just a consistency issue. Just stupid to have excellent signage and not have the hole reflect what is on the teesign. Some of the boots are no good and the new hole placements don't reflect the teesigns

Not many cons to list, besides bastardizing the great teesigns with placing tees that consistent with what is shown on the sign
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in the N. O.C./ South LA area. Nothing to rave about and nothing to really complain about (beside the odd time the jack the holes). Just a solid course. Rather play this than LaMirada for some reason (probably because the tees are better here). Maybe just more laid back and less crowded, I don't know....... Just like it more

Locals are great and fun to play with. Monthlys held. Can get crowded on weekends. If you have a Roller in you bag it helps with a few holes (#7 & #8), low ceilings and tight.

I just love it because it challenges all skill set of players

Favorite Holes:
Front, #2. Each placement requires a different throw or skill. Throw at it straight ahead or have to hook/ anhyzer (if your lefty) or just roll it. Too many options/ choices depending/ regardless of placement
Back, # freakin' 12. At its shortest point, a decent long hole..... At its longest, a humiliating experience. The 549'( (the mid placement) is a great test to get par

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.