Long Beach, CA
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #17
3 / 315ft.   3 / 324ft.   3 / 381ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A walk in the park

5+    11/26/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 16.9 Years
23 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -great design-course has nine holes on either side of a path with a good mix of technical stuff and wide open shots

-cool locals-yes, you, the hole 7 crowd! ;) they make sure the place stays nice and clean, sell discs for cheap and have some great stories. an incredibly welcoming bunch.

-quiet and very little foot traffic-the course is wide open to disc golfers 99% of the time

-solid deep baskets

-many pin positions and the baskets are rotated weekly, like clockwork.

-many trash cans and overall a very clean course

-beautiful trees and lots of wildlife. the course is adjacent to a wildlife preserve, so you see lots of cool hawks and cranes cruising the park on any given day.

-very few high-risk shots(one or two along a busy street, one along a chain-link fence)

-good signage
Cons: -flattish terrain, though the course makes good use of its 2 small hills.

-front nine smells...i guess "spunky" would be the best word for it. we call those trees "funk trees".
Other Thoughts: I have played this course since i took up the sport and it has only gotten better. dedicated locals keep all the riff-raff in line, the baskets moving and great tourneys aplenty. i dinged it a star primarily for the two-dimensional nature of the terrain, but the course design and variation in holes is great.

if you enjoy a quiet walk, some great golf and a conversation, this is a must-play course if youre in the area!

23 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Learn a Roller

5+    9/13/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - decent pro shop with discs, drinks & snacks
- single practice basket
- good sized cement tees
- up to 3 pin positions per hole, and most have 3
- nice, descriptive signs
- usually not crowded at all
- good, easy to follow layout
- good use of OB paths
- well maintained city park
Cons: - bathrooms are available in the pro shop and you can visit here after the front nine also
- not too much in the way of terrain, but nice course design otherwise
- mix of old and new baskets, and the old ones don't always catch that well
- some holes can get pretty repetitive, and this can make the round drag occasionally, especially if you're not throwing well
Other Thoughts: Hole 12 usually has 2 baskets, a short one and a really long (700' +), so we take two drives and play it as two separate holes.

El Do is a dream if you have a good roller. There are many low canopies on the front nine where the basket is too far for a spike hyzer or an overhand, so these holes are where people who can roll will get many of their strokes.

Some holes are a little short, but don't let the course length deceive you... it's still a tough one because of all the trees reaching for your discs.

El Do is a solid course and well worth a stop by if you're anywhere down in the southern LA metro area or Orange County.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated

2-4    7/8/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 89  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Concrete tee pads. Signs with map on every hole. Large ash trees make good obstacles. Quiet and pretty setting. Shop has accurate map and sells discs. Practice basket. Course is easy to find and easy to follow. Short and long holes. Course is in an area of the park that is seldom used by non-golfers. Some antique (or almost antique) baskets show a bit of the course's relatively long history.
Cons: Lacks elevation changes (but makes good use of what it has). Some holes are repetetive.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course not to be missed. Any flaws this course has are slight and can easily be ignored. One of the best courses in Southern California.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in LB

5+    6/5/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 57  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good blend of long and short holes
-Decent tee pads and signage, for the most part the course flows in a logical manner
-Nice park setting, with very few non-disc golfers in the area.
-Pro shop
-Friendly locals
-Generally plays pretty fast
Cons: -Old style DiscCatchers, the ones with the shallow cages and heavy chains, I hate those!
- A little confusing layout around the middle of the course, but it's definitely not the worst I've seen
Other Thoughts: They built a solid course to work on your game at El Do. It's worth playing if you are in the area. I always talk about how I don't really like the course, but I continue to go back, for whatever that's worth lol.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great place for a relaxing round

5+    6/20/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flat terrain, lots of trees, all in all an inviting place for a casual round or two. All the holes are fair. None are contrived, each poses its own particular problems for you to solve, and none of the problems are insoluble.

This course will also teach you the manifest benefits of keeping your disc LOW, since you have to shoot under trees pretty regularly, esp on the front 9.

The back 9 has some good distance holes but I still don't feel overwhelmed or intimidated even though I don't have huge D.

Cons: Not much. I guess the only "con" is that there's nothing really spectacular about this course at all - no big elevation changes, no amazing scenery, everything's pretty middle-of-the-road.

Oh, the pro shop could hire some people who know discs, I guess, but at least they do have discs there (it's mainly tennis) as well as a lost-and-found.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to take newbies to. It's definitely more than a pitch-n-putt course but it won't eat a new player's lunch.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, Good People

1    1/18/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Course Layout
Variety of Distances
Mix of Shot Types
Cool Locals (Helpful & Very Friendly)
Very Well Maintained
Nice Tee Pads
Pro Shop On-Site
Ample Parking
Cons:
Older Baskets
Other Park Users Can Be An Issue (Non-Golfers)
Little to No Elevation Changes
Other Thoughts:
El Dorado Disc Golf Course is located in a large regional park just of Spring and Studebaker in Long Beach. There is parking near the first tee, right next to the public library.

The course plays through a nice grassy, flat park. Navigation is pretty straight forward with each tee close to the previous basket. There were a couple exceptions, the first being between holes 6 and 7, just head back towards the parking lot, along the path and the tee pad is just off the path on the right. The other being between holes 12 and 13. The tee pad for 15 is close by and we tried to skip a couple holes. The locals were able to point us in the right direction and it was smooth sailing from there on out.

The course has great variety, holes vary in direction and distance. There are multiple pins placements (A,B, and C) on each hole making it very easy to change this course up on a regular basis. In the shorts anyone can play with holes ranging from 201ft. to 366ft, while the longs range from 216ft. to just over 700ft making it tougher for even advanced players. Usually they are in mixed postions and have a nice balance for everyone to enjoy.

The course itself is fairly open, but there are enough large mature trees to force you to shape your shots on most holes. The first six holes play around the the corner of the park allowing the street to come into play on most of these holes adding another challenge. The course also plays around and beside other park amenities such as a ball golf course and tennis courts. Other park users seem pretty familiar with the course, rarely get in the way, and are always on the look out for flying discs which is a nice change from some of the parks in my area.

Overall this is a pretty good course, both beginners and advanced players will enjoy themselves. I would recommend this course to anyone that visits the Long Beach area and I would play it again if I get the chance, however if you only have time for one course in the greater LA area there are a couple I would choose over this one.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: variety of shots, shade, go early and its empty, each hole has 3 baskets, variety, location
Cons: wet grass in the early morning, i could imagine in the midday there could be a lot of foot traffic on the paths. could hit people or have to wait
Other Thoughts: im coming back to this place for sure. check it out. i dont have long distance on my tee shots but it took me 2 shots to get close to most of the basket. so i think its a good place for beg/int and there a couple short holes. if your really starting out you should try ford park in redlands or liberty park down the streeet from el dor. lib is really short good to warmup on or get better confidence with some pars

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Southbay/ OC, Must Play Course!!! Please re-read Review

5+    2/27/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many different shots. Long and short holes, a few wooded/ tight, but mostly open shots. A few minor elevation changes. Well maintained park. Nice teesigns, accurate. Hole placements are changed regularly, makes playing it different from week to week. Challenges me every time.

Pretty much a DG exclusive area!!

Very difficult if all holes are laid out at the long positions. All short is much easier. So, the course can be tweaked several different ways

Pro shop at Tennis Courts with restroom. The other restroom is by hole 18.

Excellent Tee pads, Grippy, Large concrete. A few trash cans spread around to keep it clean.
Cons: Has a few Discatcher, I wish they could make it consistent with all Machs. But, that isn't my real issue with the course layout. A hole is a hole...

Pretty flat. No big though, that area of the county is just flat

Need to keep the hole placements consistent with signage. Sometimes Hole 11 is used for tee 10, and there is an extra placement for #8.... Just keep it on the signage for simplicity and the new guy. It is all a challenge to me, just a consistency issue. Just stupid to have excellent signage and not have the hole reflect what is on the teesign. Some of the boots are no good and the new hole placements don't reflect the teesigns

Not many cons to list, besides bastardizing the great teesigns with placing tees that consistent with what is shown on the sign
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in the N. O.C./ South LA area. Nothing to rave about and nothing to really complain about (beside the odd time the jack the holes). Just a solid course. Rather play this than LaMirada for some reason (probably because the tees are better here). Maybe just more laid back and less crowded, I don't know....... Just like it more

Locals are great and fun to play with. Monthlys held. Can get crowded on weekends. If you have a Roller in you bag it helps with a few holes (#7 & #8), low ceilings and tight.

I just love it because it challenges all skill set of players

Favorite Holes:
Front, #2. Each placement requires a different throw or skill. Throw at it straight ahead or have to hook/ anhyzer (if your lefty) or just roll it. Too many options/ choices depending/ regardless of placement
Back, # freakin' 12. At its shortest point, a decent long hole..... At its longest, a humiliating experience. The 549'( (the mid placement) is a great test to get par

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    1/11/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: stevoe70
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course layout is well designed for beginners as well as being challenging enough for experienced players.
Alot of trees to throw around, under, and over.
Some slight elevation changes on some holes.
Hole number 12 sometimes plays in the 700 feet plus position; good for big arm players.
Concrete Tee pads are large enough for a decent X step approach.
Grass is kept well trimmed, which is good for rollers.
Very few Non Disc Golf players on the course itself.
Holes are relocated on a frequent basis to give you some variety, and are far enough to make it a challenge, but still close enough to give most players a good chance for birdies.
Pro-shop with restroom.
Locals are very nice and helpful, and I am frequently approached by solo players to join in when I play solo.
Cons: Hole number ones Tee pad plays right behind a walkway where there are frequent people walking by. Should have put the Tee pad in front of the walkway. Also, hole 1 plays too close to parked cars in the parking lot.
Too many straight line shots; would be nice to have more holes that require big hyzers or anhyzers, or maybe a dog-leg hole.
No lights. Would be nice to have lights for night play.
No out of bounds marked anywhere, only a few mandatories.
Other Thoughts: Here are the hole descriptions on the course, and some recommended throws for right handed backhand throwers.
Hole one plays with trees to the front and right, and the OB parking lot to the left. The trees overhang pretty low, and there is a mandatory that requires you to keep to the left of the trees. Depending on the hole position, you may have to throw straight and low for a short distance, a low turnover shot for an average distance, or a longer low turnover shot.
Hole two plays with a tree that is near the front of the Tee pad, then a clearing in front, then some more trees past the clearing that run in front and to the left. The library sits to the left. When the hole is situated to the left position, an average distance hyzer shot is required. When it is located straight ahead, an average distance straight flat shot is required.
Hole three plays through a few small trees scattered along the flight path. The hole is placed on a very slight uphill, and then drops off behind the hole. OB street is to the left. A low short slight hyzer skip shot works good with this hole.
Hole four is a straight average distance low tunnel shot with over hanging trees playing to the left and right of the hole.
Hole five plays over a tiny hill with a tree to the right of the Tee pad and a tree to the left further up the flight path. Depending on the hole position this shot can play blind or partially in view. When it is in view, I usually throw a slight hyzer with skip towards the hole. When it is blind, I usually thrown a flex shot over the hill.
Hole six plays with a brick bunker to the right, and some big tree trunks to the left, making a small opening to get to the hole which is located amongst some more trees.OB street to the left. A straight flat shot works with this hole. Or you can throw a hyzer over the brick bunker.
Hole seven plays with a large clearing in front of the Tee pad, then a whole bunch of low overhanging trees scattered in front of the hole. There is a mandatory which requires you to keep to the right. A good roller is recommended on this hole. Or you can throw a long low straight flat shot. Or a very high flex shot over the trees.
Hole eight plays on a slight downhill with low hanging trees scattered in front of the hole. Depending on the hole placement you may have to throw a long roller, a long flex shot over the trees, or an average distance low flat tunnel shot.
Hole nine plays in the direction where hole one Tee pad is. There are trees to the right and left of this hole, and an OB walkway to the left. The trees are pretty high so you can just throw a long straight shot, or flex shot to this hole.
Hole ten tees off right in front of the Pro-shop. There are tall trees to the right and left, with a large clear opening down the middle. OB walkway to the left and behind the hole. Depending on the hole placement, it will either be an average distance straight or flex shot, or an average distance shot with a slight fade to the left.
Hole eleven tees off right next to the tennis courts, and plays pretty much across an open field with only one tree located in the field. Depending on the hole placement, this will be a straight shot, or a very slight hyzer shot around the tree to the hole.
Hole 12 plays to the right alongside the asphalt walkway, and is pretty much a clear shot. The hole can either be placed on the other side of the walkway to the left a good distance, or it can be placed straight ahead 700 plus feet past a few large trees next to the golf course. Throw whatever shot gives you the most distance. A hyzer flip gets me the most distance.
Hole thirteen tees off atop a small hill with the hole located down that hill back in the direction of hole twelves Tee pad. There are large trees located in front of this hole with a mandatory which requires you to keep to the right. Depending on the hole placement, you may have to throw a short shot with a fade to the left or right depending on which side of the trees you throw towards, or an average distance straight shot with a left or right fade.
Hole fourteen tees off alongside the northside of the tennis courts. The tennis court is OB. The hole can either be placed behind a bunch of tall trees on the side of a small hill, or it can be amongst the trunks of the tall trees. Just throw a long straight shot towards the basket.
Hole fifteen plays over a small wide hill, and is blind no matter which position the hole is in. The hole can either be an average distance slightly to the right, or a longer distance straight in front. There is a small bush located in front of the Tee pad along the flight line. A big flex shot over the hill works here.
Hole sixteen plays atop a small hill, and back in the direction where you tee'd off for hole fifteen. There is a narrow mandatory to the left and right marked on the two tree trunks directly in front. Depending on the hole placement, this can either be a straight shot, or will be a straight turnover shot when the hole is located towards the right.
Hole seventeen plays alongside the eastside of the tennis courts. The tennis courts are OB. This hole can play blind when located to the left behind the hill, or can be located straight in front. There is a mandatory that requires you to keep to the right. When the hole is blind a straight shot over the hill will work, or you can throw a slight hyzer skip shot around the hill. When the hole is in front, just a straight shot is good.
Hole eighteen plays alongside the southside of the tennis courts. Again, the tennis courts are OB. There are some large trees directly to the right of the tee pad, and then a large clear area in front. The hole is located straight ahead behind some tall trees. A long straight shot to the right or left of the trees with a fade towards the hole at the end is good.
There is also a hole nineteen which the locals made up for this course. You tee off on the walkway which is located in front of hole eighteen. It is marked with spray paint. Throw in an Northward direction towards the practice basket located to the left of the walkway. A slight hyzer skip off the walkway towards the basket is recommended.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/21/2008   12/21/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing several other courses in Southern California, I finally decided to make it down to Long Beach and play El Dorado after hearing all the good reviews from other players. I was not disappointed. This is a very nice course and well worth the extra driving time. The course is in a scenic park and plays over grass throughout. Predominantly flat course with subtle elevation changes here and there. The challenge with this course are the trees that seem to have been strategically planted to present obstacles just for this course. The designers did a good job of setting up the teepads and pin placements. The key to being successful here is being consistent with flat controlled throws or very good rollers. There are several holes that are 300' plus and big arm is very helpful. I found myself with a lot long birdie attempts and made at least par on every hole. Moving from hole to hole was relatively easy - especially if you pick up a map from the pro shop. The locals were very friendly with pointing me in the right direction. Also, the course was very easy to get to right off the 605 freeway. I will be coming back again for sure.
Cons: The only negative thing I can say is that I would have liked to seen more elevation changes and out of bounds hazards. Aside from a few holes that have mandatories, a player can pretty much wind up and throw without much fear of a penalty. The only thing that keeps you in check is the trees. I would suggest more mandatories or designate out of bounds more clearly.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.