Richmond (Varina), VA 
Dorey Park Share
Uploaded By: JonathanAlan721 Hole #7 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 225ft.   4 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
ton o fun

1    3/8/2013   8/8/2014
Review By: boursin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: set in an incredible park. easy to find first hole. playing in the woods is great, good elevation, some open throws some tight throws, fairly easy to score on this course, good for beginners and long time players. a must if you are in the Richmond area, I was able to play a round before my flight left back to Florida, very convenient location right next to the airport with no plane noise issues. I played when the temperature was in the high 20s so there was some ice patches that must have been little puddles, the locals were great (they were in shorts and t-shirts) way to cold for a guy from Florida. Play this course if you are in the area
Cons: signage signage, some holes a bit confusing to find pads were not very good can be very wet I am sure after a good rain
Other Thoughts: place this course and enjoy yourself the locals were great and very helpful when I need to find the next hole

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey Park

1    12/3/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Wildcat_29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The Layout of the course makes it easy to go from one hole to the other without looking and wandering around to find the next tee
-Lots of ace opportunities
-Well thought out with various challenges as far as basket placement.
Cons: -While the signs help with finding the tee, Ive always been a fan of maps showing where the basket is.
-The walk does kinda suck, but I do this for exercise and to enjoy being outside so I didn't mind too much.
Other Thoughts: I live in the tidewater area and made the short drive up here and I really enjoyed this course but with all the area around that park it would be nice if another 9 holes were placed in there, its a really nice place to play a round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, But Really Secluded

1    8/31/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: >18 hole challenging course with good lanes to throw, true challenges, not a toss and a prayer.

>Nice. It looks nice, is well thought out, and has nice appearance. Also, there are mounds that are made for challenges. It has character.
Cons: >Have fun driving to the complete back of the park, only to walk behind a LAKE, to find the entrance, where you walk some more to find #1. Hope you like walking it, because you get to do it again when you get done. :)

Natural Tees, though sanded, are always a hazard in my book.
Other Thoughts: Look, I like peace, but I could sneak up on deer out there, really too far out. Would be a great place for a Halloween disc golf game/scare.

Really, a nice course, just too wooded, and the open holes really are not too open. Not much variety, just woods.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 9 or 18

5+    5/2/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Love how holes 1, 9, and 18 are all in the same spot in case you want to only play 9. Lots of fun woods holes. Great use of the area, Every hole is something different and the course makes great use of different levels of height even though the are itself is relatively flat.
Cons: I've lost and found more discs here than anywhere else. A few blind shots through the woods where if you miss, you could end up hunting for a while.
Other Thoughts: A must play Richmond course!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Better Ones

5+    10/1/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: indigo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I really like this course. This is my "home course" and I enjoy playing here. My husband and I have been trying out other courses, we haven't found one that we like more than Dorey.
Other Thoughts: The course moves pretty fast, so even when there are a lot of people playing, you really don't have to wait. As far as the trash and graffiti, that is suppose to be maintained by Henrico parks and Rec (I think!). You could always give them a call to let them know about the condition it's in.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/11/2007   7/19/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Not a lot of traffic. The course is far enough away from the rest of the park that you don't have a lot of Casuals wandering down the fairways. The holes favor the accurate over the boomer. Two open holes. Fun to play.
Cons: Some of the baskets need some work. The T pads are rutted and uneaven. Run ups are a little tricky. It would be better if they trimmed some of the brush back.
Other Thoughts: I will play Dory park again. It is cool under the trees during the summer. I love the work in the park feel. The fall is beautiful.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey

5+    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dorey is one of the better courses in Richmond. There are several courses that are closer to my house, but I still make the trek out to Dorey a few times a month because I like playing here so much. The open field for practicing drives is nice, and I'm always a fan of a course with a practice basket. The course is nicely wooded, allowing for privacy even when the fairways are close to each other. The holes all very in length and design, which makes playing here really enjoyable. It is also usually the least crowded of the Richmond area courses (except for maybe Goyne), and even on a nice weekend there aren't too many other people playing.
Cons: Dorey could be the most well-designed course in Richmond, but it's also the most neglected. Many of the baskets are either damaged or have graffiti on them. Most of the tees are either muddy or covered in roots, and the course doesn't recover from a rain very quickly. There should probably be another wooden path or two added to make it easier to get through some of the areas where the drainage problem is the worst (the holes that play closest to the giant pipe at the end of the opening in the trees). New teepads would improve this course greatly. The markers and signs on many of the tees are in pretty bad shape.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, I love playing at Dorey and will continue to play there regularly. Another point that most of the other reviewers have not addressed - the pars on this course are not appropriate for anyone playing at an intermediate level or higher. They should all be par 3's. Many of the par 4 and par 5 holes are very short and would be par 3's at other area courses. I play par 3 from the white tees on the whole course and find it challenging but practical. If you play often and play the pars as marked you will end up 10 under par at the end of the day. Could be a good way to boost that self esteem but not nearly as challenging.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A peaceful walk in the woods

2-4    5/15/2007   9/6/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A nice mostly wooded course. There are some scenic fairways and some fun holes.
*It's very peaceful and secluded and not crowded.
*2 Sets of tees adds variety.
*A creek comes into play on some holes.
Cons: There are drainage problems on some tees and fairways after it's rained.
Other Thoughts: Long Tees Course Level = Blue

Hole lengths-- White: 17 <299/ 1<399, Blue: 12<299/ 4<399/ 2>400. Longer throwers will probably think that the White tees are too short for their game.
-My favorite holes were 16. A straight downhill ace run in a tight tree lined alley, and 14. Left and downhill to a great green.
-For people who like courses in the woods this should be a fun one to play.

For more detailed information check out the my Review notes in the Files section.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 very fun course

11/24/2006   8/2/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very fun course with a good variety of holes. Challenging with alot of woods.
Cons: Poor drainage on some holes. bring your muddy sneeks if you play after rain.
Other Thoughts: difficult to find the park for the first time. Once in the park I had to ask around "where is the disc golf course?" Some nice old man fishing in the pond told me where it was. Its way in the back of the park.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.