Richmond (Varina), VA 
Dorey Park Share
Uploaded By: JonathanAlan721 Hole #16 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 195ft.   4 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Regular Richmond Course

5+    11/11/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATE: So...Just got back out and played Dorey since the storm damage. Good news, someone dropped some money and put in some fancy blue "Tee X" signs, that are really easy to spot. Bad news, there are some bent cages that presumably got hit and haven't been replaced, and some nice stacks of wood which make it fun to find discs. Also, a couple of the tees are holding water pretty well now...had to throw from behind them in order to stay dry. This seems limited to white tees...pro tees all looked fine.


Dorey is a well thought out wooded course with a range of hole styles. There are a couple of open holes that shoot down what appears to be a power line easement. The course varies, with both left and right doglegs. Trash cans abound, there is ample parking, and the course also has a few covered shelters under which one can hide from the rain. There were plenty of signs to keep us headed in the right direction, and a practice tee at the beginning of the course allows for practice putting. There's a decent bit of elevation change and, although it was raining, the course, for the most part, was not overly muddy or messy. For the most part, underbrush has been thinned, and the course is well maintained. The course is mostly heavily wooded, so you can play here without having to worry about the hot summer sun as much.
Cons: Tee beds are natural, which can lead to slippage. Also, one of the tee pads was instead a giant puddle due to the rain, but this did not plague the entire course. There is a little ambiguity in layout of the second half, but the course is still easy enough to follow.
Other Thoughts: It's a bit of a hike to get to the first tee but, as I play for pleasure and exercise, this doesn't bother me. If I wanted a golf cart, I'd play stick golf. Furthermore, the distance from the main part of the park provides some seclusion, meaning frosty beverages can be enjoyed away from prying eyes. This course is very enjoyable, and I highly recommend it as a compliment to Bryan, with Bryan being the place to work your arm and show your big booming drives, and Dorey being the more technical course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, But Really Secluded

1    8/31/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: >18 hole challenging course with good lanes to throw, true challenges, not a toss and a prayer.

>Nice. It looks nice, is well thought out, and has nice appearance. Also, there are mounds that are made for challenges. It has character.
Cons: >Have fun driving to the complete back of the park, only to walk behind a LAKE, to find the entrance, where you walk some more to find #1. Hope you like walking it, because you get to do it again when you get done. :)

Natural Tees, though sanded, are always a hazard in my book.
Other Thoughts: Look, I like peace, but I could sneak up on deer out there, really too far out. Would be a great place for a Halloween disc golf game/scare.

Really, a nice course, just too wooded, and the open holes really are not too open. Not much variety, just woods.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Where a girl can keep up!

5+    10/8/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 10/8/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Being a newer female player this course is my favorite. It is more of a techinical course that challenges the thrower. The short pars allow a weaker thrower to keep up. The woodage allows for disc lay ups for the longer pars. There are long and short tees that allow for more than just par 3s. Plenty of benches and trash cans along the course. Lot's of ACE oppertunities.
Cons: No parking near the course. Preparing for a day in the sun is a challenge to keep hydrated. After a few rounds in the heat the walk becomes uncomfortable. The n
there are a few baskets that need replacement from trees falling on them and bending.
Other Thoughts: UPDATED: Park is OPEN. 10/08/11
Thanks guys for all the hard work you did to get it up and playable. You can see down tree stumps everywhere. I love this course and the use of nature. The trees are a great challenge that allows the game to stay close. Easily able to par most on the short tees with plenty of birdie oppertunities. Disc are easily Found in he woods. Great for begginers and intermediates and advance.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the love?

1    6/8/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in the back of a large park full of family amenities and activities. Multiple tees for each hole providing either additional length, or in some cases totally different angles off the tee pad. Course is far removed from rest of park and has a nice quiet, secluded feel to it. There are some trails through the woods for other park users, but they didn't look heavily travelled.

Course is mostly wooded, but also has a few spots where you can let a big driver fly. Hole design has good variety. Nice mix of lefts and rights. Not a ton of elevation present, but what there is is used well.

Course plays mostly as a technical wooded course. Disc control and placement ismmore important than distance. Even with the wooded fairways most of the holes have an obvious line to the basket. On a couple holes it takes a good eye to see a line, but they are there. Even if they are a little tight at times. But there are no shots that you throw and pray.
Cons: Natural tee pads in various degrees of wear.

Signs that indicate hole number but nothing else. No distances or hole design. No navigation aids. For the most part navigation isn't too bad, but in a few spots there are multiple trails leading away from the basket. There are some walking trails out there too.

Older baskets can be a little hard too see in the woods. They could use a flag or bright tape to make them stand out.

Other Thoughts: From the short tees this course is pretty much a putter course. From the long tees it plays much more challenging, and can be more than tough enough. There is a decent mix of shots needed to score well, decent use of elevation, and a couple cool basket positions to add to the difficulty. There is probably only one or two holes that seem kind of thrown in for convenience. Mostly the holes in the open easement. Other than those there really are no bad holes on this course. But there are no memorable or epic holes either. I enjoyed my round, but was never super excited as I stepped up to any of the tees. It's a good course, and could be even better with some decent tee pads and signage, but it's not the kind of course that you'll make a point of traveling to from a distance or dream of getting back to.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey Park

1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Cool, easy enough for the beginner but still a little challenging for the more experienced dg'er. Easy to follow holes.
Cons: A problem that a lot of parks have, they need better signage. Other than that, I was pleased.....

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Wooded course

1    10/15/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice wooded course that offers some challenging shots around trees, but balances it out with pretty nice fairways within the woods. No hole was impossible if you placed your disc well.
It was pretty easy to follow the course, once you actually found the first tee. For those wanting to play the course, hole number one is behind the pond, in the woods to the right.
Each hole was marked with a metal tee sign.
Cons: The tee boxes were just blocks on the ground, many were missing, and the blue tees were very difficult to find at times, if not nonexistent.
The par was ridiculously generous, but maybe that isn't a con. ;)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a beginner. Not much of a challenge for an experienced player, but it was a fun course to play. It was enjoyable to play a woods course that actually had fairways in the trees. All in all, a nice course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dorey Park is a mostly wooded course that will offer plenty of fun. The entire park was very clean and felt safe. Perfect for a quick round because there aren't many holes over 300 ft. from the short tee. Holes #9 and #18 end near the start.
Other Pros:
-easy to navigate without a map (arrows on baskets when the next tee isn't obvious)
-fairways are tight but fair
-obstacles (trees, elevation, earth mounds)
-tee signs, benches, garbage cans
-practice basket
-2 tees
Cons: Wish I had brought the bug spray!
-no real fantastic hole

Not a "big deal" cons:
-some signs and baskets were slightly damaged
-not a great amount of variety
-a somewhat long walk from parking lot to course
Really just pointing these out they weren't a huge problem.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #12. It was short but there were really cool earthen mounds as obstacles. It is a large park used by many non-disc golfers but the course is mostly set away from the other activities. Porta-potty near the parking lot. The course is in the woods, from the parking lot walk along the fountain pond until you see the practice basket, from there follow the gravel path. This course will be a nice compliment to the other Richmond courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice and Quiet

1    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: PauOnePunch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Quiet. Not many people around and plenty of places to chill out. Almost all wooded.
Cons: Seems like rain could wreck this course. Looks like it would get muddy fast.
Other Thoughts: I will absolutely be going back on a regular basis to this course

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 9 or 18

5+    5/2/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Love how holes 1, 9, and 18 are all in the same spot in case you want to only play 9. Lots of fun woods holes. Great use of the area, Every hole is something different and the course makes great use of different levels of height even though the are itself is relatively flat.
Cons: I've lost and found more discs here than anywhere else. A few blind shots through the woods where if you miss, you could end up hunting for a while.
Other Thoughts: A must play Richmond course!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Better Ones

5+    10/1/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: indigo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I really like this course. This is my "home course" and I enjoy playing here. My husband and I have been trying out other courses, we haven't found one that we like more than Dorey.
Other Thoughts: The course moves pretty fast, so even when there are a lot of people playing, you really don't have to wait. As far as the trash and graffiti, that is suppose to be maintained by Henrico parks and Rec (I think!). You could always give them a call to let them know about the condition it's in.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.