Richmond (Varina), VA 
Dorey Park Share
Uploaded By: JonathanAlan721 Hole #7 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 225ft.   4 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Blue Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Dorey Do!

1    7/21/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: huckman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Woods, woods, woods. if you like woods this is the course for you. challenging course.
Cons: Poor tee boxes. Small too. Got confused a few times on which way to go. some sort of map would help.
Other Thoughts: Peaceful, quiet, rustic, secluded. Felt like i was on the AT. It was a great way to get away from it all. worth the trip to play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

1    8/8/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: itsbai
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It's very peaceful in a very nice park
-also doubles as a nature trail
-passed by a couple people, very friendly bunch of folk
-never had to search for more than 2 minutes for a disc
Cons: -after rain, the tees can get a little muddy
-my buddy tripped over protruding roots numerous times ;)
-no map anywhere to be found, at times it was "guess and chuck"
Other Thoughts: This is a great course! I usually go to Goyne, but this blows it out of the water! Dorey park in it's entirety is a very nice place; nice people, nice fields, clean feel. I'm eagar to go bak now.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid Wooded Course

5+    7/7/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent mix of shots: forehand, backhand, tunnel shots ect. Wonderful course to practice shaping your lines.
-Short and long tees are a big pro here because the difference between the shorts and longs is a completely different course.
-Located in a part of the park that is exclusively for disc golf, there is little to no miscellaneous foot traffic.
-Well worn course which keeps the rough from getting overbearing and keeps lost discs to a minimum for a wooded course
Cons: -Tees are natural with blocks at the front of the pads. some days this is ok but if its been wet they can be a mess.
-Signage isn't great, although the course has very little extra walking between the pin and next tee so navigation isn't much of an issue.
-There isn't a tremendous variety in distances and no holes that could be considered signatre holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid woods course that i have played many times trying to improve my line shaping, any line you want to practice is available on this site. The difference in the long and short tees is substantial lets you decide how you want to test yourself on any given day (a good round from the shorts is 9 or 10 down, from the longs one down is solid). This course won't blow you away but it will test your accuracy and provide an enjoyable day throwing discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Technical and very annoying

5+    7/18/2012   3/16/2013
Review By: rar6nm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: = Very technical shots, all very short. Hones your lines in for intermediate players. The trees make you learn. Two medium holes to keep you from going stir crazy from all the 200' madness (medium at best coming from Bryan Park standards)

= Environment is very nice and peaceful, and the locals are nice too (one gave me a free millennium JLS).

= Doesn't require a variety of disc selection. Bring a VERY straight midrange for medium to power players and a VERY straight fairway driver if you're lacking power, and a putter and that's it.

= Navigation is very straight forward. If my friend can navigate this course with ease (which is REALLY saying something), you can too
Cons: = So.....many.....trees!!! Granted the trees make it very interesting and a very technical course, but some of the holes are just ridiculous. Your best shot is going to hit a tree, the issue is will it get a good bounce. Bring a buzz or a straight roc, you'll need it. The most annoying thing that can happen is throwing a perfect shot, just to have it anhyzer a bit on you, and gets ruined by a tree. YOU HAVE NO ROOM FOR ERROR
Other Thoughts: This course could remain nice and technical, and yet be so much better with the removal of just a couple trees on the entire course. That's it.

Be patient, and bring straight discs and you'll have fun

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    2/24/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: zewski12
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easily Navigated(when you find it you have to go to the farthest part of the park)
-Located in a gorgeous park with plenty of other activities.
-Friendly locals.
-Course is located in a active park with a lot of people there but is tucked in the back so you dont have to worry about avoiding park visitors.
-Good mixture of wooded and open holes.
Cons: -Old baskets but it didn't effect the game, I've seen worse.
-Muddy but i played the day after it rained so I'm sure its not an issue in warmer months.
-Had a hard time finding it the first time because it is tucked all the way at the end of this very large park but it will be easy to find when i return.
-Muddy tees but again probably not an issue in warmer months.
-The pars are way off... Just play "pro par" (3 for everything) and it will all level out.
Other Thoughts: I very much enjoyed this course. Good mixture of open and wooded holes. Some difficult but if they are all easy whats the point? Of course i cursed the trees out when i was out there but there are open lanes for every hole you just have to hit them. The course was easy to navigate and both blue and white tees were easy to find. The only thing i would change about this course is put some good tee boxes in, hole maps on the signage instead of just a number, and change the Pars... I don't shoot -10 ever except here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Potential

2-4    2/11/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variety of rights and lefts
- Good use of elevation
- Nice benches and bag poles
- Challenging
- Very limited chance of disc lose
- Some of the blue tees really add to the challenge : 100+ft, or additional tree gates, additional line shaping
Cons: - No Overall map or Hole diagrams
- Only two open holes (one more with open fairway but basket tucked in woods
- Several holes that had very tight lines; removing just a few trees would really eliminate the luck aspect of some fairways
- Difficult to see the baskets (Paint the top basket markers)
- Dirt pads
- Difficult to find some of the blue tees.
Other Thoughts: - Hole info on this site indicates multiple tees on every hole; however, many of the tee markers are painted both white and blue.

- Par information is messed up as well - I threw a 57 from the whites (+3) and a 58 from the blues (-14)?? Just forget par and enjoy.

- Don't get me wrong I wouldn't want to dramaticly open up the entire course, just so many tight woods and splitter trees gets a little tiring. It would nice to have 1 or 2 more holes you can relax and open up on.

This course has a lot of Potential. With a few little improvements (add a map at the entrance, some hole diagrams, cut a few small trees, and paint the top markers) this could easily be 1/2 to one full disc higher rated. Adding gravel pads would be a lot of work but would be icing on the cake.

I'll come back here rather than the overcrowed and overused Bryan Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenig and alot of fun

5+    11/25/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate
-isolated
-lots of tough holes and easier ones to make up for a rough one early on in the round
-bag holders at each tee
-normally pretty empty as far as people go
-lots of wildlife considering your in the middle of the woods
-nice, open area to warm up while walking towards the course
-very well kept
-Great on a windy day because trees block most of the wind!
-Hole in one oppurtunites for the less fortunate distance folk like myself.
Cons: -One of those courses where one hole you can have it going and the next be frustrated due to the large amount of trees one must avoid on each hole
-Baskets are getting old
-Trees GALORE
Other Thoughts: Got my best score as to date at this course so i am a tad bit bi-est in my opinions on its awesomeness. Really like the course and it gives the finesse player and the power player an even template to compete on!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course in a Nice Park

1    7/28/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: PapiChullo
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Even though it's located in a park where there were a good number of people out and about doing other activities, the course is in an isolated area and almost feels like it's own entity. Never had to worry about any pedestrians.

- 2 sets of tees
- Not crowded
- Lots of scoring opportunities if you hit the right lines
- Although there wasn't any signage, it was pretty easy to follow the natural flow of the course and most of the baskets you can see from the tee, so it's not too hard to figure out where you need to go.
Cons: - Holes are kind of repetitive, so doesn't force you to use the entire bag.
- Bit of a walk from parking lot to first tee.
Other Thoughts: - Take some bug spray with you, and beware of the spider webs if you go off the fairway.
- Watch out for the hollies as well.
- Fun course to play, could imagine it being a lot quicker to get through once you've played it a few times.
- Was in Richmond for the weekend and ran into another golfer at Bryan that told me Dorey was the oldest course in the area, so pretty neat and would recommend playing.

 Well Manicured Woods

1    3/30/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the best maintained course in Richmond.

The park around it is very beautiful. Great warmup field as you get to the start of the course, and also a nice practice basket before the start. That is always a plus.

2 sets of tees for different levels of challenge.

For a wooded course, there are very well defined shot lines that reward a good shot while fairly punishing a poor one.

Great elevation changes with some really neat approach shots on the back nine.

The holes that play down the underground lines path are really cool. It made for a really nice fairway.

Good hole signs. Navigation between holes was generally easy. Obvious paths led to the next hole which was marked by bright blue signs.
Cons: Natural tees are very slick here. And they hold water pretty badly.

Some of the baskets are bent from recent storm damage.

Simply too many short holes through the trees. It got a bit monotonous.

Navigation to the course from the park entrance is a problem. Basically no navigation exists. The course itself is around the lake at the end of the park. It takes some wandering to get there if you haven't been there before. Look for a large wooden sign across the lake from the last parking lot. A gravel path through the woods from there will lead you to the first tee.

The "par" from the blue tees is ridiculously inflated...most every hole could still easily a par 3.
Other Thoughts: I had been waiting to come here because I had heard it was way too narrow and in the woods, but it is actually appropriately narrow. This course most definitely holds its own with Bryan and Gillies.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey Park

1    12/3/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Wildcat_29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The Layout of the course makes it easy to go from one hole to the other without looking and wandering around to find the next tee
-Lots of ace opportunities
-Well thought out with various challenges as far as basket placement.
Cons: -While the signs help with finding the tee, Ive always been a fan of maps showing where the basket is.
-The walk does kinda suck, but I do this for exercise and to enjoy being outside so I didn't mind too much.
Other Thoughts: I live in the tidewater area and made the short drive up here and I really enjoyed this course but with all the area around that park it would be nice if another 9 holes were placed in there, its a really nice place to play a round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center