Richmond (Varina), VA 
Dorey Park Share
Uploaded By: JonathanAlan721 Hole #9 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 275ft.   4 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of the Better Ones

5+    10/1/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: indigo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I really like this course. This is my "home course" and I enjoy playing here. My husband and I have been trying out other courses, we haven't found one that we like more than Dorey.
Other Thoughts: The course moves pretty fast, so even when there are a lot of people playing, you really don't have to wait. As far as the trash and graffiti, that is suppose to be maintained by Henrico parks and Rec (I think!). You could always give them a call to let them know about the condition it's in.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the woods.

5+    11/15/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: mrjohnahawley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Secluded, quiet, and natural. Well defined fairways, even on wooded holes.
Cons: Could be kept up a bit better. People need to stop littering. Needs bag posts.
Other Thoughts: Not much else to say. This was my first course and I love it dearly.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/11/2007   7/19/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Not a lot of traffic. The course is far enough away from the rest of the park that you don't have a lot of Casuals wandering down the fairways. The holes favor the accurate over the boomer. Two open holes. Fun to play.
Cons: Some of the baskets need some work. The T pads are rutted and uneaven. Run ups are a little tricky. It would be better if they trimmed some of the brush back.
Other Thoughts: I will play Dory park again. It is cool under the trees during the summer. I love the work in the park feel. The fall is beautiful.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 another good Richmond course

5+    5/16/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -dual tees on every hole
-great basket placements
-great course layout (you can leave after 9 if you want a short round)
-Dorey park as a whole is an AMAZING park, very nice
-fun elevation changes
-the white tees are very beginner friendly but still provide a challenge
-the blue tees are not overly difficult but will still provide a minor challenge to a more experienced player
-a few ace runs
-practice basket before you head into the woods where the course is
Cons: -the upkeep. the course is in the woods at the back of the park and its not exactly easily accessible for cleaning or pruning so there can be trash around, and in the spring/summer it can get quite overgrown
-natural tees that are getting a bit too worn, and not all of the marker blocks are there anymore
-about half the signs are inaccurate
-the baskets on 13 & 14 are damaged, but not unplayable. the trays are just bent up, so if you don't putt just right you disc can fall out more easily
-long walk from the parking area to tee one (probably like 300 yards +)
-holes 10-13 become quite flooded after it rains, so if that's the case be prepared to get wet feet (but it does add a really fun lake as a water hazard to 11)
Other Thoughts: Dorey is a mostly wooded course with a few select open holes (9, 10, 13). Honestly if it had cement tees and the foliage was trimmed every once in a while it would be on the same level as Bryan and Gillies in the Richmond region.

Dorey is outside of Richmond, by the airport, but if you're in the Richmond area definitely play it as part of the Big 3 in the area (w/ Bryan and Gillies), you won't regret it.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice woods course

1    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: CMS8
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some woods courses have so many trees in the fairways that you just have to throw it and pray, but for a woods course Dorey has clearly designated fairways so the trees are still a challenge, but you won't feel frustrated by not having throwing lanes.
Even though some signs were missing or wrong, it's still pretty easy to find your way.
Beautiful park setting, picnic shelters, restrooms (port-a-johns).
Cons: Dirt tee pads. But they are mostly in good shape for being dirt.
Par is way too high. Intermediate/beginning players should/could play this as a par 3 course.
Some signs are missing or just wrong, especially regarding the location of blue tees.
Other Thoughts: I've only played Dorey once but will definitely return. I'm from Williamsburg and found that playing Bryan Park, Gillies Creek, and Dorey Park in one day makes for a great 54-hole day.
A Richmond disc golfer told me that lots of downed leaves in the fall and winter means lots of lost discs at Dorey, and I can see that happening.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey

5+    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dorey is one of the better courses in Richmond. There are several courses that are closer to my house, but I still make the trek out to Dorey a few times a month because I like playing here so much. The open field for practicing drives is nice, and I'm always a fan of a course with a practice basket. The course is nicely wooded, allowing for privacy even when the fairways are close to each other. The holes all very in length and design, which makes playing here really enjoyable. It is also usually the least crowded of the Richmond area courses (except for maybe Goyne), and even on a nice weekend there aren't too many other people playing.
Cons: Dorey could be the most well-designed course in Richmond, but it's also the most neglected. Many of the baskets are either damaged or have graffiti on them. Most of the tees are either muddy or covered in roots, and the course doesn't recover from a rain very quickly. There should probably be another wooden path or two added to make it easier to get through some of the areas where the drainage problem is the worst (the holes that play closest to the giant pipe at the end of the opening in the trees). New teepads would improve this course greatly. The markers and signs on many of the tees are in pretty bad shape.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, I love playing at Dorey and will continue to play there regularly. Another point that most of the other reviewers have not addressed - the pars on this course are not appropriate for anyone playing at an intermediate level or higher. They should all be par 3's. Many of the par 4 and par 5 holes are very short and would be par 3's at other area courses. I play par 3 from the white tees on the whole course and find it challenging but practical. If you play often and play the pars as marked you will end up 10 under par at the end of the day. Could be a good way to boost that self esteem but not nearly as challenging.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Change of Pace

5+    2/24/2009   2/25/2009
Review By: ishelost
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like to get away from Bryan at least once a week and play Dorey. Dorey is a nice big park just outside of Richmond with a big field for throwing practice and a nice driving entrance reminiscent of the Michigan courses I started playing on. It has a feeling of privacy and serenity absent from the big and bustling Bryan. The tight fairways are challenging but not ridiculous (except on 17 blue, what?). There is a nice variety of shots and no specific style of play will give one an advantage here. The forest dampers gusts even on windy days. There is also a nice little bit of elevation change to make you think. The two open holes down the power line in the middle of the round allow a big armed player to break loose for a few as well. 11 and 12 are cool because they have more pine trees and when you play them it seems you are temporarily walking onto another course. I tend to play this course alone a lot and it is always soothing, a nice walk in the woods.
Cons: The biggest complaint I have is the tees. They are natural and in various stages of decay. Some are slanted, some are muddy, some are root ridden, some rocky, and some just way too short. I would raise the course a whole star if it had nice composite or concrete teepads. Also, a few of the baskets, especially on the back nine, are bent and need work, but I hear this is coming. There are many, many leaves on this course, the fairways could definitely stand to be raked a little. Watch where your disc lands closely because it may very well be buried. I like to throw practice shots when playing alone but I throw less and less every time I go out to Dorey. You won't have too much trouble finding the next white tee, but good luck finding all the blue tees. It took me 5 or so trips to figure them all out.
Other Thoughts: This course is too easy from whites and too hard from blues. sometimes it seems like the distance between tees is larger than the distance between the white tee and the basket. Don't trust the signs if you are trying to find the blue tees, trust your gut and look at the ground closely.

Many of the greens have trees so you have to avoid them on more than just your drive. This course is definitely not very busy and if it were closer I would play it as often as I do Bryan.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey Park

5+    11/27/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: Ragmagnet
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Dorey Park is well put together, as well as well maintained. It is a walk in the woods.
Cons: There are no cons to Dorey Park, if you are a religious disc golfer. However it can get muddy in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: Dorey park is the ideal disc golf course. It's not as challenging as Bryan Park, and it's not as easy as Dunncroft. However it is the perfect first course for anybody willing to try the sport out. Some shots are challenging, but most of the challenges are due to the trees. You may find yourself resorting to the tomahawk throw to navigate through the intense foliage.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A quiet place to play.

5+    9/1/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great technical course with some long drives down a power line. If you like a quiet place to play and is in decent shape you have it here. This course grows on you. The dual tees add variety and will challenge the better players while still making it enjoyable for the average person or beginner.
Cons: There is some drainage problems. Some of the direction and tee signs are in bad shape. There are signs to get you to the proper parking area but none that tell you to walk about 1/4 mile across a very beautiful area to the first tee. Some of the tees need work because they are uneven or have roots.
Other Thoughts: I got my first ever ace here in August on 18. Also the first time I lost a disc was here on 11. This could be a great course if a local club took up the job. I do not think its possible to find a park that is better to play for a group of people of various skill levels who just want to have a great time together.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey park

5+    10/24/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Wildcattamer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Very Forgiving course.. if your off line you can get it back on line
Cons: Need a little bit of tidying up
Other Thoughts: Great course to play 18 holes

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.