Richmond (Varina), VA 
Dorey Park Share
Uploaded By: JonathanAlan721 Hole #2 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Nice short course in Va.

5+    8/26/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice setting. Shaded wooded course. Well placed baskets. Easy to follow from hole to hole. Almost all holes marked off with tee signs. Overall fun course with many Ace possibilities. Its an easy course for beginners to jump in and have a great time with. At the same time it can be as challenging as you want it to be. The Blue tees are much further back to accomadate the experienced player and just the challenge of going for an ace on many of the holes makes Dorey tough and fun for the advanced player as well. An all around good time of Disc golf!
Cons: Old. Not sure but I believe this is one of the older courses in Virginia and it shows. Some of the baskets are beat up and the signs have been there for a while. The sign on Hole 13 is gone except for the frame. Many of the signs are sitting against a tree or a stand due to the fact that they have been torn from there original spots. The par settings are also far too easy. This I believe comes from the fact that the course was probably built a long time ago. Most courses I've played on have the same par for both white and blue and if Dorey is set up the same then playing from white is way too easy to make par. It is very wooded so bring your bug spray. One errant throw and you will be visiting Tick City.
Other Thoughts: Dorey is a nice little park. The setting is amazing and as you walk to the actual course you pass a huge open field perfect for practicing long drives. Not that you'll need them on the actual course. I threw the entire course with a mid range and a putter. Because of its easy level I can't make the rating any higher, but Dorey is really a great fun time of disc golf and truly earns its 3 disc rating. I highly recommend it for a wonderful time of golf with a friendly competitor (where one errant throw will lose the match for you) or with a group or family of first timers. You can't go wrong here.

Update 07-01-2011: The messed up signage, with high par markings, have all but been removed. Now the signs are newer, but only have the hole number and are stationed at the whites.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey Park

8/4/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: WorldFamousDiscGolfr
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course.
If you like to hike this is the course for you.
Bring boots - some of the early holes are up hills sewn with river rocks and exposed tree roots.
Seemed easy and I'm new to this.
If you like mid-range game play this is the place.
Only holes 10 and 11 are straight shots, and they are easy.
No bugs.
Thin foliage makes finding errant discs easy.
It was 95 degrees and sunny but the heavily shaded course kept me from cooking
Quiet area accept for the jets landing at the nearby airport.
Lots of benches for old people like me
Cons: This course needs some maintenance. Some of the tee sign/maps were knocked over. Hole 13s tee sign/map was missing altogether.
Many of the Blue markers were missing and a few of the White markers. Making knowing where to start difficult to impossible.
Some of the course tee sign/maps have been edited by players correcting distances or movement of tees.
Tee markers need to painted
Other Thoughts: This course is looking rough. Dorey Park itself is really nice - but the disc golf course looks forgotten.
I could easily give it a 4 if I could find the tees and where the holes were without wandering around looking for unpainted wooden blocks in the woods.
Henrico County please fix these problems.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Richmond's Most Relaxing Course

5+    8/3/2013   9/10/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet setting, varied elevation.
Other Thoughts: Dorey Park is typical of several of the older disc golf courses in Virginia; it's a relatively short course in a big, nice park but is set away from the main park in a set of woods that otherwise probably wouldn't see much use. But that said, Dorey Park is another of my hometown courses that perhaps doesn't stand out at first, but really grew on me.

Except for three holes set out along a pipeline easement, this course plays entirely in the woods, with a decent amount of up and down on most holes. A lot of players, I think, can get easily frustrated with a woods setting, but I always recommend this course for several reasons: 1) the hills make it actually a bit of exercise; 2) I find the quiet setting most appealing; 3) it's never crowded; 4) this course makes you get good at throwing accurately, which has helped me immeasurably on more open courses; and 5) throwing a good drive here, especially on the downhill holes, that skims high among the trees but doesn't hit any of them, is a great feeling.

The tees at Dorey Park are marked but not even graded, and the slope or rocks or roots can make teeing off a challenge sometimes, especially if you're not used to courses with "natural" tee pads. Dorey does feature both am and pro tees, however, and many of the holes are made considerably more challenging by the pro tees. Tee pads and basket placements never change.

While woods courses like Dorey Park can be an acquired taste, I always relish a round there. The game is all about distance AND accuracy, and Dorey makes you use both, but is not unreasonable in its demands. Learning the skills necessary to throw a good round at Dorey Park has improved my game more than any number of rounds at a more scenic but open course would. And the serene playing environment is always a good thing.

Favorite Hole - #16 - Steep downhill shot with stream just before basket.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A peaceful walk in the woods

2-4    5/15/2007   9/6/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A nice mostly wooded course. There are some scenic fairways and some fun holes.
*It's very peaceful and secluded and not crowded.
*2 Sets of tees adds variety.
*A creek comes into play on some holes.
Cons: There are drainage problems on some tees and fairways after it's rained.
Other Thoughts: Long Tees Course Level = Blue

Hole lengths-- White: 17 <299/ 1<399, Blue: 12<299/ 4<399/ 2>400. Longer throwers will probably think that the White tees are too short for their game.
-My favorite holes were 16. A straight downhill ace run in a tight tree lined alley, and 14. Left and downhill to a great green.
-For people who like courses in the woods this should be a fun one to play.

For more detailed information check out the my Review notes in the Files section.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 very fun course

11/24/2006   8/2/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very fun course with a good variety of holes. Challenging with alot of woods.
Cons: Poor drainage on some holes. bring your muddy sneeks if you play after rain.
Other Thoughts: difficult to find the park for the first time. Once in the park I had to ask around "where is the disc golf course?" Some nice old man fishing in the pond told me where it was. Its way in the back of the park.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.