Richmond (Varina), VA 
Dorey Park Share
Uploaded By: JonathanAlan721 Hole #8 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 240ft.   4 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice Wooded course

1    10/15/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 74  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice wooded course that offers some challenging shots around trees, but balances it out with pretty nice fairways within the woods. No hole was impossible if you placed your disc well.
It was pretty easy to follow the course, once you actually found the first tee. For those wanting to play the course, hole number one is behind the pond, in the woods to the right.
Each hole was marked with a metal tee sign.
Cons: The tee boxes were just blocks on the ground, many were missing, and the blue tees were very difficult to find at times, if not nonexistent.
The par was ridiculously generous, but maybe that isn't a con. ;)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a beginner. Not much of a challenge for an experienced player, but it was a fun course to play. It was enjoyable to play a woods course that actually had fairways in the trees. All in all, a nice course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dorey Park is a mostly wooded course that will offer plenty of fun. The entire park was very clean and felt safe. Perfect for a quick round because there aren't many holes over 300 ft. from the short tee. Holes #9 and #18 end near the start.
Other Pros:
-easy to navigate without a map (arrows on baskets when the next tee isn't obvious)
-fairways are tight but fair
-obstacles (trees, elevation, earth mounds)
-tee signs, benches, garbage cans
-practice basket
-2 tees
Cons: Wish I had brought the bug spray!
-no real fantastic hole

Not a "big deal" cons:
-some signs and baskets were slightly damaged
-not a great amount of variety
-a somewhat long walk from parking lot to course
Really just pointing these out they weren't a huge problem.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #12. It was short but there were really cool earthen mounds as obstacles. It is a large park used by many non-disc golfers but the course is mostly set away from the other activities. Porta-potty near the parking lot. The course is in the woods, from the parking lot walk along the fountain pond until you see the practice basket, from there follow the gravel path. This course will be a nice compliment to the other Richmond courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice and Quiet

1    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: PauOnePunch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Quiet. Not many people around and plenty of places to chill out. Almost all wooded.
Cons: Seems like rain could wreck this course. Looks like it would get muddy fast.
Other Thoughts: I will absolutely be going back on a regular basis to this course

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 9 or 18

5+    5/2/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Love how holes 1, 9, and 18 are all in the same spot in case you want to only play 9. Lots of fun woods holes. Great use of the area, Every hole is something different and the course makes great use of different levels of height even though the are itself is relatively flat.
Cons: I've lost and found more discs here than anywhere else. A few blind shots through the woods where if you miss, you could end up hunting for a while.
Other Thoughts: A must play Richmond course!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Better Ones

5+    10/1/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: indigo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I really like this course. This is my "home course" and I enjoy playing here. My husband and I have been trying out other courses, we haven't found one that we like more than Dorey.
Other Thoughts: The course moves pretty fast, so even when there are a lot of people playing, you really don't have to wait. As far as the trash and graffiti, that is suppose to be maintained by Henrico parks and Rec (I think!). You could always give them a call to let them know about the condition it's in.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the woods.

5+    11/15/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: mrjohnahawley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Secluded, quiet, and natural. Well defined fairways, even on wooded holes.
Cons: Could be kept up a bit better. People need to stop littering. Needs bag posts.
Other Thoughts: Not much else to say. This was my first course and I love it dearly.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/11/2007   7/19/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Not a lot of traffic. The course is far enough away from the rest of the park that you don't have a lot of Casuals wandering down the fairways. The holes favor the accurate over the boomer. Two open holes. Fun to play.
Cons: Some of the baskets need some work. The T pads are rutted and uneaven. Run ups are a little tricky. It would be better if they trimmed some of the brush back.
Other Thoughts: I will play Dory park again. It is cool under the trees during the summer. I love the work in the park feel. The fall is beautiful.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 another good Richmond course

5+    5/16/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 472  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 15.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -dual tees on every hole
-great basket placements
-great course layout (you can leave after 9 if you want a short round)
-Dorey park as a whole is an AMAZING park, very nice
-fun elevation changes
-the white tees are very beginner friendly but still provide a challenge
-the blue tees are not overly difficult but will still provide a minor challenge to a more experienced player
-a few ace runs
-practice basket before you head into the woods where the course is
Cons: -the upkeep. the course is in the woods at the back of the park and its not exactly easily accessible for cleaning or pruning so there can be trash around, and in the spring/summer it can get quite overgrown
-natural tees that are getting a bit too worn, and not all of the marker blocks are there anymore
-about half the signs are inaccurate
-the baskets on 13 & 14 are damaged, but not unplayable. the trays are just bent up, so if you don't putt just right you disc can fall out more easily
-long walk from the parking area to tee one (probably like 300 yards +)
-holes 10-13 become quite flooded after it rains, so if that's the case be prepared to get wet feet (but it does add a really fun lake as a water hazard to 11)
Other Thoughts: Dorey is a mostly wooded course with a few select open holes (9, 10, 13). Honestly if it had cement tees and the foliage was trimmed every once in a while it would be on the same level as Bryan and Gillies in the Richmond region.

Dorey is outside of Richmond, by the airport, but if you're in the Richmond area definitely play it as part of the Big 3 in the area (w/ Bryan and Gillies), you won't regret it.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice woods course

1    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: CMS8
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some woods courses have so many trees in the fairways that you just have to throw it and pray, but for a woods course Dorey has clearly designated fairways so the trees are still a challenge, but you won't feel frustrated by not having throwing lanes.
Even though some signs were missing or wrong, it's still pretty easy to find your way.
Beautiful park setting, picnic shelters, restrooms (port-a-johns).
Cons: Dirt tee pads. But they are mostly in good shape for being dirt.
Par is way too high. Intermediate/beginning players should/could play this as a par 3 course.
Some signs are missing or just wrong, especially regarding the location of blue tees.
Other Thoughts: I've only played Dorey once but will definitely return. I'm from Williamsburg and found that playing Bryan Park, Gillies Creek, and Dorey Park in one day makes for a great 54-hole day.
A Richmond disc golfer told me that lots of downed leaves in the fall and winter means lots of lost discs at Dorey, and I can see that happening.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dorey

5+    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dorey is one of the better courses in Richmond. There are several courses that are closer to my house, but I still make the trek out to Dorey a few times a month because I like playing here so much. The open field for practicing drives is nice, and I'm always a fan of a course with a practice basket. The course is nicely wooded, allowing for privacy even when the fairways are close to each other. The holes all very in length and design, which makes playing here really enjoyable. It is also usually the least crowded of the Richmond area courses (except for maybe Goyne), and even on a nice weekend there aren't too many other people playing.
Cons: Dorey could be the most well-designed course in Richmond, but it's also the most neglected. Many of the baskets are either damaged or have graffiti on them. Most of the tees are either muddy or covered in roots, and the course doesn't recover from a rain very quickly. There should probably be another wooden path or two added to make it easier to get through some of the areas where the drainage problem is the worst (the holes that play closest to the giant pipe at the end of the opening in the trees). New teepads would improve this course greatly. The markers and signs on many of the tees are in pretty bad shape.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, I love playing at Dorey and will continue to play there regularly. Another point that most of the other reviewers have not addressed - the pars on this course are not appropriate for anyone playing at an intermediate level or higher. They should all be par 3's. Many of the par 4 and par 5 holes are very short and would be par 3's at other area courses. I play par 3 from the white tees on the whole course and find it challenging but practical. If you play often and play the pars as marked you will end up 10 under par at the end of the day. Could be a good way to boost that self esteem but not nearly as challenging.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.