Loerrach, Germany 
Red Hot Chili Putters DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 377ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Chili Open! Blood Sugar Discs Magik!

2-4    3/10/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: TBabb
Played: 48  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every year in early March the disc golf clubs in Basel and Freiburg put on an awesome tournament at this beautiful park just over the border from Basel. You're in a valley with hills all around you and cool views of the Lorrach castle. The tournament had excellent organization, there were restrooms on site and decent food and good beer served for lunch at a restaurant on site as well. The 2013 course had 21 holes with excellent baskets, great tees, and everything you'd want to have at a good course. The course was awesome and well balanced. The curves were varied, there was a good balance between power and finesse, and there was plenty of OB and enough mandos to keep your shots honest. Signature holes included a quadruple double mando straight shot under a highway bridge and an inverse island. A creek comes into play on many holes and if you go in it it's pretty easy to retrieve your disc. The vibe here was very friendly among the other players and the tournament attracted some of the best players in Europe so you could get to watch some of the big guns tear up this course. You can camp onsite and there's plenty of parking. The park is also easily accesible by train for those without personal transportation; the Lörrach Schwartzwaldstrasse station is a 5-10 minute walk from the park and it will only cost you 3 euros or 4 CHF each way on the train from Basel. An awesome tournament all the way around. Do it!
Cons: THE COURSE IS TEMPORARY! As the top players were playing through the final round the tournament staff were taking everything down. It was heartbreaking. There are only a handful of permanent baskets in the park, so the tournament is the only time that's really worth making the trip to play here. It's a shame but if it were a permanent course, it would definitely be conflicting with other park users. Participation is limited (the 2013 edition was limited to 84 players) so sign up early because it fills up fast. Like most courses I've played in Europe, the ground here is very wet and muddy, so dress accordingly.
Other Thoughts: This review should be seen as a review of the tournament rather than a review of the course. Honestly the tournament course here is probably a 4-5 star course that's only open for one weekend per year. If you're able to come out to Lörrach for this tournament it's worth the trip. Keep an eye on chiliopen.headsupfreiburg.de for details for the next installment of the tournament. It's a shame that I'll have moved back to the states next year...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Now a permanent course

5+    6/15/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: Smigles
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 5/17/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park.

The tournament is very much worth a trip. Very nice layout of the course, and always something special for the finals, this year we played 9 Safari holes all around the park with a hole going over the lake.


Edit 18th Mai 2014 :

We have been working with the city of Lörrach and were allowed to put in 16 permanent baskets. More will follow till we hopefully have all the baskets from the tournament put in permanently. That would make it 23.

We are also talking with the city about permanent tees and signs. We also hope that we will find a solution to have the grass cut in summer on at least the fairways. But that is not done yet.
Cons: The city only cuts the grass twice in the year, once in autumn ( september-ish ) and once in spring ( march-ish ). If you come more than a month after that ( in summer that is ) then you will find knee to hip deep grass all over the course, and discs WILL be lost.
Other Thoughts: I'd say the course is a 2 for now. Once we have signs and tees etc, it has the potential to become a 4 or even better.

Until we have signs and a map online you can find us for more information at http://www.merrychains.ch

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, big park!

5+    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have to say, this is a great place to practice. The park is huge and nicely taken care of. It provides ample obstacles (like trees and people) to avoid.

I played here during the Chili Open tournament and the layout was fantastic. The design element was done perfectly and I HIGHLY recommend playing the tournament because the course set-up is excellent and the TDs are awesome people.
Cons: The sad news is, there's only five permanent baskets. Grüttpark is more of a practice area than a course. There's no signs or tees or anything and if you don't print out a map, you'll be playing safari holes. I wouldn't consider this a destination unless it was during the weekend of the annual tournament.

I'm sorry I forgot to bring my camera to this course, otherwise I would have had pictures, but the one picture that is up does a good job of summarizing the course. The church in the background and the castle (on the opposite side of the church, not seeable in the picture) are very unique! :)
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice park, but I wouldn't say it's a nice course. If I was rating the tournament layout with it's 19 baskets, I would easily give this course a 4.0, maybe even a 4.5. But the fact of the matter is that there's only 5 baskets in a park that can get very, very crowded and this makes it hard for me to say "this is a good course".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Early March

1    3/15/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: Thunder3434
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice layout tough holes. Tournament layout is longer then standard course. Good mix of wood tight wholes and long holes.
Cons: The long holes are wide open.
Other Thoughts: It was could in early March and the wind was blowing pretty hard but all in all great start to the disc golf tournament season in Germany

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.