Mosinee, WI 
Big Eau Pleine County Park Share
Uploaded By: brentwood_17 Hole #12 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 385ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 White Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Serene and wondeful.

1    8/15/2015   12/15/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 222  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course outside Wausua, WI (in Mosinee, technically). There are other activities in the area, and the disc golf is all by itself.

Rubber tees, three per hole. Usually I would list this as a con, but these are the best rubber tees I've seen. I was there after a night with rain, and even though the mats were wet, they weren't slick. They were also VERY well set up and quite level. A job well done, indeed.

Chainstar baskets, one permanent basket per hole. About half the holes have two pin positions.

Decent tee signs, but with all the information you need. Navigation is mostly easy, with just a couple spots that aren't the most intuitive. Not really an issue, though.

Nature. Serenity. Awesomeness. For starters, you drive down a pretty long, winding road to get here...one road in, one road out. If you DON'T see wildlife on this road, it's a surprise. Even on the course, you'll see deer, squirrels, and plenty of other critters. When I was there, a small family of deer stood about 50' from the tee pad and watched me. Just too cool.

The golf here is fantastic. Every type of shot you can imagine, plenty of distance, and different lines from each tee. I played the long tees when here, but even the shorter tees offered fun looks that changed the holes dramatically. Long holes that require good landing zone type shots on several holes. Lots of long, tight woods drives. If you like long, winding fairways, this is the place for you. Many of the holes have several lines to choose from, which is always a plus.
Cons: The course is pretty flat. There's a little bit of slight (very slight) rolling on a couple hills, but not much. This would usually be a huge ding for me, but honestly, I didn't really think about while playing, as there's enough other stuff going on.

It's kind of out in the middle of nowhere. You certainly won't just stumble across this place.

There's some horse riding/hiking trails that run along a couple holes, so you do need to be aware of that.

The rough on the open holes is pretty thick. You'll want a spotter if you're not throwing well that day. In the woods, there's barely any undergrowth, though.
Other Thoughts: Put some hills here, and this place is a 5.0 course for me. I just had so much fun here. It's challenging, yet accessible. If I lived closer, I'd play this course all the time.

If you're in the area, it's a must play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    8/23/2015   8/23/2015
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 22  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful setting, lots of tall trees provide a nice shady canopy around much of the course
-Variety, lefts rights and straights, a few ace runs,which aren't gimmies though. A few legitimate par fours are thrown in the mix too. There are multiple holes that aren't wooded and have beautifully manicured fairways to shoot along, with a few trees speckled throughout, very pretty.
-Red, white and blue teepads on most holes, each providing varying looks at the basket. Tees are nicely leveled grippy rubber ones
-well manicured and taken care of, many teepads are elevated with nice rocks and landscaping, one basket was on a tall mound with boulders circling it, very nice touches
-challenging, without being deathly impossible, if you pick the correct tees for your skill level
-benches on many holes
-free play
Cons: -the course seemed very flat, a little more elevation would be nice, not a huge con at all, the rest makes up for it
-no pars posted, I know some don't care about them, but I like to have accurately posted pars. I scored with all threes but I believes few fours I shot could've been real pars instead of bogeys
-a little bit of a drive to get there (from the main areas of Wausau) - that being said it is a beautiful drive
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played in the Wausau area. It is free to play but if you can drop a few bucks in the donation can thingy. The money that has been spent on this course has obviously been spent well. Can't wait to come back to the area and play it again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Should be top 10 for sure

5+    5/2/2015   5/3/2015
Review By: dill
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has everything short holes long challenging holes A little bit of elevation change plenty wildlife to look at and some of the nicest people you'll ever meet a great club runs it and takes care of it in my opinion Best course in Wisconsin
Cons: A couple of soft spots that are a little muddy in spring kind of remote hard to get to if you want to call that con but that also means less people which is a pro in my opinion
Other Thoughts: The park has a very nice campground beach plenty of paths walking A very nice place to spend a day or weekend or longer

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of Central Wisconsin's Best!!

2-4    8/9/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: M4Prodigy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Beautiful location!! A state Natural Area. The woods are mature with extremely tall trees that provide a canopy to block the hot summer sun and a light rain.
+ Mature trees provide a plethora of technical shots from tee to green. Forces players to shape shots through well-designed and challenging lanes.
+ Multiple teepads increases the challenge and playability for every skill level. Addition of 7 alternate pins gets this course closer to a championship level course.
+ Hole signage is visible, helpful, and accurate (not updated with new pins).
+ Amazingly, free to play; donations are accepted. Please donate to help make this course even better.
Cons: - Teepads are rubber (but are leveled out and in excellent condition). The volunteers who maintain this course do a wonderful job and cannot be thanked enough.
Other Thoughts: I drove 2 hours from Sparta, WI to play in the 2014 Summer Smack Down and had never played the course before; boy am I glad that I took the time to experience such a wonderful course. I would love to have this course closer to anywhere I live.

I normally pick what I think to be a signature hole when I review, however, many of the holes could be considered signature based on their design, layout, and shot types.

I suppose my favorite hole would have to be #5. It's a 607 ft dogleg left with a split fairway at around 300 feet. The fairway is divided by a few trees and tall grass, but is not impossible to throw a recovery shot from. There is OB 50' to the left of the fairway (Road). If the pin is in the long position, it is tucked behind a thin barricade of trees with a little overhang, forcing a left to right approach.

This course could be better with the addition of water, elevation, and cement teepads.

This is a must play if in the Wausau area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!

5+    8/17/2013   1/17/2014
Review By: JeremyAD
Played: 72  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 3 well maintained tee pads on nearly all holes
+ Alternate pin placements on a few holes
+ Incredibly challenging and realistic par 4's on 2 to 3 holes (pending pin placement)
+ Short tees are challenging for beginners while long tees will keep the pros striving for more
+ Immaculately well-groomed fairways... seriously... you will be impressed!
+ Variance of hole placements and types of throws necessary to reach the pin
+ Discraft Chainstar baskets in excellent condition
+ On-sight camping!
+ Very secluded and TONS of deer to closely accompany you and your crew
+ Excellent use of the surrounding woods and landscape
+ INCREDIBLY CLEAN!! Local Disc Golf club keeps it spotless
+ fantastic, safe and sufficient parking
+ One of the best-kept disc golf haven secrets in Wisconsin
Cons: - Not easy to get to... will require a substantial drive...
- Elevation change is lacking
... Seriously... there is nothing else to complain about.... this place is AMAZING!
Other Thoughts: During my 3 years of living in the Wausau area, I did not quite realize how INCREDIBLE this course is. Now that I live in the La Crosse area I miss it immensely. THIS IS A MUST-PLAY COURSE. Yes, it is not easy to get to, but once you arrive you will NOT regret it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, but tough

1    8/4/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: Freebird
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well-kept course, appreciate the signs and amusing hole names. The park itself is beautiful and you can easily make a day or a weekend out of coming here. Nice baskets, nice tees, the three tee placements per hole is a great plus. The nature and scenery add to the enjoyment of playing here. It's easy to find your way to the next tee.
Cons: A lot of this course demands both precision and a big arm. The distances are substantial, and the penalty for missing your line is often that you have no options for your next shot other than to just toss your disc to somewhere you can make a shot from. Even the wooded holes, which look a little more open, play this way, miss the fairway end you have no chance of making a decent throw through the trees. On the holes with grass rough, I thought the fairways were rather narrow, especially in light of how nasty the rough was, a combination of tall grass, thistle, stinging nettle, and raspberry bushes (the raspberries were delicious). Discs burrow into this 3-foot deep mess and just disappear. Throw in the flies and mosquitoes and searching becomes painful. I'd have rated the course higher, but there were a couple or three holes where even a tee shot to the fairway presents a terrible second shot due to the fairway splitting around obstacles. You have to make a shaped shot to a very small landing area and if you miss, you could lose a disc and/or spend a lot of time looking. On these holes, good players have to execute a perfect shot, and lesser players have no real options, there are no "outs". There should always be a way for a lesser player to lay up and take a couple extra shots rather than forcing a try which will end badly.
Other Thoughts: Whoever is maintaining this course is doing a fantastic job, and I'll make a point to get here any time I'm in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: Dan K
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some elevation, variety of distances, beautiful scenery. Flow of course is perfect. Fairways are well kept and actually exist. The punishment for not being where you want also adds to the technicality of the course. 3 Tee Pads for every hole when relevant. Nice camp-site style bathroom. Easily playable multiple times in one day.
Cons: Definitely a hidden gem; at least a 15 min drive to nearest store (Come prepared). Mosquitoes at times. As well as some of the punishment. Some poisonous plants, thorny areas can get somewhat redundant.
Other Thoughts: Over all I'd like to give the course a 5.0 though I am definitely biases. I have seen this course develop from it's first 9 holes to the beast that it is. For anyone who loves disc golf and enjoys a very good, well thought out course, I highly recommend making the trip! Feel free to hit me up and I'll give you a tour!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course, and must see in central wisc

5+    7/17/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: in4d
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Superb variation in distances, fairway shapes and angles, and some open long holes and some tight wooded shorter holes.
- Obviously designed by someone who understands you need a few long baskets and much variation to set apart the competition!
- VERY well maintained, have never seen long grass out at BEP.
- Tee pad locations allow you to play the course twice in one day and you don't feel like you played the same course.
Cons: - Location could be better, more accessible.
- Could use 1 or 2 more garbage cans, maybe on holes close to the road so its easy to empty them.
- Few tee pads need to be fixed up, some of then are not FLAT!
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best all around courses in central Wisconsin, compares well with standing rocks. If you have a chance to go, don't second think it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play If You Are In The Area!!

5+    11/10/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: Jannus
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Location. The Disc Golf course is situated at the end of the park road, which during the summer months provides a scenic winding road to travel before arriving. Also situated next to one of the parks 2 campground areas, and a playground, oh, and the boat landing.

2) Course design. between the parking lot and Hole 1 is a "practice basket" that is ideal for brushing up on ones putting game before a round. The course itself has 2 9-hole loops that meander their way back to the parking area. Fairways on each hole are well defined, and the "rough" is definitely rough - but not so bad as to cause injury (i.e.: tall grass and ferns do a GREAT job of hiding that errant toss, but not too many "thorny" or "prickly" plants to wreak havoc on your clothes or skin. Use of varying distances is also a plus. Holes range from a 185' (shortest red tee) to 660" (longest blue tee). Great mix of open "bomber" holes and technical "finesse" holes to keep you on your toes. Nearly every hole has 3 different tee pads to shoot from and those placements almost invariably change the "look" or "shooting lane" you are presented.

3) Cleanliness. This course is usually devoid of litter - of any kind. This is likely due in part to the distance the locals need to travel to get there (which may limit the actual potential player population) and also the players who are there on a regular basis "do their part" to pick up any trash while playing a round.

4) Club Run Activities. During the Spring/Summer/Fall months, Wausau Area Disc Golf Enthusiasts AKA WADGE hold 2 wekkly leaguse (Monday is Handicapped Random Draw Doubles, Thursday is Handicapped Singles). Not to mention the various Tournaments held here (like the PDGA C-Tier event Summer Smackdown).

5) Wildlife. Sure, you're out in the woods, you expect to see a few animals ocassionally, right? I've seen deer, squirrels, racoons, herons, geese, and even saw a badger poke its head out of a burrow.
Cons: 1) Topography. Due to the "lay of the land", there really isn't any opportunity to be challenged by serious elevation change.

2) Player Amenities. I found that though there are garbage receptacles on the course more might be nice. And have a few more places to sit for a spell would also be appreciated. Not to mention, as my wife has brought up, it'd be great if there were another type of "restroom" facility on the far side of the course from the one located at the parking lot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in WI

1    10/24/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes for length, righty, lefty, straight. Really like some of the two shot holes and the opportunity to throw long drives.
Cons: Lack of elevation changes is kind of nit-picking, but they definitely make up for it in other ways. Heard this in other reviews, but we had two holes where we were worried about hitting the deer because they were not afraid of us and were in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play a tournament at this course. Also think it can be a great doubles course for best shot, alternate and worst shot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.