Disc Golf Center
Mosinee, WI 
Big Eau Pleine County Park Share
Uploaded By: brentwood_17 Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 410ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 White Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!

5+    8/17/2013   1/17/2014
Review By: JeremyAD
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 3 well maintained tee pads on nearly all holes
+ Alternate pin placements on a few holes
+ Incredibly challenging and realistic par 4's on 2 to 3 holes (pending pin placement)
+ Short tees are challenging for beginners while long tees will keep the pros striving for more
+ Immaculately well-groomed fairways... seriously... you will be impressed!
+ Variance of hole placements and types of throws necessary to reach the pin
+ Discraft Chainstar baskets in excellent condition
+ On-sight camping!
+ Very secluded and TONS of deer to closely accompany you and your crew
+ Excellent use of the surrounding woods and landscape
+ INCREDIBLY CLEAN!! Local Disc Golf club keeps it spotless
+ fantastic, safe and sufficient parking
+ One of the best-kept disc golf haven secrets in Wisconsin
Cons: - Not easy to get to... will require a substantial drive...
- Elevation change is lacking
... Seriously... there is nothing else to complain about.... this place is AMAZING!
Other Thoughts: During my 3 years of living in the Wausau area, I did not quite realize how INCREDIBLE this course is. Now that I live in the La Crosse area I miss it immensely. THIS IS A MUST-PLAY COURSE. Yes, it is not easy to get to, but once you arrive you will NOT regret it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, but tough

1    8/4/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: Freebird
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well-kept course, appreciate the signs and amusing hole names. The park itself is beautiful and you can easily make a day or a weekend out of coming here. Nice baskets, nice tees, the three tee placements per hole is a great plus. The nature and scenery add to the enjoyment of playing here. It's easy to find your way to the next tee.
Cons: A lot of this course demands both precision and a big arm. The distances are substantial, and the penalty for missing your line is often that you have no options for your next shot other than to just toss your disc to somewhere you can make a shot from. Even the wooded holes, which look a little more open, play this way, miss the fairway end you have no chance of making a decent throw through the trees. On the holes with grass rough, I thought the fairways were rather narrow, especially in light of how nasty the rough was, a combination of tall grass, thistle, stinging nettle, and raspberry bushes (the raspberries were delicious). Discs burrow into this 3-foot deep mess and just disappear. Throw in the flies and mosquitoes and searching becomes painful. I'd have rated the course higher, but there were a couple or three holes where even a tee shot to the fairway presents a terrible second shot due to the fairway splitting around obstacles. You have to make a shaped shot to a very small landing area and if you miss, you could lose a disc and/or spend a lot of time looking. On these holes, good players have to execute a perfect shot, and lesser players have no real options, there are no "outs". There should always be a way for a lesser player to lay up and take a couple extra shots rather than forcing a try which will end badly.
Other Thoughts: Whoever is maintaining this course is doing a fantastic job, and I'll make a point to get here any time I'm in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    8/20/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: Dan K
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some elevation, variety of distances, beautiful scenery. Flow of course is perfect. Fairways are well kept and actually exist. The punishment for not being where you want also adds to the technicality of the course. 3 Tee Pads for every hole when relevant. Nice camp-site style bathroom. Easily playable multiple times in one day.
Cons: Definitely a hidden gem; at least a 15 min drive to nearest store (Come prepared). Mosquitoes at times. As well as some of the punishment. Some poisonous plants, thorny areas can get somewhat redundant.
Other Thoughts: Over all I'd like to give the course a 5.0 though I am definitely biases. I have seen this course develop from it's first 9 holes to the beast that it is. For anyone who loves disc golf and enjoys a very good, well thought out course, I highly recommend making the trip! Feel free to hit me up and I'll give you a tour!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course, and must see in central wisc

5+    7/17/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: in4d
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Superb variation in distances, fairway shapes and angles, and some open long holes and some tight wooded shorter holes.
- Obviously designed by someone who understands you need a few long baskets and much variation to set apart the competition!
- VERY well maintained, have never seen long grass out at BEP.
- Tee pad locations allow you to play the course twice in one day and you don't feel like you played the same course.
Cons: - Location could be better, more accessible.
- Could use 1 or 2 more garbage cans, maybe on holes close to the road so its easy to empty them.
- Few tee pads need to be fixed up, some of then are not FLAT!
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best all around courses in central Wisconsin, compares well with standing rocks. If you have a chance to go, don't second think it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Must Play If You Are In The Area!!

5+    11/10/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: Jannus
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Location. The Disc Golf course is situated at the end of the park road, which during the summer months provides a scenic winding road to travel before arriving. Also situated next to one of the parks 2 campground areas, and a playground, oh, and the boat landing.

2) Course design. between the parking lot and Hole 1 is a "practice basket" that is ideal for brushing up on ones putting game before a round. The course itself has 2 9-hole loops that meander their way back to the parking area. Fairways on each hole are well defined, and the "rough" is definitely rough - but not so bad as to cause injury (i.e.: tall grass and ferns do a GREAT job of hiding that errant toss, but not too many "thorny" or "prickly" plants to wreak havoc on your clothes or skin. Use of varying distances is also a plus. Holes range from a 185' (shortest red tee) to 660" (longest blue tee). Great mix of open "bomber" holes and technical "finesse" holes to keep you on your toes. Nearly every hole has 3 different tee pads to shoot from and those placements almost invariably change the "look" or "shooting lane" you are presented.

3) Cleanliness. This course is usually devoid of litter - of any kind. This is likely due in part to the distance the locals need to travel to get there (which may limit the actual potential player population) and also the players who are there on a regular basis "do their part" to pick up any trash while playing a round.

4) Club Run Activities. During the Spring/Summer/Fall months, Wausau Area Disc Golf Enthusiasts AKA WADGE hold 2 wekkly leaguse (Monday is Handicapped Random Draw Doubles, Thursday is Handicapped Singles). Not to mention the various Tournaments held here (like the PDGA C-Tier event Summer Smackdown).

5) Wildlife. Sure, you're out in the woods, you expect to see a few animals ocassionally, right? I've seen deer, squirrels, racoons, herons, geese, and even saw a badger poke its head out of a burrow.
Cons: 1) Topography. Due to the "lay of the land", there really isn't any opportunity to be challenged by serious elevation change.

2) Player Amenities. I found that though there are garbage receptacles on the course more might be nice. And have a few more places to sit for a spell would also be appreciated. Not to mention, as my wife has brought up, it'd be great if there were another type of "restroom" facility on the far side of the course from the one located at the parking lot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in WI

1    10/24/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes for length, righty, lefty, straight. Really like some of the two shot holes and the opportunity to throw long drives.
Cons: Lack of elevation changes is kind of nit-picking, but they definitely make up for it in other ways. Heard this in other reviews, but we had two holes where we were worried about hitting the deer because they were not afraid of us and were in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play a tournament at this course. Also think it can be a great doubles course for best shot, alternate and worst shot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, fun 18 hole course

5+    9/17/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 140  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red, white and blue tees on almost all holes with a few having only 1 or 2 tees. Nice chainstar baskets that catch very well. Good change in distance and shot shaping between the different tees. Not really too busy. Practice basket before hole 1. Always lots of deer on the course which is pretty cool. Good amount of distance on this course, especially holes 7 and 17. Signs by each hole with basic hole layout and distances for all 3 tees. Navigation is very easy once you find the first tee.The first tee is about 25 yards into the woods behind the board with all the disc golf related info on it on the north side of the parking lot. Theres a nice elevated basket on the back nine that really makes you choose between going for it or laying up. Good mix of shots needed to score well here. This is my personal favorite course to play near my home in marshfield as its only about 30 minutes away. There are a few ace opportunities here but not many unless you got a big, accurate arm. The trees are the main obstacle here, and if you end up off the fairway it'll most likely cost you. Very quiet, peaceful place to play. This course will not dissappoint you. Much better than your average rec course. I gave it a 4 because i think that describes what this course is perfectly...Excellent.
Cons: Most teepads are gravel with a few having thick, black rubber mats. The gravel tees can be pretty easy to slip on, but the black mats can be even worse, especially if they are wet or get dirt or gravel on top of them, so be cautious. Some of the rough can be pretty thick, so make sure to watch closely where you threw it because you can easily loose a disc here. It would be nice if they would eventually add a few more alternate pin placements but this is an awesome course as it currently is set up so not really a big deal. Not really near anything, so be sure to bring enough water or beverages because the nearest gas station is probably 20 minutes away in Mosinee. BRING BUG SPRAY, the mosquitos can be terrible in the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Very fun 18 hole course in a beautiful park along the Big Eau Pleine Reservoir. I definately recommend playin this course if you're in the area. Not too far (half hour) off of interstate 39 south of Wausau. Course is designed by Randy Shukar who designs some awesome courses, and this is in my opinion one of his best. I'd recommend pretty much any course this guy designs.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

5+    7/20/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: AH14203
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of tees from reds to blues. red are still fun but test your skill. Blues are the same but farther. Easy to find the next holes. some tees are gravel some are rubber.
Cons: Gravel tees make it harder to throw , i slip a lot. the high grass on some holes make it harder to find the discs if it hits a tree or if you just had a bad toss. Also a farther drive then it says.
Other Thoughts: If the high grass died off and they had different tee pads on some holes it would be very close to a 5. still a great course overall and love playing it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Discing can be Gorgeous

1    5/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: ScottC
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Giant holes. Most of the holes here will give you at least 2 full out drives, which is fairly atypical of the area. Even with that amount of openness, there's still a ton of technique required. The natural beauty of this park and course are just excellent. The names of the holes are also awesome. Triple Dog Dare Ya...it really is. When you look at the hole there's a easy, but out of the way way, and there's a short but tree-filled way. The design is great. The course is huge. It's only 18 holes, but it will take you a long time to complete.
Cons: The rough is, well, rough. Filled with raspberries is one thing, but these are filled with stinging nettles and who knows what else. DO NOT end up in the rough. In order to clear the fairways and make the course playable, it seems that all of the wooded forest debris that was removed was placed into piles between the different fairways. It makes it very identifiable, but a bad throw or a wind gust will add hours to your time.
Other Thoughts: Bald Eagles, Cranes, Baltimore Oriels, and just a ton of wildlife throughout. This course ranks high for me for more than just the course. The location is just awe inspiring. Go and make a day of this course. It promises to keep you occupied. There's even stuff for the kids, and the course is pretty flat, so strollers aren't even a problem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big YUM Pleine Park

2-4    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'd like to start off by saying WOW, amazing.
1) practice basket
2) REALLY nice baskets, catch great
3) For only being mats the tees are surprisingly grippy, even when wet.
4) GREAT design, good mix of left and right holes, only 1 or 2 that are straight, but does slightly favor LHBH/RHFH players.
5) Great variation of distances.
6) Real par 4s, always a big plus.
7) Good mix of open and wooded holes.
8) 3 tees for most holes.
9) For the most part feels secluded from the camp ground and beach area. There are a few holes near the access road and hiking trail though.
10) Un-freaking believable to navigate as a first timer, first time I haven't gotten turned around my first time on a new course.
11) Course is kept very clean, nearly no garbage anywhere on the course
12) Seems to be as chucker free as a free course can be.
Cons: 1) Only mats on the short tees, gravel for the others. Heard that they are planning on putting mats on the rest of the holes.
2) Not many benches or trash cans on the courses, only 3 or 4.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutey AMAZING. It's quite a ways out of the way but defiantly worth it, you will be pleasantly surprised with this course, I guarentee it. If this course had concrete pads on all tees for all the holes and had benches and trash cans on all the holes I would have no problem giving this course a perfect 5.

*disclaimer* review made from Red and White tees only, not the Blue tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.