Mosinee, WI 
Big Eau Pleine County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 264ft.   3 / 314ft.   3 / 379ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!

5+    8/17/2013   1/17/2014
Review By: JeremyAD
Played: 72  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 3 well maintained tee pads on nearly all holes
+ Alternate pin placements on a few holes
+ Incredibly challenging and realistic par 4's on 2 to 3 holes (pending pin placement)
+ Short tees are challenging for beginners while long tees will keep the pros striving for more
+ Immaculately well-groomed fairways... seriously... you will be impressed!
+ Variance of hole placements and types of throws necessary to reach the pin
+ Discraft Chainstar baskets in excellent condition
+ On-sight camping!
+ Very secluded and TONS of deer to closely accompany you and your crew
+ Excellent use of the surrounding woods and landscape
+ INCREDIBLY CLEAN!! Local Disc Golf club keeps it spotless
+ fantastic, safe and sufficient parking
+ One of the best-kept disc golf haven secrets in Wisconsin
Cons: - Not easy to get to... will require a substantial drive...
- Elevation change is lacking
... Seriously... there is nothing else to complain about.... this place is AMAZING!
Other Thoughts: During my 3 years of living in the Wausau area, I did not quite realize how INCREDIBLE this course is. Now that I live in the La Crosse area I miss it immensely. THIS IS A MUST-PLAY COURSE. Yes, it is not easy to get to, but once you arrive you will NOT regret it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/20/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: Dan K
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some elevation, variety of distances, beautiful scenery. Flow of course is perfect. Fairways are well kept and actually exist. The punishment for not being where you want also adds to the technicality of the course. 3 Tee Pads for every hole when relevant. Nice camp-site style bathroom. Easily playable multiple times in one day.
Cons: Definitely a hidden gem; at least a 15 min drive to nearest store (Come prepared). Mosquitoes at times. As well as some of the punishment. Some poisonous plants, thorny areas can get somewhat redundant.
Other Thoughts: Over all I'd like to give the course a 5.0 though I am definitely biases. I have seen this course develop from it's first 9 holes to the beast that it is. For anyone who loves disc golf and enjoys a very good, well thought out course, I highly recommend making the trip! Feel free to hit me up and I'll give you a tour!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course, and must see in central wisc

5+    7/17/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: in4d
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Superb variation in distances, fairway shapes and angles, and some open long holes and some tight wooded shorter holes.
- Obviously designed by someone who understands you need a few long baskets and much variation to set apart the competition!
- VERY well maintained, have never seen long grass out at BEP.
- Tee pad locations allow you to play the course twice in one day and you don't feel like you played the same course.
Cons: - Location could be better, more accessible.
- Could use 1 or 2 more garbage cans, maybe on holes close to the road so its easy to empty them.
- Few tee pads need to be fixed up, some of then are not FLAT!
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best all around courses in central Wisconsin, compares well with standing rocks. If you have a chance to go, don't second think it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in WI

1    10/24/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes for length, righty, lefty, straight. Really like some of the two shot holes and the opportunity to throw long drives.
Cons: Lack of elevation changes is kind of nit-picking, but they definitely make up for it in other ways. Heard this in other reviews, but we had two holes where we were worried about hitting the deer because they were not afraid of us and were in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play a tournament at this course. Also think it can be a great doubles course for best shot, alternate and worst shot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    7/20/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: AH14203
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of tees from reds to blues. red are still fun but test your skill. Blues are the same but farther. Easy to find the next holes. some tees are gravel some are rubber.
Cons: Gravel tees make it harder to throw , i slip a lot. the high grass on some holes make it harder to find the discs if it hits a tree or if you just had a bad toss. Also a farther drive then it says.
Other Thoughts: If the high grass died off and they had different tee pads on some holes it would be very close to a 5. still a great course overall and love playing it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Discing can be Gorgeous

1    5/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: ScottC
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Giant holes. Most of the holes here will give you at least 2 full out drives, which is fairly atypical of the area. Even with that amount of openness, there's still a ton of technique required. The natural beauty of this park and course are just excellent. The names of the holes are also awesome. Triple Dog Dare Ya...it really is. When you look at the hole there's a easy, but out of the way way, and there's a short but tree-filled way. The design is great. The course is huge. It's only 18 holes, but it will take you a long time to complete.
Cons: The rough is, well, rough. Filled with raspberries is one thing, but these are filled with stinging nettles and who knows what else. DO NOT end up in the rough. In order to clear the fairways and make the course playable, it seems that all of the wooded forest debris that was removed was placed into piles between the different fairways. It makes it very identifiable, but a bad throw or a wind gust will add hours to your time.
Other Thoughts: Bald Eagles, Cranes, Baltimore Oriels, and just a ton of wildlife throughout. This course ranks high for me for more than just the course. The location is just awe inspiring. Go and make a day of this course. It promises to keep you occupied. There's even stuff for the kids, and the course is pretty flat, so strollers aren't even a problem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big YUM Pleine Park

2-4    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'd like to start off by saying WOW, amazing.
1) practice basket
2) REALLY nice baskets, catch great
3) For only being mats the tees are surprisingly grippy, even when wet.
4) GREAT design, good mix of left and right holes, only 1 or 2 that are straight, but does slightly favor LHBH/RHFH players.
5) Great variation of distances.
6) Real par 4s, always a big plus.
7) Good mix of open and wooded holes.
8) 3 tees for most holes.
9) For the most part feels secluded from the camp ground and beach area. There are a few holes near the access road and hiking trail though.
10) Un-freaking believable to navigate as a first timer, first time I haven't gotten turned around my first time on a new course.
11) Course is kept very clean, nearly no garbage anywhere on the course
12) Seems to be as chucker free as a free course can be.
Cons: 1) Only mats on the short tees, gravel for the others. Heard that they are planning on putting mats on the rest of the holes.
2) Not many benches or trash cans on the courses, only 3 or 4.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutey AMAZING. It's quite a ways out of the way but defiantly worth it, you will be pleasantly surprised with this course, I guarentee it. If this course had concrete pads on all tees for all the holes and had benches and trash cans on all the holes I would have no problem giving this course a perfect 5.

*disclaimer* review made from Red and White tees only, not the Blue tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Kept Secret in WI

5+    8/16/2011   4/9/2012
Review By: canthurtsteelUK
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
Pros: 3 different tee pads. Doesn't favor right or left handers. Ability to flick and backhand is essential. Need a gun to be able to play the blue pads. A couple holes play as par 4's. Tons of wildlife. Course has everything except water and elevation. Challenging holes with options and deuce holes mixed in.
Cons: A lot of mosquitos. Thick, deep ruff. If you're a beginner, wear long clothes and throw bright discs. The only thing that prevents this from being a top 5 course in Wisconsin is the fact that there is no elevation.
Other Thoughts: The pads aren't mixed anymore .. they're all gravel at this point going to concrete within the next couple years. There isn't any elevation that should be changed. It's out in the middle of no where but it's completely worth the trip even if you aren't from central WI.

Good Course

5+    7/20/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: J-Bright
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great fairways. they are nicely mowed and upkept everytime. great placement of holes, some long, some short some bootleg left some right. 3 different tee locations.
Cons: very thick rough (but just don't throw it there)
Other Thoughts: deer are really tame. just a fun course to play!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Special Course

5+    7/25/2009   7/29/2010
Review By: StezoBezo
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I might be slightly bias when reviewing this course, both the designer/keeper of the course and the person it was designed after are the reasons I play disc. This course was carved out of a beautiful setting disturbing nature as little as possible. It has a good mix of long and short holes with heizer and anheizer options. The course can play very long and difficult from the back tee's and give you a good run for your money. The open style prairie holes often taunt you to throw your hardest and make up some of that large open area in front of you, but if you miss the fairway you will pay the price looking for your disc.
Cons: This course is set back from any major thoroughfare and takes some time to find if your not familiar with the area, I think this can also be a benefit. This course does not have concrete tee pads but I hear something might be in the works to make this happen.
Other Thoughts: Please remember, we are able to play courses like this thanks to the hard work and dedication of those who maintain them. Please be aware of your surroundings and keep courses clean. Unlike Token Creek, this course like many others does not have a near full time grounds crew, please keep it clean so the maintenance staff can spend their time making it better instead of picking up cigarette buts and beer cans.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.