Mosinee, WI 
Big Eau Pleine County Park Share
Uploaded By: brentwood_17 Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Good Course

5+    7/20/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: AH14203
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of tees from reds to blues. red are still fun but test your skill. Blues are the same but farther. Easy to find the next holes. some tees are gravel some are rubber.
Cons: Gravel tees make it harder to throw , i slip a lot. the high grass on some holes make it harder to find the discs if it hits a tree or if you just had a bad toss. Also a farther drive then it says.
Other Thoughts: If the high grass died off and they had different tee pads on some holes it would be very close to a 5. still a great course overall and love playing it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Discing can be Gorgeous

1    5/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: ScottC
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Giant holes. Most of the holes here will give you at least 2 full out drives, which is fairly atypical of the area. Even with that amount of openness, there's still a ton of technique required. The natural beauty of this park and course are just excellent. The names of the holes are also awesome. Triple Dog Dare Ya...it really is. When you look at the hole there's a easy, but out of the way way, and there's a short but tree-filled way. The design is great. The course is huge. It's only 18 holes, but it will take you a long time to complete.
Cons: The rough is, well, rough. Filled with raspberries is one thing, but these are filled with stinging nettles and who knows what else. DO NOT end up in the rough. In order to clear the fairways and make the course playable, it seems that all of the wooded forest debris that was removed was placed into piles between the different fairways. It makes it very identifiable, but a bad throw or a wind gust will add hours to your time.
Other Thoughts: Bald Eagles, Cranes, Baltimore Oriels, and just a ton of wildlife throughout. This course ranks high for me for more than just the course. The location is just awe inspiring. Go and make a day of this course. It promises to keep you occupied. There's even stuff for the kids, and the course is pretty flat, so strollers aren't even a problem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big YUM Pleine Park

2-4    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 36  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'd like to start off by saying WOW, amazing.
1) practice basket
2) REALLY nice baskets, catch great
3) For only being mats the tees are surprisingly grippy, even when wet.
4) GREAT design, good mix of left and right holes, only 1 or 2 that are straight, but does slightly favor LHBH/RHFH players.
5) Great variation of distances.
6) Real par 4s, always a big plus.
7) Good mix of open and wooded holes.
8) 3 tees for most holes.
9) For the most part feels secluded from the camp ground and beach area. There are a few holes near the access road and hiking trail though.
10) Un-freaking believable to navigate as a first timer, first time I haven't gotten turned around my first time on a new course.
11) Course is kept very clean, nearly no garbage anywhere on the course
12) Seems to be as chucker free as a free course can be.
Cons: 1) Only mats on the short tees, gravel for the others. Heard that they are planning on putting mats on the rest of the holes.
2) Not many benches or trash cans on the courses, only 3 or 4.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutey AMAZING. It's quite a ways out of the way but defiantly worth it, you will be pleasantly surprised with this course, I guarentee it. If this course had concrete pads on all tees for all the holes and had benches and trash cans on all the holes I would have no problem giving this course a perfect 5.

*disclaimer* review made from Red and White tees only, not the Blue tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Kept Secret in WI

5+    8/16/2011   4/9/2012
Review By: canthurtsteelUK
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
Pros: 3 different tee pads. Doesn't favor right or left handers. Ability to flick and backhand is essential. Need a gun to be able to play the blue pads. A couple holes play as par 4's. Tons of wildlife. Course has everything except water and elevation. Challenging holes with options and deuce holes mixed in.
Cons: A lot of mosquitos. Thick, deep ruff. If you're a beginner, wear long clothes and throw bright discs. The only thing that prevents this from being a top 5 course in Wisconsin is the fact that there is no elevation.
Other Thoughts: The pads aren't mixed anymore .. they're all gravel at this point going to concrete within the next couple years. There isn't any elevation that should be changed. It's out in the middle of no where but it's completely worth the trip even if you aren't from central WI.

 Worth the Stop

2-4    8/6/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: kjdutter
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -GREAT mix of distances on holes
-Excellent decisive fairways with challenging but fair rough
-Fantastic use of both wooded areas and "open" areas
-The three available tees on every hole provide very distinct challenge levels to every type of disc golfer
-The baskets are brand new
-There is no fee to play this course (although if there were it would be well worth it)
Cons: -The tee pads, by far, provide the biggest complaint. They are not the worst tee pads I have played on but a lot of them (especially the blue) are uneven and VERY slippery.
-The only water available is down by the lake from a well pump. It tastes like iron and has an orange tint to it, I wouldn't recommend drinking it. Bring your own water.
-There isn't a single open shot on this course. Even on the long holes you are required to navigate around a ton of trees just to put it in a very narrow landing area. It would be nice to be able to throw at least one bomb.
-There is no elevation change on any of the holes. Also, even though there is a huge lake nearby it isn't brought into play.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course, don't get me wrong, but it is definitely lacking something. Maybe throw in a few mounds or provide one hole that is more open or create an island green or something. It needs that WOW factor.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

5+    7/20/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: J-Bright
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great fairways. they are nicely mowed and upkept everytime. great placement of holes, some long, some short some bootleg left some right. 3 different tee locations.
Cons: very thick rough (but just don't throw it there)
Other Thoughts: deer are really tame. just a fun course to play!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Check it out

5+    8/2/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not crowded. Three separate tee boxes. Lots of wildlife (deer are very tame). Good mix of short and longer holes. Some elevation changes. Hole 13 has an elevated basket.
Cons: Rough is pretty thick on some holes with some thistles and stinging nettles.
Other Thoughts: A nice course that is well planned out. If you want a quiet, secluded place to play this is it. You will see a lot of deer up close and personal.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/28/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Ian Goldberg
Played: 167  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery and lush greenery. With three tee pads on nearly every hole, the course can accomodate any level of player. Deep dark woods with tons of deer, and there's plenty of water and camping nearby. Huge parking lot and nice bulletin board.
Cons: Lots of skeeters and far too many white tailed rats for my liking.
Other Thoughts: I'm so glad the county let them put the course in!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Special Course

5+    7/25/2009   7/29/2010
Review By: StezoBezo
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I might be slightly bias when reviewing this course, both the designer/keeper of the course and the person it was designed after are the reasons I play disc. This course was carved out of a beautiful setting disturbing nature as little as possible. It has a good mix of long and short holes with heizer and anheizer options. The course can play very long and difficult from the back tee's and give you a good run for your money. The open style prairie holes often taunt you to throw your hardest and make up some of that large open area in front of you, but if you miss the fairway you will pay the price looking for your disc.
Cons: This course is set back from any major thoroughfare and takes some time to find if your not familiar with the area, I think this can also be a benefit. This course does not have concrete tee pads but I hear something might be in the works to make this happen.
Other Thoughts: Please remember, we are able to play courses like this thanks to the hard work and dedication of those who maintain them. Please be aware of your surroundings and keep courses clean. Unlike Token Creek, this course like many others does not have a near full time grounds crew, please keep it clean so the maintenance staff can spend their time making it better instead of picking up cigarette buts and beer cans.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

1    7/17/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: DGWissota
Played: 95  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Three tee pads on each hole.
-Signage on each hole, outlining distance from each tee pad.
-Woods come into play on majority of the holes, with distances ranging from 215' to over 550'.
-Variation of right and left dog legs, as well as straight shots necessitates a variety of tee shots throughout the course.
-Trails from basket to next tee make for intuitive course navigation; on holes where more than one trail is present a sign directs to next hole.
-Lightly trafficked course with a secluded feel throughout.
-Every hole has punishment for misplaced shots, whether the obstacles of trees or the unpleasantness of finding your disc in the thick, nettles laden rough.
Cons: -Rough is littered with stinging nettles and thistles, especially the front nine
-Gravel tee pads
-No drastic elevation changes, terrain is fairly repetitive
-No O.B./water hazards
Other Thoughts: I just had the opportunity to play the 18 hole layout of this course and I thought it was excellent. After each hole on the back nine I was excited to see what the next hole would bring. The day I was out I saw at least 15 deer on the course, which just adds to the secluded feel of the course. Even some of the cons of the course did not bother me while playing. The rough is ridiculous and you will spend time trying to find your disc, but I felt that just added to the emphasis of shot placement on the fairway. The mosquitoes were fairly thick the day I played, so bring along some bug spray. Some may view this as a con, but you're playing in the woods in Central Wisconsin; mosquitoes are to be expected. The gravel tee pads were very well compacted and did not hinder my footing at all during the round, but I could see them deteriorating over time. Overall, BEP is an excellent course and highly recommended if you are in Central Wisconsin.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.