Mosinee, WI 
Big Eau Pleine County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 277ft.   3 / 307ft.   3 / 347ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Big YUM Pleine Park

2-4    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'd like to start off by saying WOW, amazing.
1) practice basket
2) REALLY nice baskets, catch great
3) For only being mats the tees are surprisingly grippy, even when wet.
4) GREAT design, good mix of left and right holes, only 1 or 2 that are straight, but does slightly favor LHBH/RHFH players.
5) Great variation of distances.
6) Real par 4s, always a big plus.
7) Good mix of open and wooded holes.
8) 3 tees for most holes.
9) For the most part feels secluded from the camp ground and beach area. There are a few holes near the access road and hiking trail though.
10) Un-freaking believable to navigate as a first timer, first time I haven't gotten turned around my first time on a new course.
11) Course is kept very clean, nearly no garbage anywhere on the course
12) Seems to be as chucker free as a free course can be.
Cons: 1) Only mats on the short tees, gravel for the others. Heard that they are planning on putting mats on the rest of the holes.
2) Not many benches or trash cans on the courses, only 3 or 4.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutey AMAZING. It's quite a ways out of the way but defiantly worth it, you will be pleasantly surprised with this course, I guarentee it. If this course had concrete pads on all tees for all the holes and had benches and trash cans on all the holes I would have no problem giving this course a perfect 5.

*disclaimer* review made from Red and White tees only, not the Blue tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Kept Secret in WI

5+    8/16/2011   4/9/2012
Review By: canthurtsteelUK
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
Pros: 3 different tee pads. Doesn't favor right or left handers. Ability to flick and backhand is essential. Need a gun to be able to play the blue pads. A couple holes play as par 4's. Tons of wildlife. Course has everything except water and elevation. Challenging holes with options and deuce holes mixed in.
Cons: A lot of mosquitos. Thick, deep ruff. If you're a beginner, wear long clothes and throw bright discs. The only thing that prevents this from being a top 5 course in Wisconsin is the fact that there is no elevation.
Other Thoughts: The pads aren't mixed anymore .. they're all gravel at this point going to concrete within the next couple years. There isn't any elevation that should be changed. It's out in the middle of no where but it's completely worth the trip even if you aren't from central WI.

 Worth the Stop

2-4    8/6/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: kjdutter
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -GREAT mix of distances on holes
-Excellent decisive fairways with challenging but fair rough
-Fantastic use of both wooded areas and "open" areas
-The three available tees on every hole provide very distinct challenge levels to every type of disc golfer
-The baskets are brand new
-There is no fee to play this course (although if there were it would be well worth it)
Cons: -The tee pads, by far, provide the biggest complaint. They are not the worst tee pads I have played on but a lot of them (especially the blue) are uneven and VERY slippery.
-The only water available is down by the lake from a well pump. It tastes like iron and has an orange tint to it, I wouldn't recommend drinking it. Bring your own water.
-There isn't a single open shot on this course. Even on the long holes you are required to navigate around a ton of trees just to put it in a very narrow landing area. It would be nice to be able to throw at least one bomb.
-There is no elevation change on any of the holes. Also, even though there is a huge lake nearby it isn't brought into play.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course, don't get me wrong, but it is definitely lacking something. Maybe throw in a few mounds or provide one hole that is more open or create an island green or something. It needs that WOW factor.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

5+    7/20/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: J-Bright
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great fairways. they are nicely mowed and upkept everytime. great placement of holes, some long, some short some bootleg left some right. 3 different tee locations.
Cons: very thick rough (but just don't throw it there)
Other Thoughts: deer are really tame. just a fun course to play!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Check it out

5+    8/2/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not crowded. Three separate tee boxes. Lots of wildlife (deer are very tame). Good mix of short and longer holes. Some elevation changes. Hole 13 has an elevated basket.
Cons: Rough is pretty thick on some holes with some thistles and stinging nettles.
Other Thoughts: A nice course that is well planned out. If you want a quiet, secluded place to play this is it. You will see a lot of deer up close and personal.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/28/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Ian Goldberg
Played: 167  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery and lush greenery. With three tee pads on nearly every hole, the course can accomodate any level of player. Deep dark woods with tons of deer, and there's plenty of water and camping nearby. Huge parking lot and nice bulletin board.
Cons: Lots of skeeters and far too many white tailed rats for my liking.
Other Thoughts: I'm so glad the county let them put the course in!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Special Course

5+    7/25/2009   7/29/2010
Review By: StezoBezo
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I might be slightly bias when reviewing this course, both the designer/keeper of the course and the person it was designed after are the reasons I play disc. This course was carved out of a beautiful setting disturbing nature as little as possible. It has a good mix of long and short holes with heizer and anheizer options. The course can play very long and difficult from the back tee's and give you a good run for your money. The open style prairie holes often taunt you to throw your hardest and make up some of that large open area in front of you, but if you miss the fairway you will pay the price looking for your disc.
Cons: This course is set back from any major thoroughfare and takes some time to find if your not familiar with the area, I think this can also be a benefit. This course does not have concrete tee pads but I hear something might be in the works to make this happen.
Other Thoughts: Please remember, we are able to play courses like this thanks to the hard work and dedication of those who maintain them. Please be aware of your surroundings and keep courses clean. Unlike Token Creek, this course like many others does not have a near full time grounds crew, please keep it clean so the maintenance staff can spend their time making it better instead of picking up cigarette buts and beer cans.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

1    7/17/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: DGWissota
Played: 95  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Three tee pads on each hole.
-Signage on each hole, outlining distance from each tee pad.
-Woods come into play on majority of the holes, with distances ranging from 215' to over 550'.
-Variation of right and left dog legs, as well as straight shots necessitates a variety of tee shots throughout the course.
-Trails from basket to next tee make for intuitive course navigation; on holes where more than one trail is present a sign directs to next hole.
-Lightly trafficked course with a secluded feel throughout.
-Every hole has punishment for misplaced shots, whether the obstacles of trees or the unpleasantness of finding your disc in the thick, nettles laden rough.
Cons: -Rough is littered with stinging nettles and thistles, especially the front nine
-Gravel tee pads
-No drastic elevation changes, terrain is fairly repetitive
-No O.B./water hazards
Other Thoughts: I just had the opportunity to play the 18 hole layout of this course and I thought it was excellent. After each hole on the back nine I was excited to see what the next hole would bring. The day I was out I saw at least 15 deer on the course, which just adds to the secluded feel of the course. Even some of the cons of the course did not bother me while playing. The rough is ridiculous and you will spend time trying to find your disc, but I felt that just added to the emphasis of shot placement on the fairway. The mosquitoes were fairly thick the day I played, so bring along some bug spray. Some may view this as a con, but you're playing in the woods in Central Wisconsin; mosquitoes are to be expected. The gravel tee pads were very well compacted and did not hinder my footing at all during the round, but I could see them deteriorating over time. Overall, BEP is an excellent course and highly recommended if you are in Central Wisconsin.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Some great, some not so much

1    6/7/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf dedicated area of a larger park. The course is flat and plays about half in the woods and half in more open areas with scattered trees and mowed fairways through tall grass and brush. The wooded holes have some light rough, and are thickly wooded off the fairway to punish errant shots. They have a good variety of right and left turning shots, and you will need to hit different lines to be successful. There are a variety of lengths throughout the course, with short and long holes both on the open areas and in the woods, keeping it from ever feeling very repetitive.

There are three tees for each hole, all well marked with colored markers in the ground. They are natural, but well compacted and leveled for the most part, and they provided a fine surface to throw from. They change up the course quite a bit, with different lines on the shorter holes, and large differences in length on the longer shots. There is one tee sign on each hole, but they are well placed so that you almost always walk past it no matter which tee you're going to from the previous hole, so you don't have to do extra walking to see the signs. The baskets are fairly new and catch well.

The course feels very secluded even though it's near a park road and the boat launch area. It's full of wildlife, all of which seemed to be quite used to people walking through. We found a very young deer hidden in the tall grass while looking for a lost disc, and saw several other young ones around.
Cons: I loved the wooded holes here but I wasn't a huge fan of the prairie style half of the course. There isn't really any punishment for missing the fairway to your score, instead you'll spend lots of time trudging through tick infested tall grass searching for your disc, and then have a perfectly easy throw once you actually locate it. That's my least favorite kind of punishment in course design.

Some of the holes play right along the park road, taking away from the feeling of isolation, though the road isn't too heavily used. Some of the holes seemed long for distance sake, with the longest tee just thrown back as far as there was room for, though at least there are other tees to choose from on those holes.
Other Thoughts: Half of this course is a lot of fun, the other half I found a little boring and annoying, making it difficult for me to rate this one. I think it's still worth a stop if you're in the area for the wooded part of the course though. Beginners will find the short set of tees to be a reasonable length, though there is lots of disc eating prairie, and some of the wooded holes are pretty tough. More experienced players will find good challenge and variety from the long tees, and will need to be accurate with good distance to score well and keep from losing discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very solid design, but not much variety in terrain

1    11/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The design of this course is indeed awesome. With what the terrain offers, you couldn't ask for anything better. It is essentially all wooded, under tall mature hardwoods, and a few open prairies under previously cleared hardwoods. All holes offer various routes to the pin, typically via a clump (or two or three) of trees somewhere mid fairway.
The park is very scenic, quiet, and beautiful, and there were no fees from what I could see.
There are three tees except that a few are shared on #13 and 14. I prefer design utilizing multiple tees rather than multiple pin placements.
Just about every hole is great (which I will explain as a com later). Some of the more memorable holes are...
#15 an awesome and long hole that angles slightly downhill with a LARGE patch of trees in the middle which split your flight into many various routes, and then a pin which is fairly open, yet has a great look to it.
#18 a straight and narrow gauntlet run hole from any of the three tees. You have to rifle it straight and far while slightly downhill.
Honestly most of the holes are so similar that I cannot differentiate from one another now a few hours after my round, and I forgot to take notes.
I wouldn't change any of the design.
Cons: Variety is severely lacking. Changing the design would not make up for what this park lacks in unique terrain.
This is essentially a 'Mostly Flat' mature hardwood course. A few holes venture out into some clearcuts with sparse trees, but still envelope the same design philosophy of a few clumps of trees mid fairway splitting your route into options.
The terrain is why this course lacks. There are no sharp elevation changes along a ridge or ravine. There are no water hazards. There are but a few elevated and or terraced tees or greens. No downhil bombers at all. Like I said, even 'Moderately Hilly' is a huge stretch in my book.
The greens are not on par with Standing Rocks, all are open and flat in a good 30' radius around the pin. Not much at all for risky/rewarding greens that make you think about gunning for a putt. As you can see from my score - 3 after 3 after 3 means that even a shanked drive can still allow a good upshot and an easy putt from anywhere. Therefore, not much required skill or punishment for being off fairway, but hitting some of the gaps and lines off the tee really makes your drive feel incredible.
Other Thoughts: I played in November and the tons of hardwood leaves made losing discs under them pretty misearble. I kept my eye open like a hawk if I was off fairway and I just lucked out that the county had been cutting just before I started my round.
Basically I kept comparing this to Token Creek - an amazing setting and hugely fundamental and solid design, but it was just lacking something. With every hole being great, there were no exceptional ones, they were all about the same.
The area of the park has no unique or dramatic terrain features which create a lackluster experience just like Token. But because Token is pay to play and has great free courses nearby, it gets a 3.5 while BEP will get a 4 from me because it's free and I will be back to play again (hoping to catch peak colors and leaves still on the trees).
This course lacks what Standing Rocks has as far as all the unique terrain and physical features - amazing ridges, valleys, sharp elevation changes, all under wooded canopy and shifting from hardwoods to pines. Standing Rocks is a GORGEOUS setting, while BEP is bland and repetitive as far as a disc course is concerned. BEP however offers much more distance over Standing Rocks and Yulga. Yulga has more variety and BEP has just a bit more elevation than Yulga. All in all, these 3 courses are INCREDIBLE compliments to one another! I cannot stress this enough. Considering the excellent design of BEP along with added distance not available locally, and I do love playing wooded courses that are free, BEP is a 4, but probably a bit lower 4 than Yulga. I don't think anything would make BEP a 4.5, the terrain is just too repetitive with no uniqueness.
UPDATE: This rating has been sticking with me. I have to change it. No water, repetitive terrain, very little elevation, nothing extraordinaily unique - this has to be a 3.5. I was underwhelmed when I played it, and still am.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.