Disc Golf Store
Weilheim i.OB, Germany 
Golfcourse at the Gögerl Share
Uploaded By: sandford  



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 So much potential... needs some work

1    6/30/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent baskets. Mach III-style.
-Great landscape
-Magnificent views of Bavarian country-side.
-Restaurant on-site
Cons: -Tee signs lacking
-fairways non-existent
-A few course flow issues
-dirt tees
-Will need a map to get around the first time. Though maps were not available at the course.
Other Thoughts: It was my first trip to Germany and I was hoping to get a round of golf in just to say I had. Found the course location with no problem. Parked in the restaurant lot and searched for the first tee. Found the park sign as instructed in the directions. I found an empty box where the scorecards would presumably be. Then I searched for the first tee. Nothing obviously presented itself as a tee as there were no tee signs to be seen. I did find the first basket and decided to throw from a gravel area that was near the big sign. This was to be the method for most of the rest of the course: Finish hole, look for next basket, guess where the tee would be. Sometimes, I found a tee (there are some posts marking some of the tees), most of the time, I had to make something up.

The grass is not mowed. I was there in late June, so it's presumably as long as it will get. I didn't have a lot of trouble finding my disc, because, while the grass is long, it's not especially lush, so if you spot a general area where it went down, you should be able to find it. It would be great to have even a narrow strip mowed to show the direction of the hole.

The views were amazing. Pretty green hills and red roofed houses in the near background, with majestic mountains in the far distance. Awesome.

Plenty of elevation on the course which was used fairly well. There are a couple that throw straight uphill, which I'm not a fan of doing.

In summary, it's a great piece of land for a course that could be improved so much with adequate signage and maintenance of fairways. Be sure to print out the map and bring to the course to get an idea where to go.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work and Updating

1    4/23/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: n8director
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great views of the Alps.
-Pretty setting
-Beer garden/restaurant right there. Which also means open restrooms. In germany if they serve beer, their restrooms are free and open to the public.
-No traffic on course.
-Pretty decent variety of shots. Left, Right, Up, Down,Open, Wooded, Long, Short.
-Hole 3: Nice downhill touch shot.
-Hole 4: Well guarded, slightly uphill, with big tree in fairway and a fairly low ceiling.
-Hole 5: Decent length and control required needed on this fairway.
-Hole 9: Looong. Air it out then putt uphill to elevated green across a path at the end.
-Hole 11: Downhill to a green with big downslope just past it. Requires touch, but not well guarded by more than the elevation.
-Hole 12: Again downhill and penal for those who hyzer out. In this case basket is well guarded. Fun hole.
-Hole 14: Skinny tunnel shot in woods. This course could use another couple of these.
-Hole 16: Probably my favorite hole. Wooded but well defined options as far as a fairway. Just a matter of accuracy. OB at the end of this hole in the form of a fenced yard.
Cons: -Tees and signage are awful, and in some instances non-existant. Not only are there not teepads of a material other than dirt, but they are hard to find. What gives?
-Tall grass, glad it was early, bugs not a problem.
-Hole 1: Couldn't find tee. Saw it later in the form of a wood post, laying broken, flat on the ground.
-Hole 15: No tee sign or marking.
-Hole 18: Tee? Fairway? Not clear where either of these were located.
-Most of the holes, seem to play around the hill. Seems like a shame that more don't take advantage of uphill and downhill elevation, as well as plenty of trees that would make for one or two more more technical/woode holes.
-A walking path seems to follow the layout of the course. 3 times we needed to take a few minutes to allow locals to move through. (More holes that play uphill downhill between the upper and lower path might make this less of a regularity).
-No Epic hole here. Seems like it would be easy to make happen, given the hill this layout sits on, the big trees, and beautiful view.
Other Thoughts: -This course has the "bones" to be a 3.5 or 4 type of course. However, throwing just 2 over par with only 4 discs in the bag suggests that perhaps the course could use updating to provide a better test.
-Conditions of tees and signs are as bad as I've seen. The course map attached in the link/media, is good and provided the only way of finding several holes.
-Would love to come back in a couple years and play this again, hopefully in better shape. So much to work with here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Weilheim i. OB

2-4    7/21/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2012
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Breath-taking views of the Alps and the city.
-It covers a lot of terrain.
-From downhill shots to STEEP uphill shots and from open prairie to forest, this course has quite a variety of terrain.
-It's free, which is always a plus.
-There are free score cards behind the big sign of the park.
-Very, very empty. I played the course twice in a row and I didn't see anyone else.
Cons: -I got lost quite a bit...I didn't even notice that I missed holes until I played the second time through.
-I played in the summer so the grass was very tall and annoying.
-With the grass come a lot of pesky bugs that buzz around all over the place.
-With the bugs come ticks and ticks suck. Be sure to wear a lot of tick repellant and high socks and long pants! It can get very hot in the summer, but you'll need it.
-Not the most creative holes I've ever played...
-After you finish the course, you have to walk quite a while back from hole 18 to the parking lot.
-I lost my first disc here, which is very easy to do in the high grass and bushes....
Other Thoughts: I only went here because the first reviewer makes this out to be an incredible course. I was a little disappointed that I drove 2 hours to get there because I was in Germany for vacation. It's a very typical course (by American standards) and I would definitely not call it the "most beautiful" or "best course in Germany".

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course!

5+    4/15/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: maxx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Awesome view on the Alps and the City(Weilheim)
- Various and challenging hole-design - They vary from short to long distance(up to 170m=550ft), you play up- and downhill etc.
- You have to show all your Disc Golf skills and apply different techniques to master this course
- It's free
- Meet nice people
- One of the biggest - perhaps the biggest but for sure the most beautiful - course in germany
- Not overcrowded(parking shouldn't be a problem either)
- good condition : The baskets are fully functional, the tee-signs show you the way to the basket and OBs
- lots of benches to rest and enjoy the beautiful scenery
Cons: - in summer the grass might be high
- because it's open and free for everyone vandalism is a problem
- because it's not only a disc golf course you have to pay attention for hikers/joggers etc.
Other Thoughts: I live in Weilheim and so i play this course almost every day to practice. I really enjoy the nature and the marvelous scenery. If you're in bavaria it's definitely worth a visit. Approximated time for all holes: 1.5-2.5 h

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.