Berlin-Potsdam, Germany 
Hyzernaut's DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 354ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hyzer-HO

1    8/9/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: HYZER - HO!!!!

People - I played with a group of 4 guys for about 3 holes(would of played the whole round but I had to meet my girlfriend and sister back at the hotel and a group of 5 moves slow). They offered me a beer, and everyone seemed to be fun. Finding the first hole I had a few guys explain to me how to get there and a little on the navigation.

Teesigns - on every hole. Tells you where the next basket which can be kind of hard to find as the navigation isn't bad, just a little different.

Pads on every hole(people who said holes were missing them they were either on a path made of cement or stone slabs)

Fun Factor - Just looking at the first holes picture you can tell this place is fun. It has a huge fun factor.
Cons: 14 holes - But honestly they could add four more holes but it may take away from the course. As no hole seems to be there just to take up space.

Not to much elevation and not to anything to long(I don't care about hole length that much but the longest hole I think was 127 Meters and the beauty of the course makes up for the elevation.)
Other Thoughts: When taking the Tram 96 to the course you can get off at Volks Park and rent discs and to pay the 1 euro. You will then get to walk around the park a bit on the way. If you are coming with Family or Friends that don't play this park has a Dinosaur exhibit (may change depending on the season), Skate Park, Mini Golf, and a bunch of Kids playgrounds(none of which are in the way of the course)

You can also get off Viereckremis and it will lead you to the park where you won't have to pay(However as being in a foreign country I would recommend it, as the course is nice and 1 euro is like 1.23 American)

I have played 3 courses in EU (as of the time I wrote this) and this is the only one I have seen people playing disc golf at and also happens to be my favorite. If you are in Berlin I would really recommend coming here to play this course and from what it seems Potsdam has a lot of cool older buildings.
______________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me what I can improve to help. Thanks!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A nice quick round outside of Berlin

1    4/3/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: TBabb
Played: 49  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice park in Potsdam with plenty of foliage and trees to contend with. Accessible without private transportation, but not the easiest, it will take around an hour from Berlin to get to the course. That being said this is the nearest permanent course to Berlin.

The DISCatcher baskets are in good condition and easy to spot from most tees. The tees are brick, level and were clear of snow, despite the presence of snow in the park... in April! (???) Tee signs showed hole map, distance in meters and par info. Tee signs were low to the ground, but easy to spot when trying to navigate the course and find tees. Map is available here at dgcoursereview.com and on the hyzernaut website. I think there's one in the park but didn't notice it. Either way, it's good to have a print-out or smartphone pic to help navigate the course.

The place appears to be kept up very well. Many fairways were clear of snow as well as the tees. The holes were well designed, using a lot of natural obstacles, testing a wide variety of shots, angles, curves and distances. A lot of shots were pretty technical and OB's and mando's can increase challenge. The signature hole that has a boardwalk built around the basket is pretty cool and poses a unique challenge. The park is pretty clean and trash cans can be found throughout.
Cons: Some tees were missing tee signs. The layout is a little wonky, some basket to tee walks are a little bizarre. The course is only 14 holes and most shots are on the short side. One or two longer holes would have been nice. While the map indicates two tees for each hole, only one appeared to be marked. No restrooms that I could see and thus no running water either. Parking also seemed to be scarce, but I could be wrong. The course is pay-to-play. It appeared to be an honor system entrance fee, but I wouldn't take risks, especially if Germany is a foreign country for you. It's just 1 Euro (.50c in winter) so the cost is negligible, but the course isn't exactly a hall-of-fame course. However, paid use seems to keep things in good condition so from what I can tell, you do get some real benefits for paying.
Other Thoughts: A nice place to seek out if you're in the Berlin area. Certainly not an amazing course but solid and in Europe, sometimes you have to take the best you can get. It's a nice permanent home course for Berliners and worth seeking out for tourists.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

1    2/16/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: commandoando
Played: 59  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Brick tee pads for every hole. Everything well maintained

- Navigation is easy. There is a map of course at park entrance, and the next hole is usually in the direction you would guess (perhaps going from #11 to #12 is a little confusing)

- Great mix of holes. Long holes, short holes, holes demanding all your different throws - hyzers, anhyzers.. I even threw a couple rollers in there. Hole #1 is unique, to be sure.

- Basically, every hole felt like a specifically disc golf hole, designed just for that... you never got the impression that people just slapped some baskets around and called it a course.

- It is a beautiful park in its own right
Cons: - costs to play (not really a big deal)

- not a full 18 (again not a big deal - looks like they definitely have enough land to expand and I would imagine they probably will at some point.

- no real change in elevation (they did the best with the flat land they have though, and that's all you can ask).
Other Thoughts: Nice setting for disc golf - the town of Potsdam is very nice, felt like you were on the edge between city and country.

It was very easy to get to by following the instructions on the profile page for the course.

Definitely the best course of the 3 in the Berlin region.

Holes 1, 4, and 10 were excellent - very fun and creative.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nise little course

1    10/9/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: sk8viking
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to disc course, great park and a realy funny hole nr. 1!
The holes are a good mix of woody and open holes, signs on every hole and quit good teeŽs.
Cons: I lost a disc on hole 1, it went under the wooden platform and was imposible to get to, so the only cons: I have is that the openings to under the platform are not closed.
Other Thoughts: That hole nr. 1 is something else, but quit funny.
IŽll be back next year same time!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in Potsdam

1    1/3/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: Czech21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and well planned course, locals are friendly! Hole number 1 is a blast, I've never seen a hole like this before!
Cons: not much really, some times there were some kids in the way for a couple minutes, but hey its there park too :)
Other Thoughts: I played in the snow, it was absolutly beautiful. Watch out for the water hazard area, its a pain! :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to play

7/6/2007   12/5/2007
Review By: Thunder3434
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out great planning. Park is groomed most of the time. Tee signs every hole.
Cons: Nothing really
Other Thoughts: Hyzernauts are great drop them a line sure they will come out and play show you their course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.