Rüsselsheim, Germany
Ostpark Rüsselsheim Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 288ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
RusselsHeim in the Rain.

1    5/6/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: discinsoldier
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long and short holes. I got my first 2 birdies there ever playing in Germany...besides the fact.... anyway, Fun course, Challenging shots, played through both woods and open fields. Both present challenges. shallow streams...makes for easy disc fishing. Nice nature walk, and the open fields are kept up for the most part. Baskets are marked with numbers
Cons: Public Park. Today is was raining and we still had people all around...and dog crap was everywhere. NO COURSE LAYOUT. it took us 30minutes to figure out where the 1st tee is and then another two hours just walking throgh the course locating each tee/basket and figuring out where each one was. Only 2 holes had blue signs tacked to trees pointing towards them. TEES ARE IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE UNLESS YOU ARE STANDING ON TOP OF THEM. few are concrete pads. but most are just a wooden plank on the ground. also the address given on thte sight actually takes you to a residential neighborhood....though within the area, you have to cross a street and walk a bit to get to the actual course. Also the holes were very widely spaced and playing within eachother.
Other Thoughts: The course has what seems to be short and long tees on some of them, but due to the intercrossing of the course, identifying where each hole and corresponding tee is was the biggest challenge. very difficult for someone who has never been there, Next time I go, I'm bringing a pad and paper and making a drawing. Also, there are sever planks on they ground where there is nothing written...Confusing... However, all in all it was fun, there was minimal water hazard. other than hole 13, where if you're used to curving it to the left, then use a cheap disc...you'll be heading directly in to a pond. Once again, fun course but difficult to navigate. We never found the basket for the 4th hole....We found the tee however. Also we discovered that the numbers on the baskets actually face in the direction of the tee...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course to review

2-4    3/9/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost every hole is laid out well. There is a good variety of open and wooded holes as well as some long bomber holes and some short ace runs. There is a mixed bag of different types of tee pads. Some are concrete, some asphalt, some natural, some were a large grippy type of coco mat.

The baskets are all homemade and very well built. All baskets are marked well with a large placard on top with the hole number and other info.
Cons: This is where I could seriously slam this course. The layout was horrible. You criss cross the course on several occasions. Finding the first tee, let alone the next tee takes some time. and the layout is not intuitive. Although they say there is water, I never saw any that came into play except a small drainage ditch. We never found the 10th tee box.

This is a multi use park and none of the other park goers we encountered seemed to have any clue as to what we were doing.

Be mindful of the rabbit warrens. There are several throughout the course and these are large rabbits digging woodchuck sized holes. A disc could easily wind up in one and old burrows covered by leaves could be a an ankle breaker.

Go EARLY in the day. During the first round there weren't many other people in the park but by mid afternoon the park was getting a lot of use making playing difficult.
Other Thoughts: It was tough not to rate this course higher because I traveled so far to play it. But the sad reality is that while very playable hole by hole the layout is atrocious.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First European Course

1    9/4/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: FreddieC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great hole/pin positioning - good variety of forehand/lefty and backhand skill required - good quality baskets. Club website has plenty of information available: www.scheibensuche r.de/wp
Cons: Course seems to be in transition as the course maps posted on the club website match the current hole layout. This made it difficult and at times frustrating for my group to find the next tee pad. This happened throughout the round - in fact, we had to ask a local golfer where the tee pad for hole #5 was located; he pointed out a small marker in the woods on each side of a particular walking path. He explained to me that the course was in transition and I asked him why the website had a course map that was not valid..He did not know. Also, the course seemed to be partially groomed, however, there was a significant patch of nettles on almost every hole which was a common nuisance. Lastly, the current layout had several holes which required backtracking on the fairway and additional walking which seemed unnecessary with the space that is available. Example, after locating playing hole 3, hole 4 played back towards the hole 1 fairway, but hole 5 tee pad was nearby/next to the fairway for hole 3.
Other Thoughts: Seems like the website is updated frequently or at least accessed often - please update course layout maps often to assist with the growth of the sport.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rüsselsheim

1    8/28/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very big, clean course with a solid variety of shots. There are some very tightly wooded shots and then it opens up in the next few holes so you can unleash your frustration on a massive drive.
I liked that the fairways were very defined which made it slightly easier to follow the flow of the course.
The biggest pro of this course is definitely it's length though. 21 holes which are all unique and interesting in their own way with lots of alternate tees for people who play this course regularly make this a replayable course for sure!
Cons: -Very crowded. There were a lot of people and disc golfers. I'm usually totally okay with this because I love to see the sport growing, but a lot of them were just randomly throwing at baskets instead of following the flow of the course.
-There were a lot of alternate tees, which is usually a good thing, but it really threw me off. Sometime since the last review, the course was upgraded to 21 holes and so the map isn't up to date. It was a little tricky to follow the course flow sometimes, which is why I understand why people were throwing at random baskets.
-Not very much elevation change at all, but this makes running for aces a lot more fun. :)
Other Thoughts: I was definitely pleasantly surprised to see 21 holes here instead of 18 because there's definitely room.
There's definitely a community here that is tremendously helping the sport grow. There's a weekly league and a weekly training session and there were a ton of disc golfers out. Everyone was very friendly and it was a really fun round.
There are definitely several ace runs which distances <200 and some bomber holes.
Germany needs more courses like this!

*Note* A guy that was in the group ahead of us said that hole #1 is closed because of people complaining about their cars being hit. So...either don't play it, or don't hit people's cars. ;)

Also,

http://www.scheibensucher.de/wp/

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    12/19/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: aviarx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice use of the land some very open holes plus some tight wooded shots a local welder did a great job making the baskets . you can play this course many different ways they have alternate tee pads plus some self made i like this course very much and will play it every time i am in germany,.
Cons: some of the holes are hard to find and a little short but as i said they have alternate tee pads and once you get a feel for the layout its easy to find your way around.
Other Thoughts: if your ever in germany you should play this course its great.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

2-4    8/22/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: lafemme
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very nice course
begins easy
nice warm up
ends more difficult
Cons: 2 baskets are in the middle of the trees with makes it very hard to play

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice day in the Park

12/5/2007   12/5/2007
Review By: Thunder3434
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to get to right off the Autobahn. Good for beginners to interm pros might what some tougher holes. Basket are made by a local welder they are good solid baskets.
Cons: Holes 5,7,and 8 can be unplayable during the summer do to park patrons. Course could use a little more wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: Local park user are still getting used to seeing disc fly. Some might pick them up be nice and explain what our game is and most will stop and watch you throw.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.