Erwinna, PA 
Tinicum Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Get out the Big Gun

5+    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun 18 hole course when you want to just let your discs fly. Long course, less technical than most courses of this level. Good for the long thrower who has accuracy to back it up. Some of the ruff is disc swallowing deep. Well maintained, plays in multiple pin postions, gravel tee pads, signage is o.k. and Mach III baskets are nice.
Cons: Signs could use some updating and the tee pads are a mess, in serious need of maintenance. Some of the front 9 holes are challenging but it's mostly run and gun course.
Other Thoughts: I like Tinicum Park, it was the course I cut my teeth on over 10 years ago...I still like to play it, but it's not a course I want to regularly play b/c it's just not that challenging of a course. Good to air out your discs and keep them in the fairway, but other than that, it's always fun to visit here for 18 holes and a sore arm.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Learning Disc Golf Here

5+    9/7/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: Akavar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For those of us older players this is a flat course - easier on the knees. There are plenty of wide open holes nicely balanced with a few narrow tree lined holes.

The canal and towpath add a little bit challenge on a few holes. I love 18 - it just keeps going on and on with plenty of room on both sides so that if you are off a little bit the penalty is not too high.

Finally, the grass on the fairways is always well maintained. The sight lines on most holes are very good.
Cons: This course always has a problem when it rains. The tees are gravel and get slippery with the smallest amount of rain. Also, there are a few places on the course where you find standing water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: I am learning to disc golf on this course. It is long which helps to build stamina. It has a lot of wide open holes so I do not worry too much about losing discs.

Because this course is so flat a beginner can concentrate on learning to throw and not be constantly challenged by difficult terrain. Also, there is a nice practice area where a beginner can spend all the time they need to get better at the game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

no homeboy bias here

5+    8/15/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: blazerico
Played: 187  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-The course is flat and technical on a lot of holes, but there are a bunch of chances to air it out.
-It's easy on your body and cart friendly
-usually well manicured
-new benches on most holes
-You WILL see wildlife here: eagles, herons, turtles, muskrats......just walk the canal path for a minute.
Cons: -no concrete tees. (I don't think I will up my rating when they do get installed) Concrete would really help after rainy days though.
-discs can be easily lost in the canal when water is high/murky/clogged with plant growth.
-high grass in the summer can make finding discs really fun
Other Thoughts: Trying to keep it real here and not be biased even though this course is five minutes from my house. I love it here because it is so close and I can get out and play almost any day of the week. It is flat and there are some open holes, but that doesn't mean it is easy by any means. Tinicum can be a challenge to disc golfers of any skill level. I avoided this place for the first few years that I played because I heard it was boring and flat. after the first time i played, I was mad because I hadn't tried it sooner.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Something For Everyone

1    7/30/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The tee signs were excellent - showed all the positions, distances to them, and currently-used position. Benches at most holes. Excellent online map. Two 9=hole loops. Practice basket. Well maintained.
Cons:
Dirt/gravel tees. Quite flat.
Other Thoughts:
Offers a variety of holes that play across the open space, within patches of woods, and amongst scattered tall hardwoods of a large public park which backs to a canal. Like to grip-n-rip on open holes? A few holes are long-n-wide open their entirety, while several others are open for a good portion of their length. Prefer tight/tech/touch? Nearly 1/3rd would fall into this category, but with minimal/no undergrowth, you need not worry about searching for your wayward disc. Is something in-between, such as fairways defined by rows of trees, or scattered trees with multiples paths through them, more your muse? A good portion of the holes would fit this description. A few right or left turns needed, but if you can simply throw straight, you'll do well on most holes.

Overall, a very solid course. Good mixture of tightness, despite the flatness, certainly worth a visit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Plains State type Disc Golf

5+    5/22/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 71  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rotating basket locations and the park is easy to follow from hole to hole. Most people think this course is all open but it is a true mix of 9 holes wooded and 9 holes open field. The course stays dry and is playable year round. It's true that this park is flat with very little grade going up or down. Hole #7 now has a D basket location that isn't on the score card as of yet. It adds some depth to the shorter wooded holes, so I'm counting it as a plus. All the natural tees have good signs with a rotation dial indicating basket position. Fairways are mowed regularly by the parks department. The major variables for this course are; basket placement, distance, and wind pockets. The disc golf area for the most part is free of wandering people, dog walkers, joggers and the like.
Cons: Natural grass or dirt tees, some are rutted out from use and hold water. The tees in the woods that are rutted are muddy for days after rain. The rough on either side of the fairway on open field holes can be very tall grass and weeds. It gets natty and hot bring your own water supply and bug spray/sun screen. Sometimes holes 4-6 will be used as extended parking for antique markets, so check the schedule for the park. There can be tent campers wandering through the area of holes 8 & 9.
Other Thoughts: Holes 9 finishes to the left of the parking area than walk about 150 yards up the tow path before turning right to get to hole 10 and play through 18. As stated in other reviews rural camping is available on site no true amenities. It's a off-the-path location that's rural and free of traffic. Parking is limited in the back next to the course, but there is plenty when you first drive in on both right and left sides. The water hazards are non existent since the canal was drained for repair over a year ago. I think it's 13 or 14 someone ripped the tee sign off and it hasn't been replaced yet. But that won't affect your play. The course can seem long, hot and buggy in the summer months. So be smart and come prepared and bring you own score card.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open and Flat

1    4/27/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tinicum is a great place to really let your discs fly. The major pros to this course deal with the physical pieces: the signs, the land, the grass, the trees, etc. The park is beautiful and when I played there (end of April), the high grass was newly mowed - it was only about ankle deep, so finding a disc was not too terrible.

The tee signs were some of the most informative I have seen, showing all pin positions, distances, where OB was, where water fountains and bathrooms were, and even pointed to the next tee.

There were multiple pin positions on each hole (most had 3, some had 4 positions!). Reading some of the other reviews, there is a new feature to the tee signs: there was a rotating dial on the sign post displaying which position the tee was currently in. Seems they took a page from Tyler State Park and it is helpful, though most of the baskets are visible from the tee.

Tinicum has an average mix of hole variety: open, wooded, semi wooded. It leans to the open side, so big arms will love it.

Navigation was fairly easy. I only had to break the map out a few times (between 4 and 5, and 9 and 10).
Cons: After a while the holes were starting to get similar. A lot of the holes for me were a "routine 3" - drive, upshot, simple putt. They were just far enough where a reasonable 2 was out of reach and a 4 would have been frustrating. Most of the baskets are unprotected and the greens are wide open, providing no obstacles on upshots or putts. Placement wasn't much of an issue on drives. It didn't matter if my drive totally went flippy on me because there wasn't anything to punish a bad shot (on many holes).

The canal only came into play on a very poor shot or a stupid decision to "go for it" and then a big-time miss.

The tee pads were average: natural stone, but well defined. Only once did I notice major unevenness, though.

Elevation was almost non-existent. It is a pretty flat course.
Other Thoughts: Tinicum is a good round of disc golf. There is natural beauty and awe while giving you a place to rip some drives. And though the technical aspect of disc golf falls short, the multiple pin placements will give variety to those who frequent the course. I really liked the mowed fairways and mowed paths from basket to next tee. This was definitely a well manicured course and that made the experience enjoyable. Overall, I had a good time but the challenge and variety were not there for me. It is still worth a stop if you are in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and Long

1    3/25/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple baskets add variety and distance to each hole. Some of the best, informative tee signs you'll see. Each sign shows hole topography, distances and indicator of which basket position is in use. Fairly easy to navigate with out a map.

Gravel tee pads that are very well maintained, and drain nicely. Large enough to keep the mud away on damp days, and good tracking, so sliding is almost non existent.

Good mix of open, semi wooded and wooded holes. Course is very flexible in the distance and toughness, and finds a good mix. Open holes have nicely defined fairways, using the long grass as areas to avoid. Water comes into play on a few holes.

Several bathroom locations on site, plenty of parking, nice pavilion and a playground for the kids.
Cons: Long walks to holes 5 and 10. Course is flat, so there isn't any elevation challenges. A few of the open holes are too wide open.
Other Thoughts: If you like long courses, this one is for you. Pin placements in the long positions make this one of the longer courses in the Mid Atlantic region. Unfortunately, a few of the holes, the length is really its only challenge, because it is so wide open.

A canal comes into play on about 1/3 of the holes, and based on pin placement, can be either very nerve racking or not too much of an issue.

The flatness of the course makes it easier for young children, people with mobility issues and cart pullers to traverse the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling Down the River Rd

1    4/6/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: Grip N Rip
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3/4 of course is open field. The lack of trees on some holes is made up by the sheer distance of the pin. Multiple pins that vary vastly.Ex: Hole A may be 330ft but C is well over 799ft. I was very impressed with this park and loved how flat it was. Only 18 holes but enough distance on them to feel like 21 holes. Everyone i was with the one day was hitting the long putts (20+ ft) so the greens are nice and friendly.
Cons: The canal is not one to be taken lightly. HIGHLY SUGGEST HAVING A SPOTTER or just someone run ahead to watch everyones throw. Only a few holes have a high risk of canal hazard. Water is dark and murky so use a bright disc if aproaching i believe hole #12. A lot of Par 3 I would go as far as to say too many Par 3. These aren't no 400ft par 3. More like 600ft - 800ft. The pars are expecting you to be able to throw atleast 250ft - 300ft so if your drives aren't your strong point you may get frustrated.
Other Thoughts: Great park for a relaxed game of disc golf no hills and few trees depending on the hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long, but fun!

1    3/24/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: LeftyToss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well taken care of. Has an excellent variety of holes that ranges from long and open to short and tightly wooded. Tees are very nice pressed gravel with Extremely nice signs. Pin positions vary day to day giving the course some change here and there. No really thick brush to get tangled in which was a relief. Information Kiosk right at first tee has some helpful tips and rules for beginners, a course map and nearby tournaments schedule.
Cons: Some of the holes were just too wide open. I feel this course was built for long throwers and it got a lil dull for shorter throwers (such as myself) to huck your driver a few times per hole. A couple holes (#5 for example) was just boring. It was a dead straight shot to the pin with no obsticles.
Other Thoughts: The course is in a very nice area. DO NOT USE GOOGLE MAPS to map out the route because it will put you in the wrong area. Use the directions on this site. After your round is over go south on 32 for about 6 or 7 miles and stop in at Dilly's Corner (awesome little burger and fries place).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Terrific Tinicum!

5+    3/12/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am in love with this well groomed course....I have always had fun here. I played this course with big ultimate lids back in the 1990s and I play it with destroyers and Wraiths today. Still absolutely perfect disc golf course. Course is very enjoyable for all levels of play. Course is famous for being an open course, but it really isnt all that open. There are only 7 truly big arm open holes, then 4 more that are open with moderate trees, and a full 7 tree rich or forrest holes. The reason this course is considered open, I believe is that there is no shule, no picker bushes, no spent time wasted on lost discs. It is a most beautiful piece of property in a wonderfully scenic area of Pennsylvania along the Delaware river. Every hole is remarkable in it's own right. The open holes all have some type of obstacle to contend with except for hole #3 which is framed by dramatic huge evergreens behind her. The tighter holes leave plenty of interesting options once off the fairway, it is jail but not lock-down. The gorgeous canal lurks by on a couple holes but it takes a very bad shot or roll to lose a disc there. Nice balance of big arm holes where you can learn your discs and see it's full flight path. This is rare in Pennsylvania. Nice tight holes where you can show off your precision. Theres benches, excellent signage w/basket position dials, Big wide gravel tees, and camping available. Hyzers, Anhyzers, Multi-Option and Straight shots off the tee here. Course is challenging but still remains enjoyable due to the zero frustration level. (no shule, no dangerous water, and disc golf course area primarily)hole rundown:
1-big anhyzer around a big tree to an open fairway and basket
2-lovely drive through grove of sycamores, low ceiling
3-Open drive to a evergreen framed green
4-tight precise short punch through trees
long walk to left far corner of field on left
5-open drive to either a basket on a bump in field or over bump to longer basket
6-open drive with trees lining entire left side and basket snuggled in corner of field guarded
7-fairway flanked by cedars and only 5 feet wide the entire way...old school!
8-ace run low celing but only 8-12 foot high fairway
9-little technical shot with canal brooding to the left.
Long transition to hole 10..walk along canal past basket for 18 make a right and the tee is aimed into the woods.
10- wooded fairway to basket-hyzer
11-big open anhyzer around tree
or low ceiling through a tight window to basket
12-My favorite hole, open drive to scenic vista hole tucked in trees and in front of canal...I love the scenic view from the tee!
13-tight drive through woods and canal to left
14-tight drive to sometimes open field at end of hole
15-sometimes very long hole that plays through moderate trees and then to big open field
16-again anhyzer or straight low ceiling shot make your choice?
17-another pretty view-big open drive to a grove of huge trees with basket tucked amongst
18-the signature 800 foot drive across open fairway to another grove of trees.
Cons: Course is Kansas Flat....hard to believe so much fun is on a flat course. Long grass off the fairways can make for short headaches looking for discs. No multiple tee pads and only one basket for hole, so your at mercy of course god as to pin placements. Occasionaly the course is unplayable due to arts, antiques, etc festivals. Plan ahead.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and despite it's more open nature it is a wonderful play. You get all challenges here except for elevation. A few times I have been here and there have been full on balls to the walls POLO matches going on across the field from the course...it's very cool to watch and hearing the rumble of horse stampedes is much more pleasant than the usual noises you may hear on a course! Funny to blame your bad drive on that damn horse stampede! Playing here after nockamixon or Tyler is a nice fun way to complete your day. Worlds 2005 course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.